Act of Valor

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 146
  2. Negative: 19 out of 146

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 3, 2014
    7
    With it's action-packed firefights, explosive set-pieces, decent plot, and bland characters, it in a lot of ways feels like Call of Duty: The Movie. It tries to throw some emotion in between the action scenes, but thanks to the poor dialog and the generic, bro-dude meathead characters it fails to do so. At most all these scenes serve the purpose of is some oh so obvious recruitmentWith it's action-packed firefights, explosive set-pieces, decent plot, and bland characters, it in a lot of ways feels like Call of Duty: The Movie. It tries to throw some emotion in between the action scenes, but thanks to the poor dialog and the generic, bro-dude meathead characters it fails to do so. At most all these scenes serve the purpose of is some oh so obvious recruitment tactics.

    The strength here is definitely in the action. Like I said the movie feels like Call of Duty with it's fast-paced shootouts. The first-person camera angles also help sell this feeling. Really I think that's what they were going for with the way things are set-up. Which again makes it feel like a super painfully obvious attempt at recruitment, but it can still be a lot of fun. The equipment and lingo being used here is enough to show any military fanatic a good time.

    The enemies on display here aren't presented as much of a threat though, which helps the film lose the sense of realism it's trying to instill. The bad guys can't aim, so they basically just act as cannon-fodder for these real-life SEAL's. Outside of some predictable wounds/death near the end they make it through every encounter with barely a scratch.

    It's an overall entertaining film that will please action junkies, military enthusiasts, or those who respect our nation's troops. It might not be as realistic as it was being touted and suffers from bad characters and dialog, as well as being a clear attempt at recruitment, but it's still an entertaining action movie overall it. It fails to evoke any emotion, but it does manage to create some memorable action. That makes it worth a rental in my book.
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    8
    I'm a fan of shows like The Unit which portray these teams in a tangible, realistic light, and I've always been intrigued by the documentaries chronicling BUDs training. I had somewhat modest expectations for this film based on what the pro critics had to say, but this sucker is exciting - easily surpassing my expectations. Sure, it's a little too buttoned-up in terms of the story, but itI'm a fan of shows like The Unit which portray these teams in a tangible, realistic light, and I've always been intrigued by the documentaries chronicling BUDs training. I had somewhat modest expectations for this film based on what the pro critics had to say, but this sucker is exciting - easily surpassing my expectations. Sure, it's a little too buttoned-up in terms of the story, but it does a really nice job of characterizing the moment-to-moment professionalism of these operators. The fact that actual SEALs are involved in and starring in the film helps to assure the moviegoer that it's authentic stuff - not juiced up or fundamentally compromised for the cameras. I appreciate that the filmmakers name all of the operators lost since 9/11 at the end of the film - especially Master-at-Arms Second Class Michael Monsoor, who was awarded the CMH for an incredibly selfless act which is portrayed - in a general sense - in this film. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I thought this movie was absolutely fantastic and by far the most realistic military movie I've ever seen (and I've seen just about all of them). The movie does a great job of using the little details to separate itself from most others and the acting is a lot better than the critics claim it to be. Act of Valor also does a good job of reinforcing the idea that the Navy Seals is an eliteI thought this movie was absolutely fantastic and by far the most realistic military movie I've ever seen (and I've seen just about all of them). The movie does a great job of using the little details to separate itself from most others and the acting is a lot better than the critics claim it to be. Act of Valor also does a good job of reinforcing the idea that the Navy Seals is an elite operating unit, not a fake one-man band. As for this movie not receiving good reviews from the critics, remember, these are the same good-for-nothing movie goers that think their opinion equals reality and who thought a gay cowboy movie and some cheesy silent film deserved Academy Awards. If you want the most realistic portrayal of the military and are tired of needless overdone action, this movie is for you. If you want "artistic" bullcrap, don't waste your time because this movie doesn't cater to people looking to ignore reality.

    Upon reading other's reviews of the movie, there're a few more comments I absolutely must make.
    1) For people who think cliche equals fake and unoriginal: How do you think things became cliche to begin with? Almost all cliches have a foundation of reality and being that this movie is all about reality, that's to be expected.
    2) For those who were bored with the movie because there weren't enough bullets and explosions: Go back to playing Call of Duty and watching unrealistic action movies.
    3) Speaking of Call of Duty, for those who think the movie copied Call of Duty by using first-person views for a few short sequences: Why do you think most shooters are done in a first-person perspective? Video games use first-person to try to make the experience as realistic and immersive as possible. If a movie wants to make the viewing experience as realistic as possible, it makes sense that this is a film tactic they would use.
    4) For those who thought the acting wasn't great: I agree, Russell Crowe and Christian Bale were not the leads for this movie. The acting of the SEALs was not fantastic but to say it was terrible would be inaccurate. Also, if you actually expected Navy SEALs to have Oscar worthy performances, you're a fool.

    NOTE: After seeing this movie again, I thought it was even better than I did before. Considering that I rated it a 10/10 the first time around, obviously I think very highly of this film. Something I didn't mention before that needs mentioning is how overwhelming I thought the ending was emotionally. This movie shows how much our soldiers sacrifice for our everyday freedoms that we take for granted. Their sacrifice is not lost in my eyes. Thank you for all you do for us!
    Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2016
    8
    A conventional thriller action film with a nice cast.

    Watch this here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-281e7f-Act-of-Valor-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    If this isn't a recruitment film then it should be...Propaganda maybe but more patriotic to make you feel safe. Resonates with 'Tears of the Sun' but combats against terrorism. Alpha male action for warriors. Hooyah!
  6. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I am profoundly offended... Not by this movie but by the negative reviews of it! As a Navy combat veteran of the first Gulf War I admit I may be as biased as can be, but This was a masterpiece of a movie. You don't have to be a veteran to appreciate it but unless your an America hating Hollywood liberal you will be filled with pride and humbled by the magnitude of skill, heart andI am profoundly offended... Not by this movie but by the negative reviews of it! As a Navy combat veteran of the first Gulf War I admit I may be as biased as can be, but This was a masterpiece of a movie. You don't have to be a veteran to appreciate it but unless your an America hating Hollywood liberal you will be filled with pride and humbled by the magnitude of skill, heart and sacrifice our most elite defenders of your life liberty and pursuit of happiness. I've heard some complain that the SEAL's in this movie can't act... Well thank God they aren't actors. These Men are the real thing and they "act" like the real thing not some "dumbed down" Hollywood wannabes. If you don't get that then "You can't handle the truth! Son, we live in a world that has walls, and those walls have to be guarded by men with guns." Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    Probably the most under rated action movie of all time. Very little or no CGI just jaw dropping and perfectly executed action sequences of Special Ops missions. For me I could lose the first ten and last ten minutes of the movie...but the whole middle heart the story and the missions are perfectly done. If you enjoy COD games or FPS games this movie is for you.
  8. Apr 11, 2012
    7
    There would not be enough opinions about how wooden the acting in this film is. At the same time, after thinking it through, I find it quite positive. The SEALs are not pretending to be professional actors. They are just doing their job well, and in a spectacular way! The action scenes are really great! The operations are as realistic as they can be. There are no exaggerated visualThere would not be enough opinions about how wooden the acting in this film is. At the same time, after thinking it through, I find it quite positive. The SEALs are not pretending to be professional actors. They are just doing their job well, and in a spectacular way! The action scenes are really great! The operations are as realistic as they can be. There are no exaggerated visual effects. None are needed, though. This movie is all about SEALSs and all about action as it could be. And that's its biggest advantage! A staunch 7! Expand
  9. May 20, 2012
    7
    The fact that the director could get Navy Seals to halfway act is an achievement in itself. Let alone, the film had some badass moments. The sound of the M4A1's banging away was powerful, and the scene with the miniguns on the boat was downright awesome. The story was about right, with some drawn out portions that could have been improved. Overall, this film made our boys and girls on theThe fact that the director could get Navy Seals to halfway act is an achievement in itself. Let alone, the film had some badass moments. The sound of the M4A1's banging away was powerful, and the scene with the miniguns on the boat was downright awesome. The story was about right, with some drawn out portions that could have been improved. Overall, this film made our boys and girls on the frontline look like the badasses they are. The scene where they take it to the Mexican drug cartel was pretty badass as well. The terrorist was pretty realistic--although it was kind of unrealistic that he wouldn't have ties to Al Qaeda. Overall, watch this movie with the expectation to see some pretty nice fight sequences. They are what keeps the film high on my list. Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    I wonder if the real reason so many gave this a poor review is that the "actors" don't belong to the Actor's guild. I thought the movie was outstanding, the only reason I did not give it a 10 is I did not like the first person shooter effect. I thought the acting was superb, because they were NOT acting, they were being WHO they are. That is real life, if you ONLY want to be entertained,I wonder if the real reason so many gave this a poor review is that the "actors" don't belong to the Actor's guild. I thought the movie was outstanding, the only reason I did not give it a 10 is I did not like the first person shooter effect. I thought the acting was superb, because they were NOT acting, they were being WHO they are. That is real life, if you ONLY want to be entertained, then don't watch this, but if you want a realistic peek into what our Navy Seal's do to protect this country and how they REALLY interact with each other, then this is a must see! Expand
  11. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    As other reviewers already pointed out, the acting is a little wooden and the villians are (almost) as one dimensional as your average James Bond villian, but the overall package is so novel that it really shouldn't be an issue. As far as the acting goes, it got the job done and I wouldn't say it's any worse than the acting of some 80's action heroes from Belgium or Austria. The villiansAs other reviewers already pointed out, the acting is a little wooden and the villians are (almost) as one dimensional as your average James Bond villian, but the overall package is so novel that it really shouldn't be an issue. As far as the acting goes, it got the job done and I wouldn't say it's any worse than the acting of some 80's action heroes from Belgium or Austria. The villians don't get much screentime outside of the scenes where they're mostly twirling their moustaches and being all-around horrible people, but the few lines of dialogue they have at least hint at something deeper, it's really not explored to any degree, but it at least partially adds a fraction of a third dimension. Finally, the novelty of the movie is that this really isn't some kind of Expandables or Magnificent 7, no egos, nobody makes stupid decisions to move the story forward, nobody running off on their own to be a hero. This movie is really a celebration of proper teamwork and good preparation, I don't think I've enjoyed the firefights in any movie more than I enjoyed the ones in Act of Valor. Expand
  12. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    This movie did what it was ment to do...very well. People are saying the acting is bad but these are not actors. They are Real Navy Seals. The action was great.
  13. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    This movie was honestly a great war hero story and I thought its acting was a bit stale but still a great action movie for this long wait before any big blockbusters are realesed
  14. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    I'm gonna keep it short for Act of Valor, as to not start any type of trouble between to people who love and hate this film. Act of Valor was a great way to get a look at actual Navy SEALS and how, when they're home, they have families and all they care about it so it's not like they're just machines out on the battlefield. It's impossible for everything they did otherwise, like theirI'm gonna keep it short for Act of Valor, as to not start any type of trouble between to people who love and hate this film. Act of Valor was a great way to get a look at actual Navy SEALS and how, when they're home, they have families and all they care about it so it's not like they're just machines out on the battlefield. It's impossible for everything they did otherwise, like their tactics in battle, to be entirely true because that all needs to be kept secret- however, it was very interesting to watch it all go down. Gives you an appreciation for what they have to do for us to be safe and free. The acting in this wasn't HORRIBLE really, it was just ok and since that most of the cast were all SEALS it is very acceptable for it to be just ok. I'd recommend to anyone who loves and respects the servicemen who protect our country to go see this. Expand
  15. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    While the decision to cast active-duty Navy SEALs results in dialogue and character development falling by the wayside, the brisk pacing and incredible action sequences do more than balance the scales. The tactics are based on the everyday experiences of the SEAL team, and many of the scenes were shot with live ammunition for authenticity - and just to show you how truly badass these guysWhile the decision to cast active-duty Navy SEALs results in dialogue and character development falling by the wayside, the brisk pacing and incredible action sequences do more than balance the scales. The tactics are based on the everyday experiences of the SEAL team, and many of the scenes were shot with live ammunition for authenticity - and just to show you how truly badass these guys are. Full of white-knuckle intensity that feels all the more visceral because of its true life roots, Act of Valor is a fascinating experiment in filmmaking that hits the mark more often than not. --www.nerdrep.com Expand
  16. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    Pay back's a **** ain't it Leftist Reviewers? (ie, almost all of them!) What makes the anti-Americanism of Hollywood sycophants dangerous is the fact that it leads to moral self-delusion: we're more moral, America is immoral, the West and Christianity are the most immoral! And when our media elites are self- deluded, can anyone trust them to take action and remain self-possessed enough toPay back's a **** ain't it Leftist Reviewers? (ie, almost all of them!) What makes the anti-Americanism of Hollywood sycophants dangerous is the fact that it leads to moral self-delusion: we're more moral, America is immoral, the West and Christianity are the most immoral! And when our media elites are self- deluded, can anyone trust them to take action and remain self-possessed enough to defend us? Of course not. For over a decade I have waited a film that celebrates the last of America's Indian wars on the Great Plains (ie, the native American's who, like Mohammed the founder of Islam, organized and venerated military violence) -- and thus had to be pacified for world civilization to progress. 9/11 was our call to duty, and we answered the call. Finally, our dog will have its day. Well done, Seals. Expand
  17. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    The story is great and if you've ever enjoyed Tom Clancy or 24 you'll love it. In a Hollywood movie you would have multiple threads of plot that end up being cliche (the plucky CIA analyst that puts it all together, tension in the White House and one of the SEALs would be a double agent), but it benefits by doing something new. Less is really more. Instead of the assault team being theThe story is great and if you've ever enjoyed Tom Clancy or 24 you'll love it. In a Hollywood movie you would have multiple threads of plot that end up being cliche (the plucky CIA analyst that puts it all together, tension in the White House and one of the SEALs would be a double agent), but it benefits by doing something new. Less is really more. Instead of the assault team being the faceless friendlies that help Ben Affleck at the end the story largely unfolds from the team's POV with a couple of exceptions. The only thing I wish they expanded on more was Senior Chief who delivers a great, real feeling performance and the best dressed fast rope in history. In the end the performances are heartfell, the service/sacrifice/Band of Brothers/Damn Few message comes through and the action is the best I've seen in a while. Not stylized, just awesome. If you loved the takedown at the end of Proof of Life, Blackhawk Down, Battle: Los Angeles, etc you'll love this. Expand
  18. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    I am wondering if the professional reviewers saw the same movie. If you go in wanting a movie to fail at the box office, then you'll find all the holes. I think the people have spoken as the numbers show this weekend. It wasn't the best acting, but these guys are real SEALs. But if you want on the edge of your seat action and intense scenes where you really feel like you're there, thenI am wondering if the professional reviewers saw the same movie. If you go in wanting a movie to fail at the box office, then you'll find all the holes. I think the people have spoken as the numbers show this weekend. It wasn't the best acting, but these guys are real SEALs. But if you want on the edge of your seat action and intense scenes where you really feel like you're there, then AOV is top notch. Not going to appeal to those who have an agenda, but as a movie it is well worth seeing over again. The movie hits all cylinders with the story, the threat, the mission, the plan, the action, the details, the emotions and the proud feel of being on the side of 'Good.' - "Why score a Zero when you can be the Hero!" Expand
  19. Feb 21, 2015
    8
    If you want fast-paced action-packed shootouts performed by the unknown heroes that keep the way of life in the West safe by killing terrorists and drug smugglers, this is the perfect movie for you. If you want a movie with a deep story, I'd watch another one. Still, I enjoyed it quite alot.
  20. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Although the acting was wooden, which others have pointed out, the story moved along. I am not a big action fan, but in many ways, the action sequences seemed more real than in many other movies coming out of Hollywood these days.
  21. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    This is a good action movie. Active duty Navy Seals I'm sure did a much better job of acting than anti-military movie critics would have been capable of doing! Emotional for Veterans.
  22. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    I very much enjoyed this film; considering this was probably the first acting adventure the active-duty seals had undertaken I commend them for their effort; at times the acting was a little wooden but it felt more professional to me.

    Thanks for telling us your story :)
  23. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    great movie, the negative reviewers can't help but slip out that there is a left bias against the u.s. military on display. great movie, had me saying, "boom head shot" throughout. i just wish the haters would take a break from hating on the real heroes. god bless the u.s. navy seals... especially the snipers.
  24. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Whether this movie was intended to be a recruiting tool or not, I walked away from this film with a greater appreciation for our armed forces. The acting was not the best, which is understandable coming from active duty Navy Seals. In the middle of the action there is no time for emotions and character development, there is only time for survival. That is exactly what this movie is,Whether this movie was intended to be a recruiting tool or not, I walked away from this film with a greater appreciation for our armed forces. The acting was not the best, which is understandable coming from active duty Navy Seals. In the middle of the action there is no time for emotions and character development, there is only time for survival. That is exactly what this movie is, action and survival. Go America! Expand
  25. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Im actually pretty damn annoyed about the negative reviews about this film, as an action military film it was right up there on my wish list and this film gave me everything of what I love about the military and the hard and heroic work they do for their countries, this film's effects, lighting editing is outstanding and the acting is in a league of its own, the story line fitted perfectlyIm actually pretty damn annoyed about the negative reviews about this film, as an action military film it was right up there on my wish list and this film gave me everything of what I love about the military and the hard and heroic work they do for their countries, this film's effects, lighting editing is outstanding and the acting is in a league of its own, the story line fitted perfectly with the scenes and the overall feeling and the fact that these are real navy seals in the film which gives anyone a proper official taste and on what life is like as a Navy Seal Lt. or Soldier. I highly loved this film and I would really love them to make another one. 10/10 Expand
  26. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    The realism of this movie is unprecedented. The acting during the non-action parts, may be not as good (I didn't even notice the difference), but it is made up for in the action parts. During those parts they are not acting. They are preforming far better than some hollywood stuntman. Those stuntmen are not man enough to do what those Navy Seals did! I also found the action awesome! TheThe realism of this movie is unprecedented. The acting during the non-action parts, may be not as good (I didn't even notice the difference), but it is made up for in the action parts. During those parts they are not acting. They are preforming far better than some hollywood stuntman. Those stuntmen are not man enough to do what those Navy Seals did! I also found the action awesome! The movie had tons of very memorable action. Finally, the movie was made to honor the Navy Seals, and it did this well. At the end it even lists the names of the Seals who gave their lives overseas. This movie honored their sacrifice and unparalleled bravery. Expand
  27. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    This was a good movie because it shows what navy seals have to go through everyday and critics dont need to give this movie such low rating because of the acting there navy seals what do you expect this isnt like a hollywood unrealistic action movie this is what really happens
  28. DZZ
    Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Propaganda: "ideas, facts, or allegations spread deliberately to further one's cause or to damage an opposing cause; also: a public action having such an effect" (http://www.merriamwebster.com/dictionary/propaganda)
    This movie is not propaganda. By definition what all the anti-war liberals say is propaganda. This isnt some tool for the "evil conservatives" to pull people into the
    Propaganda: "ideas, facts, or allegations spread deliberately to further one's cause or to damage an opposing cause; also: a public action having such an effect" (http://www.merriamwebster.com/dictionary/propaganda)
    This movie is not propaganda. By definition what all the anti-war liberals say is propaganda. This isnt some tool for the "evil conservatives" to pull people into the military. It is a good movie, please think past political agenda (both sides) and video games.
    Moving on from petty political bull**** this was an action movie with the goal of a very high degree of realism and entertaining you. It accomplished that. They used Navy SEALs rather than some popular hollywood actor because of their background knowledge, making the movie realistic.
    It seems based on some reviews I have to remind you: this is an action movie, not a movie for deep character development or meaning, if you want that then go watch a chickflick. So keep that in mind.
    I cannot stress this enough... please, if you go see this movie ignore the political views of EVERYONE, so that you can actually have a chance to enjoy this movie.
    Expand
  29. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    For those of you who keep saying this movie does not have a plot or I only went because my boyfriend or husband made me go and it was like watching him playing a game on TV or the acting wasn't that good................COME ON!!! They are REAL SEALS, not over paid actors making millions to pretend to be soldiers. This a movie OR a so called documentary showing you what our military notFor those of you who keep saying this movie does not have a plot or I only went because my boyfriend or husband made me go and it was like watching him playing a game on TV or the acting wasn't that good................COME ON!!! They are REAL SEALS, not over paid actors making millions to pretend to be soldiers. This a movie OR a so called documentary showing you what our military not only does to protect our country but how it effects their families-(spouse-mothers-fathers-kids). WOW...if you donâ Expand
  30. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    The Acting isn't going to win any awards. But the action sequences are spectacular and the film overall is fantastic. I don't understand most of the critic's reviews as they focus more on the acting than the intended message of the film.
  31. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I actually really liked this movie. It had a lot of action as one would have thought. The authenticity was solid and that definitely outweighs the acting. I think my favorite part was when Christo was getting interrogated by 'Zac Galifianakas' lol jk. But seriously, was very good. I got emotional at the very end when the names of the fallen scrolled across the screen. I think it was a lotI actually really liked this movie. It had a lot of action as one would have thought. The authenticity was solid and that definitely outweighs the acting. I think my favorite part was when Christo was getting interrogated by 'Zac Galifianakas' lol jk. But seriously, was very good. I got emotional at the very end when the names of the fallen scrolled across the screen. I think it was a lot better than most of the action movies. And... the plot idea was unique! Expand
  32. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best films i have seen in a long time.it does something unique in the way that its not just another romantic comedy,horror film or standard action flick,and whats even better is that they are actual navy seals acting and i thought the acting was quite realistic.The storyline was also terrific and very well paced. all and all a must see for a military game and movie fan.
  33. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    If your an American you gotta love this movie...Very very sad. Very very Patriotic Movie...Loved it. Loved how authentic it was for a military movie..Unlike hurt Locker which was an extremely unrealistic military movie, I had to turn it off half way through the movie because it was so unrealistic...Be Proud to be An American People, We are the biggest and baddest and this movie Freakin Rocks!
  34. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Best Action Movie Ever!

    Everything about this Movie was perfection! Edge of my seat all the way. Storyline was exceptional - I knew what was happening and why - everything made sense. Acting by everyone was realistic, believable, and outstanding. Sporadic and strategic use of First-Person perspective was brilliantly done heightening tension, realism and immersion. After the end of the
    Best Action Movie Ever!

    Everything about this Movie was perfection! Edge of my seat all the way. Storyline was exceptional - I knew what was happening and why - everything made sense. Acting by everyone was realistic, believable, and outstanding. Sporadic and strategic use of First-Person perspective was brilliantly done heightening tension, realism and immersion. After the end of the movie, everyone just sat there, transfixed, silent and absorbed in thought and respect. It was at least 5 minutes into the credits that the first person dared to move. About 80% of the audience stayed through the entire roll of the credits. This movie is a MUST SEE for every Action movie fan
    Expand
  35. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    A typical flashy American action movie with a shallow plot (Terrorist want to kill people. Special forces stop terrorists. End of film) and wooden acting (understandable due to the fact that the actors are actual soldiers). Action sequences are excellent, however. I can honestly say that this was one the very few films that didn't have me, as a military man myself, pointing out constantA typical flashy American action movie with a shallow plot (Terrorist want to kill people. Special forces stop terrorists. End of film) and wooden acting (understandable due to the fact that the actors are actual soldiers). Action sequences are excellent, however. I can honestly say that this was one the very few films that didn't have me, as a military man myself, pointing out constant flaws in what was going on. On the whole, a decent film and a good watch if you are tired and/or don't want to have to pay attention to every last detail. Expand
  36. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    I heard somebody say that the SEALs in the movie cant act
    If you think they cant act its because "real" actors have misrepresented them and people like them for so long you dont know what reality is
    They DONT have to act because they are portraying what they ALREADY ARE The movie may not have the best cinematography or special effects, but it sure as hell is one of the most realistic,
    I heard somebody say that the SEALs in the movie cant act
    If you think they cant act its because "real" actors have misrepresented them and people like them for so long you dont know what reality is
    They DONT have to act because they are portraying what they ALREADY ARE
    The movie may not have the best cinematography or special effects, but it sure as hell is one of the most realistic, and touching
    8/10
    Expand
  37. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    This is definitely a must watch for fans of realistic military action / suspense movies. Some of the acting is cliched and unpolished but that tends to add to the believability- the entire story is completely believable yet very suspenseful. A little bit patriotic as well, nothing wrong with that. It depicts a behind the scenes look at intelligence and military operations. Would be aThis is definitely a must watch for fans of realistic military action / suspense movies. Some of the acting is cliched and unpolished but that tends to add to the believability- the entire story is completely believable yet very suspenseful. A little bit patriotic as well, nothing wrong with that. It depicts a behind the scenes look at intelligence and military operations. Would be a (10) if some of the acting and dialogue wasn't so cliched but this is a minor flaw in an awesome movie. Expand
  38. May 12, 2013
    7
    This movie has a really good story, but their were a couple of flaws in it. You have to give the navy seals in the movie some credit because they are no professional actors.
  39. BAT
    Feb 5, 2014
    10
    Someone once asked Chuck Norris what he thought of David Carradine as martial artist. Chuck replied that David was as good a martial artist as he was an actor. So true but for those of us who rightfully respect the skill set that these men posses, we would rather see Seals acting as Seals than Tom Cruise acting as a Seal.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 22, 2012
    20
    The gimmick behind this excruciating propagandist movie about the US special forces' war on terror is that it features not actors but actual Navy Seals.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Mar 19, 2012
    20
    Another reason to avoid films endorsed by the US military, this is sub-propaganda tosh that inadvertently plays like Hot Shots: Part Trois.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Mar 16, 2012
    40
    This voiceover is one of many perplexing elements in this ridiculously pumped-up military recruitment video, which intersperses brilliant and immersive combat scenes with excruciating comradely banter.