Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 18, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 167 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
131
Mixed:
28
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AndrewSep 1, 2006
This movie was hilarious. I though it would mostly be funny for Lewis Black, but it was funny everywhere else.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
I put this movie in expecting to see an American Pie knock-off that I was going to hate. I was pleasantly surprised to find an amusing comedy with a very good point: our current system of higher entertainment sucks. If you're one of thoseI put this movie in expecting to see an American Pie knock-off that I was going to hate. I was pleasantly surprised to find an amusing comedy with a very good point: our current system of higher entertainment sucks. If you're one of those yuppies who supports college 100% and believe a future without it is impossible, pass this by. If your one of the people who got rejected from college, or went to college and realized how ridiculous it is, you'll love this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
SirOnion32May 28, 2013
Typical brain-dead comedy perfectly suited for anyone currently failing college or regretting the fact that they never attended. Cliche in almost every regard, with a horrible leading actor, and a boring "rebellious young teen vs. old whiteTypical brain-dead comedy perfectly suited for anyone currently failing college or regretting the fact that they never attended. Cliche in almost every regard, with a horrible leading actor, and a boring "rebellious young teen vs. old white men" philosophy that seals its place in the worst of the worst. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Accepted was one of the only movies i had to watch for a couple months back in 07 so i have watched it plenty of times and even though the comedy isnt that great i still enjoy this movie a lot even to this day i still laugh and have a goodAccepted was one of the only movies i had to watch for a couple months back in 07 so i have watched it plenty of times and even though the comedy isnt that great i still enjoy this movie a lot even to this day i still laugh and have a good time watching it. I know people dont like Justin Long but i dont think he is all that bad at least thats me. The Concept was nice and it was good that they put a little heart into it maybe if they had put a little more it could have been a good movie rather then a average one. Lewis Black was Lewis Black so he was the best part of the movie every thing he said had me cracking up he is just so hilarious.

Overall i give it 6.5 "Ask Me About My Wiener!!"
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Lewis Black, the standout here, still manages to suffer from the bland script, which takes the potential 'Accepted,' had, and shoves it down the toilet.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BrianDotySep 22, 2006
Cant give a movie with Lewis Black screaming, "Pimps and w*****!" a bad score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Oct 16, 2006
In this movie universe, community colleges don't exist. An argument can be made that "Accepted" is science fiction, like Phillip Roth's "The Plot Against America"(highbrow sci-fi has the snobby cachet of being labeled "speculative In this movie universe, community colleges don't exist. An argument can be made that "Accepted" is science fiction, like Phillip Roth's "The Plot Against America"(highbrow sci-fi has the snobby cachet of being labeled "speculative fiction"), this story takes place in an alternate history, in which the republicans seemingly have won the battle to eliminate two-year institutions. After Bartleby (Justin Long) gets the shaft from seven four-year institutions, and curiously, there is no mention of j.c.'s as a logical alternative to the service industry. "Accepted" isn't clever enough to follow through with its somewhat appealing premise of creating a fake college (too much time is spent on Bartelby's pursuit of Monica), but it does have some clever references to films like "Shattered Glass"(fake journalist) and "This is Spinal Tap"(fake documentary). On second thought, maybe South Harmon Institute of Technology is supposed to be a disparagement against community college itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BobH.Aug 18, 2006
good enough to give you some erections and chuckles, but nothing special and just your average stupid comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LindaM.Aug 18, 2006
this movie is nothig but below average comedy. Sure, its a funny idea but the movie is just not very good and will most likely not have a very large audiance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GreggAug 22, 2006
I liked it better when it was "Camp Nowhere".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeteM.Aug 26, 2006
All comparisons aside, this is a clever film with enough gags and good intentions to successfully sustain your attention for its brief 90 minute runtime. Of all the mainstream studio comedies that I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiloB.Aug 27, 2006
Hysterical, a fantastic movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelB.Dec 18, 2006
I thought this film would be awful, but it really exceeded my expectations. It's not funny in the over-the-top American Pie sort of way we've come to expect from the teen comedy genre, but pretty funny nonetheless. Lewis Black I thought this film would be awful, but it really exceeded my expectations. It's not funny in the over-the-top American Pie sort of way we've come to expect from the teen comedy genre, but pretty funny nonetheless. Lewis Black delivers a great performance, but should have had more screen time. Definitely worth a rent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Ek-oDec 23, 2006
Its watchable, but not great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinP.Aug 17, 2006
well acted and smart idea with a good poster and trailer. however the plot lacks meaning and is at times quite boring. it is enjoyable and very funny at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidA.Aug 26, 2006
I ain't laiugh my @$$ off in a movie like this since scary movie 3, that ending was funny as $h!t too. If u tired os stupid movies u gotta see this one, its one of the few good comedies this summer. Peace out!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Louis'sbrotherApr 16, 2007
Not the funniest movie I've seen, but hilarious nonetheless. Definently worth buying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
J-ShapAug 26, 2011
While the idea of progressive education is one that I'd like to see more of, it doesn't come from a movie this preposterous and oddly preachy when it gets to be serious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SeriosityNov 4, 2012
Certainly watchable, but the combination of infrequent laughs and a familiar characters and plot make a very forgettable comedy. More annoying than endearing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Aug 14, 2013
This is an underrated movie. Yes the story is thin and completely unrealistic but the characters, specifically Adam Herschman as the crazy teenage chef who experiments with food and Jeremy Howard as the hysterical freak who can blow up withThis is an underrated movie. Yes the story is thin and completely unrealistic but the characters, specifically Adam Herschman as the crazy teenage chef who experiments with food and Jeremy Howard as the hysterical freak who can blow up with his mind. Accepted has an inspiring court scene, a skatalogical old man, Jonah Hill dressed as a hot dog and a stupid but absolutely hilarious ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Mar 8, 2016
Accepted has a bit of an original premise and it does take it into some unrealistic territory but it is a pretty fun comedy film. Justin Long makes a pretty solid lead and its unfortunate that he's not playing bigger roles in many moviesAccepted has a bit of an original premise and it does take it into some unrealistic territory but it is a pretty fun comedy film. Justin Long makes a pretty solid lead and its unfortunate that he's not playing bigger roles in many movies anymore. Jonah Hill is in the mix and you can really see his potential here. He's really funny. Blake Lively is a great down to earth love interest. Then you have all the crazy side characters that are probably the highlight of the humour. I found this movie to have a pretty good amount of heart and the story may a little unorthodox and clich├ęd but I'd certainly watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews