Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 12 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Dec 26, 2013
    37
    Ultimately, the movie just doesn’t justify its outrageous bid to turn a solemn tale of self-sacrifice into swaggering global-marketplace entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Dec 24, 2013
    30
    Rinsch, making his feature debut, shows the shortcoming of someone coming from the image-based world of commercials and advertising. There are moments of genuine beauty and a few terrifically eye-popping effects, but no feel yet for storytelling.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Dec 23, 2013
    30
    It falls short on character definition, emotional involvement, narrative drive and originality.
  4. 25
    It’s a movie of pointless scenes.
  5. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Dec 25, 2013
    25
    In spite of its enjoyable, easy-to-exploit aspects, 47 Ronin is a big budget spectacle hamstrung by its need to be at once flippant and respectful of its honor-driven source material.
  6. Reviewed by: Kenji Fujishima
    Dec 22, 2013
    25
    This botched vision accepts the warrior's nobility at face value and sees the story merely as a springboard for high-flying action and CGI special effects.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Dec 26, 2013
    20
    This Hungarian-shot bore is so indistinct it reeks of no place more than Hollywood, where the fascinating specifics of history and legend are ground into universal mush.
  8. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Dec 26, 2013
    20
    47 Ronin is elephantine and lumbering, a wobbly, would-be epic that aspires to the scope and majesty of The Lord Of The Rings trilogy, but comes up woefully short.
  9. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 25, 2013
    20
    The basics of the story remain unchanged, but it’s the wanna-be-blockbuster additions that rankle, be it the incoherent direction of first-time feature director Carl Rinsch or the copious CGI beasties who look like rejected "Lord of the Rings" villains.
  10. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Dec 23, 2013
    20
    “I will search for you through 1,000 worlds and 10,000 lifetimes!” Reeves promises his beloved. Anyone who sits all the way through this glossy folly will know exactly how that feels.
  11. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Dec 23, 2013
    5
    Insufferably boring, culturally hegemonic, and profoundly ugly.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 24, 2013
    0
    In the monumentally dull 47 Ronin, Reeves mumbles monosyllabic claptrap between dull action scenes. And it’s a shame: At almost 50 years old, the actor allows this turgid, clanky flick to play to his worst stereotypes.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 339 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 116
  2. Negative: 21 out of 116
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Wow. I am shocked by the bad critic reviews. I thought this movie was excellent. Compelling story. Special effects support but don't dominateWow. I am shocked by the bad critic reviews. I thought this movie was excellent. Compelling story. Special effects support but don't dominate the story. The acting is a bit wooden at times, but it felt stylistically appropriate and didn't detract from the movie at all. I think it is an intentional nod to traditional Japanese form, but what do I know?

    Frankly this movie reminded me of one of the "Lord of the Rings" movies, Japanese style. It is a complete and intriguing universe. The cinematography and artistic direction feel coherent and well conceived. I feel like the characters were well developed and we understood their point of views by the end of the movie.

    I loved this movie. The time passed without notice while I was immersed in it. I'd see it again.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    What a piece of crud. Another display that KR is not capable of acting, unless mumble mumble mumble is actling. Dude, where is my katana?What a piece of crud. Another display that KR is not capable of acting, unless mumble mumble mumble is actling. Dude, where is my katana? With all the CGI, maybey they could have used some of it to make KR look Japanese and to show some acting! Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    Pointless scenes. Again,and again. That's sad,but this film was not only boring it was also ridiculous. NOT the film of the year. There'sPointless scenes. Again,and again. That's sad,but this film was not only boring it was also ridiculous. NOT the film of the year. There's nothing good to keep in it. Full Review »