User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 143
  2. Negative: 46 out of 143
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    If you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing I would say - this movie is not appropriate for children under 17. I agree with Melinda - when the DVD comes out I would definitely buy it... don't listenIf you want a REAL good laugh - go and see this movie. I don't understand why there are so many negative comments about this movie. It was made to poke some fun at the movie "Paranormal Activity" and they did a good job too. Only thing I would say - this movie is not appropriate for children under 17. I agree with Melinda - when the DVD comes out I would definitely buy it... don't listen to the critics - go and see it - you wont regret it! Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    I'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laughI'm not really sure what people are expecting when going to see a "scary movie" parody starring Marlan Wayans. If you can appreciate stupid humor and constant fart jokes this movie is absolutely hilarious... I was a huge fan of the "Scary Movie" series especially the 2nd and 3rd one, and while this movie has a different feel then that franchise, it still managed to make me laugh uncontrollably for a good portion of the movie. Yes, there were some parts where the writing was sub par but the critics reviews of this movie, like most comedies, is completely unfair. IF YOU LIKE TO LAUGH, GO SEE THIS!! Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    Don't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wanted it to do...make you laugh. Plus, it has a couple of scenes in it that will make you jump at first then laugh immediately after. Probably one of theDon't listen to the "expert" movie critics trashing this movie. My gf and I went to see this over the weekend in a packed theater and the entire room was in hysterics. A hilarious movie that does exactly what the director and writers wanted it to do...make you laugh. Plus, it has a couple of scenes in it that will make you jump at first then laugh immediately after. Probably one of the better parody films to come out in recent memory. Expand
  4. May 16, 2013
    8
    this movie is funny crazy funny i laughed for a long time like the whole movie i havent seen a movie that made me laugh this hard in a long time watch it
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    By far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script were flawless. This movie truly defines the generation of technology we live in and if you disagree you're gay.
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    I"m stunned by the reviews this movie got. This was/is by far the funniest movie I've seen in a long time. If your looking for a good laugh mixed with a couple scary parts this is your movie. The whole theater was packed everyone was laughing the whole way thru. A must see. I will certainly be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD.
  7. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    For what it was, it got a lot done right. It was funny and did a great job at making fun of cliche found footage movies. Was it stupid at times? Yes it was. Was it sloppy? Yes it was. However was it funny? Oh, yeah. It was.
  8. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    "Say what you will about me. A Haunted House was actually outrageously funny. That spoofs the genre almost perfectly. Marlon Waynes has crafted a worthy film to and It's that rare parody every ten or so years that actually works and makes you laugh." B
  9. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    Yes the movie is dumb but that was exactly what I was expecting. I definitely laughed a lot and there were even a couple of scares. I'm not saying anyone should rush out and see this movie but if you're looking for a good popcorn movi I'd recommend this one.
  10. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    This is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate the humour. Now, I fall right into the target audience of this movie - perhaps slightly immature high school kids who laugh at fart jokes. If you areThis is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate the humour. Now, I fall right into the target audience of this movie - perhaps slightly immature high school kids who laugh at fart jokes. If you are someone who can appreciate a good fart joke, then you will enjoy this movie. Don't watch it because it's good, but watch it because it's fun. Expand
  11. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    A really good movie and so underrated delivers good time, laughs and a look a other horror movies all in one!
  12. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    This movie was meant to make fun of paranormal activity not win an academy award. It was funny for the most part but did get sloppy at times. Overall this movie is hilarious and is worth going to theaters to see.
