IFC Films | Release Date: January 23, 2008
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 273 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
213
Mixed:
34
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 24, 2016
If it was exactly August 31st, 2007, we would have exactly 4 months, 3 weeks, and 2 days before the release of this film. Exactly what a legendary film would bring us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
The neorealism and morbidity of of the subject might shy away some viewers, but everything about this movie is handled with such delicate care - the acting, the cinematography, the absence of a film score - that it really does suck you intoThe neorealism and morbidity of of the subject might shy away some viewers, but everything about this movie is handled with such delicate care - the acting, the cinematography, the absence of a film score - that it really does suck you into it's existence, forcing you to feel the hardships of living in a state of oppression. Moral of the Story: don't live in a place where abortions are illegal. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
MorriBeyFeb 27, 2012
Powerful. Not a happy story by any account but a story of mis-guided friendship where there is no happy ending for the 'good one'. Its a dark novel brilliantly transformed to the movie screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
shaunmedJan 10, 2011
Not a bad movie but by no means worthy of all it's praise. A woman gets an illegal abortion, end. Yet another instance where a taboo subject matter is confused for a compelling story.
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
1
MichaelDNSep 28, 2012
Watch this movie for the perfect example of how to trick everybody into thinking your movie is good, without actually having to create an intelligent story. Just make it about a controversial issue, have a shocking proposal from a doctor toWatch this movie for the perfect example of how to trick everybody into thinking your movie is good, without actually having to create an intelligent story. Just make it about a controversial issue, have a shocking proposal from a doctor to two women halfway through, and show a human fetus to freak people out. Then everyone is so blown away that they're convinced it's because of the merits of the film. I wouldn't really call this a pro abortion movie. In fact, the fetus scene is like the videos of slaughterhouses they make to convince people to become vegetarians. Regardless of the stance it takes, it doesn't really go about it in a thought provoking way. The one thing I did appreciate was the idea that the one girl was willing to accept the doctor's offer for her friend. It was an interesting statement about friendships, although it's possible that that just happened by accident, and that the writer wasn't really even thinking of that. I will not reveal my opinion on abortion, but I don't think it matters. A weak script is a weak script. The movie is all about shock value, and people mistake that for decent writing. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
jdicksteihnApr 14, 2012
I can't remember a movie where I cared so much about what I was watching. Though it moves slowly and inconspicuously, it builds an incredible amount of momentum by the midpoint. I found myself thinking "please please let things work out forI can't remember a movie where I cared so much about what I was watching. Though it moves slowly and inconspicuously, it builds an incredible amount of momentum by the midpoint. I found myself thinking "please please let things work out for these two girls", as if they were good friends of mine. And I'm usually overly critical and not easily drawn in. It helps that Mungui manages to avoid a single false note in the entirety of the film with his direction. Anamaria Marinca plays her very difficult role without a trace of self-pity. This is a truly amazing movie that surprised me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
siltsunriseMay 29, 2016
Boring, pointless, waste of film stock. Boring, pointless, waste of film stock. Boring, pointless, waste of film stock. Boring, pointless, waste of film stock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GraziB.Feb 3, 2008
Devastating movie. Besides the abortion plot. It's a movie about female friendship. Anamaria Marinca is amazing, Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BillB.Aug 20, 2008
You keep expecting something to happen, but nothing Happens in this movie. The doctor makes an unusual request half way through the movie, and that is all.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
rosesOct 31, 2009
I run a boutique cinema. This movie drew my smallest crowed of 2009. It was the only one I cannot remove from my mind, and I think the fact that it hasnt won an award reveals the hypocrisy of the Oscars. Harrowing and mundane in the same I run a boutique cinema. This movie drew my smallest crowed of 2009. It was the only one I cannot remove from my mind, and I think the fact that it hasnt won an award reveals the hypocrisy of the Oscars. Harrowing and mundane in the same breath. If you can get out of this film without white knuckles, you are made of strong stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JessS.Sep 2, 2009
A powerful and great foreign drama, the cinematography in this picture is simply stunning, the acting faultless lead by the mesmarising Anamaria Marinca . When i know I've seen a great film is when i could watch it with no sound or A powerful and great foreign drama, the cinematography in this picture is simply stunning, the acting faultless lead by the mesmarising Anamaria Marinca . When i know I've seen a great film is when i could watch it with no sound or subtitles and it still has an effect on my emotions and i can safely say i could with this film, the location of this film was filmed perfectly to portray what life was like in 1987 romania, those who don't find the simplicity in this film capturing must have no heart. The only reason i didn't score it a 10 was because i didn't like the ending as much as the other parts of the film. I hope foreign cinema has some more delights like this up there sleeves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValentinMJan 20, 2008
One of the "must see movie" of all times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidB.Feb 12, 2008
It was good, but I felt unsatisfied when it ended. I think it lacked a clear theme or message so am quite surprised to see it receiving a higher accolade than other superb foreign language films, such as The Lives of Others.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZoltanZFeb 15, 2008
Strong in many respects, realism, consistent tone, acting, suspense, tension etc... However, the ending represented a HUGE misstep. [***SPOILER***] Within an hour after such a late-term abortion that woman would not be sitting down at a Strong in many respects, realism, consistent tone, acting, suspense, tension etc... However, the ending represented a HUGE misstep. [***SPOILER***] Within an hour after such a late-term abortion that woman would not be sitting down at a restaurant ordering dinner. she'd be lucky if she hadn't bled to death. completely unrealistic moment to an otherwise very realistic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
dyldFeb 3, 2008
This film is bleak--and that will put off many people. But don't let it put you off. This film is a strong experience--relentless tension. Admits that people make mistakes under pressure, which is difficult to watch. Above all, however, This film is bleak--and that will put off many people. But don't let it put you off. This film is a strong experience--relentless tension. Admits that people make mistakes under pressure, which is difficult to watch. Above all, however, the film rings true. And on the rare occasions this happens in cinema you have to confront the ideas of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
usmanhaiderFeb 9, 2008
this is not a movie.its an experience.how can a movie be so real so grasping.........i do not envy as such but feels competitive with a person named mungiu.whole abservation of life is so deep and true.it comes from inner consciousness.ithis is not a movie.its an experience.how can a movie be so real so grasping.........i do not envy as such but feels competitive with a person named mungiu.whole abservation of life is so deep and true.it comes from inner consciousness.i firmly can claim this to be the most brilliantly acted and directed movie i have seen and i can see in future.the minute details are hard to understand by everyone.its unforgettable and matchless.no exxagaration but the truth.i cant see anyone could have done a performance like anmaria.its not "acting".its performance.this film is a must see for those who see Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmanuelA.Mar 29, 2008
Only people that lived during that Romanian/Ceausescu era can understand this movie!Very well done and love the overall story.A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FelixK.Mar 3, 2008
Well-made, but it's correct that the Academy didn't give it a "foreign language movie" nominee !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelD.Mar 7, 2008
A pointless waste of time unless you find watching a back alley abortion in Communist Romania to uplifting. I'm not anti-abortion, I just found the film to be a monumental waste of time.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
9
TomegunApr 2, 2008
A little slow at first for my taste....but it drags you in and gets pretty intense!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyM.Jun 30, 2008
I was quite excited about seeing this movie, what with the fantastic reviews. And... I can't say I was disappointed, really. It had superb acting, and on the whole it was very well done. It was gripping, to the point that my friend and I was quite excited about seeing this movie, what with the fantastic reviews. And... I can't say I was disappointed, really. It had superb acting, and on the whole it was very well done. It was gripping, to the point that my friend and I were enthralled by every detail the film threw at us as we watched. The sad part is that, after all the thrills and the suspense and the drama, it didn't deliver. We wanted it to go in a Hollywood direction, we wanted that I.D. at the desk to mean something, for that little mention of a phone number to lead somewhere, but it didn't. It was comical, really, how much... MORE wanted. In any other film, this would have been devastating, but the incredible single takes and the emotion that the viewer couldn't help but feel along with the actors made it all too good otherwise. It's a worthwhile watch, just don't go into it expecting anything near your conventional film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelBOct 9, 2009
This is frighteningly realistic rendition of life in the Eastern Bloc under communism. The awfulness of everything down to the clothes and the offensive drunk waiters make compelling viewing. Easily the best film I saw last year, and I saw This is frighteningly realistic rendition of life in the Eastern Bloc under communism. The awfulness of everything down to the clothes and the offensive drunk waiters make compelling viewing. Easily the best film I saw last year, and I saw Cargo 200!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IainfJan 9, 2009
I don't really know what to say about this film really. Right off the bat, you're probably wondering whether you should watch it, and yes, yes you most certainly should. The film itself is amazing, I just don't really I don't really know what to say about this film really. Right off the bat, you're probably wondering whether you should watch it, and yes, yes you most certainly should. The film itself is amazing, I just don't really understand why to be honest. Nothing really happens in it! But the acting, the emotions it makes you feel and several all factors help pull it through. It doesn't deserve the near perfect reviews in my opinion, but it still the best film I've saw in a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
johnsJan 1, 2010
How did this movie get such high reviews? I love foreign, art house, film noir but I just found this incredibly boring, slow and pretty slim on plot and dialogue. I just could not figure how many of the scenes even added to the overall How did this movie get such high reviews? I love foreign, art house, film noir but I just found this incredibly boring, slow and pretty slim on plot and dialogue. I just could not figure how many of the scenes even added to the overall theme, experience or anything. But glad the people who loved it loved it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Jan 12, 2008
This was easily one of the best films I saw in 2007. Clearly there is something stirring in Romanian cinema as '4/3/2' is another outstanding work for that country's burgeoning film scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabiUJan 10, 2008
brilliantly acted! you can feel the tension and the lack of edited scenes brings you into the drama. the camera doesn't even exists, you don't feel it like a movie but like a fact, a scene happening in front of you. i'm not brilliantly acted! you can feel the tension and the lack of edited scenes brings you into the drama. the camera doesn't even exists, you don't feel it like a movie but like a fact, a scene happening in front of you. i'm not surprised it's a rewarded film. not recommended to youngs (they can't fully understand the scale of the event or sense the minor details). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MIJan 18, 2008
In the end, this is an average movie, where not much (i.e. enough) happens. The story is mostly carried forward with constant and inane dialogue. A large portion of the conversations seem improvised. In the end this is a prototype of a movie In the end, this is an average movie, where not much (i.e. enough) happens. The story is mostly carried forward with constant and inane dialogue. A large portion of the conversations seem improvised. In the end this is a prototype of a movie that the critics love, but the average movie goer will remain ambivalent and indefferent over. Nevertheless, slow pacing and historically appropriate milieu do set a realistic and touching mood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DmitryP.Jan 23, 2008
If Andrei Tarkovsky made a Dogma 95 movie, it might look and sound and feel like this. Cinematically, this is a masterpiece of artistic discipline, the perfect marriage of form and content, the freshest thing in years, a brand-new way to get If Andrei Tarkovsky made a Dogma 95 movie, it might look and sound and feel like this. Cinematically, this is a masterpiece of artistic discipline, the perfect marriage of form and content, the freshest thing in years, a brand-new way to get your truth twenty-four times a second, blah, blah, blah. . . .Dramatically, it does the last thing you expect from an issue movie: give you an engaging, realistic central character, so you forget about political abstractions and start worrying about what will happen to her and what she's going to do. This is a time capsule movie, a Voyager spacecraft movie, a great and perfect film that may all on its own redeem traditional narrative cinema for the next few years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PerspicaciousCriticJan 25, 2008
[***SPOILERS***] I appreciate "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" for its excellent craftsmanship: the artfully composed shots are worthy of a gallery exhibit; the stubborn refusal to cut away from certain scenes is brave and inspirational; and [***SPOILERS***] I appreciate "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" for its excellent craftsmanship: the artfully composed shots are worthy of a gallery exhibit; the stubborn refusal to cut away from certain scenes is brave and inspirational; and the acting (or non-acting, it was so realistic) is sublime. Overall, I agree with the critics that "4 Months" is an uncompromising work of art. But the problem I have with "4 Months" are in the form of red herrings, and plenty of them. For example, when the brooding back-alley abortionist, Mr. Bebe, pleads with his mother to go back into her apartment, the tension mounts to where you think he's going to physically toss her inside. During this moment, in Mr. Bebe Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SzalazarJan 26, 2008
this movie is a drag, a slow, depressing movie that is surprisingly average for the reviews it has been getting. The only reason its been rated so high is because it deals with abortion and thats a politically hot topic right now. I am a fan this movie is a drag, a slow, depressing movie that is surprisingly average for the reviews it has been getting. The only reason its been rated so high is because it deals with abortion and thats a politically hot topic right now. I am a fan of these kind of subtitled foreign art movies, but 4 Months is not that amazing of a movie. Well made, but thats about it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CoraN.Jan 27, 2008
Terrifyingly grey, as everyday life in communism, and exceptionally beautiful, as Otilia's friendship and unselfishness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
philmoootenFeb 11, 2008
this is an involving and very moving film. highly recommended. to shaun b - you sound so pompus. firstly one film doesn't 'prove' anything, especially when your point of view is supposedly the evidence, and the filmthis is an involving and very moving film. highly recommended. to shaun b - you sound so pompus. firstly one film doesn't 'prove' anything, especially when your point of view is supposedly the evidence, and the film doesn't even reply to your silly sweeping statement about the french - the film is romanian. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteCFeb 22, 2008
I've seen it three times already and enjoy it every time. Brilliant acting, image, camera work. The scenes with long moments of silence are my favorite. You can see here how powerful can be acting without saying anything.... Ana Maria I've seen it three times already and enjoy it every time. Brilliant acting, image, camera work. The scenes with long moments of silence are my favorite. You can see here how powerful can be acting without saying anything.... Ana Maria Marinca transmitted with her back at the camera things that many actors have to use face and words to do it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoshBFeb 23, 2008
OK, this movie is very good, but it's not THAT good. A score of 98 would lead you to believe it's one of the best films to come out in the last 10 years, and it's not (I'm just trying to manage expectations). My main OK, this movie is very good, but it's not THAT good. A score of 98 would lead you to believe it's one of the best films to come out in the last 10 years, and it's not (I'm just trying to manage expectations). My main problem is the ending [no spoilers], which is a little abrupt and leaves several issues unresolved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateR.Feb 20, 2008
As good a film as any I've ever seen or expect to see again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ConnorSMar 9, 2008
Felix K. This movie came out in 2008 how can the academy give this a foreign language nod when this movie came out in 2008. The Oscars are for 2007! that being said this was was very well made and beautiful film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LAKISP.Apr 5, 2008
Pure filmaking . Answer to all these kind of movies which sucrifice a good idea for an oscar.BRAVO Romania.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IulianJun 6, 2008
Some of the finest acting I have seen on film. Beautiful shots and not melodramatic. I have found nothing in it to falsify reality (1980s in Romania).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyPJan 28, 2009
A powerful, disturbing film with amazing performances. You will feel sick to your stomach after watching this - which is an indicator of great filmmaking that draws you in forces you to face realities that you'll never be comfortable A powerful, disturbing film with amazing performances. You will feel sick to your stomach after watching this - which is an indicator of great filmmaking that draws you in forces you to face realities that you'll never be comfortable with. Easily the best film I've seen in many, many years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MirceaC.Feb 4, 2009
For those who don't know yet (and I can see there are a lot in here) Romania IS/WAS NOT PART OF THE SOVIET UNION. Learn some geography before posting here, ok?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaMay 29, 2009
Excellent movie, not for the light hearted, though. paradoxically enough, it is not really about what seems to be the main event: an abortion. Instead, it captures in a both subtle and gripping manner the essence of communism: a system Excellent movie, not for the light hearted, though. paradoxically enough, it is not really about what seems to be the main event: an abortion. Instead, it captures in a both subtle and gripping manner the essence of communism: a system corrupt to the bone that rules through fear, where everyone keeps an eye on someone else and the only way to survive is to become part of that system. The inherent dehumanisation such a system brings about does not escape the director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CocoBunnyJun 23, 2009
One of the most compelling and heartbreaking films I've ever seen. It tackles the hard subjects of totalitarianism or abortion without beating you over the head with a given message. It simply tells the story of these two girls--a very One of the most compelling and heartbreaking films I've ever seen. It tackles the hard subjects of totalitarianism or abortion without beating you over the head with a given message. It simply tells the story of these two girls--a very sad one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeahRJan 10, 2010
Filmgoers are so used to being spoon-fed their neatly shrinkwrapped "takeaway" messges from Hollywood that they flounder helplessly when a film staunchly refuses to tell them what to think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
raymondhJan 13, 2008
The best movie I have seen in years and the only 10 I have ever given
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasVJan 15, 2008
this is perhaps one of the finest european movies, one of the best of this decade along with cache, head on, the lives of others, hamble con ella etc. approaching Romania's recent traumatic history in a touching way without many this is perhaps one of the finest european movies, one of the best of this decade along with cache, head on, the lives of others, hamble con ella etc. approaching Romania's recent traumatic history in a touching way without many political references and inacuracies. a simple story of abortion, powerfully shot and performed with just a hint of historical reference...Romania 1987...pure art Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikHJan 24, 2008
I know it's only January, but I'd be surprised if any film is better than this one. The direction is superb and Anamaria Marinca gives a riveting performance. Do not miss under any circumstances. [Warning: There are some very I know it's only January, but I'd be surprised if any film is better than this one. The direction is superb and Anamaria Marinca gives a riveting performance. Do not miss under any circumstances. [Warning: There are some very graphic and realistic scenes relating to the abortion at the film's center] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ShaunBJan 31, 2008
Clearly overrated. In essence, this is a very well executed after school special. Proof that critics are often lemming like, and the French often confuse bleakness for art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidFeb 11, 2008
Perfect. Beautifully acted and crafted into a powerful experience. Bleak to the point of attempted suicide but throughly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulFeb 15, 2008
Excellent film, one of the best I've seen in a long time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RalphD.Feb 17, 2008
Powerful, stunning, honest, superbly crafted, with exceptional performances by the leads. The fact that it was snubbed for an Oscar nomination is as much of a disgrace as most of the critics say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LHFeb 18, 2008
Fearless, unflinching and harrowing. A true masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
glenfFeb 21, 2008
Juno was a much funnier pregnant-girl movie. I like movies. In France it's called cinema, why is that different.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.Feb 8, 2008
A truly work of art and deep thoughts. Poignantly acted and beautifully crafted to almost perfection. A must see!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilP.Mar 16, 2008
10+++. NO words.We can not run away from our reality.Outstanding sendingout emotions!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MD.Mar 22, 2008
Both a true-to-life drama about life in Romania in the eighties and a tense thriller. Must-see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanielG.Mar 6, 2008
Painful to no real purpose, and often ineptly made to boot, this is a long, dark slog to nowhere. Sometimes the most dismal view isn't the most truthful, and this tortuous grim exercise in hopeless glum grit never gets at the humanity Painful to no real purpose, and often ineptly made to boot, this is a long, dark slog to nowhere. Sometimes the most dismal view isn't the most truthful, and this tortuous grim exercise in hopeless glum grit never gets at the humanity behind the gloom. Need an antidote to this ugly film? Check out the Czech cinema of the '60s, dark comedies that were humanistic yet truthful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TrevorF.Apr 12, 2008
I've only one complaint. The movie is too slow to be a thriller, which is what it is marketed as. It is a truly masterful drama. The woman who plays Otilia is an extraordinary actor. Not since 2001: A Space Odyssey has the ending to a I've only one complaint. The movie is too slow to be a thriller, which is what it is marketed as. It is a truly masterful drama. The woman who plays Otilia is an extraordinary actor. Not since 2001: A Space Odyssey has the ending to a film been so devastating to me ! Very great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AdrianP.Apr 15, 2008
Clearly, the reason that this film has such a high score from the critics is that it is a film made to entrance, to shock,and addressed directly to the liberal self reproach of the west world, and from the users because it receives massive Clearly, the reason that this film has such a high score from the critics is that it is a film made to entrance, to shock,and addressed directly to the liberal self reproach of the west world, and from the users because it receives massive votes from the Romanians, who are in a state that says every success outside the borders will uplift the image of our country. The film was very good technically, but if you analyze it a little bit it has NOTHING in stake, no ethical weight, no character deep study(mr. Bebe only seems real because he talks real but his actions are completely cartoonish and unmotivated) , and the girls are so common, so devoid of any ethical sense that i struggle to care for any of them. Plus, it?s more likely a short or a medium length movie, made a feature film by some pointless scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 8, 2008
When planning a murder, always remember to bring a plastic sheet, to catch the blood, to leave without a trace. Patrick Bateman(Christian Bale) remembered his plastic sheet in Mary Harron's "American Psycho". Gabita (Laura Vasilia) When planning a murder, always remember to bring a plastic sheet, to catch the blood, to leave without a trace. Patrick Bateman(Christian Bale) remembered his plastic sheet in Mary Harron's "American Psycho". Gabita (Laura Vasilia) forgot hers, so she'll have to make do with a plastic bag. In our minds, we're thinking like Roy Scheider in "Jaws", as the bag is being laid out on the bed: You'll need a bigger... What if the bleeding doesn't stop? As is custom, we're worried that the woman won't survive the procedure. Most, if not all, of us, never consider the fetus, never give the unborn a second thought. But the film does, miraculously, without sanctimony. Catholic pedagogy doesn't make up our minds for us. It's our familiarity with genre conventions that does the trick. "4 luni, 3 santamani, 2 zile" stages the abortion, and more importantly, the aftermath, like a murder had just transpired. When Otilia(Anamaria Marinca) is pressed into action, remembrances of dead bodies rolled up in carpets from other crime movies, not that kind, old woman "Vera Drake", hit us square between the eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaM.Nov 12, 2009
Incredible piece of filmmaking. Now, I am no diehard movie fan, let alone an indie-film or foreign-film connoisseur; I am simply a fan of a sharp, brilliantly told and expertly conceived story. This movie offers that. Tremendous acting Incredible piece of filmmaking. Now, I am no diehard movie fan, let alone an indie-film or foreign-film connoisseur; I am simply a fan of a sharp, brilliantly told and expertly conceived story. This movie offers that. Tremendous acting surrounds a refreshingly simple plot. Stellar work about an important and still-relevant subject. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KrisR.Feb 1, 2009
This was an emotionally riveting, haunting film. The acting was extraordinary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanWMay 1, 2009
An excellent piece of foreign cinema. You can feel it slowly clasp onto you, then push you down to the ground. It leaves with you with an emotional feeling that is hard to find with movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DustinCAug 17, 2009
This is the not just the worst movie I've ever seen, this is the worst movie ever made. this is also not hyperbole. This movie is all the proof you need that critics aren't real people, they're pompous idiots who sniff each This is the not just the worst movie I've ever seen, this is the worst movie ever made. this is also not hyperbole. This movie is all the proof you need that critics aren't real people, they're pompous idiots who sniff each others farts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NickGAug 18, 2009
Not as great as it is rated, but watchable. Has some completely out of place grotesque violence. I didn't borrow this to see excessive violence (and neither would most people). You don't have to ruin what could have been a more Not as great as it is rated, but watchable. Has some completely out of place grotesque violence. I didn't borrow this to see excessive violence (and neither would most people). You don't have to ruin what could have been a more beautiful movie with a guys face been stabbed to nothing with a glass bottle. Poor judgment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeHAug 5, 2009
After having seen the rave reviews on Metacritic I decided to buy this film. Honestly, I'm at a loss as to what all the fuss is about! It seemed like the film never really got going, I couldn't connect with it, and, as other people After having seen the rave reviews on Metacritic I decided to buy this film. Honestly, I'm at a loss as to what all the fuss is about! It seemed like the film never really got going, I couldn't connect with it, and, as other people have said, not a great deal happens. Though not the worst film I've seen by a long-shot, disappointment was my main feeling, that and waiting for it to end... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
dustincJan 18, 2010
To see this movie sandwiched between Pan's Labyrinth and Dr. Strangelove absolutely turns my stomach. this is movie is complete rubbish. do you want to watch nothing happen for 2 hours in a communist country in the 80s? watch it. its To see this movie sandwiched between Pan's Labyrinth and Dr. Strangelove absolutely turns my stomach. this is movie is complete rubbish. do you want to watch nothing happen for 2 hours in a communist country in the 80s? watch it. its not "harrowing" its not "poignant" it is, however, CRAP. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
FionaB.Nov 12, 2008
Exceptional acting and as a viewer you experience the emotions of the actors but not what I would call a "thriller".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AilbheS.Nov 23, 2008
the depiction of a young woman having an abortion in soviet russia is a highly unusual and intriguing theme. the acting throughout the film is very well done although i still could not connect with this film, i found it quite boring at times the depiction of a young woman having an abortion in soviet russia is a highly unusual and intriguing theme. the acting throughout the film is very well done although i still could not connect with this film, i found it quite boring at times and i think something much more could be made out of it. it seems any films with the "a" word in them receive very high acclaim and i am worried that people are trying to be so politically correct that they feel they must give in and give films like this so much notoriety. over all impression is one of disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeK.Nov 5, 2008
Is this a joke! I have a 20 minute test and this film failed. i have no idea about what was going on and could actually care less. I read some of the other comments and cannot believe that realism is so compelling when it is totally boring and dull.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MikeD.Oct 22, 2008
Bill B. nailed it right on the head. Story is interesting but lacks a driving plotline. I expected a lot more given all the glowing reviews on metacritic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaGeakeJan 22, 2008
It feels like a perfect illustration of a story and the feeling you get while watching 4 months, 3 days and 2 weeks can only be described as identical to the electric, tense and addictive sensation of reading a superb book. It's justIt feels like a perfect illustration of a story and the feeling you get while watching 4 months, 3 days and 2 weeks can only be described as identical to the electric, tense and addictive sensation of reading a superb book. It's just amazing and once again just like your new favourite book - if it wernt for the worry that I may find it less enthrawling I'd go and watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndyCFeb 12, 2008
Oh my Gosh! This movie is linearly overrated, nothing in this is either thoughtful or interesting. I was clearly bored, with director and writer Cristian Mungiu running out of ideas once the first half hour passes. I am truly and Oh my Gosh! This movie is linearly overrated, nothing in this is either thoughtful or interesting. I was clearly bored, with director and writer Cristian Mungiu running out of ideas once the first half hour passes. I am truly and comprimisably letdown and disappointed, this is said to be a masterpiece. And its up for the Academy awards, BAFTA's, Golden Globes and many other red-carpet nominations. And I don't think this film doesn't deserve anything it is getting. 99/100!! That is negatively stunning, I had also found this film to keep on surpassing on poor storytelling, they didn't give a singly purpose or point to what is happening, and they needed to explain way more what was happening, I was confused half of the time. Anyway, I fell asleep a few minutes before the credits started because this just wasn't enjoyable whatsoever, and whatever mood I am in. For me, this blows, one of the year's worst films, in the top 10 for that. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AdeA.Feb 12, 2008
Wonderful!! Filmaking, storytelling, acting. This is what I'd call a true horror film, strongly connected to reality and deepest human nature introspection. The story is told in an implicit, but - at the same time - direct manner. This Wonderful!! Filmaking, storytelling, acting. This is what I'd call a true horror film, strongly connected to reality and deepest human nature introspection. The story is told in an implicit, but - at the same time - direct manner. This is a subtle and powerful film. It will follow you long after you left the theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFeb 13, 2008
This was a fantastic film from start to finish, and I have to add that I doubt I'll see a better film than this the rest of the year. This will surely create a lot of discussion in the abortion debate, and I think the director is This was a fantastic film from start to finish, and I have to add that I doubt I'll see a better film than this the rest of the year. This will surely create a lot of discussion in the abortion debate, and I think the director is clearly not on one side or the other based on the ending. It's really a shame this wasn't one of the foreign film Oscar nominations. Although I have not seen them, I would be surprised if they are better than this. Oh, and Andy C, you are an idiot!!! Poor storytelling and they needed to explain more what was happening??? Huh? I really don't see what was confusing about the film at all. Maybe you should just stick to seeing Rambo or Hottie and the Nottie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LanaS.Feb 14, 2008
I went to this film expecting a masterpiece; I left the theater without such an experience. In short, the film drags at times, and definitely overrated in the emotions evoked to the audience. Excellent acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyH.Feb 22, 2008
glen f's comment comparing this film to Juno is hilarious! ("Juno was a much funnier pregnant-girl movie.") Best laugh I've had this week!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AdyG.Oct 12, 2009
Superbly performed gritty tale - but I learnt nothing from it, it was simply harrowing for its own sake, and didn't preoccupy my mind for long after its viewing. This film has very little to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnHOct 29, 2009
Beautifully written, "4 months" is easily in the top 10 of the year for great acting! I cant say anything that anyone else has said thats true about it, its clearly obvious the cast did a superb job. I can understand how some people find Beautifully written, "4 months" is easily in the top 10 of the year for great acting! I cant say anything that anyone else has said thats true about it, its clearly obvious the cast did a superb job. I can understand how some people find this film dull, its an acquired taste, its not some action Bruce Willis flick, its driven on emotion, treads on your nerves, and through it you will feel something real like i did, or you wont, as i said - its an acquired taste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamesOJul 11, 2009
God awful. This is another independent movie that has the critics' panties all in a bunch. The reason it's terrible: nothing happens in the movie. It plods along with scenes of dialogue followed by more scenes of dialogue about the God awful. This is another independent movie that has the critics' panties all in a bunch. The reason it's terrible: nothing happens in the movie. It plods along with scenes of dialogue followed by more scenes of dialogue about the most mundane shit ever. Yeah, it sucks to be living in an oppressive Communist society. We get it. At least make it more interesting with a STORY or something. Acting is decent. The scenery and props are pretty good too; it's pretty drab and depressing looking which gives it atmosphere. Otherwise, a complete waste of time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ScottSep 24, 2009
Polarizing film. my wife hated it . i really enjoyed the incredible acting and the directors bold use of stillness and silence. the 7 averages our impression.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexHSep 24, 2009
Finally seen this and was not disappointed, my partners(romanian) tales of communist Romania were verified in this movie, it was gritty, commanding and masterful. that was life in Romania prior to the revolution in 89, they were the people Finally seen this and was not disappointed, my partners(romanian) tales of communist Romania were verified in this movie, it was gritty, commanding and masterful. that was life in Romania prior to the revolution in 89, they were the people and the movie is a true representation of Romania at the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MS.Nov 11, 2008
When it was over, we were glad the pain was over. But we were oh so confused how this movie received such a high rating. It was bad beyond English words (literally).
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
dscheeresDec 27, 2015
If this was awarded the #1 Best Movie, I can write off the rest of that year. Perhaps there is a lot of politics behind that award and the high "critical acclaim" which distorts the rating. The movie is dark and dull. I'd rate it lower butIf this was awarded the #1 Best Movie, I can write off the rest of that year. Perhaps there is a lot of politics behind that award and the high "critical acclaim" which distorts the rating. The movie is dark and dull. I'd rate it lower but I like films that have historical context, foreign cultures, and are in other languages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews