Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jan 11, 2013
    33
    If the sluggishly paced, virtually laugh-free Haunted House is Wayans' conception of a passion-fueled labor of love, it's horrifying to ponder what he'd consider a mercenary cash-grab.
  2. Reviewed by: Sherilyn Connelly
    Jan 15, 2013
    30
    Are the movie's half-dozen genuine laughs there just to tease the audience? What can we do to keep "A Haunted House 2" from happening?
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 11, 2013
    30
    Too often settles for raunchiness instead of wit.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 11, 2013
    30
    The hit-to-miss ratio is less than impressive throughout A Haunted House, a frenetic and freewheeling satirical comedy that only sporadically scores a bull's-eye while aiming at easy targets.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jan 30, 2013
    25
    For 85 rude and raunchy minutes, he does his best to drive a comical stake through the heart of horror's hottest franchise and the "found footage" genre. He doesn't exactly succeed.
  6. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    Never one to shrink from the challenge of parodying the already parodic, along comes Marlon Wayans to do in A Haunted House what he once did in "Scary Movie." And do it much, much worse.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Cunningham
    May 27, 2013
    20
    Dreadful.
  8. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jan 22, 2013
    20
    This exceedingly lazy comedy is just the first of two "Paranormal Activity" parodies being crammed down our throats this year. The horror!
  9. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 11, 2013
    20
    If the opening gag in your R-rated movie is an extended flatulence joke you should reconsider whether you're qualified to make such a movie. Not that flatulence jokes aren't funny; 8-year-olds love them. The thing is, not many 8-year-olds go to R-rated movies.
  10. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Jan 11, 2013
    12
    If you're wondering why A Haunted House exists alongside the upcoming Scary Movie 5 rather than instead of it, you may already have given the subject more thought than Marlon Wayans had hoped.
  11. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 11, 2013
    10
    No-holds-barred comedy is one thing, hurtful thoughtlessness is something else entirely. An ostensible comedy shouldn't have so many moments that feel so ugly.
  12. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    0
    A Haunted House, its despicable bigotry aside, is also a not-very-good comedy.
  13. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 16, 2013
    0
    By eliminating the winking, broad strokes of the filmmakers' more successful spoofs, they've made a film that is not only dumb, but dull. It's like watching a snuff film, only it's the audience who's dying inside.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 57
  2. Negative: 19 out of 57
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    If you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing I would say - this movie is not appropriate for children under 17. I agree with Melinda - when the DVD comes out I would definitely buy it... don't listen to the critics - go and see it - you wont regret it! Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    I have only walked out of 4 movies in my life and this was one of them. It sucked.
    We were very disappointed. I expected so much more from
    the Wayans family who I
    am very big fans of. That is one of the reasons why we went. It just was not funny at all.
    we left after about an hour. A waist of good money.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    I'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laugh uncontrollably for a good portion of the movie. Yes, there were some parts where the writing was sub par but the critics reviews of this movie, like most comedies, is completely unfair. IF YOU LIKE TO LAUGH, GO SEE THIS!! Full Review »