Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 382 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in contemporary Iran, A Separation is a compelling drama about the dissolution of a marriage. Simin wants to leave Iran with her husband Nader and daughter Termeh. Simin sues for divorce when Nader refuses to leave behind his Alzheimer-suffering father. Her request having failed, SiminSet in contemporary Iran, A Separation is a compelling drama about the dissolution of a marriage. Simin wants to leave Iran with her husband Nader and daughter Termeh. Simin sues for divorce when Nader refuses to leave behind his Alzheimer-suffering father. Her request having failed, Simin returns to her parents' home, but Termeh decides to stay with Nader. When Nader hires a young woman to assist with his father in his wife's absence, he hopes that his life will return to a normal state. However, when he discovers that the new maid has been lying to him, he realizes that there is more on the line than just his marriage. (Sony Pictures Classic)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 29, 2012
    100
    It's a mystery wrapped inside an enigmatic nation, flawlessly acted and difficult to predict. I'm always impressed when a movie informs about a foreign culture while it entertains, and this one is powerful art in that regard.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jan 4, 2012
    100
    Asghar Farhadi's A Separation serves as a quiet reminder of how good it's possible for movies to be.
  3. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 20, 2011
    100
    The drama it might remind you most of, oddly enough, is "Six Degrees of Separation," also about the snowballing connections between unlikely people. And as in that urban clash, the bedrock of it all is social responsibility, ever crumbling and rebuilding. A total triumph.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jan 26, 2012
    100
    The film is a singular achievement, a piece of realist cinema with the pull of a suspense thriller.
  5. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jan 3, 2012
    90
    The writer and director, Asghar Farhadi, has thus created the perfect antithesis of a crunching disaster flick, such as "2012," which was all boom and no ripple.
  6. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 19, 2012
    88
    Much like Robert Altman during his forays into the genre, writer/director Asghar Farhadi isn't really interested in the answers. Instead, he keeps expanding the questions, until that singular title comes to seem a misnomer.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 30, 2011
    75
    In the compelling but slow-moving Iranian film A Separation, a downbeat family drama of no particular distinction gradually turns into a mystery that raises painful moral questions. There may be several guilty parties.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 73
  2. Negative: 4 out of 73
  1. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    This is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up andThis is the film of the year. Its concerns are universal. The drifting apart of a married couple and their daughter, as tensions build up and small lies spin out of control. Everyone has good reasons for what they do and their own truth which looks like lies and distortions to others. This does not add up to a harmonious life. That it all this place in contemporary Iran with its strictures and deprivations only adds to the drama as social classes and degrees of religious observance collide and clash. The characters are flawlessly acted and their imperfections completely authentic. The camera work is brilliant with frequent closeups of actors who seem completely real. There is no preaching or taking sides, the film is humanistic in its sympathy for all the characters even when they transgress. This is movie-making at its best, reminiscent of the films that came from central and eastern Europe during the communist era and its immediate aftermath. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    A Separation is an unbelievable movie, and probably the best new film I've seen in the last two or three years. It is a film with so muchA Separation is an unbelievable movie, and probably the best new film I've seen in the last two or three years. It is a film with so much depth that I believe I will likely go back to it again and again over the years and still be surprised by the force of the acting, the beautiful camera work, the quotidian yet profoundly moving story arc, the morally difficult terrain each character must wade through, etc. This is an absolute tour de force. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2014
    10
    Gripping and thrilling story about, simply, a family struggling to keep it together when the father is accused of a crime in which hardlyGripping and thrilling story about, simply, a family struggling to keep it together when the father is accused of a crime in which hardly anyone knows he if really did it. The writing and acting are superb, and I would recommend anyone who respects the art of film making to go see it. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A Drama that pull you deep in story. Farhadi's masterpiece which is the 1st chance of Academy Awards this year not just for "Best Foreign FilmA Drama that pull you deep in story. Farhadi's masterpiece which is the 1st chance of Academy Awards this year not just for "Best Foreign Film Award" I think its even worthy of "Best Direction" and "Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role" for Sareh Bayat. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Like ....... ELLY, which won the best director award at the æ
  6. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A truly outstanding movie that ratchets up the tension from jump. The acting is uniformly excellent - it presents such interesting windows into the lives of each character. The glimpse into the Iranian legal system is incredibly interesting. What I initially considered to be organized chaos actually started to make some sense by the end, as I loosed up on my western notions of how these disputes should be resolved. It puts an incredible amount of power into a single magistrate's hands, but it sure does cut down on the red tape! Though trusting the suspect in a murder case not to talk to a key witness as he summons her from the hallway of the courtroom seemed a bridge too far. Then again, the judge seemed to know how to deal with the possibility of corruption in that process. The notion of honor, as reflected in honesty - from citizen to society, and from father to daughter - transcends the legal process. At least in this case, among this group of peole. I would have liked to have known a bit more about the mother's motivation to leave the country, but it's not something that detracted from the film. This is an easy recommendation. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2014
    0
    Probably one of the most boring movies I ever watched in my life. Even the title is misleading, because only the first and last scene haveProbably one of the most boring movies I ever watched in my life. Even the title is misleading, because only the first and last scene have something to do with the actual separation. We see Simin (the wife) and Nader (the husband) in front of a judge debating the reasons why they want to split. Actually, Simin wants to split, Nader seems not to care one way or the other – which certainly does not give much motivation to continue a marriage.

    I am sure such a story based in Europe or the US would not have won an Oscar, but it is not the first time – nor will be the last – that a movie wins a prize for obscure reasons that have nothing to do with cinematography.
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Oscars: Winners, Analysis, and Reviews

    2012 Oscars: Winners, Analysis, and Reviews Image
    Published: February 27, 2012
    What did critics think of this year's Oscar telecast? How accurate were the experts and Metacritic users in predicting the winners? Find out inside, where we also have a complete list of winners at the 84th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  3. 2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 8, 2011
    Throughout the next two months, we
  4. 2011 Film Awards and Nominations

    2011 Film Awards and Nominations Image
    Published: December 5, 2011
    Over the next three months, we