User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 147
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesH
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Loved this film, and for that matter loved Polar Express. Both are Christmas classics. The 3D was magical in this film, and time ZIPPED by as fast as the ghosts flew! The director has obvious affection for the original book and follows it very closely - it is my favorite adaptation of this classic. It will hold up even WITHOUT the 3D - that's how good it is. Looking forward to his Loved this film, and for that matter loved Polar Express. Both are Christmas classics. The 3D was magical in this film, and time ZIPPED by as fast as the ghosts flew! The director has obvious affection for the original book and follows it very closely - it is my favorite adaptation of this classic. It will hold up even WITHOUT the 3D - that's how good it is. Looking forward to his next film. PS - I'm not a fan of Jim Carrey's comedies, but he is excellent in this movie. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I have heard the story of A Christmas Carol numerous times, but this adaption of the story is the greatest by far. It is darker than you would expect.
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    "A Christmas Carol" is a exhilarating Christmas movie that joyful remakes the original book into a marvelous interpretation.
  4. KennethL
    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    Disney
  5. IvanScrooge
    Nov 6, 2009
    3
    Zemeckis 3D movies look creepy. He should make a zombie movie, since all his characters already seem lifeless.
  6. clyde
    Dec 28, 2009
    3
    Sorry but this movie epicly failed and jim carry was NOT funny i almost wanted to ask for my money back it looks fake dosent have good acting trys to be funny and then later frighting but fails at both sorry but this should have a 3.
  7. AlexB.
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    I would have walked after the film revealed the hoorible ghost of christmas past if my sister had not treated us. It had such a light voice and a lisp that you couldn't hear a word it said. The animation was redundent and with so few actors playing so many different characters, kids where getting confused whether they were the same person in different suits. Jim Carey and Gary Oldman I would have walked after the film revealed the hoorible ghost of christmas past if my sister had not treated us. It had such a light voice and a lisp that you couldn't hear a word it said. The animation was redundent and with so few actors playing so many different characters, kids where getting confused whether they were the same person in different suits. Jim Carey and Gary Oldman have fun but i'm afraid thats all who will. Robert Zemekis needs to give up on this medium of film making because it's getting a bit old. I only hope that Peter Jackson and Steven Speilberg don't screw up Tin Tin with the same technology. Expand
  8. CaptainSpaulding
    Nov 7, 2009
    3
    Dickens? Disney? Carrey? Seems like a marriage made in Heaven doesn't it? Well...just a little south of there perhaps. This movie was pretty pointless really. Very little story, very little characterizations (perhaps they think we know all that by now). Mainly an excercise in how to make a big screen, big money 3D (which I didn't see it in) movie! It this is what we are dealing Dickens? Disney? Carrey? Seems like a marriage made in Heaven doesn't it? Well...just a little south of there perhaps. This movie was pretty pointless really. Very little story, very little characterizations (perhaps they think we know all that by now). Mainly an excercise in how to make a big screen, big money 3D (which I didn't see it in) movie! It this is what we are dealing with...spare us! Save yourself some aggravation and watch the 1938 version w/Reginald Owen or if you want a musical the fantastic version known as "Scrooge" w/Albert Finney ( a brilliant rendition). This one..."Bah Humbug". Expand
  9. JoeD
    Nov 12, 2009
    2
    Animation was very interesting but the rest, horrible. I should have walked out, a complete waste of money. I could even be bothered to pay attention, I was bored out of my mind. The movie didn't draw you in, didn't keep your attention, a total mess. The kids weren't even interested it was a sad insult to Dickens work. Overall it was an overdone mess!!!
  10. CRL
    Aug 27, 2011
    5
    This movie visually and script-wise is just a little too creepy to be a good adaptation of A Christmas Carol, although it does show some exceptional voice acting from Carey and Oldman.
  11. Dec 20, 2011
    3
    The story is a christmas classic and it sports amazing visuals, but the visuals seem to overwhelm the movie so it can be a bit tiresome and overlong. 2/4 stars.
  12. orthos
    Nov 7, 2009
    9
    The movie critics reveal their profound ignorance. Dickens' tale was a scathing, satirical allegory that attacked Malthusian theory. To bash the film for remaining true to Dickens' dark vision merely illustrates the critics' lack of literacy.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    This movie is ahead of it's time! it's brilliant, creative, and heartwarming. Way to go IMD and Disney! If you have not seen it yet, what are you waiting for?
  14. BlakeC.
    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    An exhilarating telling of the Dickens classic. Although the film is scary at some points, it still is a must-see for children of all ages.
  15. nancyc.
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    This movie is not for wee ones..We took 2 of our grandchildren last night (4 & 5 yrs ).They were asleep in under 10 minutes..BUT WE WERE SPELLBOUND....Our kids are accustomed to 3-D.. no biggie.. but without dialog comprehension ..all that was left was frightful (though spectacular) cinematic OMG.. Zemeckis' use of pure Dickens
  16. ChadS
    Nov 13, 2009
    6
    Motion capture captures terror. Everything looks dead on the screen, especially the people, so the sterility of the technology support the scenes where warmth is in absence. (That's why Bob Cratchit and Tiny Tim don't quite come across; they're supposed to be warm bodies with warmth.) The whole sequence leading up to Ebenezer Scrooge's visitation by The Ghost of Motion capture captures terror. Everything looks dead on the screen, especially the people, so the sterility of the technology support the scenes where warmth is in absence. (That's why Bob Cratchit and Tiny Tim don't quite come across; they're supposed to be warm bodies with warmth.) The whole sequence leading up to Ebenezer Scrooge's visitation by The Ghost of Christmas Past contains more dread than most live-action films centered around haunted houses. You understand Scrooge's need to keep a fire going in the fireplace. It's not so much the snow, but the depth of his loneliness, communicated by the pot of thick soup he eats with a wooden serving spoon. There's no woman's touch in this house, no domesticity, no need for a plate and utensils. The flames can't lick the unreachable cold that has a deep freeze on his heart. Maybe the haunted house tropes work in "A Christmas Carol" because Scrooge's desolation is two-fold. Alone in a mansion, and alone in life, the old man realizes that nobody will mourn him, and this fact scares him more than the moving bells, the rattling chains and the dragging sounds of weights, instigated by his old partner Marley, who looks like hell and probably came from hell, too. The Ghost of Christmas Past is a candle. Perfect. A candle provides illumination on the events that are responsible for Scrooge's tortured incarnation. Why did he let the love of his life go? Unfortunately, there's a scene missing, which would explain how money helped him overcompensate for a lonely childhood, to a point where greed superseded his ability to give and receive love. This flaw is more forgivable than the flaw of gratuitous action, so prevalent in the Ghost of Christmas Future section, and skewers the story in favor of 3D effects over fidelity towards the Charles Dickens novella. Expand
  17. SimonS.
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Sometimes critics are retarded at doing their job. I loved this movie. I thought it was a brilliant and inspiring film. Go see it in 3D.
  18. TDKinDallas
    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    See it in 3D. Expect it to be scary for the little ones and as long as the weird stop motion method doesn't bother you then prepare to be wowed. I thought the ghosts were a little too easy on Scrooge and he turned "nice" too easily, but it was a fun movie thrill ride! I paid $14 for XD 3D and was not disappointed.
  19. MarcF.
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    A CHRISTMAS CAROL provides a new creative era of Disney animation style, experiencing all genres in future projects like comedy, musical, philosophical drama, thriller, epic, intimate ... and different animation techniques: 2D, 3D and Mo-Cap. It's an excellent poem narrated as William Shakespeare with a correct oral expression. The animation and the script is very suggestive ... The A CHRISTMAS CAROL provides a new creative era of Disney animation style, experiencing all genres in future projects like comedy, musical, philosophical drama, thriller, epic, intimate ... and different animation techniques: 2D, 3D and Mo-Cap. It's an excellent poem narrated as William Shakespeare with a correct oral expression. The animation and the script is very suggestive ... The Alan Silvestri OST is clearly deserves a nomination for this year's Oscars, with permission from Randy Newman and "The Princess And The Frog". It's an excellent opportunity for Disney to resume stories like Snow Queen, Fraidy Cat, Selkies, Lady of the Lake, Swan Lake, Aida, Don Quixote, Musicana, My Peoples, Rumpelstlitskin, Goose Chase and many other examples like Ramayana or Kalevala. But the mind of the American public about the animation is still very closed, because parents are keeping their mind on the entire animation to be familiar. Their complaints have wasted a box office success of A CHRISTMAS CAROL. Expand
  20. RayR.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    This is the BEST 3D/animated film that I have ever seen. The animation is amazing because they're doing things in this film that could never be done in a live movie. The long action sequence could have been shortened and it wouldn't have taken anything away from the rest of the film. I was completely spellbound and captivated by what was on the screen. Before half the film was This is the BEST 3D/animated film that I have ever seen. The animation is amazing because they're doing things in this film that could never be done in a live movie. The long action sequence could have been shortened and it wouldn't have taken anything away from the rest of the film. I was completely spellbound and captivated by what was on the screen. Before half the film was over, I had decided to see it again. Great job! Expand
  21. AndyH
    Dec 10, 2009
    8
    With a classic like this, the storey is key. The performance capture technique allows Jim Carrey to produce wonderful characters (esp. as Scrooge) that put the tale across in a compelling way. The first 2 spirits while initially jovial and odd, credibly reveal the dark-side of Scrooge in a chilling way. On the downside, I did not feel much empathy for the Tiny Tim character. The finer With a classic like this, the storey is key. The performance capture technique allows Jim Carrey to produce wonderful characters (esp. as Scrooge) that put the tale across in a compelling way. The first 2 spirits while initially jovial and odd, credibly reveal the dark-side of Scrooge in a chilling way. On the downside, I did not feel much empathy for the Tiny Tim character. The finer points and morals of the storey will be lost on kids, e.g. wealth compared to poverty, the children representing Ignorance and Want. I was a little bored in some of the Expand
  22. BlakeB
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest 3D films I have seen since the new realD 3D technology was introduced. Zemeckis as usual succeeds in every aspect, adding action and 3D fun whilst still holding on to what made the original Dickens novel so special in the first place. Jim Carey was the perfect choice as scroodge and with the mixture of his voice acting and the amazing animation (the animation is One of the greatest 3D films I have seen since the new realD 3D technology was introduced. Zemeckis as usual succeeds in every aspect, adding action and 3D fun whilst still holding on to what made the original Dickens novel so special in the first place. Jim Carey was the perfect choice as scroodge and with the mixture of his voice acting and the amazing animation (the animation is incredibly detailed showing everything from blemishes to nose hairs) he keeps the story rapidly flowing at a great pace. See this film and make sure you do it in 3D at the movies!! Expand
  23. DukeH.
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Excellent effort by Robert Zemeckis and his team to create this masterful achievement of animation and style with this wonderful enactment of a classic. Soon to be the best "Carol" in the last 40 years.
  24. ChuckW
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I wish critics would review the movie, NOT the motion capture technology used to make the film (like so many critics seem to be doing). If this movie was made with standard CGI, like the Pixar movies, people would be raving. Rather, they keep going back to "Polar Express" and complaining about that! This film is very well done and has plenty of heart, soul and depth. Zemeckis has I wish critics would review the movie, NOT the motion capture technology used to make the film (like so many critics seem to be doing). If this movie was made with standard CGI, like the Pixar movies, people would be raving. Rather, they keep going back to "Polar Express" and complaining about that! This film is very well done and has plenty of heart, soul and depth. Zemeckis has re-imagined this tale with true artistic vision. His use of technology puts him at the forefront of fine film making. Bravo! Expand
  25. JamesM.
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    Very good movie well its the best 3d movie that I ever saw.The art in the movie is very interesting in this film.And thats pretty much it !
  26. KaseyR
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    I thought this version of A Christmas Carol, was a very interesting one. Jim Carrey adds a new dynamic to the Scrooger character. The technology used to make the film made this rendition captivating.
  27. AlbertS
    Nov 22, 2009
    6
    Plenty of scary scenes, not recommended for children younger than 7 yrs. old. This movie was like a roller coaster ride, some scenes were like watching a masterpiece and then other scenes were just dull. Overall leaving a felling that it could had been better. If it wasn't in 3D it would had been a complete disappointment.
  28. KGM.
    Nov 11, 2009
    7
    A delightful 3-D picture and a faithful rendition of Dickens
  29. Sausage
    Nov 11, 2009
    7
    This is a well made movie, It has all the elements today's popcorn crunchers love, it has astounding special effects, moments that pull at the tears and a " happily ever after". The one problem I had with it though, was how scary it must be for kids. I am 27 and throughout the entire movie I was cringing thinking how kids would handle the all to frequent scary scenes, No jokes, that This is a well made movie, It has all the elements today's popcorn crunchers love, it has astounding special effects, moments that pull at the tears and a " happily ever after". The one problem I had with it though, was how scary it must be for kids. I am 27 and throughout the entire movie I was cringing thinking how kids would handle the all to frequent scary scenes, No jokes, that when I walked into the cinema, it spelt of pee, well we know how one kid dealt with it!! I do warn parents to think twice about taking their toddlers, as it has a very dark feel about it!!! However, for those of you over 12...hey...its great fun!!!! Expand
  30. JoseD.
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing, the most beautiful thing I've seen all year. This was my first 3D movie and I was completely blown away. And as a movie, this has got to be the best adaption of "A Christmas Carol".
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Zemeckis' A Christmas Carol is, in its essence, a product reel, a showy, exuberant demonstration of the glories of motion capture, computer animation and 3D technology. On that level, it's a wow. On any emotional level, it's as cold as Marley's Ghost.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    Shortchanging traditional animation by literalizing it while robbing actors of their full range of facial expressiveness, the performance-capture technique favored by director Robert Zemeckis looks more than ever like the emperor's new clothes in Disney's A Christmas Carol.
  3. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    50
    A Christmas Carol is a whiz-bang 3-D thrill-ride with all the emotional satisfaction squeezed out of it.