Tartan Films | Release Date: December 10, 2004
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 63 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
54
Mixed:
6
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
RumblebeeloveNov 26, 2010
Beautifully crafted, this story stays with you. It's complicated, and it does take a few watchings, but everytime I was able to find a new clue. The unsettling and emotional ride is worth reading some subtitles.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FahseelJun 1, 2012
I loved everything about this movie. It's one of those movies that will confuse you by the end but after you go back and watch it again things start to make sense. It seems to be marketed as a horror movie but I would say it's more of aI loved everything about this movie. It's one of those movies that will confuse you by the end but after you go back and watch it again things start to make sense. It seems to be marketed as a horror movie but I would say it's more of a drama with some horror elements. Touching story, great cinematography, as well as a great musical score. I can't recommend this movie enough. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KelR.Dec 25, 2005
I intially rented this movie so my girlfriend and I could get some good "scares" for the night, but after watching this movie I was not only scared to death, but highly emotional. This movie messes with your mind, it makes you question what I intially rented this movie so my girlfriend and I could get some good "scares" for the night, but after watching this movie I was not only scared to death, but highly emotional. This movie messes with your mind, it makes you question what was reality and what was not. I had to watch it a second time to put it all together and in one word it was brilliant. After the second time through I couldn't help but tear up, which was embarassing but none the less, that's how powerful the movie was. I loved everything about it, the acting, the music, the special effects and especially the story. If you've liked any asian horror before, such as the Ring, or even if you enjoy a good drama, heck, even if you don't like either I'd still recommend this flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.DayeFeb 4, 2006
Possibly one of the best horror films ever made, but at the same time, it's more of a drama than a horror. Im Su-Jung and Moon Geun-Young, the film's two young leads, are supreme actresses and should be lauded accordingly. The Possibly one of the best horror films ever made, but at the same time, it's more of a drama than a horror. Im Su-Jung and Moon Geun-Young, the film's two young leads, are supreme actresses and should be lauded accordingly. The haunting cinematography speaks volumes of beauty. In short, this film is not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErikaM.Mar 17, 2006
The first time I watched this movie, I liked it. The second time, I loved it and it remains one of my fav. movies. People expecting a conventional scary movie will be disappointed. But, if the viewer watches it with an open mind she will be The first time I watched this movie, I liked it. The second time, I loved it and it remains one of my fav. movies. People expecting a conventional scary movie will be disappointed. But, if the viewer watches it with an open mind she will be greatly rewarded. Highly Recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnikaUnknownSep 13, 2007
Great film, probably one of my favourites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisR.Jan 15, 2008
This is my favorite foreign horror film. The cinematography is awesome, the art direction is exemplary, the mood and atmosphere it creates is creepy and very effective. Horror with an artistic soul. The plot is indeed confusing and the This is my favorite foreign horror film. The cinematography is awesome, the art direction is exemplary, the mood and atmosphere it creates is creepy and very effective. Horror with an artistic soul. The plot is indeed confusing and the ending allows for the viewers own interpretation of "what happened" it is purposely open-ended and yet enjoyable and leaves you transfixed and still thinking about it long after it is finished. Employs subtle tension (that bloody bag still haunts me!) Its atmosphere and style is as of yet, unmatched. A work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SariTJan 4, 2008
Visually beautiful and haunting, and with a great story behind it all. Yes, during the film I was confused, and even frustrated...actually I was confused at the end as well, trying fervently to piece it all together. When I did (and after Visually beautiful and haunting, and with a great story behind it all. Yes, during the film I was confused, and even frustrated...actually I was confused at the end as well, trying fervently to piece it all together. When I did (and after seeing it again...and again), it became one of my favourite films. It's a crying shame that films like this are almost extinct nowadays, and we're given explosions and plasticine actors instead of a plot and a mystery. It's wonderful to see a film that trusts your capabilit yof understanding. An excellent film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TiarO'S.Dec 3, 2005
Superbly crafted, excellent acting and an intricate web of a storyline that invites the viewers to come up with possibilities and reasons for certain twists and turns. On top of that, this sublime film holds on to some terrifing moments, and Superbly crafted, excellent acting and an intricate web of a storyline that invites the viewers to come up with possibilities and reasons for certain twists and turns. On top of that, this sublime film holds on to some terrifing moments, and shows us that our imagination can cause far more horror than any film ever could. It is also the only film apart from "ringu", in my opinion, that perfects the overused scene of a dead girl with her hair covering her face. Gave me goosebumps and left me in a state of awe when it finished. An absolute must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MokuseiK.Feb 24, 2007
This film is a great psychological thriller that keeps you guessing until it's too late. It has wonderful acting and suspense. You may have to go back and re-watch it to see the subtle hints the movie actually gave you as it played out. This film is a great psychological thriller that keeps you guessing until it's too late. It has wonderful acting and suspense. You may have to go back and re-watch it to see the subtle hints the movie actually gave you as it played out. It leaves you questioning and guessing and most of all, you'll want to go back and check on your little sisters afterwards. Definitley emotional in the final scene, with a little bit of a scare. It left me not afraid of the closet but the wardrobe instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaymondWMar 17, 2009
It's been 8 years since I thoroughly enjoyed a movie, but after watching A Tale of Two Sisters, I feel it's the third best movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
matta.Nov 17, 2005
In the end, the plot revelations are a little too obscure and vague for even a fan of that kind of ending like me, but the scary moments, performances, cinematogrpahy, and direction are so good that it makes up for it. Along with In the end, the plot revelations are a little too obscure and vague for even a fan of that kind of ending like me, but the scary moments, performances, cinematogrpahy, and direction are so good that it makes up for it. Along with Japan's Audition, easily the scariest of the Asian Horror flicks of the last few years, and maybe ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeganGNov 26, 2007
A brilliantly executed, beautifully filmed psychological thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
horcrux2007Nov 30, 2014
This movie requires multiple viewings to understand the genius behind it. The first viewing left me confused and somewhat frustrated, but after I revisited it, the film made more sense. This movie may be marketed as a horror film, but it'sThis movie requires multiple viewings to understand the genius behind it. The first viewing left me confused and somewhat frustrated, but after I revisited it, the film made more sense. This movie may be marketed as a horror film, but it's more of a drama with some horror elements in it, so don't be expected to be cowering under your covers the entire time. It's much more of a moody experience than a scare-fest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GregePorterAug 31, 2015
Bottom line: A Tale of Two Sisters is wonderfully chilling and offers more than a creepy premise which makes it a powerful cinematic experience.

The movie opens to a sterile mental hospital examination room. A girl sits in a chair opposite
Bottom line: A Tale of Two Sisters is wonderfully chilling and offers more than a creepy premise which makes it a powerful cinematic experience.

The movie opens to a sterile mental hospital examination room. A girl sits in a chair opposite a doctor. He asks several questions which she ignores. He shows her a picture of her family. He asks, “What happened that day?” She raises her head and looks out the window. The camera fades to a shot looking out the back passenger window of a car as it drives through the forest, over a bridge and along a lake. Peacefully sad guitar/violin music plays as the car approaches an imposing house.

The opening shots juxtapose the ominous house with peaceful music. The intersection of scary images and not scary music isn’t new, Insidious, for example, plays Tiny Tim’s “Tiptoe Though the Tulips” but I don’t think this is what A Tale of Two Sisters is attempting. In some movies, we know that what we are watching a retelling of an event. The movie then becomes a something like a campfire ghost story. A Tale of Two Sisters presents the events after the fact but as a ‘story’ instead of a ‘ghost story’.

I have said time and time again that I hate horror movies. Even if they are of poor quality, I can never sleep after watching them. At the same time, I loved A Tale of Two Sisters. I loved it so much it makes me rethink my relationship with horror. I was genuinely scared during portions of the movie and yet, I slept soundly that night. As I write this, I smile because it was such a fun experience. I will go into more detail below but I hesitate to tell you much more because I did have fun trying to anticipate the story. Let us discuss a scene, the stepmother’s introduction, in the hopes of describing why A Tale of Two Sisters is so brilliant.

The two sisters, holding hands, timidly enter the large, silent, dimly lit house. Cutting the silence, we hear the stepmother saying, “Welcome home!” The camera cuts to a long shot of a long, dark hallway. The stepmother approaches the still camera. She speaks quickly and walks so smoothly it looks like she is floating instead of walking. The suddenness of her presence makes you want to recoil but the still camera prevents the reaction. Standing firm, the sensation of helplessness prolongs until we cut to her point of view. The two girls watch her (looking into the camera) and tense up. The collision of her swiftness and the previous still camera prolongs the sense of lack of control because even though we are moving we are not in control. Sure, we are never in control of the camera but we don’t usually realize it.

A Tale of Two Sisters is on top of its game. The music, cinematography and acting harmonize to make a complete experience that I highly recommend. The quality of the movie, rather than cheap scares, leaves a lasting impression. I’ve heard people liken horror movies to a roller coaster ride. The emphasis of the analogy is that horror movies thrive on cheap thrills and that the audience doesn’t anticipate what is happening next. I disagree with the analogy but let’s expand it a little. A roller coaster takes you for a ride but it brings you back to where you started. A typical horror movie, for me, is like driving off-road through the woods. It is bumpy and maybe exciting but when all is said and done, the driver (the movie) leaves you in the scary woods alone. I leave the theater with nightmares and paranoia. A Tale of Two Sisters is actually like a roller coaster ride because it takes you into a frightening situation but brings you back; the movie positions itself and the audience together in a discussion that is more complex than ‘a murdered child-ghost wants revenge.’ I’ve seen it twice so far and look forward to seeing it again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews