300: Rise of an Empire

300: Rise of an Empire Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 550 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 6, 2014
    88
    Even with the uniformly good performances — and the standout work from Ms. Green — 300: Rise of an Empire is foremost a triumph of production design, costumes, brilliantly choreographed battle sequences and stunning CGI.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 4, 2014
    70
    Rise of an Empire might have been essentially more of the same, but for one distinction that makes it 300 times better than its predecessor: Mere mortals of Athens, Sparta, and every city from Mumbai to Minneapolis, behold the magnificent Eva Green, and tremble!
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 6, 2014
    63
    The lack of a creative driver behind the film leads to a level of fundamental dissatisfaction. The movie delivers all the necessary elements but their impact is dull.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 3, 2014
    50
    Other than for the pleasure of watching Green try to conquer ancient Greece dressed as a distant forebearer of Catwoman, more is less and a little late in this long-aborning sequel.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 10, 2014
    50
    The best thing about the new 300: Rise of an Empire is that Zack Snyder didn’t direct it. And the worst thing about it is that Zack Snyder didn’t direct it.
  6. 38
    By throwing herself headfirst into scenes that a more cautious actress might beg off, Green earns herself a citation for valour – a Purple Heart in a movie that’s otherwise way too grim and grey for its own good.
  7. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Mar 7, 2014
    0
    The empty violence and pointless style are only the biggest problems.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 126
  2. Negative: 32 out of 126
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Realmente muy buena la película, super entretenida y super espectacular, la critican por el gore, por favor y a ver una película de 300 es irRealmente muy buena la película, super entretenida y super espectacular, la critican por el gore, por favor y a ver una película de 300 es ir a ver sangre, batallas y sexo, que mas quieren los críticos?. Epic film. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    meh...........................................................................................................................................meh.................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    8
    300: Rise of an Empire is a very well-filmed gory action movie, and the absence of Zack Snyder as the director is barely noticeable (for me,300: Rise of an Empire is a very well-filmed gory action movie, and the absence of Zack Snyder as the director is barely noticeable (for me, at least). The fight scenes are fierce, bloody and gripping, I absolutely loved them. Eva Green is both sexy and dangerous, and the film's visceral sex scene is the culmination of those qualities. The soundtrack is quite fitting and memorable, and Black Sabbath's War Pigs during the end credits really make you go out the cinema hall in style. The dialogues are sometimes too primitive and the speeches about Freedom™ and Democracy™ are boring, but those downsides are outweighed by the movie's strengths in my opinion. Anyway, a solid action movie I recommend to watch. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    6
    If you go into this without expecting anything, then it will be alright. However, if you set the bar unreasonably high; then you'll spend twoIf you go into this without expecting anything, then it will be alright. However, if you set the bar unreasonably high; then you'll spend two and a half hours watching garbage. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2016
    5
    Classical historians disagree, but it was probably Herodotus who first posed a question that would ring out across the ages, unanswered tillClassical historians disagree, but it was probably Herodotus who first posed a question that would ring out across the ages, unanswered till now: Wouldn’t Eva Green look awesome kissing the severed head of an insolent captive? “300: Rise of an Empire” puts the issue to rest (the answer: yes, but it’ll never last) and strives to uphold the rah-rah style of visuals and rhetoric established by its popular predecessor, “300.”

    Greece — or its tightly rendered, color-constrained graphic equivalent — is again in danger, but the battles in this contemporary sequel center on the sea. Free city-states are mustering a defense against the Persian invaders and their myriad ships, under ever-darkening prospects (and skies).

    Unlike the death-cult Spartans, led to war in the earlier film by Gerard Butler in a performance that unleashed a thousand meme variations, this motley crew of slightly less chiseled Greeks follows the less inspiring, or, at any rate, less shouty, Themistokles (Sullivan Stapleton of “Gangster Squad” and the TV show “Strike Back”).

    The hacking and impalement of ancient combat still yield gore that defies gravity and invites our delectation in the obligatory money-shot slow-motion. But the bigger mortal threat to manliness lies in the Persians’ vicious naval commander, Artemisia (Ms. Green), impossibly willowy and virtually dripping black, like an Aubrey Beardsley drawing.

    A Greek who suffered horrifically at the hands of warring countrymen, she’s revealed as the éminence grise behind Xerxes (swaggeringly reprised by Rodrigo Santoro), though Ms. Green sometimes suggests cruel hauteur more often than she puts it across. Meanwhile, the Persian emperor’s origin story — his transformation into a bejeweled, manscaped god-king — is revealed, in a process evoking a brisk dip in molten gold.

    The naval collisions and melees play out in panel-like renderings that are bold and satisfying for the first half-hour but lack the momentum and bombastic je ne sais quoi of “300.” Someone was also apparently worried that the film’s depth of field wouldn’t come across, judging from the ubiquitous particles suspended in the air, as if some unseen Greek had just dusted. (The director, Noam Murro, who has primarily specialized in commercials, took over from Zack Snyder this time. Mr. Snyder wrote the screenplay with Kurt Johnstad from Frank Miller’s graphic novel “Xerxes.”)

    Strategically speaking, the Greeks’ underdog maneuvers work, until they don’t, while the Persians are unstoppable, until they aren’t. Themistokles supplies a politician’s skeptical perspective on the Spartans, while a brave father-son duo serve to personalize the notion of self-sacrifice with regular check-ins.

    It might also be added that the film arrives at a somewhat different, less freshly besieged era than “300,” released in 2007. But the political climate might matter less than the over-the-top example of faux period excess provided by several seasons of “Game of Thrones.”

    That show’s bedroom maneuvers might have influenced a pivotal scene in which the long, rivalrous gazes across the sea between Themistokles and Artemisia lead to their finally getting a room. In the telling aftermath, the ruthless Persian commander is more or less recast as a woman scorned, ultimately leaving Greece, and everyone’s machismo, mostly intact.
    Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    I didn't enjoy this as much as the first. They should have carried a sign that read "girl power" in this film. I Wasn't sure if I was watchingI didn't enjoy this as much as the first. They should have carried a sign that read "girl power" in this film. I Wasn't sure if I was watching "sucker punch" with women beating up men with their sheer force and strength. Only z. Snyder would conceive of something like this. My history may be a little Hazy but weren't women during this period property or slaves?

    The action scenes weren't bad and the visuals were well done. The story I think hurt this film.
    Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2014
    0
    I read a lot of the other comments and I'll borrow the highlights that matched how I feel most closely.
    Foul, racist American propaganda
    I read a lot of the other comments and I'll borrow the highlights that matched how I feel most closely.
    Foul, racist American propaganda painting the great and enlightened Persian empire as a bunch of savages. The "suicide bomber" was particularly sickening. Spot on with this comment. This is an example of a film that should never make it past the drawing board. (another pretty close feeling to what I had watching it). Ugh! Down right awful! (short but to the point). If they changed eva green's character to a male character and tweaked the story i mean a lot it would have a shot. (this is closest though to how I really felt). In what world are people stupid enough to watch these chicks lead armies fighting with the men. At on point the queen raises a sword, and all it's missing is her screaming VAGINA POWER!! with like a rainbow or something, that's the only way I could have thought to make this movie any worse and honestly it may have made me laugh so that could have even been an improvement. The only thing I'll take away from this movie other then my head hung low, will be to know that if I ever lead a country that's a huge world power with 10's of thousands of ships maybe I shouldn't let an 80 pound slave ship slut have complete control of them. It a strange situation to be at the end of a movie hoping that the guy beats the girls azz in moral combat. I'd say more but I feel I've put a lot more effort into this comment then the movie was worth.
    Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: January 24, 2014
    Watch all of this week's new movie trailers (including new looks at The Raid 2, Blue Ruin, Bad Words, and 300: Rise of an Empire), and catch up on the latest news about upcoming projects from Quentin Tarantino and more.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 16, 2013
    Catch up on the week's movie news and watch new trailers for Sundance hits ACOD and Blue Caprice plus 300: Rise of an Empire, Don Jon, Vampire Academy, and more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 14, 2013
    Watch all of this week's new movie trailers--including new looks at "Elysium," "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," "The Wolverine," "300: Rise of an Empire," "White House Down," and more--and get a recap of the latest film news.
  4. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  7. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.