  13. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A movie to watch with friends. The plot is obviously not much, but every scene in the film makes you laugh a lot. Can be considered a worthy successor to Scary Movie Expand
  14. Jan 30, 2013
    7
    This movie has some great moments, no doubt. However, intellectuals might find some of the humor not up to standard. It's very crude at times. It's definitely a movie that should be watched with friends that you feel comfortable around. **wouldn't take a date out to this one, fellas. The acting was great. Every character had distinct personalities. There were some parts that were justThis movie has some great moments, no doubt. However, intellectuals might find some of the humor not up to standard. It's very crude at times. It's definitely a movie that should be watched with friends that you feel comfortable around. **wouldn't take a date out to this one, fellas. The acting was great. Every character had distinct personalities. There were some parts that were just crude, not funny, akward moments (apparently they were supposed to be funny, but the theatre rejected to laugh) assuming that it was a missed target by the story line. Overall, it was worth the watch. Collapse
  15. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    The most fun movie i watch this year. Wayans do a much better than scary movie. Not only for his fun but for all to love great comedy. Its hilarious. I lough like baby
  16. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    A Haunted House is a lot like the Scary Movie series in that it's a comedy spoofs various horror movies. In this case the "found footage" horror films like Paranormal Activity and [Rec]. It can be very funny at times, downright hilarious at others. It's immature like you would not believe because it's jokes are all sex and fart related, but it still provides MANY laughs. However thereA Haunted House is a lot like the Scary Movie series in that it's a comedy spoofs various horror movies. In this case the "found footage" horror films like Paranormal Activity and [Rec]. It can be very funny at times, downright hilarious at others. It's immature like you would not believe because it's jokes are all sex and fart related, but it still provides MANY laughs. However there are times in this movie when they take their sex related humor too far, to the point where it pushes the line of good taste WAY farther than it should (rape isn't funny people). But in the end the humor manages to keep itself up and keep you entertained even when the vulgarity reaches some insanely unfunny and downright sickening levels. Expand
  17. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    What's with the bad reviews?! this is a funny movie, it's a parody (not meant to relate to the original video). showed this movie to 10 of my friends, and they laughed
  18. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is literally the best comedy movie I've ever watched. If you have an incredibly immature sense of humor, watch this movie. It's amazing. No flaws.
  19. Jun 10, 2013
    7
    This film was wayyyyyy better than all Scary movies. Though it's stupid it is really funny and entertaining. Seriously (for the bad reviews) when you watch a film like that you know that there is not going to be some good quality. You will laugh at this movie like you've never did. If you like scary movie, epic movie etc.. You will like it. I hope the sequel is as good as this one. WhatThis film was wayyyyyy better than all Scary movies. Though it's stupid it is really funny and entertaining. Seriously (for the bad reviews) when you watch a film like that you know that there is not going to be some good quality. You will laugh at this movie like you've never did. If you like scary movie, epic movie etc.. You will like it. I hope the sequel is as good as this one. What was a suprise for me was that it actually only talked about paranormal activity and the devil inside. I can say that i liked very much and if you want to laugh that's good stuff Expand
  20. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    This film was funny and entertaining. If you were offended by anything other than what happened to the male lead, I suggest you analyze yourself. It was made to show what this couple would do versus the typical couple often found in these situations. I couldn't stop laughing. My Irish husband couldn't either. I cannot wait to see what movies they parody in the sequel. My vote is: keep 'emThis film was funny and entertaining. If you were offended by anything other than what happened to the male lead, I suggest you analyze yourself. It was made to show what this couple would do versus the typical couple often found in these situations. I couldn't stop laughing. My Irish husband couldn't either. I cannot wait to see what movies they parody in the sequel. My vote is: keep 'em coming. Especially since there isn't much to pick from in Hollywood since the early 2000's. Btw, I am not just a movie watcher, I also make them. Put yourselves in others' shoes. Expand
  21. Apr 21, 2014
    7
    could be better, but its pretty funny. kids b/w ages of middle school and early college would love this. If you liked In Living Color, then you'll like this
  22. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    The best paranormal activity spoof I have ever seen. There are a few boring parts but its mostly just laugh after laugh. Don't go into this movie expecting a oscar winning performance. You CAN expect tons of rude, racist, yet hilarious humor and the story ain't too shabby!
  23. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    this movie is a like one of the best horror comedy ever . Marlon Wayans is freaking funny in this film i had a quite a good laugh in this film . here's the bad news this film tries to be like scary movie and there copying some of it they try to have cameras just like scary movie 5 and paranormal activity . but still it is enjoyable to watch . if you do not like it screw you but thisthis movie is a like one of the best horror comedy ever . Marlon Wayans is freaking funny in this film i had a quite a good laugh in this film . here's the bad news this film tries to be like scary movie and there copying some of it they try to have cameras just like scary movie 5 and paranormal activity . but still it is enjoyable to watch . if you do not like it screw you but this is a good comedy for 17 and up . also i can not wait to see a haunted house 2 . Expand
  24. Dec 25, 2014
    7
    There is too much fart jokes and this s not one of the greatest parody I have ever seen but the acting was not so bad and the movie was watchable even if the scenario was not so good.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Emma Morgan
    May 27, 2013
    40
    The moments where you feel the cast are off-script and riffing are fun if not actually funny, but the most horrific thing on offer here is misogyny.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Cunningham
    May 27, 2013
    20
    Dreadful.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    0
    A Haunted House, its despicable bigotry aside, is also a not-very-good comedy.