Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 6, 2009
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
110
Mixed:
41
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JamesHDec 16, 2009
Loved this film, and for that matter loved Polar Express. Both are Christmas classics. The 3D was magical in this film, and time ZIPPED by as fast as the ghosts flew! The director has obvious affection for the original book and follows it Loved this film, and for that matter loved Polar Express. Both are Christmas classics. The 3D was magical in this film, and time ZIPPED by as fast as the ghosts flew! The director has obvious affection for the original book and follows it very closely - it is my favorite adaptation of this classic. It will hold up even WITHOUT the 3D - that's how good it is. Looking forward to his next film. PS - I'm not a fan of Jim Carrey's comedies, but he is excellent in this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
I have heard the story of A Christmas Carol numerous times, but this adaption of the story is the greatest by far. It is darker than you would expect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"A Christmas Carol" is a exhilarating Christmas movie that joyful remakes the original book into a marvelous interpretation.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
4
KennethLNov 20, 2009
Disney
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
IvanScroogeNov 6, 2009
Zemeckis 3D movies look creepy. He should make a zombie movie, since all his characters already seem lifeless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
clydeDec 28, 2009
Sorry but this movie epicly failed and jim carry was NOT funny i almost wanted to ask for my money back it looks fake dosent have good acting trys to be funny and then later frighting but fails at both sorry but this should have a 3.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexB.Nov 12, 2009
I would have walked after the film revealed the hoorible ghost of christmas past if my sister had not treated us. It had such a light voice and a lisp that you couldn't hear a word it said. The animation was redundent and with so few I would have walked after the film revealed the hoorible ghost of christmas past if my sister had not treated us. It had such a light voice and a lisp that you couldn't hear a word it said. The animation was redundent and with so few actors playing so many different characters, kids where getting confused whether they were the same person in different suits. Jim Carey and Gary Oldman have fun but i'm afraid thats all who will. Robert Zemekis needs to give up on this medium of film making because it's getting a bit old. I only hope that Peter Jackson and Steven Speilberg don't screw up Tin Tin with the same technology. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
CaptainSpauldingNov 7, 2009
Dickens? Disney? Carrey? Seems like a marriage made in Heaven doesn't it? Well...just a little south of there perhaps. This movie was pretty pointless really. Very little story, very little characterizations (perhaps they think we know Dickens? Disney? Carrey? Seems like a marriage made in Heaven doesn't it? Well...just a little south of there perhaps. This movie was pretty pointless really. Very little story, very little characterizations (perhaps they think we know all that by now). Mainly an excercise in how to make a big screen, big money 3D (which I didn't see it in) movie! It this is what we are dealing with...spare us! Save yourself some aggravation and watch the 1938 version w/Reginald Owen or if you want a musical the fantastic version known as "Scrooge" w/Albert Finney ( a brilliant rendition). This one..."Bah Humbug". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoeDNov 12, 2009
Animation was very interesting but the rest, horrible. I should have walked out, a complete waste of money. I could even be bothered to pay attention, I was bored out of my mind. The movie didn't draw you in, didn't keep your Animation was very interesting but the rest, horrible. I should have walked out, a complete waste of money. I could even be bothered to pay attention, I was bored out of my mind. The movie didn't draw you in, didn't keep your attention, a total mess. The kids weren't even interested it was a sad insult to Dickens work. Overall it was an overdone mess!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
MovieLonely94Oct 26, 2010
its way too dark and scary for kids, but to be fair, its not a bad movie. Jim Carrey and the other actors were decent and the visuals were good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
CRLAug 27, 2011
This movie visually and script-wise is just a little too creepy to be a good adaptation of A Christmas Carol, although it does show some exceptional voice acting from Carey and Oldman.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
marnee96Dec 20, 2011
The story is a christmas classic and it sports amazing visuals, but the visuals seem to overwhelm the movie so it can be a bit tiresome and overlong. 2/4 stars.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
orthosNov 7, 2009
The movie critics reveal their profound ignorance. Dickens' tale was a scathing, satirical allegory that attacked Malthusian theory. To bash the film for remaining true to Dickens' dark vision merely illustrates the critics' The movie critics reveal their profound ignorance. Dickens' tale was a scathing, satirical allegory that attacked Malthusian theory. To bash the film for remaining true to Dickens' dark vision merely illustrates the critics' lack of literacy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Nov 6, 2009
This movie is ahead of it's time! it's brilliant, creative, and heartwarming. Way to go IMD and Disney! If you have not seen it yet, what are you waiting for?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlakeC.Nov 7, 2009
An exhilarating telling of the Dickens classic. Although the film is scary at some points, it still is a must-see for children of all ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nancyc.Nov 7, 2009
This movie is not for wee ones..We took 2 of our grandchildren last night (4 & 5 yrs ).They were asleep in under 10 minutes..BUT WE WERE SPELLBOUND....Our kids are accustomed to 3-D.. no biggie.. but without dialog comprehension ..all that This movie is not for wee ones..We took 2 of our grandchildren last night (4 & 5 yrs ).They were asleep in under 10 minutes..BUT WE WERE SPELLBOUND....Our kids are accustomed to 3-D.. no biggie.. but without dialog comprehension ..all that was left was frightful (though spectacular) cinematic OMG.. Zemeckis' use of pure Dickens Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadSNov 13, 2009
Motion capture captures terror. Everything looks dead on the screen, especially the people, so the sterility of the technology support the scenes where warmth is in absence. (That's why Bob Cratchit and Tiny Tim don't quite come Motion capture captures terror. Everything looks dead on the screen, especially the people, so the sterility of the technology support the scenes where warmth is in absence. (That's why Bob Cratchit and Tiny Tim don't quite come across; they're supposed to be warm bodies with warmth.) The whole sequence leading up to Ebenezer Scrooge's visitation by The Ghost of Christmas Past contains more dread than most live-action films centered around haunted houses. You understand Scrooge's need to keep a fire going in the fireplace. It's not so much the snow, but the depth of his loneliness, communicated by the pot of thick soup he eats with a wooden serving spoon. There's no woman's touch in this house, no domesticity, no need for a plate and utensils. The flames can't lick the unreachable cold that has a deep freeze on his heart. Maybe the haunted house tropes work in "A Christmas Carol" because Scrooge's desolation is two-fold. Alone in a mansion, and alone in life, the old man realizes that nobody will mourn him, and this fact scares him more than the moving bells, the rattling chains and the dragging sounds of weights, instigated by his old partner Marley, who looks like hell and probably came from hell, too. The Ghost of Christmas Past is a candle. Perfect. A candle provides illumination on the events that are responsible for Scrooge's tortured incarnation. Why did he let the love of his life go? Unfortunately, there's a scene missing, which would explain how money helped him overcompensate for a lonely childhood, to a point where greed superseded his ability to give and receive love. This flaw is more forgivable than the flaw of gratuitous action, so prevalent in the Ghost of Christmas Future section, and skewers the story in favor of 3D effects over fidelity towards the Charles Dickens novella. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonS.Nov 7, 2009
Sometimes critics are retarded at doing their job. I loved this movie. I thought it was a brilliant and inspiring film. Go see it in 3D.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TDKinDallasNov 7, 2009
See it in 3D. Expect it to be scary for the little ones and as long as the weird stop motion method doesn't bother you then prepare to be wowed. I thought the ghosts were a little too easy on Scrooge and he turned "nice" too easily, but See it in 3D. Expect it to be scary for the little ones and as long as the weird stop motion method doesn't bother you then prepare to be wowed. I thought the ghosts were a little too easy on Scrooge and he turned "nice" too easily, but it was a fun movie thrill ride! I paid $14 for XD 3D and was not disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcF.Nov 8, 2009
A CHRISTMAS CAROL provides a new creative era of Disney animation style, experiencing all genres in future projects like comedy, musical, philosophical drama, thriller, epic, intimate ... and different animation techniques: 2D, 3D and A CHRISTMAS CAROL provides a new creative era of Disney animation style, experiencing all genres in future projects like comedy, musical, philosophical drama, thriller, epic, intimate ... and different animation techniques: 2D, 3D and Mo-Cap. It's an excellent poem narrated as William Shakespeare with a correct oral expression. The animation and the script is very suggestive ... The Alan Silvestri OST is clearly deserves a nomination for this year's Oscars, with permission from Randy Newman and "The Princess And The Frog". It's an excellent opportunity for Disney to resume stories like Snow Queen, Fraidy Cat, Selkies, Lady of the Lake, Swan Lake, Aida, Don Quixote, Musicana, My Peoples, Rumpelstlitskin, Goose Chase and many other examples like Ramayana or Kalevala. But the mind of the American public about the animation is still very closed, because parents are keeping their mind on the entire animation to be familiar. Their complaints have wasted a box office success of A CHRISTMAS CAROL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayR.Nov 9, 2009
This is the BEST 3D/animated film that I have ever seen. The animation is amazing because they're doing things in this film that could never be done in a live movie. The long action sequence could have been shortened and it This is the BEST 3D/animated film that I have ever seen. The animation is amazing because they're doing things in this film that could never be done in a live movie. The long action sequence could have been shortened and it wouldn't have taken anything away from the rest of the film. I was completely spellbound and captivated by what was on the screen. Before half the film was over, I had decided to see it again. Great job! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndyHDec 10, 2009
With a classic like this, the storey is key. The performance capture technique allows Jim Carrey to produce wonderful characters (esp. as Scrooge) that put the tale across in a compelling way. The first 2 spirits while initially jovial and With a classic like this, the storey is key. The performance capture technique allows Jim Carrey to produce wonderful characters (esp. as Scrooge) that put the tale across in a compelling way. The first 2 spirits while initially jovial and odd, credibly reveal the dark-side of Scrooge in a chilling way. On the downside, I did not feel much empathy for the Tiny Tim character. The finer points and morals of the storey will be lost on kids, e.g. wealth compared to poverty, the children representing Ignorance and Want. I was a little bored in some of the Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeBNov 12, 2009
One of the greatest 3D films I have seen since the new realD 3D technology was introduced. Zemeckis as usual succeeds in every aspect, adding action and 3D fun whilst still holding on to what made the original Dickens novel so special in the One of the greatest 3D films I have seen since the new realD 3D technology was introduced. Zemeckis as usual succeeds in every aspect, adding action and 3D fun whilst still holding on to what made the original Dickens novel so special in the first place. Jim Carey was the perfect choice as scroodge and with the mixture of his voice acting and the amazing animation (the animation is incredibly detailed showing everything from blemishes to nose hairs) he keeps the story rapidly flowing at a great pace. See this film and make sure you do it in 3D at the movies!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DukeH.Nov 12, 2009
Excellent effort by Robert Zemeckis and his team to create this masterful achievement of animation and style with this wonderful enactment of a classic. Soon to be the best "Carol" in the last 40 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckWNov 15, 2009
I wish critics would review the movie, NOT the motion capture technology used to make the film (like so many critics seem to be doing). If this movie was made with standard CGI, like the Pixar movies, people would be raving. Rather, they I wish critics would review the movie, NOT the motion capture technology used to make the film (like so many critics seem to be doing). If this movie was made with standard CGI, like the Pixar movies, people would be raving. Rather, they keep going back to "Polar Express" and complaining about that! This film is very well done and has plenty of heart, soul and depth. Zemeckis has re-imagined this tale with true artistic vision. His use of technology puts him at the forefront of fine film making. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesM.Nov 16, 2009
Very good movie well its the best 3d movie that I ever saw.The art in the movie is very interesting in this film.And thats pretty much it !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KaseyRNov 19, 2009
I thought this version of A Christmas Carol, was a very interesting one. Jim Carrey adds a new dynamic to the Scrooger character. The technology used to make the film made this rendition captivating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlbertSNov 22, 2009
Plenty of scary scenes, not recommended for children younger than 7 yrs. old. This movie was like a roller coaster ride, some scenes were like watching a masterpiece and then other scenes were just dull. Overall leaving a felling that it Plenty of scary scenes, not recommended for children younger than 7 yrs. old. This movie was like a roller coaster ride, some scenes were like watching a masterpiece and then other scenes were just dull. Overall leaving a felling that it could had been better. If it wasn't in 3D it would had been a complete disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KGM.Nov 11, 2009
A delightful 3-D picture and a faithful rendition of Dickens
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SausageNov 11, 2009
This is a well made movie, It has all the elements today's popcorn crunchers love, it has astounding special effects, moments that pull at the tears and a " happily ever after". The one problem I had with it though, was how scary it This is a well made movie, It has all the elements today's popcorn crunchers love, it has astounding special effects, moments that pull at the tears and a " happily ever after". The one problem I had with it though, was how scary it must be for kids. I am 27 and throughout the entire movie I was cringing thinking how kids would handle the all to frequent scary scenes, No jokes, that when I walked into the cinema, it spelt of pee, well we know how one kid dealt with it!! I do warn parents to think twice about taking their toddlers, as it has a very dark feel about it!!! However, for those of you over 12...hey...its great fun!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful