Lionsgate | Release Date: September 23, 2011
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 182 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
41
Negative:
84
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
ReviewCriticMar 12, 2012
A terrible "action flick with terrible "acting".
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
2
frelling_cuteSep 28, 2011
Like Beiber, I hope Lautner saves his money because, like most teeny boppers, he will need it after Hollywood has forgotten him. His acting consists of a pout and his angry look and has not grown beyond his limited acting ability in theLike Beiber, I hope Lautner saves his money because, like most teeny boppers, he will need it after Hollywood has forgotten him. His acting consists of a pout and his angry look and has not grown beyond his limited acting ability in the Twilight movies. The rest of the cast does a good job of walking through their roles and excepting the paycheck but there is nothing that I would want to see or experience again.
Lautner, either better take some acting lessons or give it up now because the body and prissy acting isn't going to get him anywhere.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
2
ezcam1944Oct 6, 2011
It's obviously a copycat Bourne movie and Taylor Lautner is a poor copy of Matt Damon. The action sequences are below par and the storyline is full of holes. Eatch the original Bourne movies on DVD instead.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
0
JbrizzyJan 15, 2012
I saw most of this movie when i was at the barbershop getting my haircut and i couldn't wait until the barber swiveled my chair so my back would be facing the tv. Just face it , the only reason Taylor Laughtner is big right now is because ofI saw most of this movie when i was at the barbershop getting my haircut and i couldn't wait until the barber swiveled my chair so my back would be facing the tv. Just face it , the only reason Taylor Laughtner is big right now is because of his body that he used corto-slim to sculpt. This movie is just bad. Stay away Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
Vader452Sep 26, 2011
The plot (if you can call it that) behind this movie is almost as bad as its cast. Taylor Lautner is a awkward at his best, and laughable as an action movie actor. this movie is predictable and uninteresting, don't watch it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
RonaldOVOXOFeb 6, 2012
Worthless movie. Worst 20 Bucks (With popcorn and drinks) ive ever spent. TAylor is not a good actor he should do shows before movies. Go to like icarly or some crap
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
nateinactionJan 18, 2012
This movie is awful! My girlfriend rented it because Taylor Lautner takes off his shirt. The writing and acting is terrible and unbelievable. I think she liked it... I was bored to tears...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
BartSep 24, 2011
They lie when they call this a movie. A movie is supposed to ber entertaining, this drek was just teen targeted drivel. Save your time and money and pass on this turkey. The producer clearly thought that having a star from a twilight moveThey lie when they call this a movie. A movie is supposed to ber entertaining, this drek was just teen targeted drivel. Save your time and money and pass on this turkey. The producer clearly thought that having a star from a twilight move was enough to carry the film, so there was no need for a script or plot. Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
1
iamtrent424May 13, 2012
one of the worst movies I ever seen in my life. Worst acting cast and directing. DO not see this movie it is so horrible. The storyline is horrible. It feel like they wrote this script in one hour . WIthout thinking . I knew It was going toone of the worst movies I ever seen in my life. Worst acting cast and directing. DO not see this movie it is so horrible. The storyline is horrible. It feel like they wrote this script in one hour . WIthout thinking . I knew It was going to be horrible by the beginning. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
hoops2448Nov 8, 2011
If Abduction does anything, it makes the viewer laugh multiple times in a 90 minute span. Its like its building to one big punch line with little nuggets of comedy along the way. This would be a good thing if this film was a comedy. JohnIf Abduction does anything, it makes the viewer laugh multiple times in a 90 minute span. Its like its building to one big punch line with little nuggets of comedy along the way. This would be a good thing if this film was a comedy. John Singleton brings an action film so terrible it crosses into spoof territory with a lead actor (Taylor Lautner) who is thoroughly repulsive (at least acting wise). Singletons desire to make a fast paced action film which calls back to older films just reminds the viewer that the older films were so much better. As his first lead role away from The Twilight Saga, Lautner flops like a fish on dry land. He fails to tell the difference between acting and annunciation. The film suffers from other things but the score pretty much says it all. Its a shambles of a movie which everyone involved should be ashamed of, especially Lautner. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
HyliadOct 7, 2011
Not very much to say, it's almost not a movie. Despite the presence of truly good actors as Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina, Jason Isaacs (only here for the money. I don't see other reason), it is simply boring. Taylor Lautner is the worst inNot very much to say, it's almost not a movie. Despite the presence of truly good actors as Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina, Jason Isaacs (only here for the money. I don't see other reason), it is simply boring. Taylor Lautner is the worst in the film so far (it's a kind of exceptionnal performance). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
worleyjamersFeb 27, 2013
For what it's worth, I was actually pretty entertained by this movie, flaws and all. The acting is pretty bad; Taylor Lautner is horrible, but is not just him that is bad, there are some very capable actors here that do not deliver. The faultFor what it's worth, I was actually pretty entertained by this movie, flaws and all. The acting is pretty bad; Taylor Lautner is horrible, but is not just him that is bad, there are some very capable actors here that do not deliver. The fault is not on them entirely because the script is bad as well, there is some atrocious dialogue in this film. The main problem with Abduction though is the plot. There are gaping plot holes in the narrative that just leaves way too much up in the air; by the end of the movie you still won't have any clue who any of the players are, whether they were good/bad, or what their motives were. This makes for a film that has some decent action sequences that entertain, but a story that frankly makes zero logical sense. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
moviemongerOct 9, 2011
More like ab-DUCK-shun, because this movie is destined to follow in the footsteps of "Howard the Duck". "Abduction" will undoubtedly be one of the worst, if not the worst movie of the year, when lists come out in December. Taylor Lautner isMore like ab-DUCK-shun, because this movie is destined to follow in the footsteps of "Howard the Duck". "Abduction" will undoubtedly be one of the worst, if not the worst movie of the year, when lists come out in December. Taylor Lautner is impressive with his physical ability and high kicks, but the absolute painstaking part of the "Abduction" experience is Lautner's acting...or the lack of ability to do so. A true alien abduction, complete with probing, would have been less painful. I see a Razzie in Lautner's future. I would have to say it is a sure thing. As for the plot, not really well thought out, but who am I to say...I was too focused on Lautner, wondering if his next line may just be the one he nails. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
HalfwelshmanNov 7, 2011
Abduction is an extremely poor film for a number of reasons. Firstly, the lead Taylor Lautner can't act. Secondly the script is repulsively bad. Thirdly, in this film, director John Singleton demonstrates extreme technical ineptitude - theAbduction is an extremely poor film for a number of reasons. Firstly, the lead Taylor Lautner can't act. Secondly the script is repulsively bad. Thirdly, in this film, director John Singleton demonstrates extreme technical ineptitude - the framing is clumsy, the editing heavy-handed, the pace and tone of the film inconsistent. I guess the film has one selling point - that at an alarmingly frequent rate, it is unintentionally hilarious. Despite all these basic film errors, the most shocking, most insulting thing about Abduction is the number of exceptionally talented actors (Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina and Jason Isaacs) who are willing to sell their souls for a pay cheque. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
J-ShapOct 7, 2011
What are some of these uninvolving and tedious set pieces you may ask. I donâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AkkharJan 7, 2012
I thought that Abduction would be boring & lame kinda thriller and hay, i was right . Its the worst thriller i have ever seen. Its was like Non fantasy version of Twilight . Everything in this movie sucks . Acting was so bad ....I mean reallyI thought that Abduction would be boring & lame kinda thriller and hay, i was right . Its the worst thriller i have ever seen. Its was like Non fantasy version of Twilight . Everything in this movie sucks . Acting was so bad ....I mean really really bad. Its so easy to find that how bad Taylor Lautner's acting is . The story wasn't so good and the Script was really really bad . aah ! Watching Abduction is like 106 minutes of pain .John Singleton's directional comeback after Four Brothers(which i really enjoyed) turned out to be a total failure . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
sssfdgDec 31, 2012
Rarely does acting take me outside the experience of a film. Poor acting is acceptable but this is just awful. It almost as if Taylor Lauten has no acting skill at all... Oh wait that's probably the case. When will Hollywood realize that itRarely does acting take me outside the experience of a film. Poor acting is acceptable but this is just awful. It almost as if Taylor Lauten has no acting skill at all... Oh wait that's probably the case. When will Hollywood realize that it takes more than a jaw line and six pack to carry a film. 2 is generous because the direction wasn't bad and the supporting cast held their own. SKIP THIS FILM. Unless your a 14 yr old girl. Then you can probably masterbate to this for weeks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BillyheelOct 13, 2011
A movie that stumbles out of the gates, and never gets back on it's feet. Mediocre and uneventful, the movie will leave you with a sick pit in your wallet; and the regret of paying to watch it. The plot is ridiculous, the acting isA movie that stumbles out of the gates, and never gets back on it's feet. Mediocre and uneventful, the movie will leave you with a sick pit in your wallet; and the regret of paying to watch it. The plot is ridiculous, the acting is atrocious, and the story progression is spotty and lacks substance. One of the worst movies I have seen, and it is definitely Taylor Lautner's worst role ever. Terrible, and nothing else. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JFKNov 9, 2011
I don't understand how such an amazing cast could surround Taylor Lautner and still leave him looking so wooden. Completely disappointing. Gaping continuity errors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MegWhiteleyMar 15, 2012
Terrible, terrible, terrible film, is one of the worst movies that I can watch, I think that the film look like the Bourne saga can be good, but no, is a bigger disaster, is a terrible film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
charliew1820Jun 2, 2012
Fair enough, this movie is fun to watch, ehat with all the action sequences and fights that would most likely never happen. But in terms of critically analyzing it is awful. The script was so so bad with not a single line that actually hadFair enough, this movie is fun to watch, ehat with all the action sequences and fights that would most likely never happen. But in terms of critically analyzing it is awful. The script was so so bad with not a single line that actually had meaning or was good, the acting was unbelievably, the only word for it, c**p, with no emotion and when taylor lautner cries in this film it looks like hes pusing really hard to get the tears out, and the rest of the card are like watching moving wood. How this film scored the A List stars it did i will not know because this film was absolutely disgraceful, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
charlieW24Jul 8, 2012
Fair enough, this movie is fun to watch, what with all the action sequences and fights that would most likely never happen. But in terms of critically analysing it is awful. The script was so so bad with not a single line that actually hadFair enough, this movie is fun to watch, what with all the action sequences and fights that would most likely never happen. But in terms of critically analysing it is awful. The script was so so bad with not a single line that actually had meaning or was good, the acting was unbelievably, the only word for it, c**p, with no emotion and when Taylor lautner cries in this film it looks like he Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
entertrainerSep 1, 2013
Ich habe wirklich super viel gelacht.Ob der Dialoge und Handlung. Ein sehr einfach gehaltener Film der nach dem Thriller-Schema-F "produziert" (gefertigt wurde). Alfred Molino sieht einfach für mich immer wie ein beleidigter Junge aus. WillIch habe wirklich super viel gelacht.Ob der Dialoge und Handlung. Ein sehr einfach gehaltener Film der nach dem Thriller-Schema-F "produziert" (gefertigt wurde). Alfred Molino sieht einfach für mich immer wie ein beleidigter Junge aus. Will ihm aber noch ne Chance in seiner Karriere geben. Spannung hat der Film ja schon. Er ist eben einfach nr Handwerkskunst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BrianMcCriticJun 2, 2013
A highly forgettable movie that gets most of its audience from screaming girls who love Taylor Lautner. Unfortunately for Lautner he shows he can't be a leading man. Not to mention the script stinks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews