Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A Serious Man is the story of an ordinary man’s search for clarity in a universe where Jefferson Airplane is on the radio and F-Troop is on TV. It is 1967, and Larry Gopnik, a physics professor at a quiet Midwestern university, has just been informed by his wife Judith that she is leavingA Serious Man is the story of an ordinary man’s search for clarity in a universe where Jefferson Airplane is on the radio and F-Troop is on TV. It is 1967, and Larry Gopnik, a physics professor at a quiet Midwestern university, has just been informed by his wife Judith that she is leaving him. She has fallen in love with one of his more pompous acquaintances, Sy Ableman, who seems to her a more substantial person than the feckless Larry. Larry’s unemployable brother Arthur is sleeping on the couch, his son Danny is a discipline problem and a shirker at Hebrew school, and his daughter Sarah is filching money from his wallet in order to save up for a nose job. Struggling for equilibrium, Larry seeks advice from three different rabbis. Can anyone help him cope with his afflictions and become a righteous person – a mensch – a serious man? (Focus Features) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. See this film immediately.
  2. The movie is funny, definitely funny. But underlying the humor is a vision so bleak, so despairing and so utterly hopeless as to make "No Country for Old Men" almost look cheerful.
  3. 100
    Have I mentioned A Serious Man is so rich and funny? This isn't a laugh-laugh movie, but a wince-wince movie. Those can be funny too.
  4. 88
    This seriously funny movie, artfully photographed by the great Roger Deakins, is spiritual in nature, barbed in tone, and, oh, yeah, it stings like hell.
  5. 80
    I found this beautifully crafted movie to be frequently hilarious, consistently surprising and rigged with spring-loaded narrative bombs, from its opening scene to its devastating final shot.
  6. A seriously black comedy. Black, because affliction and angst abound. Comic, because this rampant bleakness is presented as nothing more than an amusing bauble.
  7. 30
    A Serious Man, like “Burn After Reading,” is in their bleak, black, belittling mode, and it’s hell to sit through.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 102
  2. Negative: 32 out of 102
  1. MarkH
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Ranks with the best of the Coen films. A philosophical farce that is even funnier when you flashback the next day. And even though much of Ranks with the best of the Coen films. A philosophical farce that is even funnier when you flashback the next day. And even though much of the humor is Jewish based it is also universal. Expand
  2. KenS
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    For some reason, it bothers me that all the reviews say 1967 when the movie is set in 1970 or 71.
  3. ArthurF
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    A movie with humor and pathos, funny lines and ultimately no conclusion. That's life. There are no definitive answers. The film has a A movie with humor and pathos, funny lines and ultimately no conclusion. That's life. There are no definitive answers. The film has a bleak side, which predominates - there are no answers - and a hilarious side, with some good laughs. Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    7
    It's hard to characterise this film; very black comedy covers it i guess. There are some amusing scenes, a nice touch of the absurd, butIt's hard to characterise this film; very black comedy covers it i guess. There are some amusing scenes, a nice touch of the absurd, but overall I found it just a bit too bleak Expand
  5. X.
    Jan 6, 2010
    4
    Since it's the Coen bros., it's not a total waste of time, but close. A series of unfortunate events reign down on the protagonist Since it's the Coen bros., it's not a total waste of time, but close. A series of unfortunate events reign down on the protagonist and it's all about as much fun to watch as it is for the main character to go through. (Very little.) There's no reason to like or care about anyone on screen. While supposedly a few elements are "funny," they're not funny in a way that you actually derive any joy out of them. I'm fine with uncomfortable comedies and bleak material, but I had no idea why I was watching any of this. The point of the movie seems to be that there is no sense to anything, which seems like a tired theme I've seen done better elsewhere. Only about three scenes piqued my interest, and wouldn't you know it? Those scenes turned out to be dream sequences. (Aren't the Coen bros. a little beyond resorting to "gotcha" dream sequences?) Most infuriating of all, though, is the ending. My jaw literally dropped when the movie ended - I could not believe I had sat through that entire movie, only to be pulled out of it when it seemed something interesting and relevant was going to happen. They could've hardly thought of a more random or frustrating ending (which might have worked and actually have been really cool if what came beforehand held more interest or weight). This was a Serious Disappointment. Expand
  6. ChaseW
    Mar 20, 2010
    3
    Decent acting, but overall story lacking in big ways...namely an ending.
  7. ReidF
    Oct 10, 2009
    0
    Snide, obnoxious, vapid people doing awful things to each other, this movie is total garbage.

See all 102 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  2. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  3. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.
  4. AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009

    AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: December 13, 2009
    The awards season kicks into high gear this week, and three separate organizations have given a big boost to The Hurt Locker, while another favors Avatar.