Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 22, 2013
    75
    Admission is not especially funny. The trailer can’t seem to make up its mind. On the one hand, it looks like a satire of academia. On the other hand, it could be a gentle rom-com. In truth, it’s neither.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Mar 21, 2013
    65
    Where "About a Boy" was both funny and wise about urban alienation, Admission settles for skin deep.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    Admission works in stops and starts.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 6, 2013
    50
    Deftly playing Tina Fey's feminist-icon mother, Lily Tomlin all but steals Admission, a knowing but uneven comedy about the neuroticism of the college-admission process on both sides of the equation.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    I'd see Tina Fey and Paul Rudd in anything, but this is pushing it. Admission is so slight that a breeze could flatten it.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 22, 2013
    42
    Granted, this is not automatic laugh-riot material, nor should it be, but didn’t Fey recognize how hackneyed it all is? Does being a movie star mean blanding out everything that makes you special?
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 21, 2013
    20
    The bad news about Admission is that this thin envelope of a comedy checks all the boxes for being a phoned-in, phony, padded rom-com.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    What can be said about a perfectly charming movie that the critics got so terribly wrong? It's a story with great heart and humor, one that hits all the right notes, including strong performances from Fey and Rudd and Tomlin as well as the rest of the supporting cast members. Finally a movie without explicit sex, bathroom humor, endless profanity, and graphic violence—a really good romantic comedy that deal with matters of the heart. Collapse
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    My wife and I LOVED this movie. Charming, charming, charming. I don't usually disagree vehemently with the roster of professional critics, but with this movie, I am baffled by the low scores. Paul Rudd and Tina Fey are wonderful, the script is delightful, and puts the viewer a little off balance, keeping the surprise element always in play. We don't like predictable scripts, and this was far from it; two original characters, who travel a wonderfully circuitous path toward the "happy ending." This movie was one of our favorites of the year. We're so tired of the mega-violent and teen-angst flicks that Hollywood is perpetually foisting on the public. It was so refreshing to go to the movies and laugh, smile, empathize, and simply dream along with the lead characters. This review wouldn't be complete without a tip of the hat to Lily Tomlin, who puts in a stellar performance, playing Tina Fey's stridently feminist author mother. Wonderful! Please go see this movie, and take your friends and family. You will be thankful that you did. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    It was a good movie, but not great.This is a relaxing movie to watch with little drama and comedy. Nothing I can clearly remember that stood out to much. I did like the characters. It gives you just about what you should expect. If your looking for an action movie I don`t even know why you put this on. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    I think the Metascore is about right on for this one. I like Paul Rudd and Tina Fey is solid, but the writing/editing of this story needed tightening up. The end is awkward, the crisis is mishandled, and the subject matter overall getting a kid into Princeton is just not quite interesting enough to form the backbone of a feature film at least the way it's written here. Lilly Tomlin does a nice job in a very small role. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    Fay and Rudd were two good elements in Admission but it seems like director Paul Weitz has lost his taste in making films. The actors were solid and great in types of chemistry but the story didn't excite or convince me of watching it again. The movie's main elements were great but as the plot thickens the movie startes to bore rather than laugh, the jokes weren't funny and the acting was so so. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    4
    These movies aren't my type. Movies with Paul Rudd lately like Our Idiot Brother and This is 40 were complete clunkers in my opinion, but this one wasn't too bad. Boring, but not horrible. The story didn't compel me, but at least there was a plausible story. If you like school dramas without special effects, you'll be pleased. I wasn't, but see the movie if you want. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2013
    4
    It had it's humorous and entertaining moments, but there were not enough of them. It starts out to be decent, then it kind of loses your attention as you start wondering when it's gonna end and you get bored. Let's face it, the movie had no point in being made and I have no idea why it was. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers