Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: February 4, 1994
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
112
Mixed:
41
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Untitled94Nov 1, 2016
Very funny movie. I do kind of wish it focused more on the animals than it did, but it was still pretty good. This movie wouldn't be nearly as good if it wasn't for Jim Carry. He pulled off the role very well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
Adventurous, but not funny and unassumingly too short. Jim Carrey must be killing his hardcore-comedian career making people laugh with Ace Ventura: Pet Detective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 18, 2016
Brilliant film, Jim Carrey is a fantastic actor, comedian, impressionist and contortionist!

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-3070-Ace-Ventura-Pet-Detective-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ProGamer7Nov 16, 2015
Jim Carrey does not disappoint in this film, possibly one of his best works. This was the prime time for Carrey and he did not miss up on a great opportunity to play part in a well-executed comedy movie.
9/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of Jim Carey's best movies. You will find that a lot of the reviews are from haughty snobs who are looking for the next Citizens Kane. The movie was meant to target people in their teens. I first saw the movie when I was around 13 and of course at that age I found it hilarious. It introduced a unique comedy with a ton of one amazing one liners. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksJun 19, 2015
Though quite childish in its humour, Ace Ventura is one of those films that is very much of its time. It also was probably the first film that brought Jim Carrey into the lime light.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RabbieMar 6, 2015
Screw those bad reviews. Ace Ventura is Jim Carrey's best film. I can't believe they don't like it. It's so fun and damn hilarious. One of the only good slapstick comedies. I watched it when I was just 5 and I loved it. And today at 13 it isScrew those bad reviews. Ace Ventura is Jim Carrey's best film. I can't believe they don't like it. It's so fun and damn hilarious. One of the only good slapstick comedies. I watched it when I was just 5 and I loved it. And today at 13 it is still a masterpiece!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 10, 2014
Ace Ventura is a funny classic and a bit pain in the ass ." Jim Carrey gives us a performance of annoying , Hilarious and a jackass in all his movies" .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LelandskellOct 20, 2013
This was one of Jim Carrey's first, if not first film. Ace Ventura hit the big screens in 1994, and showed what a comedic powerhouse Jim Carrey is. This film showed a new style of humor that emanated from young Jim Carrey. This film revolvesThis was one of Jim Carrey's first, if not first film. Ace Ventura hit the big screens in 1994, and showed what a comedic powerhouse Jim Carrey is. This film showed a new style of humor that emanated from young Jim Carrey. This film revolves around pet detective, Jim Carrey, tracking down a dolphin thief by using a jewel from a world championship ring to provide him with a list if possible suspects, football players. During the film, there are many memorable and iconic scenes that continue to make me laugh to this day. The facial expressions from Carrey in this movie are priceless, and all in all it is a great feel-good film. This films remains to be a classic Jim Carrey film, along with Dumb and Dumber. Fun to watch with the family. 7/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SchroederRockSep 25, 2013
Critics will hate it. But make no mistake, Ace Ventura birthed the modern comedy scene by being silly, disgusting, and outrageous. Jim Carrey, an actor that needs no introduction, leads the charge and is the reason why superstar comedyCritics will hate it. But make no mistake, Ace Ventura birthed the modern comedy scene by being silly, disgusting, and outrageous. Jim Carrey, an actor that needs no introduction, leads the charge and is the reason why superstar comedy icons found inspiration and room to get crazy on camera. Before there was Zach Galifianakis, Will Ferrel, and Jonah Hill, there was Jim Carrey. Only names like Robin Williams dare be mentioned in the same breath. Only my parents could have ever found this movie forgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hawaiianhappyJul 23, 2013
One of Jim Carey's best movies. You will find that a lot of the reviews are from haughty snobs who are looking for the next Citizens Kane. The movie was meant to target people in their teens. I first saw the movie when I was around 13 andOne of Jim Carey's best movies. You will find that a lot of the reviews are from haughty snobs who are looking for the next Citizens Kane. The movie was meant to target people in their teens. I first saw the movie when I was around 13 and of course at that age I found it hilarious. It introduced a unique comedy with a ton of one amazing one liners. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24May 23, 2013
It's an impossibly annoying and almost unbearably asinine at times, but strangely enough, that's where a lot of its appeal comes from. "Ace Ventura: Pet Detective" is one of the quintessential 90s Jim Carrey farce films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
M0vieAddictMay 9, 2013
I wish Ace had more time and freedom to spread his wings, the cast isn't very likable except Carrey himself and the plot bumbles in places... But! the humor and originality of the character is what keeps this afloat. Like a shark or dolphin,I wish Ace had more time and freedom to spread his wings, the cast isn't very likable except Carrey himself and the plot bumbles in places... But! the humor and originality of the character is what keeps this afloat. Like a shark or dolphin, Jim Carrey executes every moment with realism and hilarity, score seven for this pooch. A, Loo, Za! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
njkkNov 16, 2012
It takes a lot of guts to stick to a role like the one Jim Carrey played in this movie, it would have destroyed most actors careers. He is the only one that could have made this movie a success. Because without Jim Carrey, this movie wouldIt takes a lot of guts to stick to a role like the one Jim Carrey played in this movie, it would have destroyed most actors careers. He is the only one that could have made this movie a success. Because without Jim Carrey, this movie would have been really bad. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
V123456789May 19, 2012
Película muy divertida y tonta. No por snob PPL supongo que por los comentarios críticos, jeje. Así que muchos comentarios malos, y 1 de las películas más divertidas de comediaPelícula muy divertida y tonta. No por snob PPL supongo que por los comentarios críticos, jeje. Así que muchos comentarios malos, y 1 de las películas más divertidas de comedia bien conocidos hasta la fecha. ¡Loco! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107Feb 14, 2012
Ace Ventura shows off just how funny Jim Carrey really is, Imagine Ace Ventura without him, it would suck. One of my favorite Jim Carrey movies ever. Finkel is Einhorn! haha
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
j30Jan 26, 2012
I can't think of a more annoying protagonist than Jim Carrey's Ace Ventura. The story is just one big headache and anxiety attack after another.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
It was ok. Some funny parts but most of it is so stupid that you just cant get over it. The acting was a little below average, Carrey was priceless and is the only good thing about this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJul 3, 2011
Wow, the film's is not very liked by the critics eh? However a lot of users find it funny and good and I have to agree with them. It's not a mind blowing film but it's definitely funny!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
lususgreeneMay 11, 2011
This movie is better than the credit it is getting here. I am not a fan of slapstick comedies but this movie does better. Is it silly? Yes, Is it a little inmature? sure. Is it entertaining? Yes it is, very much so. This movie skirts the lineThis movie is better than the credit it is getting here. I am not a fan of slapstick comedies but this movie does better. Is it silly? Yes, Is it a little inmature? sure. Is it entertaining? Yes it is, very much so. This movie skirts the line wonderfully and gives the little kid inside us all a reason to laugh, without making the adult in us groan. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 2, 2011
Hysterical. I especially liked the "ballerina" scenes. Jim Carrey has idiot down to a science. He is as funny as Jerry Lewis, Jackie Gleason, Dick Van Dyke and many other greats.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
sanddudeFeb 12, 2011
I got a lot of laughs from this. If you hate toilet humor, stay away from this! But if you are fine with this, this is a good movie. Jim Carrey's acting is great, and his stupid antics are hilarious. So not for the easily offended, but a funny movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrRiggsJan 9, 2011
Great outrageous comedy flick, if you dont like Jim Carry or how he asks in his movies you surely wont like this and Id also like to mention you have one pity ass sense of humor if you dont enjoy Ace Venturas...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
A goofy and funny material film for Jim Carrey's performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JayHFeb 5, 2009
Way too inane, Jim Carrey's comic style is a matter of taste. There are some funny bits but too much of it is just stupid. Only for fans of the star. The sequel is better.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DanHAug 15, 2008
Very funny and goofy movie. Not for snooty ppl i'm guessing by the critics reviews, lol. So many bad reviews, and 1 of the funniest well known comedy movies to date. Crazy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MArxtonDApr 27, 2008
This movie is a classic and not to be mistaken with a mature movie genre, because it was hilarious in 99 when i was in middleschool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RD.Jan 25, 2007
Very funny movie. Carrey gives a great performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatC.May 3, 2006
Jim Carrey establishes himself as the go-to guy when just a little over the top simply won't do.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
JamieB.Feb 1, 2006
Surprisingly enjoyable, either in spite of or because of it's goofiness. Jim Carrey never showed less effort in a performance. If you think that's a good thing, then you might like this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful