9

Focus Features | Release Date: September 9, 2009
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 238 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
158
Mixed:
55
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MoriahG.Sep 11, 2009
After a long, disappointing summer, filled with nothing but box-office driven, mindlessly name-brand, soullessly big budget spectacles, "9" stands out as painstakingly, hand crafted thing of beauty. The intricate detail, carefully placed in After a long, disappointing summer, filled with nothing but box-office driven, mindlessly name-brand, soullessly big budget spectacles, "9" stands out as painstakingly, hand crafted thing of beauty. The intricate detail, carefully placed in each frame, provides a consistently flawless and gratifying visual experience. It deftly manages mature themes, without resorting to vulgarity, while maintaining an unrelenting barrage of heart-pounding action sequences. The overall flow of the narrative does suffer from rushed storytelling, but it more than makes up for it with an endearing array of unique and believable characters. This film is the perfect example of why I, as an adult, still find value in animated feature films. This film is a perfect example of why it is unnecessary to dumb-down a narrative in order to facilitate a younger demographic, just because it is animated. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
BradMDec 21, 2009
A piece of brilliance, both in originality and visuals. Although short, it felt right at 80 minutes. Do we really need the 2-3 hour epics? straight to the point. Harrowing, haunting, yet my 5-year old totally got this movie. I feel the story A piece of brilliance, both in originality and visuals. Although short, it felt right at 80 minutes. Do we really need the 2-3 hour epics? straight to the point. Harrowing, haunting, yet my 5-year old totally got this movie. I feel the story treats the audience respect, both young and old. A favourite for years to come. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
It was very nice animation, the characters were average nothing special, and a story that came out of nowhere, this last part might be the best part of the movie, an original story but predictable at the same time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
AMovieCriticSep 17, 2009
Very interesting visuals and music, and 1 or 2 touching moments can't save 9, which unfortunately features a storyline that feels like it was penned in about 5 minutes. The movie becomes a string of action scenes with every line Very interesting visuals and music, and 1 or 2 touching moments can't save 9, which unfortunately features a storyline that feels like it was penned in about 5 minutes. The movie becomes a string of action scenes with every line sounding like it was written for the movie poster. The problem is that we can't have *suspense* if we don't care about the characters, and the characters here are so one-note and under-developed that it's impossible to really care much about their journey. At only 79 minutes long, the movie certainly had time to build a more substantial plot or add some layers to its characters, but it all just feels rushed. Not good, not bad, just mediocre. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RyanMSep 23, 2009
Shane Acker's first experiment is very good in outcome, but it has so many obvious flaws. 9 is visually impressive, probably one of the most visually impressive movies this year. The story of the movie is extremely familiar, and in a Shane Acker's first experiment is very good in outcome, but it has so many obvious flaws. 9 is visually impressive, probably one of the most visually impressive movies this year. The story of the movie is extremely familiar, and in a bad way. But as I said, the animation is amazing, and it certainly makes up for a lot that the film failed at. 9 is about a scientist who creates 9 small rag-doll creatures called Stitch Punks. And they have to save the world from evil mechanical beasts and ladeedadeeeda.......OK. Where do I start? This plot was pretty bad. It is original, but the theme is incredibly bland, and doesn't quite strike you as good, like District 9 or UP's respective themes. I give the story a 30%. Although it has a bad plot, 9 has some beautiful action scenes. These scenes were intense, hauntingly beautiful, and all around incredible. The only complaint about the action is, why so short? Yes, that is right. These action scenes are like most action scenes in movies. Short. But ever so good. I give the action a 70%. Possibly the brightest spot in 9 is the beautiful animation. And it is gorgeous, the detail is incredible. The characters.....look amazing! Every robot villain, every stitch-punk, and every landscape is just amazing! I think the design earns a rather generous 80%. 9 is produced by Tim Burton, which sure jerked a few heads. I mean, why wouldn't it? Its Tim Burton! But being that, he doesn't really get creative with this movie. The creatures are all Acker's, thank god. And so is the messed up story and characters. Characters. I haven't talked about them yet. Well, to tell you the truth, the story is so short, the characters never develop, and you never really get to know these characters that could be so complex and great. They all die pretty fast, which is another defect. The characters get a 50%. I have followed 9 from the moment the trailer premiered in theaters attached to Coraline. And I thought maybe, I would love it. And I was mostly disappointing of 9, but the animation wowed me. I say, rent 9. Its really not worth seeing in theaters, but a simple rent should do it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
juliankleissMar 26, 2011
The movie shows a post-apocalyptic/post-human place after the last of the humans has died in a war against their own machines. The film criticizes the abuse of science for the development of warfare - in this case especially artificialThe movie shows a post-apocalyptic/post-human place after the last of the humans has died in a war against their own machines. The film criticizes the abuse of science for the development of warfare - in this case especially artificial intelligence and biological warfare. Eventually, after our self-destruction, the forces of nature will wash away all the dirt we left behind. However, now that we are still here it is on us to keep our planet livable and beautiful. "9" has an intelligent story, an okay screenplay, and some beautiful moments. It is worth watching but loses some of its magic after the first viewing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LandFApr 19, 2012
9 is not a casual film. This isn't the kind of movie where you invite a bunch of friends over, expecting an "awesome" movie. That's not to say it's a bad movie, it's quite good in fact. It's just not a typical film. It's bleak, it's eerie,9 is not a casual film. This isn't the kind of movie where you invite a bunch of friends over, expecting an "awesome" movie. That's not to say it's a bad movie, it's quite good in fact. It's just not a typical film. It's bleak, it's eerie, and even the action, though strong, has a lot of symbolic meaning. I don't often watch films like 9, nor do I want to. 9 offers only a few smiles, and no laughs. Rule #1 for me, it has to have humor. I don't mind serious films, but a little humor can go a long way in helping me remember the film, and enjoy it. 9 manages to entertain without laughs. But 9 has a lot of emotion anyway. Fear certainly comes to mind, as does sadness. The PG-13 rating was not earned from language or sexual content. Part of it comes from the bloodless, yet intense violence. The more protruding part comes from the darkness. Despite it's limited inappropriate content, this is not a film for kids. It's dark themes may even challenge older ones. The story isn't all that sophisticated, to be honest. And there's more than a few cliches. There are plot points we've seen before, and characters that may evoke a sense of deja vu. But that's okay, because the movie is strong. The animation is incredible. The musical score, though a little run of the mill, is appropriately creepy, and it knows when to keep quiet. The voice cast is filled with stars that shine, but don't distract. Of course, you didn't come to see any of that. Depending on who you are, you came for one of two things; an intellectual film, and thought provoking themes, or epic machine vs. rag doll fights. If action is what you came for, you shouldn't be disappointed. There are plenty of, I shouldn't say duels, but fights between the stitch dolls, and the mechanical beasts. This film is not made up of action throughout, so teens coming ONLY for the action will surely be disappointed, but there's enough action to thrill and excite. If you came for intellectual stimulation, you will have to wait for after the film to enjoy that bit. During the movie, you will have to do little thinking. This is the kind of flick that inspires conversation after viewing. As the film runs, you simply have to sit back and enjoy. 9 is a wonderful movie. It's by no means, one for the ages, but it's a thought-provoking, heart pounding little flick, that can surely be enjoyed by any one who wants to try something, a little new. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
XavierBlaqJan 10, 2014
I have to give 9 credit for having me great heart at its core, but I refuse to give it credit for much else. The voice acting, though better than terrible, was not convincing enough to make me truly care about the characters. Worse still, theI have to give 9 credit for having me great heart at its core, but I refuse to give it credit for much else. The voice acting, though better than terrible, was not convincing enough to make me truly care about the characters. Worse still, the characters, in particular 9, are of the type that good voice acting is needed in order to bring in sympathy for them. Therefore, the tragic and ultimately bittersweet story was touching only so much as its actual plot. However, this plot, despite its terrible pacing, is the movie's only saving grace, and the only reason I will not say it is not worth watching. Honestly though, if you are a fan of Tim Burton-style animation (Corpse Bride, The Nightmare Before Christmas), the visuals will probably be worth it by themselves, since they are quite impressive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
The story just seemed a little incomplete to me, it was one of those movies where when it ended you were like "what, it's over?" so that was one of the only complaints I had about it. Otherwise a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
I can't give "9" a 9, but it still is a rewarding movie that portrays lovely, grim visuals.
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
5
HyperSSep 30, 2009
Seemingly a story created simply to facilitate an elaborate set of action scenes and pleasure the 3D modeler's and special effects guru's working on the film. But what about the spectator? After the film I was left with, "What was Seemingly a story created simply to facilitate an elaborate set of action scenes and pleasure the 3D modeler's and special effects guru's working on the film. But what about the spectator? After the film I was left with, "What was the entire point of the whole movie?" There really was none...they tried to make a sappy feelgood ending with the final monologue, but I just wasn't feeling it because it didn't make any sense nor were we ever given a reason to care. How did the robots die in the first place? We don't know. How do we know there aren't more? We don't know. From what we saw these potato sacks created their own drama when there was none and then had to destroy it for nothing more than saving the other potato sacks they were responsible for killing in the first place. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CelesteC.Sep 30, 2009
That movie is totally for me. All Sci-fiyy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCSep 11, 2009
My vote is not for the movie itself, but for the review I read on msn.com. Note to critics: when reviewing a movie directed at teens (as noted in your own review) don't use words that they have never seen. This is a MOVIE REVIEW not aMy vote is not for the movie itself, but for the review I read on msn.com. Note to critics: when reviewing a movie directed at teens (as noted in your own review) don't use words that they have never seen. This is a MOVIE REVIEW not a literary exercise to display your vast knowledge of the english language. In fact, stop it altogether! I'm sure you lose 90% of your audience after the 1 paragraph. If you actually reivewed the movie instead of trying to show how much better you are than the people reading your review, it might be worht something. Why do you think that people FLOCK to movies that are beat up by so-called critics? It's because 90% of all movie reviews are worthless piles of pigeon feces flung from the heavens by the literary avians... Come on man, stop writing crap, and write an actual review, stop trying to interpret what you are seeing! Just review what was there, how was the plot? How were the special effects? How long was it? Stop trying to write an essay on how movie X compares to the cinematic greats, and stop pretending like you know where the movie gets it's inspiration from, WE DON'T CARE! Please review the movie instead of trying to convince me that I'm an idiot an idiot because I might want to actually go see it. In fact, just stop altogether. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JudyTSep 14, 2009
This movie is too scary for kids and too uninteresting for adults. It has great visuals and animation but suffers from what most recent hollywood movies suffer from- bad writing. All the good writers have gone to TV, maybe hollywood should This movie is too scary for kids and too uninteresting for adults. It has great visuals and animation but suffers from what most recent hollywood movies suffer from- bad writing. All the good writers have gone to TV, maybe hollywood should go look there. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JayBSep 9, 2009
Only 9? I could have counted 100 cliches in this movie. I would have given this a zero if it weren't for the spectacular fight scenes. Plot, story, dialogue were a mere obstacle, almost a nuisance.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
KennyNov 4, 2009
Entertaining film but fallidisimo script. An animated film where you have endless adventures carried just fine, with a post-apocalyptic aesthetic that gets you into position quickly but which is sunk to the depths as the plot comes into Entertaining film but fallidisimo script. An animated film where you have endless adventures carried just fine, with a post-apocalyptic aesthetic that gets you into position quickly but which is sunk to the depths as the plot comes into play. A dash of absurdity aqui te pillo aqui te mato, with a horrible end, where there is no catch it. As I said, entertaining action scenes with a dash painful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
DeVr33zAug 11, 2010
Dull story and soulless characters. Decent animation. This is a film that doesn't know if it wants to be a children's movie or a dark, adult mystery, so it chooses to be neither, and that is its biggest failing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
NerijusDOct 9, 2009
Amazing animation and effects, no story whatsoever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
-=e=-Sep 13, 2009
This movie, while visually stunning, had a thread-bare plot that has been done so many times that it's hard to find something new to be excited about. If only more time was spent on the script, character development and plot this would This movie, while visually stunning, had a thread-bare plot that has been done so many times that it's hard to find something new to be excited about. If only more time was spent on the script, character development and plot this would have been a rare film. As it stands its a beautiful but retarded child of Terminator and the Matrix. A sad waste of money and talent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GabeSep 19, 2009
Boring on every level. Horribly written and bland.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JasonD.Sep 9, 2009
9 is packed with amazing visuals; the character designs and art direction were perfect. The story, however, feels compromised. What's most disappointing is that it's almost there-- it could have been just a little darker, the tone 9 is packed with amazing visuals; the character designs and art direction were perfect. The story, however, feels compromised. What's most disappointing is that it's almost there-- it could have been just a little darker, the tone more serious, the ending more somber. But these things were sacrificed to make a more kid-friendly movie with a "nice" Hollywood ending, and we are left with only a glimpse of what could have been. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
troyVSep 10, 2009
I think this is a bad movie becouse Ive seen the picture and I dont like it. It just dosent fit the name. Im going to e-mail the director and teel him that I would like to see more picture of movies that I like, not that I dislike: Period.
0 of 6 users found this helpful
3
SLynnSep 14, 2009
Disappointing for a movie billed with Tim Burton's name. It's apparent that's all they paid him for. I'd like to say the plot was interesting, but it wasn't. I guess the lesson is: if all humans are dead, who is left Disappointing for a movie billed with Tim Burton's name. It's apparent that's all they paid him for. I'd like to say the plot was interesting, but it wasn't. I guess the lesson is: if all humans are dead, who is left to care about a bunch of dolls? Also, this was not a movie for little kids. It's not just the fairly horrific scenes of dead bodies, but also the post apocalyptic theme that is fairly hard to grasp the ramifications of, even for an adult. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
AlexYJan 1, 2010
This movie scrapes out a 2 for its impressive visuals. Otherwise, Tim Burton should be ashamed. The plot twists and dialogue were so utterly predictable and hokey that I couldn't help but blurt snide comments at every possible This movie scrapes out a 2 for its impressive visuals. Otherwise, Tim Burton should be ashamed. The plot twists and dialogue were so utterly predictable and hokey that I couldn't help but blurt snide comments at every possible opportunity (of which there were many). My friends and I laughed all the way home after being subjected to this utter disappointment. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
lizKOct 2, 2009
I found this movie very dark...could have been a better movie with a bit more hope. I found a few images offensive/bit harsh for by 7 year old. There is a scene where you see dead(cartoon animation) mother holding child.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MaxWDec 22, 2009
The only reason that i watched this is because it was produced by Tim Burton, and thought it would be at least OK, it to be honest feels like a Disney channel mediocre movie. it at the beginning it was pretty good, because of the dark The only reason that i watched this is because it was produced by Tim Burton, and thought it would be at least OK, it to be honest feels like a Disney channel mediocre movie. it at the beginning it was pretty good, because of the dark elements but after that it was pretty much like moldy pie don't buy this unless your a Tim Burton Diehard fan. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickSSep 10, 2009
Maybe this movie has a short run time, But the action would go great for 4th graders 9 years old and up. Even though this movie is rated PG13 its good. I give this movie 10 stars out of 10, cause this movie is really stunning, has great Maybe this movie has a short run time, But the action would go great for 4th graders 9 years old and up. Even though this movie is rated PG13 its good. I give this movie 10 stars out of 10, cause this movie is really stunning, has great animation, and feels more better for Tweens in 4th grade and up. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SeanGSep 15, 2009
Great animation, but the plot is an incomprehensible mess. I really wanted to like this movie, but there are too many things about the story that were just . . . well, just dumb and ill thought out.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HaydenMSep 20, 2009
Great movie with outstanding special effects, interesting characters, and plenty of action. But I agree with some of the other reviewers that this movie is not for kids.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EricESep 24, 2009
I enjoyed this quirky movie. Kinda typical in a non-typical way. If you like dark Tim Burton types of movies then you would probably like this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful