User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RolandoB.
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Unsentimental masterpiece that will keep you on wondering about Kim Ki duk's brand of film making... Subtle and eventually perfect!!!
  2. M.Daye
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    Though it may discard prolix dialogue in favour of visuals, it is almost impossible to find yourself not moved in the slightest by the end.
  3. ChristopherR.
    May 29, 2005
    10
    This movie is a mesmerizing delight.
  4. althea
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    One of the prettiest movies I've ever seen! let's just hope the americans don't try to make THEIR americanized version of it and f... it up, just like they did with The Ring and The Grudge.
  5. V.N.
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    This is a fantastic movie! It is so original! There was no dialogue between the 2 main characters and I was creating it myself. You try to imagine what the motivation of the characters is what is in their heads. This movie touches humanity on a sublime level. With its simplicity it is close to perfection. I am so glad that I saw it ... I can't stop thinking about it. I will see it again
  6. kx
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    The silence is breathtaking. More need not be said.
  7. Jen
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    I saw this film as an assignment for a class. I got so into the movie that I felt glued to my seat. Today I found a flyer on my door and it reminded me of Tae-suk.
  8. PaulH.
    May 2, 2006
    9
    This is an incredible movie,mysterious and moving using just the barest brushstrokes to compose a gentle flickering masterpiece.It was interesting to see how the director would follow-up his previous film and in its quiet unassuming manner this is in no way a disappointment.It is refreshing to see a Korean director working against the stereotypical extreme cinema his nation has been This is an incredible movie,mysterious and moving using just the barest brushstrokes to compose a gentle flickering masterpiece.It was interesting to see how the director would follow-up his previous film and in its quiet unassuming manner this is in no way a disappointment.It is refreshing to see a Korean director working against the stereotypical extreme cinema his nation has been churning out recently presenting characters and feelings with an honesty and imagination that is both refreshing and memorable.I think the jury at Venice got it spot on would recommend this movie for anyone interested in whats happening in contemporary world cinema. Expand
  9. ChadS.
    Aug 22, 2005
    9
    For the most part, the silence in "3-Iron" that's observed by both actors during their benevolent home invasions doesn't play like an art film joke (for instance, Gus Van Sant's "Gerry") because director Ki-Duk Kim gives this prolonged quietude a proper context to help efface some of the narrative's self-consciousness. "3-Iron" starts off as a deadpan comedy, and For the most part, the silence in "3-Iron" that's observed by both actors during their benevolent home invasions doesn't play like an art film joke (for instance, Gus Van Sant's "Gerry") because director Ki-Duk Kim gives this prolonged quietude a proper context to help efface some of the narrative's self-consciousness. "3-Iron" starts off as a deadpan comedy, and it's vaguely reminiscent of Jim Jarmusch's "Stranger than Paradise". At first, the male lead struck me as a metaphorical zombie who breaks into strangers' homes because he misses the routine of domestic life, and the woman he indoctrinates in his world of non-crime, pretends to have the same catalepsy as a means of escape from her abusive marriage. But then he's incarcerated, and in his cell, the man seems to change from a material being into something more incorporeal, which brings to mind a similar jail-cell transformation in "Lost Highway", when Bill Pullman inexplicably turns into Balthazar Getty. Ki-Duk Kim has the same "don't explain a thing" ethos as David Lynch, which will enthrall and frustrate moviegoers in equal numbers. We wait for the big revelation, a definitive answer to explain all of "3-Iron('s)" enigmas, like "The Sixth Sense", but the final frame leaves us with more questions. Expand
  10. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    Simply brilliant script great. Spectacular sound track, in short, a masterpiece of South Korean cinema. I recommend all the films of Kim Ki-duk, especially ''Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter ... and Spring'' (2003)
  11. CodyK.
    Sep 19, 2005
    8
    This is a very good movie. I
  12. dan
    Aug 16, 2005
    5
    It is so full of cinematic B.S, "poetic" ideas,
  13. CoryT.
    Sep 18, 2005
    4
    Sure, I can see what the effective elements of this movie are, but man, the ball (golf ball ...I guess!) is dropped in many places. One minute your egrossed, the next you're scratching your head dissapointed. Beautiful foreign film meets Hollywood- "eye watering, oignon cutting, first blood type crap!...Simon Says..work on 'yer swing at the range-not the course!
  14. DeniseB.
    Feb 17, 2007
    1
    The premise was good so I watched it and was keenly dissapointed. It was slow with very little dialouge.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 80
    It's a love story without all the verbal hooey and it hits harder than most.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew Sun
    60
    The result is slightly less interesting and less appealing even as arthouse fare.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    80
    A rarefied love story, conducted with no dialogue between the principals.