50/50

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 547 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 547

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays a nice guy who finds out he has a serious form of cancer. While he deals with the unpleasant side effects of his treatment and the reactions of the women in his life, his best friend (Seth Rogen) supports him with plenty of humor. There are moments of pain and earnest drama, but a good laugh is never far away. Rogen shines with his constant comic comments andJoseph Gordon-Levitt plays a nice guy who finds out he has a serious form of cancer. While he deals with the unpleasant side effects of his treatment and the reactions of the women in his life, his best friend (Seth Rogen) supports him with plenty of humor. There are moments of pain and earnest drama, but a good laugh is never far away. Rogen shines with his constant comic comments and Gordon-Levitt delivers another touching, but strong performance. Don't be dismayed by the subject and enjoy the jokes! Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    How can you make a comedy about cancer? Forever we have seen cancer play huge roles in films, but itâ
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Probably the best movie I've seen this year. The story of the movie was amazing and the movie had the perfect balance between drama and comedy and knows perfectly when they have to switch between them. The humor is insanely funny and the emotional moments were REALLY emotional. The acting performances are also really amazing by Joseph Gordon-Levitt and of course Seth Rogen! Conclusion, IProbably the best movie I've seen this year. The story of the movie was amazing and the movie had the perfect balance between drama and comedy and knows perfectly when they have to switch between them. The humor is insanely funny and the emotional moments were REALLY emotional. The acting performances are also really amazing by Joseph Gordon-Levitt and of course Seth Rogen! Conclusion, I loved this film and i will definitely buy it on blu-ray. I'm looking forward to see the movie again. Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    50/50 balances Drama and comedy perfect. I felt the drama of Joseph Gordon-Levitt's character dealing with the cancer. The scenes that are supposed to give me a tearjerker gave it to me. The comedy that Seth Rogen gives are very funny and are delivered well. To me the fact that Joseph Gordon-Levitt is in this movie and as the lead role makes it even better. It's a great story, cast, and movie.
  5. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    Makes a laughing matter of something that shouldn't be. At one moment, awkwardly laughing and at the next, choked up, this was well-written from top-to-bottom and expertly acted. Probably Rogen and Goldberg's best film yet.
  6. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, even though the Rogen character was a little close to being over the top. Levitt is absolutely perfect as the cancer stricken person holding all his emotions in, until he finally explodes the night before his surgery. I haven't cried at a movie inI loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, even though the Rogen character was a little close to being over the top. Levitt is absolutely perfect as the cancer stricken person holding all his emotions in, until he finally explodes the night before his surgery. I haven't cried at a movie in years but definitely teared up at this one. I'm glad the time of the year has arrived when the good movies are shown. Highly recommended. Deserves the great reviews it's getting. Expand
  7. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    AMAZING FILM! the cast, story, music, everything was perfect. adam is a guy who gets cancer and the movie is just about how he deals with it! adam is played by joseph gorden levitt and he plays him really well! its so believable. he played him perfecty. Kyle is adams friend played by Seth Rogen and he plays him well, i mean hes basically the same guy in every movie although in this movieAMAZING FILM! the cast, story, music, everything was perfect. adam is a guy who gets cancer and the movie is just about how he deals with it! adam is played by joseph gorden levitt and he plays him really well! its so believable. he played him perfecty. Kyle is adams friend played by Seth Rogen and he plays him well, i mean hes basically the same guy in every movie although in this movie he has some heart, he may look like the funny, **** type guy who just wants to get laid, but towards the end of the movie, it is shown that hes been reading a cancer book that shows how to help someone out who has it! Anna kendrick plays katty a psychiatrist whos trying to get their doctorate and adam is one of her patients. she is WOW AMAZING!!! shes so Beautiful in this movie shes really the cute girl who tries to help out adam but somehow she cares alot about him and falls for him in a way. and i seriously fell in LOVE WITH HER! Bryce howard plays rachel, adam's girl friend. i don't wanna spoil anything so i'll leave it at that. overall the movie was brilliant. i loved how they took something so serious as "Cancer" and not made it funny but somehow make the story around it funny! The movie was hilarious! and also had some sad moments, it was a NICE movie! people should go watch it! BEAUTIFUL MOVIE!... it definitely makes you think differently about cancer. 10/10 i'll definitely be getting the bluray :) Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The prognosis for Vivian Bearing's survival is far from 50/50. Right from the start, the scholar puts the audience on notice: "I have stage IV metastatic ovarian cancer. There is no stage five." In facing death, Professor Bearing is blunt; she dashes our hopes for a Hollywood ending. Statistically speaking, the odds of her living through this hovers around 99/1, or worse. But still, she gets laughs. She's funny. Who knew? Just us. With no loved ones to speak of, Vivian, by default, speaks to the viewer, in hospital rooms without fourth walls, which allows the lifelong educator to deliver a seminar on her "uncompromising" life, filled with jokes. That's the remarkable thing about Emma Thompson's performance in Mike Nichols' adaptation of the 1999 Pulitzer Prize-winning play "Wit"(by Margaret Edson): the gallows humor gets provided by the patient, whereas in "50/50", it's Kyle who offsets the maudlin situation by concentrating on the perks of having a friend who just might be dying. To say the least, "50/50" is irreverent about life and death. Adam's illness provides a boost for his sex life. For the longest time, you're never sure if there's a method to Kyle's madness. Played by Joseph Gordon Leavitt, Adam would be more apt to sing "Here Comes Your Man"(like in "500 Days of Summer") than "Wind Beneath My Wings" on karaoke night. "Beaches", it is not. In James Brooks' "Terms of Endearment", against a Manhattan backdrop, Debra Winger implores a friend that "it's alright to talk about the cancer," but is it alright to joke about something so "insidious" and "pernicious". "Lance Armstrong, he's always getting it," Kyle, with offhanded aplomb, tells his buddy, as if schwannoma(a nerve sheath tumor that's normally benign, but in Adam's case, is malignant, and located on the spine) was nothing to worry about. And then, as another example, he uses Patrick Swayze, which many will find in bad taste, yet for Kyle, who is trying desperately to soothe himself and Adam out on the sidewalks of Seattle, it's not a joke; he just flat-out didn't know that the beloved actor had lost his battle with pancreatic cancer. While some moviegoers may find his "faux pas" darkly amusing, and others, an uproarious joke that is symptomatic of an Internet culture which breeds barbarity, you don't see either pedestrian laughing. Kyle looks devastated. He just allowed death back into the room, causing added anxiety for both. You can see the wheels spinning in Kyle's head, as he tries to fix this rift in his shaky rhetoric. But from our side of the screen, most people will be staring back in horror. The joke about Swayze is an open-and-shut case of being "too soon". As for cancer itself, however, a disease that dates back to ancient Greece, it's fair game, arguably, for a comedic filmmaker, since more than enough time has passed. Conversely, a lighthearted movie about AIDS would be tricky. The relatively young disease lacks the historicity of cancer, therefore, making light of somebody's lesions would indeed be "too soon". "50/50', on the other hand, is right on time. The cancer genre needed this. Unlike AIDS, there really is no canonical films to speak of; no "Philadelphia" to hang a hat on its bald head. "Wit", albeit a searing masterpiece, may be better known as a stage play. And "Terms of Endearment", in spite of its Oscar-laden pedigree, seems awfully facile in its depiction of a young woman's cancer; it's movie cancer, the kind without the chemotherapy sessions that gives rise to the nausea and the baldness, which "Wit" depicts, and "50/50" subverts. When Vivian throws up, it's not the vomit, but the wit stemming from her serial regurgitations that has us cautiously guffawing. Words, not actions, make the professor funny. She's too dignified for either comic subgenre: the gross-out comedy and the stoner flick. And that's a shame. Life has passed her by. She doesn't have to "barf [her] brains out", but drugs, even the remedying kind, is verboten for her. Nancy Reagan would love this woman. By contrast, Seth Rogen, who lights up in "Pineapple Express"(and many other films), keeps on smoking, but this time it's for a worthwhile cause, since the pot is for medicinal purposes, not recreational. In retrospect, the soft drug belongs in "Terms of Endearment", not "Poltergeist". And it belongs in "Wit", too. Cannabis critics, however, will point out that Adam is having too much fun. Medicinal marijuana, they'll say, excuses people to have pot parties. Vivian's idea of fun is more their speed. The professor makes a game out of guessing her emesis output. To wit, she needs to watch a Cheech & Chong movie, not deconstruct one more 17th century sonnet. In "50/50" the bromance movie grows up. More than ever, it's easy to see how a close male friend can be like a surrogate girlfriend, as Adam finds himself between women, and only has Kyle to lean on. Expand
  9. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Walking a tightrope of polar extremes between gravity and levity, perhaps "50/50's" most exemplary trait is its dexterity and finesse with which it juggles such diversity; an amalgamation that's subject matter is treated with both careful caution and insouciant jocose. The film is home to a vividly rich script, thanks to Will Reiser's real-world insight and vision, prim pacing and balance,Walking a tightrope of polar extremes between gravity and levity, perhaps "50/50's" most exemplary trait is its dexterity and finesse with which it juggles such diversity; an amalgamation that's subject matter is treated with both careful caution and insouciant jocose. The film is home to a vividly rich script, thanks to Will Reiser's real-world insight and vision, prim pacing and balance, as well as arguably the most realistic, heart-rending emotional sequences to ever grace a theater screen yet. Gordon-Levitt shines as the undemonstrative, reserved man of fledglingly unfortunate news, who, through his battle and journey, takes us the viewer with him; both painful symptoms and quiet triumphs are experienced through him unto "us." Further, Rogen's burbly demeanor is an effective bolster and change of pace to the uncompromisingly elegiac tone. Overall, the film is timely; funny when levity is called, and moving when sadness exists. "50/50" proves humour can be wrung from critical subjects, providing it's done with sufficient thoughtfulness, tact, and wit. Expand
  10. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Perfectly acted, emotionally flawless, and laugh out loud funny, 50/50 is one of the best movies of the year, with at least a couple of Oscar worth performances, the funniest lines of the year, and a powerful blend of crying and laughing. This movie is basically flawless, and should not be missed by anyone.
  11. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    A tremendous disappointment!! The acting was so unbelievable! Talk abou the dumbing down of movies. I was expecting so much! The acting was horrible! So contrived. I really thought it was so very stupid.
  12. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    Very solid film, at times funny and at times touching. I'd say never really hilarious and never really emotional (although it wants to be both), but it's definitely solid and quality film. My only problem was I'm not a huge Joseph Gordon Levitt fan, and he seems to lack the charisma this role needed to really be great. Otherwise, everyone else from Seth Rogan to Anna Kendrick are great.
  13. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    This was a very good film. Joseph Gordon Levitt is such a solid young actor and this was a wonderful performance. I thought the film was real, deep, funny and touching. My only complaint was the ridiculous and stereotypical portrayals of the physicians and the therapist. It was surprising given that the film was written by someone who went through this, but it came off as making thatThis was a very good film. Joseph Gordon Levitt is such a solid young actor and this was a wonderful performance. I thought the film was real, deep, funny and touching. My only complaint was the ridiculous and stereotypical portrayals of the physicians and the therapist. It was surprising given that the film was written by someone who went through this, but it came off as making that whole part of the film seem written for a screenplay and an audience reaction instead of being real. However, I would still recommend this film. Expand
  14. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I can't remember the last time I saw a movie pull off the comedy/drama balance as well as this movie. A movie about a nice young man who finds out he has cancer hardly sounds like an "entertaining" movie but I loved it. The movie never gets overly dramatic, despite the emotionally heavy issues this movie deals with. It also deals with the theme of this movie with a lot of care. ThereI can't remember the last time I saw a movie pull off the comedy/drama balance as well as this movie. A movie about a nice young man who finds out he has cancer hardly sounds like an "entertaining" movie but I loved it. The movie never gets overly dramatic, despite the emotionally heavy issues this movie deals with. It also deals with the theme of this movie with a lot of care. There are plenty of genuinely funny moments, paricularly in the first half of the movie. Joseph Gordon Levitt and Seth Rogen have good chemistry, and JGL is perfect in this role. He has plenty of charisma, mainly because his character feels so real and easily relatable. Rogen on the other hand is your typical funny man in this movie, although it's surprising that it's so easy to dislike his character. I never thought I'd see a Seth Rogen movie where is character is a genuine dick, albeit a dick who cares about his best friend getting diagnosed with cancer. The movie does a very good job with the cancer's effect on JGL's relationships. Whether it's his best friend, mother, and girlfriend. All in all, I thouroughly enjoyed this movie. It's rare to find a movie that makes you want to laugh and cry at the same time. Expand
  15. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    Much better than I had expected. I passed on seeing this in the theater because it just seemed a little too depressing, but this was a great story that was also surprisingly funny.
  16. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    In one word: wow.
    But that's not enough, so I'll put it this way: this is exactly what it is like dealing with a serious medical issue and it was both hilarious and heartfelt and rings extremely true with anyone else that has had to deal with anything remotely similar to this. Even if you haven't, or you don't no anyone that has it still is a an excellent movie that has a genuine plot and
    In one word: wow.
    But that's not enough, so I'll put it this way: this is exactly what it is like dealing with a serious medical issue and it was both hilarious and heartfelt and rings extremely true with anyone else that has had to deal with anything remotely similar to this. Even if you haven't, or you don't no anyone that has it still is a an excellent movie that has a genuine plot and point to make. Go see it, basically anyone could find something to like about this movie. People that are easily offended by heavy coarse language jokes may need to stay clear though as it might be too off-putting but that was always a given with Seth Rogen cast in the movie so if you walk away thinking it's bad because the dialogue didn't fit your dinner table conversation nicely then you're clearly missing out on a great film and it's your loss.
    Expand
  17. May 22, 2012
    7
    A film about a young guy learning he has cancer with 50% chances of dying manages to show what it is like living as if he has 50% of living. Levitt once again proves to be one of the best of his generation.
  18. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    A brilliant film if JGL and this movie aren't nominated for a golden globe and Oscar they are stupid. The film was able to balance out the funny and serious scenes really well. This probably the best film of the year.
  19. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    This is a funny (often LOL), sometimes moving (never heavy handed) movie of a young man stricken with cancer. Performances across the board are excellent, but Anjelica Huston is captivating as the son's mother who only takes BS from her son. Levitt and Rogen's friendship expressed through their banter feels authentic with Rogen the arrested adolescent and Levitt the responsible,This is a funny (often LOL), sometimes moving (never heavy handed) movie of a young man stricken with cancer. Performances across the board are excellent, but Anjelica Huston is captivating as the son's mother who only takes BS from her son. Levitt and Rogen's friendship expressed through their banter feels authentic with Rogen the arrested adolescent and Levitt the responsible, emotionally reserved cancer patient. Easily one of the best movies I've seen this year. Expand
  20. Dec 23, 2012
    8
    An excellent drama/comedy that doesn't skimp out on any drama or comedy. Everybody gives a fantastic performance and it will completely suck you in. Outstanding.
  21. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Cancer and comedy don't really go hand in hand, but 50/50 does a great job of pairing them up. There are, of course, some tear inducing moments to be had but more often than not, 50/50 has you laughing out loud. Seth Rogan is tremendously funny! 50/50 is a great movie, full of heart, humor and good performances.
  22. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    A well-acted film about normal people dealing with mortality. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is terrific as always, and the story goes to some interesting places, but also some obvious ones. A small film with a good message.
  23. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    I like when it's approached a dramatic theme with a dose of comedy, showing a relaxed and optimistic side without overdoing it and falling in very improbable. It makes rethink how to handle difficult and unexpected problems when you add a little levity.

    I don't really like Seth Rogen, but he fulfilled the role of comic relief and to represent the friend who use disappoints at times, but
    I like when it's approached a dramatic theme with a dose of comedy, showing a relaxed and optimistic side without overdoing it and falling in very improbable. It makes rethink how to handle difficult and unexpected problems when you add a little levity.

    I don't really like Seth Rogen, but he fulfilled the role of comic relief and to represent the friend who use disappoints at times, but you can count on him. Even with the impression that he was playing himself, was surprised to learn that in reality is Seth's best friend Will Reiser, in whose life the film was based.

    It was daring the bar scene in which Adam tries to lure girls saying he has cancer. It's so strange and compelling as to be original, when instead of masking the problem, takes advantage of it as a differentiation and as a point of interest.

    Anna Kendrick is highlighted once again playing the role of a more mature for her age, in a more contained than in Up In The Air. She can be annoying and adorable at the same time.

    Gladly in the end there wasn't the kiss between the two. The film finished with a taste of expectation, making unnecessary to show the novel is finished, since it was already clear there was involvement between them.

    You can not stop commenting on the soundtrack that worked well as a whole. In particular, it was great to hear High and Dry and Yellow Ledbetter.
    Expand
  24. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    Many films about cancer are actually only about â
  25. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    A funny movie that still seems honest about Cancer treatment at all times. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, as someone dealing with the issue, never for a moment seems artificial. Seth Rogen develops some good laughs while coming across as a concerned friend. Anna Kendrick knocks it out of the park as a new and nervous therapist. As a leukemia survivor I felt this movie honestly captures what we goA funny movie that still seems honest about Cancer treatment at all times. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, as someone dealing with the issue, never for a moment seems artificial. Seth Rogen develops some good laughs while coming across as a concerned friend. Anna Kendrick knocks it out of the park as a new and nervous therapist. As a leukemia survivor I felt this movie honestly captures what we go through more than than most films about the subject... while being genuinely entertaining. Expand
  26. Jan 25, 2012
    7
    Nice cast. Hewitt is perfect in the role. Kendrick is quite good and pulls off being quite different from her Up in the Air performance in a role that is really thankless. Angelica Huston made you want to see more of her and Seth Rogen was usually over the top and pretty annoying. Good script. The film looked like it was shoot on a K Mart Budget.
  27. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Fantastic film! Every performance hits the bullseye! This film deals with such a sensitive topic in a truly amazing way: truth and humor. JGL is so truthful in his performance and we watch his character take the news, inform his family, and deal with the fear, anger, and denial associated with those events. Rogen, as one can imagine, provides non-stop humor and yet, there is an enormousFantastic film! Every performance hits the bullseye! This film deals with such a sensitive topic in a truly amazing way: truth and humor. JGL is so truthful in his performance and we watch his character take the news, inform his family, and deal with the fear, anger, and denial associated with those events. Rogen, as one can imagine, provides non-stop humor and yet, there is an enormous truth with his character as well.......he deals with the stress and grief just like a confused friend probably would. Such a great film! Expand
  28. Dec 2, 2011
    7
    50/50 is a comedy drama with a main emphasis on the drama. Yes there are funny moments, but the subject matter (a young man getting cancer) is do damn depressing that they do little to lighten the mood. Joseph Gordon-Levitt puts in the performance of his career as the cancer-stricken Adam Lerner - he is for the most part understated, yet always compelling and really brings home the50/50 is a comedy drama with a main emphasis on the drama. Yes there are funny moments, but the subject matter (a young man getting cancer) is do damn depressing that they do little to lighten the mood. Joseph Gordon-Levitt puts in the performance of his career as the cancer-stricken Adam Lerner - he is for the most part understated, yet always compelling and really brings home the unimaginable struggle of someone in his position. Anna Kendrick also impresses as Adam's young psychotherapist, believably showing someone who's read all the textbooks but lacks an appropriate bedside manner due to her inexperience, and Angelica Huston also impresses, playing Adam's caring and protective, yet shunned mother. The film, in the end, is more about how cancer affects those closest to you rather than the afflicted individual, though the scenes taking place in hospital are still harrowing. 50/50 really brings across how close friends and family are unable to deal with such disastrous news as finding out that someone close to you may soon die - they try their best to be strong and supportive, but can never imagine what the afflicted person is going through. It's highly emotional, and at times hard to watch (particularly for a film spanning 100 minutes). the film is by no means perfect - Brycle Dallas Howard's character is pretty redundant - it almost seems like the filmmakers added her simply to have someone abandoning Adam due to his illness, and therefore have the full range of reactions to his condition, and some of the extended tear-jerking scenes, though they serve their purpose by provoking an emotional response, can remind you a little too much of an episode of Scrubs. Despite this comparison, it is as a drama that 50/50 is most effective - as a comedy, I'm not sure. There are laughs to be had in the awkward responses Adam gets from various people when they find out about his dire situation, but Seth Rogen's character of best friend Kyle does also persuade the terminally ill Adam to use his condition to get laid, which I found a little tasteless. It's an undeniably brave film about cancer how it can change the lives of not only the person afflicted, and it has some extremely memorable performances, but 50/50 has the odd stumble in terms of tone - as a drama it's moving, as a comedy, the subject matter offers little scope. Expand
  29. Dec 24, 2011
    7
    Cool film, not over the top as Hangover or Bridesmaid, but I'm a sucker for dead pan humor. Levitt did well, with Rogan serving as a good supporting actor. Anna Kendrick is good as always, as she seems comfortable in roles of dark humor.
  30. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    The funniest depressing movie ive ever seen. Seth Rogen, funny as always, Joseph Gordon Levitt, havent seen much of him but he was fantastic. This movie really plays with your emotions, it goes from laugh out loud hilarious right to depressing in an instant, but it was good. I kinew it would be a good ending because its a true story based upon the director of this films story. Very goodThe funniest depressing movie ive ever seen. Seth Rogen, funny as always, Joseph Gordon Levitt, havent seen much of him but he was fantastic. This movie really plays with your emotions, it goes from laugh out loud hilarious right to depressing in an instant, but it was good. I kinew it would be a good ending because its a true story based upon the director of this films story. Very good film, give it a try if you like an emotional film thats funny and has a good ending, 8/10 Collapse
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Adam Smith
    Nov 21, 2011
    80
    Whether you're after a comedy-drama about cancer or a Rogen laugh-fest with added heart, this does a remarkable job of balancing the odds. And the laughter/tears split? Call it 70/30.
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    70
    What ensues is "Beaches" meets "Pineapple Express." Which, I've got to tell you, is pretty much what living with cancer is like.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Sep 30, 2011
    80
    As the comedy in 50/50 turns darker, Gordon-Levitt, who's maybe the most natural, least affected actor of his generation, makes prickly plenty engaging.