8MM

Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: February 26, 1999
2.7
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 174 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
26
Negative:
111
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
8mm has a very good story, it manages suspense properly enough, I don't agree that it shows too much gore, I think that it shows enough of it to probe the film's idea. It's not the best Cage's movie but it's an average suspense movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
IslamB.Nov 9, 2005
Yuckk!! It was grose with no story no art no good acting and boring and it also gave me a headache the worst nicholas cage movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
2
diogomendesDec 13, 2014
Director Joel Schumacher directed "Batman and Robin" so it doesn't come as a surprise that this movie was going to fail miserably. The end result is sadistic violence and a great lack of mystery and suspense.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
Joel Schumacher really doesn't show anything significant or prominent throughout "8MM". Everything's grotesque and lacks the profound air Nicholas Cage tries to present. However I admit that the film certainly did not deserve a 1.9 out of 10;Joel Schumacher really doesn't show anything significant or prominent throughout "8MM". Everything's grotesque and lacks the profound air Nicholas Cage tries to present. However I admit that the film certainly did not deserve a 1.9 out of 10; its still entertaining or manageable in a way. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
TylerH.Mar 20, 2005
I never thought I'll say this but the critics where right.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
FernandoG.Nov 24, 2003
They tried.......they tried.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Dec 19, 2003
Think it's bad now? Wait until it's sanitized for network viewing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
MrRiggsJan 9, 2011
What a good psycho thriller..kept me entertained throughout. Pretty crazy scenes that make you think...this really happened out there! He goes deep into underground territory on this one..love the plot and explains it well and does its job toWhat a good psycho thriller..kept me entertained throughout. Pretty crazy scenes that make you think...this really happened out there! He goes deep into underground territory on this one..love the plot and explains it well and does its job to keep you entertained. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
clinteastwooMay 11, 2016
.......................................................................................................................................................................... Hey People!!!!

Okey!!!! The Movie Don't Reached the Thriller, the
.......................................................................................................................................................................... Hey People!!!!

Okey!!!! The Movie Don't Reached the Thriller, the Gore, And the Focus in Phonography, That we Want, and the End is yes very Dull, But the film continue be very Good, don't deserved so much Negative Reviews, And have great Performances instead the people say Cage,Phoenix,Stormare and the womans did a great job!!!!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
InvincibleNov 4, 2006
Nice movie... a new concept! everyone may not like this one... but good to watch a movie like this!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.Jan 4, 2004
Seems like some people don't like it when film makers hold up a mirror to society. Unflinching, tremendously powerful and a wonderful soundtrack to boot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VeeOct 3, 2004
In an era when various teen-slasher trash comedies get labeled as 'horror' movies, something as scary and as disturbing as 8MM is called simply a 'thriller' - miscategorisation if there ever was one. this film was meant In an era when various teen-slasher trash comedies get labeled as 'horror' movies, something as scary and as disturbing as 8MM is called simply a 'thriller' - miscategorisation if there ever was one. this film was meant to scare people and it fulfills its task admirably. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewM.May 16, 2004
Hard to rate this movie...one's conscience argues about whether this is a well made film as opposed to a likeable film. Likeable, it assuredly is not. Well made, I think so...it certainly provokes reaction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CWalkerAug 28, 2005
A very intense and captivating psychological thriller. Often, films like this get lambasted when the subject matter is stronger than critics anticipate. Exploitative? Sure it is, but it's no B-movie. There's tense action, good A very intense and captivating psychological thriller. Often, films like this get lambasted when the subject matter is stronger than critics anticipate. Exploitative? Sure it is, but it's no B-movie. There's tense action, good acting, and some decent cinematography here. It just happens to be about snuff porn. Check your moral indignation at the door before renting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CalimeroMay 19, 2006
This film should not be in this list!It´s pretty good and scares the .... out of me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
This is one of the darkest, grittiest, and scariest films I have ever seen. The reason? It's simple, this could actually happen! This probably has happened before! Tom Welles (Nicholas Cage) is hired by an elderly woman who finds a snuffThis is one of the darkest, grittiest, and scariest films I have ever seen. The reason? It's simple, this could actually happen! This probably has happened before! Tom Welles (Nicholas Cage) is hired by an elderly woman who finds a snuff film among her late husband's possessions. She wants to know if it's real and if it is wants to pay the family for her husband's mistakes. The investigation takes Welles down a deep dark road that few travel and even less know about. The story is just so dark and creepy that some of you might actually be freaked out by it! Cage is amazing as always, leading a terrific cast, that includes Joaquin Phoenix and Tony Soprano himself, James Gandolfini. It's a very strong story that will chill you to the bone. It's defiantly not for everyone, but it was right up my alley! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rjmacreadyAug 15, 2016
The generally poor response to this astoundingly bold "mainstream" movie - which frankly only looks better with age - is the reason why our multiplexes are chock-full of Marvel movies. You reap what you sow, people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Crusty_CowboyJun 11, 2014
I loved this movie because of the dark nature of the film and what it depicts. It shows the struggle between the evil and good of man and one of the darker sides of our humanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smiyamotOct 2, 2016
Wow, I'm surprised by the really low ratings. This was a different story, not the Hollywood tried and true, and timely, snuff films and the hordes of young people going to Hollywood to be a big star. Living in LA, yes, there are a lot ofWow, I'm surprised by the really low ratings. This was a different story, not the Hollywood tried and true, and timely, snuff films and the hordes of young people going to Hollywood to be a big star. Living in LA, yes, there are a lot of people who think they are going to be stars. Maybe it's a comment on our society and mass media. It's hard to fault Nicholas Cage for this performance, was he trying for his Leaving Las Vegas persona, or was it the director who called the shots? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews