Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In an outrageous send up of the Paranormal Activity movies, The Devil Inside and other "found footage" movies, A Haunted House features young couple Malcolm and Kisha who have just moved in to their dream house. As they settle in, they quickly find they’re not alone. But it’s not the house that’s haunted, it’s Malcolm’s girlfriend who is possessed by a demon. Malcolm hires everyone from a priest to modern day ghostbusters to rid her of this unwelcome intruder, determined not to let the evil spirit ruin his relationship... or, more importantly, his sex life. (Open Road Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Jan 11, 2013
    67
    If the result features around 1,783 too many fart gags, to be fair, it also boasts a couple of genuine minor scares. Although there's no doubt that the film's most horrible sight is a way-too-long shot of Swardson's naked rump.
  2. Reviewed by: Emma Morgan
    May 27, 2013
    40
    The moments where you feel the cast are off-script and riffing are fun if not actually funny, but the most horrific thing on offer here is misogyny.
  3. Reviewed by: Sherilyn Connelly
    Jan 15, 2013
    30
    Are the movie's half-dozen genuine laughs there just to tease the audience? What can we do to keep "A Haunted House 2" from happening?
  4. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    Never one to shrink from the challenge of parodying the already parodic, along comes Marlon Wayans to do in A Haunted House what he once did in "Scary Movie." And do it much, much worse.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jan 22, 2013
    20
    This exceedingly lazy comedy is just the first of two "Paranormal Activity" parodies being crammed down our throats this year. The horror!
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Jan 11, 2013
    12
    If you're wondering why A Haunted House exists alongside the upcoming Scary Movie 5 rather than instead of it, you may already have given the subject more thought than Marlon Wayans had hoped.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 16, 2013
    0
    By eliminating the winking, broad strokes of the filmmakers' more successful spoofs, they've made a film that is not only dumb, but dull. It's like watching a snuff film, only it's the audience who's dying inside.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 55
  2. Negative: 19 out of 55
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    By far the greatest movie I have ever watched. The plot was amazing, the characters were absolutely stunning and the jokes and script were flawless. This movie truly defines the generation of technology we live in and if you disagree you're gay. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    The best paranormal activity spoof I have ever seen. There are a few boring parts but its mostly just laugh after laugh. Don't go into this movie expecting a oscar winning performance. You CAN expect tons of rude, racist, yet hilarious humor and the story ain't too shabby! Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    This is not a movie that you watch because you want to watch a good movie - it's a movie you watch to laugh about with your friends. Of course, the acting is bad at times, the story is stupid, but it is hilarious, if you can appreciate the humour. Now, I fall right into the target audience of this movie - perhaps slightly immature high school kids who laugh at fart jokes. If you are someone who can appreciate a good fart joke, then you will enjoy this movie. Don't watch it because it's good, but watch it because it's fun. Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2013
    5
    There's really nothing *wrong* with this movie, it's just so recycled. It really relies on fart jokes too much and I really think it would work better as a series of SNL skits rather than a movie (seeing as the whole film is one unrelated skit after another). Better than the last 2 Scary Movies, and maybe that's cuz Wayans wasn't involved. Collapse
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    4
    Pointless and not funny at all. A Haunted House is ridiculously crass and 90% of the jokes could be thought up by a 9 year old (with a very dirty mind). However it is slightly better than the similar Scary Movie 5. Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    2
    Oh. My. God. I was prepared for this movie to be bad, but the enjoyable type of bad, that you can still laugh at. I could've written this script, and I have the comic wit of a paper towel. It starts off with Marlon's character humping two stuffed animals for probably over a minute straight. Then, there is a series of fart jokes followed by a maid going crazy and hitting people, and a grown man screaming like a little girl. Basically, it's all the things people under the age of five think is funny, except this is for adults. Nick Swardson comes in to unintentionally mock the entire homosexual community, in a way that is more offensive than if it were intentional. I wish I were making this up. I mean, they don't even make the effort to use cliche jokes that have used in every single sitcom since the 50's, like most bad comedies do. It's just a series of people doing stupid, over-the-top, things for a laugh; things that have all been done before, and weren't funny then either. I do have to say that the performances are generally pretty good. The actors do their best to revive a horrible script, but the best comedic actors of all time could not have saved this movie. Not good. Not good. Expand
  7. May 11, 2013
    0
    We rented this movie expecting to laugh and enjoy our movie night. I was so embarrassed and completely appalled by all the sex references. I made my teenagers leave the room. My husband should have read the contents first. We didn't even watch the entire movie. It was disturbing and not funny. The previews show all the funny parts. I usually like the Wayans' movies, but they went too far on this one. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Trailers