Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 4, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 154 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
100
Mixed:
40
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
gimmedatsammichNov 4, 2011
This really wasn't as funny as the first two movies. It just seemed like a half-assed effort to cash in on the popularity of the franchise. And no, I won't accept the argument that you have to be high to enjoy these movies; I watched theThis really wasn't as funny as the first two movies. It just seemed like a half-assed effort to cash in on the popularity of the franchise. And no, I won't accept the argument that you have to be high to enjoy these movies; I watched the other two straight as an arrow and loved them, but not so with this one. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
CitizenCharlieNov 8, 2011
In 1999, American Pie had its main character violate a warm apple pie. In 2003, Billy Bob Thornton portrayed the most offensive, self-destructive, and felonious Santa anyone has ever imagined. Now, attempting to grab the mantle of the mostIn 1999, American Pie had its main character violate a warm apple pie. In 2003, Billy Bob Thornton portrayed the most offensive, self-destructive, and felonious Santa anyone has ever imagined. Now, attempting to grab the mantle of the most provoking and/or distasteful movie ever is A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas. There are topless angels hanging out with Jesus, naked, lesbian nuns lathering each other in the shower, and a baby who imbibes so many illegal substances it will probably will not sober up for the next decade.

The 3D in the title is a gimmick. It is not subtle and it is not there to emphasize action sequences or dazzle the audience with its spatial abilities. It is there to assault the audience. One character, while obviously hawking a brand name mentioned 3D television set and all of its revolutionary gee-whiz characteristics, points at the audience to remind them early on that â
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RedxLeaderNov 6, 2011
Just try to look at it as the holiday special that it is, and you just might not care how shoddy and rushed the writing feels. There are several laugh out loud moments that sometimes force the "Harold and Kumar" charm, but they are all funnyJust try to look at it as the holiday special that it is, and you just might not care how shoddy and rushed the writing feels. There are several laugh out loud moments that sometimes force the "Harold and Kumar" charm, but they are all funny enough to just make it worth your ticket price. Coming soon to a bargain bin right before Christmas near you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TipsyMcBeeNov 9, 2011
After watching this Christmas feature film will make you wish you had a Waffle Bot in your very own home immediately!

A Very Harold and Kumar Christmas had me laughing at times with the hilarious dialogue from actors like Bobby Lee, Kal
After watching this Christmas feature film will make you wish you had a Waffle Bot in your very own home immediately!

A Very Harold and Kumar Christmas had me laughing at times with the hilarious dialogue from actors like Bobby Lee, Kal Penn, and the one and only Neil Patrick Harris. But in all honesty, most of the humour in the film made me felt quite dirty with its stupidity and shocking content. Seriously, what's with the penis (one was done in claymation and the other was fake) and boob shots in this film? I don't remember seeing any nudity at all in Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle. I do not mind gross and dumb comedies for most cases, but A Very Harold and Kumar's Christmas felt mildly forced to boost up the shock value this time around. The shocking sequences was not the only aspect that felt forced in the film, the edit pacing and certain plots were in a rushing temptation as you were watching it. As for the 3D of Harold and Kumar's first Christmas feature film, you begin to laugh when the movie itself abuses the use of 3D. Some of the beginning sequences were hysterical when the 3D becomes part of those scenes, though it becomes a tiresome gimmick when you watch the rest of the movieâ
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AkkharFeb 2, 2012
I'm really disappointed . Compering with the first two this one sucked. The writing was so bad . There are many Ideas to make this kinda movie likable . The Main concept was okay but Script sucked in every level. Direction was exactly as badI'm really disappointed . Compering with the first two this one sucked. The writing was so bad . There are many Ideas to make this kinda movie likable . The Main concept was okay but Script sucked in every level. Direction was exactly as bad as the Script. The only thing good in this film was John and Kal . They were so far funny from the last two but they were still the one and only good thing in the whole movie. With all those positive thing they got from the last films they just ruined everything . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DiegoSanRoblesDec 15, 2011
One of the faults of the movie is it didnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Jan 8, 2014
These movies just keep getting better and better. It's not that the story is any less ridiculous or raunchy, it's that the actors have gain experience. When the series started, both John Cho and Kal Penn were virtual newcomers, but nowThese movies just keep getting better and better. It's not that the story is any less ridiculous or raunchy, it's that the actors have gain experience. When the series started, both John Cho and Kal Penn were virtual newcomers, but now they've been in some big films and TV shows. The pair are much better actors than they were in the first film and are better equipped to pull off the ridiculousness. In their third film, Harold and Kumar have actually been estranged for a while. When a mysterious package shows up for Harold at Kumar's apartment, the two are brought back together and are forced to work together to solve a problem. Everything you saw in the first two films and everything you've come to love about Harold & Kumar are back, including THE Neil Patrick Harris. There aren't many surprises here, by now you basically know what you're going to get with these films. What is new, is the Director, Todd Strauss, who actually does add a few interesting things to the film. Harold and Kumar is a lot of laughs, in a ridiculous story, filled with drugs, and alcohol. If you didn't like the first two films, you won't like this one any better, but for what it's worth, I dare you to watch it and tell me you didn't laugh out loud at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
oxanaAug 24, 2014
As funny and entertaining as the previous two Harold & Kumar movies were, this flick has nothing on them.

The third installment fails to be funny at all points, save for a few, rare laughs. There's nothing memorable about this movie, the
As funny and entertaining as the previous two Harold & Kumar movies were, this flick has nothing on them.

The third installment fails to be funny at all points, save for a few, rare laughs. There's nothing memorable about this movie, the jokes don't really work, and it feels like some twisted Christmas movie instead of a crazy comedy.

Also, I saw it on 2D although it was clearly advertising its 3D qualities. Another aspect that felt forced, and wasn't working in terms of comedy, either.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ArchalolApr 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The third installment in the series is the worst, hands down. While it's not a bad movie per se, it is a bad Harold and Kumar movie. Where the events in the first two movies were slightly credible, this movie really misses the mark with some of it's scenes. A baby on cocaine crawling over the ceiling? Santa Claus being the deus ex machina? Come on. Furthermore, I really didn't understand why they added a comic relief character (WaffleBot) in a comedy film. Let's just hope that if there will be a fourth installment, it will be closer to the original two films, or at least a whole lot better than this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
A lot is expected from this franchise but they have failed to deliver with this film. The 3-D effects were funny in places, and obviously the crude humour was there but maybe a third film was just a step too far. Still I did enjoy myself forA lot is expected from this franchise but they have failed to deliver with this film. The 3-D effects were funny in places, and obviously the crude humour was there but maybe a third film was just a step too far. Still I did enjoy myself for the most part, but I cannot help but think that this really isn't their best work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KivaJun 11, 2013
I have seen the other two movies and i can say that are much better than this one, which is extremely not funny. I wanted more as the prison movie don't remember how it is called) was way better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
theseparatorOct 11, 2013
Christmas came early for me this year. I didn’t know there was a third part to the franchise, so finding out about ­Harold and Kumar 3D Christmas made my of October. That said, I watched it on the fourth of the month, so…

This particular
Christmas came early for me this year. I didn’t know there was a third part to the franchise, so finding out about ­Harold and Kumar 3D Christmas made my of October. That said, I watched it on the fourth of the month, so…

This particular installment of the Harold and Kumar series takes place over an entire day just before Christmas. After Harold and Kumar’s last adventure, Escape from Guantanamo Bay, it seems the duo had become estranged. Since then Harold has grown-up, given up the stoner life, and become a respectable citizen. Then, out of nowhere the good ol’ Kumar shows up and burns down Harold’s Christmas tree with a massive joint. Harold desperately needs a new tree, but finding one is not as easy a task as it sounds. Their adventure begins.

What ensues during the quest to find this tree is either comic genius or just utter crap. I propose it is solid mix. First, there is a toddler that gets high on at least three types of drugs. Then Harold and Kumar themselves get drugged, drugged into a random “claymation” sequence in fact where they are almost killed by an Abominable Snowman. Then, they almost get killed again, this time by some gangsters.

Thanks to the veritable array of ethnicities in the film there are some hilarious race jokes that come across nicely, but the highlight of the film must be when Harold and Kumar have a run in with “America’s Sweetheart” Neil Patrick Harris. Yes! The Neil Patrick Harris. This is his third appearance in the Harold and Kumar franchise, and also weirdest because in Guantanamo Bay, Harris was killed with a shot gun by hookers.

Errata: Post-credits in Guantanamo Bay NPH is shown getting up off the lawn having survived multiple shot gun wounds to the back. No mention of NPR's miraculous survival is made when the trio are reunited in the Christmas film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews