User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 331 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 331

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Let's get one thing out of the way first: Yes, I am an Eminem fan. However, rap is not the only genre I like, and some rap artists make me sick like some people. I listen to just about any genre as long as the music is good, and I am a fan of other bests of different genres, even for orchestrated. 8 Mile was hyped up for a while and I never got to see it, and I thought it would just be aLet's get one thing out of the way first: Yes, I am an Eminem fan. However, rap is not the only genre I like, and some rap artists make me sick like some people. I listen to just about any genre as long as the music is good, and I am a fan of other bests of different genres, even for orchestrated. 8 Mile was hyped up for a while and I never got to see it, and I thought it would just be a typical tale of Eminem trying to become a rapper. But it isn't, and it is a much bigger movie and in my opinion, one of the best of 2002. Thanks to an excellent script, the grittiness, the message, and the fantastic performances, even from Eminem, 8 Mile is an excellent movie that borrows script ideas from great movies, perfects them and is special in its own way. SEE IT! Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Emotional, moving, depressing, exciting, these words are created for this movie. Eminem has outdone himself...................................................................................
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    I've seen this movie a long time, but in my lifetime I've seen more than once. While portraying the life of rapper Eminem is also a lesson in life, there is a story based on the problems of today. The movie basically shows that anyone, even if it is considered a nobody, can turn the world upside down by those you love.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Exciting, depressing, emotional, moving, amazing. This is the kinda movie you want to see, whether you liked rap or not. The feelings really get to you in this movie. Definitely one of my all-time favorites. It's one of those type of movies where a "bullied kid" gets somewhere and shows all of those bullies who he is, and how they can't stand up to him. Great movie! And even greater withExciting, depressing, emotional, moving, amazing. This is the kinda movie you want to see, whether you liked rap or not. The feelings really get to you in this movie. Definitely one of my all-time favorites. It's one of those type of movies where a "bullied kid" gets somewhere and shows all of those bullies who he is, and how they can't stand up to him. Great movie! And even greater with Eminem in it. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    Great movie. I can't stop watching. Eminem fan or not this movie has something for you. This movie is one of the few inspirational movies made of this time
  6. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Such a great movie. I wish I could erase my mind and watch this movie for the first time again. Unfortunately I know every word to every freestyle in it, so I have to rap along. But wow, what an amazing movie.
  7. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Dope movie... The best movie ever made in the history of hip-hop movies... Scratch that, all movies... This movie is a classic... Haters can't talk...
  8. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Everyone who says this movie was below a 7 has something against Eminem personally. They probably got offended by his lyrics, or couldn't handle the amount of truth this movie holds about hip hop in Detroit. It is a fantastic portrayal of the Detroit lifestyle, being an upcoming artist, and more than anything beautiful direction and soundtrack. Probably the best rap soundtrack for aEveryone who says this movie was below a 7 has something against Eminem personally. They probably got offended by his lyrics, or couldn't handle the amount of truth this movie holds about hip hop in Detroit. It is a fantastic portrayal of the Detroit lifestyle, being an upcoming artist, and more than anything beautiful direction and soundtrack. Probably the best rap soundtrack for a movie...ever. This could be a documentary, and still be incredible. But they gave you a kickass storyline to boot. Lucky you. Expand
  9. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    i have been a fan of rap almost all of my life, and also i'm a huge fan of eminem's early albums and the movie was his peak as an artist. he truly convinced us that he's a enormous talent. a great movie, and everyone should see this, not just his fans. eminem did a great job. i mean, everybody did a great job. this is one of my favorite movies. for sure. a must-see! 9+...
  10. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    If you have, one shoot or one opportunity... WATCH this movie, is awesome! Tell a very interesting story about Eminem's life, what makes you understand more about what happened during his life before his career
  11. May 12, 2011
    9
    yeah i love this movie it was really good. the freestyle battles were awesome. it was funny and touching as well. eminem can act a little. i felt bad for him. but this movie shouldn't get negative reviews especially from fans.
  12. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    A very good movie. I liked the battles and the soundtrack
  13. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    EPIC! For sure the best rap genre movie ever... Eminem's performance was stunning, emotional, exciting but again depressing and very convincing so i have absolutely no bad things to say about this movie. But I have a couple more good things starting with freestyle battles. They are written so perfect and it really gives you the feeling that you are there with Eminem, Brittany and MekhiEPIC! For sure the best rap genre movie ever... Eminem's performance was stunning, emotional, exciting but again depressing and very convincing so i have absolutely no bad things to say about this movie. But I have a couple more good things starting with freestyle battles. They are written so perfect and it really gives you the feeling that you are there with Eminem, Brittany and Mekhi watching and cheering. I could do this forever but I'm just gonna say one more thing: after watching the whole movie you look at credits and listen to Lose Yourself and it just fits so perfectly. Everyone should see this movie. Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    It has moments where its utterly breathtaking, and that, I did not expect. Eminem proves he's a worthy actor, the way he buries the emotion behind his eyes; he gives a fierce and determined performance.
  15. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    I love Eminem and 8 Mile. The story of 8 Mile is more a story about Rabbit's struggle against a rival "rap gang" than his personal struggle to overcome his circumstances. Don't go into the theater expecting to see a poor white boy become a millionaire rapper. What you'll get instead is the story of a poor white boy who becomes a proud poor white boy. Basinger gives a wonderful performanceI love Eminem and 8 Mile. The story of 8 Mile is more a story about Rabbit's struggle against a rival "rap gang" than his personal struggle to overcome his circumstances. Don't go into the theater expecting to see a poor white boy become a millionaire rapper. What you'll get instead is the story of a poor white boy who becomes a proud poor white boy. Basinger gives a wonderful performance as Rabbit's mother, but her inherent beauty and glamour makes little sense to the world that the movie is trying to create. I'm not saying that poor people can't be pretty, but if the story is going to bring so many stereotypes to life, why not this one? Awesome and Emotional. Must go for the oscar. Expand
  16. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    an incredible story an awesome performance by Eminem and most of the story are taken by real events from his life holy waw i mean for a rapper to act like that is just incredible.
  17. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    There are entertainers, and then there's Eminem. The controversial musician stars in a drama loosely based on his struggle to stardom. With a heartwarming plot, 8 Mile goes that extra mile to be a great film.
  18. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    BEST HIP HOP MOVIE - I loved this movie, this is one of my all time favourites, I am a big Eminem fan. I liked the story line, Eminem's acting. This movie was kind of based off of Eminem's real life, when he was coming up as a rapper, although the story was changed up a bit, also the characters, including Eminem himself who plays as Jimmy (also known as Rabbit). He is trying to come up asBEST HIP HOP MOVIE - I loved this movie, this is one of my all time favourites, I am a big Eminem fan. I liked the story line, Eminem's acting. This movie was kind of based off of Eminem's real life, when he was coming up as a rapper, although the story was changed up a bit, also the characters, including Eminem himself who plays as Jimmy (also known as Rabbit). He is trying to come up as a rapper, trying to get a record deal, also at the same time coming up as a white rapper in battles and dealing with him being broke and having a crazy mom. The story could have been better though, but regardless of that, this is a great movie Expand
  19. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    This is a really good movie focusing on the life of a poor white boy that lives on the wrong side of 8-Mile road. That white boy (eminem/ B.Rabbit), has to live in bad conditions and constantly suffer in his life. He has to earn the respect of the people around him by rapping in a underground rap competition. This is a really good movie and it doesn't drag on. Any Eminem fans willThis is a really good movie focusing on the life of a poor white boy that lives on the wrong side of 8-Mile road. That white boy (eminem/ B.Rabbit), has to live in bad conditions and constantly suffer in his life. He has to earn the respect of the people around him by rapping in a underground rap competition. This is a really good movie and it doesn't drag on. Any Eminem fans will definitely enjoy this amazing film. Expand
  20. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    This movie shows the rise of a upcoming Hip-Hop artist from Detroit, with no bullsh*t and has no censorship for what really happens in the cold world of Hip-Hop. What better actor to have for the main character than Eminem himself? No one, Eminem is the best actor for the part of B-Rabbit. Growing up himself in Detroit, Eminem knows the town in side and out, and knows the life of a familyThis movie shows the rise of a upcoming Hip-Hop artist from Detroit, with no bullsh*t and has no censorship for what really happens in the cold world of Hip-Hop. What better actor to have for the main character than Eminem himself? No one, Eminem is the best actor for the part of B-Rabbit. Growing up himself in Detroit, Eminem knows the town in side and out, and knows the life of a family starving to get by. This is shown perfectly in his flawless acting. If you haven't seen this movie, I would advise watching it, even if you aren't a Eminem fan. This is my favorite movie, and no other movie comes close to the greatness this movie has to offer. Expand
  21. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    I have seen many movies, but this one by far has to be my favourite! Amazing story line and brilliant actors. 10/10 from me. Its a shame there isn't a number 2.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. What it's really about is the euphoria that talent can bring to those who are possessed by it. That euphoria lights up the screen.
  2. 63
    A star is born in 8 Mile, all right, but his name is Mekhi Phifer.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    88
    The rap sequences are shot and edited with the excitement of a crisply broadcast sporting event, which in a way they are.