User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 138
  2. Negative: 46 out of 138

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2014
    5
    A Haunted House es una película que se burla de varias películas de terror, tales como The Blair With Project, Paranormal Activity (en teoría, de cuatro), The Devil Inside y The Last Exorcism.

    El film de vez en cuando logra sacar risas al público, pero su historia se pierde de una manera débil en su comedia que es muy, pero muy negra. Esta película no resulta muy original, y podría
    decirse que se debe a que su concepto va entrando en un bosque al cual lo que hace es dejarla fuera de lugar, aunque se puede decir de que el parecido a las tomas de cámaras de este film con el de "Paranormal Activity" está bien logrado, pero, por desgracia, no llega a un nivel de otras películas que son de su tipo, como, por ejemplo, las de "Scary Movie". Expand
  2. May 27, 2014
    4
    There were a few good scenes in this film, and the overall film plot was under average. Apart from that, the other scenes in this film were very boring, and constantly rely on sex as humour.
  3. Apr 21, 2014
    7
    could be better, but its pretty funny. kids b/w ages of middle school and early college would love this. If you liked In Living Color, then you'll like this
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    5
    You have to give "A haunted house" a chance because for me, it;s a film that gets funnier as it progresses.
    I'm not usually a big fan of parody films, Marlon Wayans at first is a little annoying with his comedic overacting buts its something i soon got used to and actually started to enjoy.

    While isnt not an amazing film by any counts, it is one of the first parody films in a long
    while that at times had me laughing out loud. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2014
    6
    its about an average move lol I would give it a 5.5 but metacritic doesn't have that score lol overall though haunted house was not a bad movie; I got a couple laughs in this movie, here and there and I did laugh heartily a good couple times; for the most part though about a good half of the jokes failed; I was expecting more out of this movie since the wayans were in this but yeahhh it didn't live up to the hype; maybe it was cause keenan wayans didn't direct this or maybe it was cause shawn wayans wasn't in this but all in all this movie lost some of the magic wayans films are known for; I would say though that I did get entertainment out of this movie and I really I would say this film is worth it if youre watching it for free and didn't pay 20 bucks at the theatre; if you are planning on paying for it welllll theeenn, lets just hope youre rich lol Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    this movie is a like one of the best horror comedy ever . Marlon Wayans is freaking funny in this film i had a quite a good laugh in this film . here's the bad news this film tries to be like scary movie and there copying some of it they try to have cameras just like scary movie 5 and paranormal activity . but still it is enjoyable to watch . if you do not like it screw you but this is a good comedy for 17 and up . also i can not wait to see a haunted house 2 . Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    The best paranormal activity spoof I have ever seen. There are a few boring parts but its mostly just laugh after laugh. Don't go into this movie expecting a oscar winning performance. You CAN expect tons of rude, racist, yet hilarious humor and the story ain't too shabby!
  8. Jan 3, 2014
    4
    Pointless and not funny at all. A Haunted House is ridiculously crass and 90% of the jokes could be thought up by a 9 year old (with a very dirty mind). However it is slightly better than the similar Scary Movie 5.
  9. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    A Haunted House really isn't even a spoof film, it only sets itself up in a horror movie spoof setting, and then makes its own stupid jokes. Seriously, the jokes and writing don't use the horror element to make it funny, but just use dumb gags. There isn't much more to say.

    F
  10. Dec 23, 2013
    1
    Ok, now I understand that the Wayans brothers like to make parodies out of movies but sometimes, they need to know that it was a step too far. That's exactly what happened in this film.
  11. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    What to say about this one, hmmmm. I knew it was to good to be true that a brand new BluRay was $14.99. It didn't disappoint. Donating it to the library in the morning.
  12. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    This film was funny and entertaining. If you were offended by anything other than what happened to the male lead, I suggest you analyze yourself. It was made to show what this couple would do versus the typical couple often found in these situations. I couldn't stop laughing. My Irish husband couldn't either. I cannot wait to see what movies they parody in the sequel. My vote is: keep 'em coming. Especially since there isn't much to pick from in Hollywood since the early 2000's. Btw, I am not just a movie watcher, I also make them. Put yourselves in others' shoes. Expand
  13. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    What's with the bad reviews?! this is a funny movie, it's a parody (not meant to relate to the original video). showed this movie to 10 of my friends, and they laughed
  14. Sep 20, 2013
    5
    One can argue that this is a stupid, badly-acted horror movie cliché movie, but you have to admit it provides some good laughs, as well as some inappropriate scenes that add shock value.
  15. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    A Haunted House is a lot like the Scary Movie series in that it's a comedy spoofs various horror movies. In this case the "found footage" horror films like Paranormal Activity and [Rec]. It can be very funny at times, downright hilarious at others. It's immature like you would not believe because it's jokes are all sex and fart related, but it still provides MANY laughs. However there are times in this movie when they take their sex related humor too far, to the point where it pushes the line of good taste WAY farther than it should (rape isn't funny people). But in the end the humor manages to keep itself up and keep you entertained even when the vulgarity reaches some insanely unfunny and downright sickening levels. Expand
  16. Jun 27, 2013
    1
    The worst kind of comedy. Appalling, Grotesque and plain immature. Just not funny. The people in charge of this movie need to grow up and realize that vulgarity just doesn't get laughs anymore. On par with Scary movie v Which also got bad reviews. This movie is a classic example of bad comedy.
  17. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    One of the most unfunny and offensive movies I have ever seen. There is NOTHING of value here. Go see one of the Scary Movies not this garbage-fest. Or hell, go watch GARBAGE DAY on youtube a gajillion times more entertaining than this crapola. Also apparently they're making a second one slated for next year ALREADY. Is the world coming to an end? WHO WATCHES THIS!!??? WHY!!!??? AAAAAAAAAAAHHH!
  18. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    By far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script were flawless. This movie truly defines the generation of technology we live in and if you disagree you're gay.
  19. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is literally the best comedy movie I've ever watched. If you have an incredibly immature sense of humor, watch this movie. It's amazing. No flaws.
  20. Jun 10, 2013
    7
    This film was wayyyyyy better than all Scary movies. Though it's stupid it is really funny and entertaining. Seriously (for the bad reviews) when you watch a film like that you know that there is not going to be some good quality. You will laugh at this movie like you've never did. If you like scary movie, epic movie etc.. You will like it. I hope the sequel is as good as this one. What was a suprise for me was that it actually only talked about paranormal activity and the devil inside. I can say that i liked very much and if you want to laugh that's good stuff Expand
  21. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    "Say what you will about me. A Haunted House was actually outrageously funny. That spoofs the genre almost perfectly. Marlon Waynes has crafted a worthy film to and It's that rare parody every ten or so years that actually works and makes you laugh." B
  22. Jun 4, 2013
    1
    These films need to stop being made. There is nothing funny here just more fart jokes and wow I had sex with a ghost jokes which we've seen in every Scary Movie. Speaking of that I can't wait to see Scary Movie 5.
  23. May 29, 2013
    1
    "A Haunted House" lacked a sustaining gag factor. The entire movie was extremely lackluster that each comedic moment only jolted me out from falling asleep.
  24. May 16, 2013
    8
    this movie is funny crazy funny i laughed for a long time like the whole movie i havent seen a movie that made me laugh this hard in a long time watch it
  25. May 11, 2013
    2
    Oh. My. God. I was prepared for this movie to be bad, but the enjoyable type of bad, that you can still laugh at. I could've written this script, and I have the comic wit of a paper towel. It starts off with Marlon's character humping two stuffed animals for probably over a minute straight. Then, there is a series of fart jokes followed by a maid going crazy and hitting people, and a grown man screaming like a little girl. Basically, it's all the things people under the age of five think is funny, except this is for adults. Nick Swardson comes in to unintentionally mock the entire homosexual community, in a way that is more offensive than if it were intentional. I wish I were making this up. I mean, they don't even make the effort to use cliche jokes that have used in every single sitcom since the 50's, like most bad comedies do. It's just a series of people doing stupid, over-the-top, things for a laugh; things that have all been done before, and weren't funny then either. I do have to say that the performances are generally pretty good. The actors do their best to revive a horrible script, but the best comedic actors of all time could not have saved this movie. Not good. Not good. Expand
  26. May 11, 2013
    0
    We rented this movie expecting to laugh and enjoy our movie night. I was so embarrassed and completely appalled by all the sex references. I made my teenagers leave the room. My husband should have read the contents first. We didn't even watch the entire movie. It was disturbing and not funny. The previews show all the funny parts. I usually like the Wayans' movies, but they went too far on this one. Collapse
  27. May 4, 2013
    2
    "A Haunted House" (a [poor] parody of the "Paranormal" franchise) will only appeal to those with the most juvenile of humor, mainly for pre-teens which is odd since it's rated R. This film was a waste of my time, not recommended.
  28. May 3, 2013
    2
    Surprisingly this film wasn't even as good as most of the Scary Movies. Like those films, this was yet another spoof comedy mocking one or more horror flicks. A Haunted House mostly was a spoof on Paranormal Activity. While there were certainly some funny parts and Marlon Wayans is his typical funny self, the movie was mostly just stupid, which was to be expected. What was disappointing was that none of the cameos were all that funny. Cedric the Entertainer was stupid and Nick Swardson was too gay. Expand
  29. May 3, 2013
    0
    Marlon Wayans needs to stop polluting the entertainment industry. This garbage is so rotten it makes me mad that there was a distributor that signed off on releasing this immature, worthless, incomprehensible, pile of dingo dung. Marlon, the next time you have the urge to film you and your friends' pet projects; upload the video to YouTube like the rest of us. For you to have thought a film of you and your friends messing around was so good that people should pay to see it requires severe detachment from reality. Expand
  30. Apr 30, 2013
    2
    To be quite honest with you all I think 2/10 was generous. This film is a lost cause. I know it's a film parodying 'Paranormal Activity', but in some scenes it is basically just ripping it off completely without working up to a joke. A ridiculous film with absolutely no reason for making it other than money.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Emma Morgan
    May 27, 2013
    40
    The moments where you feel the cast are off-script and riffing are fun if not actually funny, but the most horrific thing on offer here is misogyny.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Cunningham
    May 27, 2013
    20
    Dreadful.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    0
    A Haunted House, its despicable bigotry aside, is also a not-very-good comedy.