Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 30, 2011
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 558 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
510
Mixed:
27
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TomasDec 31, 2011
This is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth whichThis is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth which looks like lies and distortions to others. This does not add up to a harmonious life. That it all this place in contemporary Iran with its strictures and deprivations only adds to the drama as social classes and degrees of religious observance collide and clash. The characters are flawlessly acted and their imperfections completely authentic. The camera work is brilliant with frequent closeups of actors who seem completely real. There is no preaching or taking sides, the film is humanistic in its sympathy for all the characters even when they transgress. This is movie-making at its best, reminiscent of the films that came from central and eastern Europe during the communist era and its immediate aftermath. Expand
40 of 42 users found this helpful402
All this user's reviews
10
BehdabraDec 31, 2011
Have you ever been watching a movie where you could not take your eyes of the screen, not even for one second !! A Separation will show you that feeling, this film is just brilliant !
19 of 21 users found this helpful192
All this user's reviews
9
shirFeb 27, 2012
This review contains spoilers. A tragedy of errors with a very easy to see political analogy:

The old father is Iran. A country with Alzheimer forgetting its own people. An incontinent regime pissing on its youth. The unborn child stands for a free democratic Iran, killed before birth. Where? On the same street where the green revolution, the embryonic state of democracy, was killed in 2011.
Pregnant Razieh tries to rescue the old man/the country/her income for the sake of the future generation.

The two couples stand for the majority in Iran.
In spite of good intentions most of the time they lie, fight or escape the country.
Too loyal or afraid to see the truth: Rashomon in Iran.
Very ironic that the Iranian leaders praise the movie and don't see the obvious, like fish don't notice the sea or the five blind men can't recognize the elephant they feel. Only the children see the reality and offer some hope. The little girl plays with the oxygen levels.
The choice of Termeh in the final scene is the choice the youth in Iran stands for:
leave the country or stay and revolt, again.

Shirin Yazdi
Collapse
16 of 18 users found this helpful162
All this user's reviews
10
ManiacPhantomDec 6, 2014
Gripping and thrilling story about, simply, a family struggling to keep it together when the father is accused of a crime in which hardly anyone knows he if really did it. The writing and acting are superb, and I would recommend anyone whoGripping and thrilling story about, simply, a family struggling to keep it together when the father is accused of a crime in which hardly anyone knows he if really did it. The writing and acting are superb, and I would recommend anyone who respects the art of film making to go see it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
SchizophreniacFeb 10, 2014
this film is very brilliant.. I did not pass any time without looking the screen. I get perfect family story, and I understand something which is in my mom's head.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
zahabitahaAug 21, 2015
epic..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................epic............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GgslmJun 1, 2016
Oh my God, what a masterpiece this is. I have to say that Farhadi's direction and specially his amazing writing take this film to the skies and the actors' touching and natural performances are just pitch perfect. In my opinion this filmsOh my God, what a masterpiece this is. I have to say that Farhadi's direction and specially his amazing writing take this film to the skies and the actors' touching and natural performances are just pitch perfect. In my opinion this films stands among the best of this decade. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysFeb 27, 2014
A Separation is almost flawless. It can compete with any heavyweight drama in this country, or the world for that matter. The fact that there were English subtitles didn't take away from the experience at all (the mark of a good foreignA Separation is almost flawless. It can compete with any heavyweight drama in this country, or the world for that matter. The fact that there were English subtitles didn't take away from the experience at all (the mark of a good foreign film). I didn't particularly care for the ending, but the rest of the movie surely makes up for it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Ali_MarashianJan 24, 2017
One of the best movies, ever. No matter how hard i try, there's absolutely nothing wrong with this movie. Just watch it, to search through some of the hardest decisions of human beings, no one is right or wrong. By far Farhadi's best movie toOne of the best movies, ever. No matter how hard i try, there's absolutely nothing wrong with this movie. Just watch it, to search through some of the hardest decisions of human beings, no one is right or wrong. By far Farhadi's best movie to date and one of the 5 best movies of the century( and that is just easily) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MayaradJan 9, 2016
I Think this Movie Have Brilliant Cast And Directing Also Have Splendid Cinematography And Editor.When You look at this Movie You Don't Think Is Movie Completely It's Like Actors Living In The Characters.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RomanKirbyMar 5, 2016
This is a phenomenal film. This is probably one of the best films of all time. This is incredible! .
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Regal4point1Jul 4, 2012
I was constantly attached to the masterful drama that so well executed by the relatable characters and fantastic actors. Even at face value the movie is involving and interesting, providing morally stimulating circumstances that will keep youI was constantly attached to the masterful drama that so well executed by the relatable characters and fantastic actors. Even at face value the movie is involving and interesting, providing morally stimulating circumstances that will keep you in a trance of thought. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MpzJan 15, 2012
On the surface it may seem like a simple drama , however I was pleasantly surprised to see a mix of underlying details that ultimately drive this movie to become one of the best I have ever seen. Brilliant acting, amazingOn the surface it may seem like a simple drama , however I was pleasantly surprised to see a mix of underlying details that ultimately drive this movie to become one of the best I have ever seen. Brilliant acting, amazing directing...incredible story. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
aliss2105ssDec 30, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A separation is a very good movie about separate between son and father ... father and Daughter ... Daughter and grandfather ... grandfather and bride ... is a movie about separate between layers family,peoples Society,peoples culture in Society,financial in people life in society and others ... Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleDec 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A truly outstanding movie that ratchets up the tension from jump. The acting is uniformly excellent - it presents such interesting windows into the lives of each character. The glimpse into the Iranian legal system is incredibly interesting. What I initially considered to be organized chaos actually started to make some sense by the end, as I loosed up on my western notions of how these disputes should be resolved. It puts an incredible amount of power into a single magistrate's hands, but it sure does cut down on the red tape! Though trusting the suspect in a murder case not to talk to a key witness as he summons her from the hallway of the courtroom seemed a bridge too far. Then again, the judge seemed to know how to deal with the possibility of corruption in that process. The notion of honor, as reflected in honesty - from citizen to society, and from father to daughter - transcends the legal process. At least in this case, among this group of peole. I would have liked to have known a bit more about the mother's motivation to leave the country, but it's not something that detracted from the film. This is an easy recommendation. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
mathzashDec 30, 2011
Iranian movies can often be short on plot, but "A Separation" has a taut storyline and interesting characters. In there own mind, each of the characters is moral and has good intentions, but the situation at hand reveals the flaws of eachIranian movies can often be short on plot, but "A Separation" has a taut storyline and interesting characters. In there own mind, each of the characters is moral and has good intentions, but the situation at hand reveals the flaws of each ones ethos. As someone who has spent time in Tehran, I think that this movie, more than any other, accurately shows the contradictions of daily life in Iran. My wife is a Farsi speaker and she thought that the translation wasn't especially good, but perhaps that is true of any foreign film with a lot of dialog Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
DieguinJan 21, 2012
Superb! I do not recall the last time I watched a film when I fully lost track of time and was absolutely immersed (without an interruption) in the story and what was happening in it. The perfection of the acting and the perfection of theSuperb! I do not recall the last time I watched a film when I fully lost track of time and was absolutely immersed (without an interruption) in the story and what was happening in it. The perfection of the acting and the perfection of the directing and editing make one feel as if what is being filmed is real life. Bravo! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
jimboesqMar 10, 2012
This is a film of an intimate story of a family torn by love, duty, innocence, religion and law. It deservedly won an Academy award as best foreign film. If you are reading this review, or considering this film, you understand the differenceThis is a film of an intimate story of a family torn by love, duty, innocence, religion and law. It deservedly won an Academy award as best foreign film. If you are reading this review, or considering this film, you understand the difference between a great movie and a great film. If you're looking for the former, then youâ Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
homandavoodiDec 31, 2011
this movie is an absolute masterpiece. most important part of Farhadi's film making is screenplay and story. he develops the plot with numerous details and he performs them while shooting. that's why such a very Iranian story and atmospherethis movie is an absolute masterpiece. most important part of Farhadi's film making is screenplay and story. he develops the plot with numerous details and he performs them while shooting. that's why such a very Iranian story and atmosphere fascinated people around the world. I think it's the best movie of the year. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
khashi2010Jan 2, 2012
A Drama that pull you deep in story. Farhadi's masterpiece which is the 1st chance of Academy Awards this year not just for "Best Foreign Film Award" I think its even worthy of "Best Direction" and "Best Performance by an Actress in aA Drama that pull you deep in story. Farhadi's masterpiece which is the 1st chance of Academy Awards this year not just for "Best Foreign Film Award" I think its even worthy of "Best Direction" and "Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role" for Sareh Bayat. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
jeremypMar 4, 2012
Frankly I was completely captivated and stunned by this movie. While the Oscars are rewarding "The Artist" a slick but shallow homage to old Hollywood the Iranians are creating a movie about real people behaving like real people with everyFrankly I was completely captivated and stunned by this movie. While the Oscars are rewarding "The Artist" a slick but shallow homage to old Hollywood the Iranians are creating a movie about real people behaving like real people with every strength and flaw exposed. The fact that it's set in an Iranian cultural milieu makes it fascinatingly educating. We get to see inside 2 Iranian marriages; the Iranian justice system; the Iranian cultural taboos and strictures. No judgements are expressed, but we make them anyway, and like all good movies what we see is our own value system looking back at us. This is definitely a finely nuanced film as the characters move in and out of black,, grey, and white. At the end as the credits rolled many in the theatre waited hoping to get a final resolution that the director, appropriately, just wasn't going to give. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryFeb 25, 2012
The title of this Iranian import would imply that it's about a married couple breaking up. While that's the catalyst, much more happens in this intricate sequence of events. There's lots of anguish, loud declaiming and absorbing emotionâ
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
bl_nkJan 15, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing. At the film's core lies the conflict between Nader and Simin, a married couple seeking a separation. Simin wants to leave Iran for a better life abroad, while Nader wants to stay and care for his Alzheimers-ridden father. Caught in the middle of their bickering is their daughter, Termeh. In many ways, the core struggle is symbolic of the struggle many Iranians feel every day. Should they stay and fight to protect the country they love or leave when times get tough? Termeh's decision to live with one parent or another can be interpreted as a judgement on the director's end, regarding which parent is most justified. No such judgement is made. Many other deep moral dilemas are presented to the audience, who are then left to make up their own minds about each character's rightness or wrongness. The movie is beautifully acted, every performance feels organic and real, although that might just be the language and cultural barrier playing tricks on my judgement. At the end of the day, you really could do worse than this movie. It's one of those films that resonates in your brain days after you see it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MEESTERMAJICKJan 17, 2012
Wow. They really did saved the very best for last. It just pulls you in all the chaos that's happening ever since the opening scene. It makes feel like one of them that you would try to resolve the problem to stop all the hoopla.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
snailmoviesJan 4, 2012
The fantastic thing about this film is the compassion it shows for all of its characters. At every stage you understand exactly why everyone acts in the way they do, yet by half way through they've all found themselves in a terrible mess ofThe fantastic thing about this film is the compassion it shows for all of its characters. At every stage you understand exactly why everyone acts in the way they do, yet by half way through they've all found themselves in a terrible mess of their own making. As an empathetic viewer you're therefore challenged to ask - where did it all go wrong? How should we conduct ourselves in these situations? Great, adult film making. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
cosmic_shameJan 3, 2012
Extremely good. The best written and best acted movie of 2011 for me. There's such a good harmony between the script and the actors, you could doubt that most scenes were improvised, or even real.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
lasttimeisawSep 7, 2012
This film marks my first time steps into Iranian territory since TURTLES CAN FLY (2004, 8/10), this victory of Academy Awards
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
BurleighGrimesFeb 26, 2012
A Separation is an unbelievable movie, and probably the best new film I've seen in the last two or three years. It is a film with so much depth that I believe I will likely go back to it again and again over the years and still be surprisedA Separation is an unbelievable movie, and probably the best new film I've seen in the last two or three years. It is a film with so much depth that I believe I will likely go back to it again and again over the years and still be surprised by the force of the acting, the beautiful camera work, the quotidian yet profoundly moving story arc, the morally difficult terrain each character must wade through, etc. This is an absolute tour de force. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
theotherone55Feb 28, 2012
A great view into human emotions through a foreign lens. The emotions are real and the way of life is different but you will walk away pleased with what you saw. Great movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
nirmalApr 8, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Most heart wrenching and one of the best movie of recent time. It is addressing so many issues without loosing site of any. Highly recommended. Perfect 100 a must see
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews