Miramax Films | Release Date: April 3, 2009
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 318 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
233
Mixed:
54
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MRedzuanAug 27, 2011
It's such a simple, quiet movie and that is what makes it so special. Jesse Eisenberg is James a twenties guy in need of money after his parents can't fully support him financially anymore, finds a lowly job in a shabby amusement parkIt's such a simple, quiet movie and that is what makes it so special. Jesse Eisenberg is James a twenties guy in need of money after his parents can't fully support him financially anymore, finds a lowly job in a shabby amusement park Adventureland filled with rigged games and fair-to-speculate-on-the-safety secondhand rides and hand-made prizes "nobody ever wins the big ass panda". James meets Emily and the pair hit it off and so begins the weird and wonderful story of a summer-fling. But no, there is more in Adventureland and you'll have to find out about that for yourself. Jesse Eisenberg is always the go-to-guy if you're looking for a virgin-esque quality in your leading man, he's always great, no surprises here. The real surprise for me is Kristen Stewart, there will always be the Twilight role overshadowing her career. But if you look away from Bella, she is a really good actor. Emily is very shy, funny, sweet and she'll fight for what's right. She's very smart yet very conflicted and James and Em's budding romance is really a pleasure to watch. After Twilight is over, I really hope she goes off the mainstream path and produce great small movies like this, and I'll be all over it. Bill Hader is hilarious as always with what little screen time he's given "nobody ever wins the big ass panda". I loved everything about Adventureland, from the cheesy 80's soundtrack, to the simple but very nostalgic amusement park setting, funny side characters also there is more to them than meets the eye. I want to live in the 80's, I want a summer job in that period of time, I wanna smoke joints man! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
JoeSApr 5, 2009
Adventureland doesn't deserve the praise it is getting - uneven tone; mostly cliched characters and dialogue; overdone gags. For being a film about an amusement park, there is nothing really amusing about it. It flatlines from theAdventureland doesn't deserve the praise it is getting - uneven tone; mostly cliched characters and dialogue; overdone gags. For being a film about an amusement park, there is nothing really amusing about it. It flatlines from the start and there are no dips or curves along the way. I give it a 4 for the few moments that actually had some charm and promise -- mostly when no one was speaking and the soundtrack was doing all the work. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KathySApr 12, 2009
"Adventureland" is much better than you might think it would be, based on the TV commercials and previews (yeah, I still call them previews instead of trailers). Jesse Eisenberg is wonderful, Kristen Stewart is stunning, and both deliver "Adventureland" is much better than you might think it would be, based on the TV commercials and previews (yeah, I still call them previews instead of trailers). Jesse Eisenberg is wonderful, Kristen Stewart is stunning, and both deliver heartfelt performances. Every single performance is letter perfect, from the stars right on down to the bit players. Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader are so funny. I'd like to compliment every member of the cast. This movie is many things all at once. It's funny, occasionally a little raunchy, witty, insightful, and overall just a delight. Recommended!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
EdBApr 15, 2009
The film had many serious flaws. The director could have tightened up the film and made it 20 minutes shorter so it moved more quickly. And the cinematography was poor in choice of shots and some lighting. The main characters were all a The film had many serious flaws. The director could have tightened up the film and made it 20 minutes shorter so it moved more quickly. And the cinematography was poor in choice of shots and some lighting. The main characters were all a little too self absorbed, but that's typical of late teen behavior. It could have been much better with direction from an adult point of view rather than a teen point of view. The perspective would have given it some much needed air. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RyanDSep 1, 2009
For what it was, it was excellent. Not a true comedy, not a true drama... it certainly succeeds as the tongue-in-cheek dramedy that it aims to be. Looking at the cast list, who would seriously expect this movie to be absolutely brilliant? For what it was, it was excellent. Not a true comedy, not a true drama... it certainly succeeds as the tongue-in-cheek dramedy that it aims to be. Looking at the cast list, who would seriously expect this movie to be absolutely brilliant? Even Ryan Reynolds, the so-called 'acting heavyweight' of this merry little band, isn't exactly on the cusp of winning any Oscars. It didn't put me on the floor or rip my heart out, but I smiled for 2 hours and immediately decided that I would watch it again in the future. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AndyMSep 7, 2009
This movie was nothing like what it was advertised to be. It was slow and boring. I thought it was supposed to be a comedy, but there was but two funny scenes, and they were lacking. The characters were way undeveloped, the plot was This movie was nothing like what it was advertised to be. It was slow and boring. I thought it was supposed to be a comedy, but there was but two funny scenes, and they were lacking. The characters were way undeveloped, the plot was predictable from page one, and the whole thing was completely pointless. Avoid this low-budget artsy wanna-be piece and just go watch juno or something. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KeepitRealSep 17, 2009
Very few teen flicks manages to keep it as real as this one. Adventureland is a breath of fresh air with an excellent cast. Finally a teen flick about normal kids, far from the boring done-to-death Hollywood clichés of nerds, members Very few teen flicks manages to keep it as real as this one. Adventureland is a breath of fresh air with an excellent cast. Finally a teen flick about normal kids, far from the boring done-to-death Hollywood clichés of nerds, members of the football team and cheerleaders. OK, there are some nerds, but hey, nerds are the norm! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikefromMaineSep 25, 2009
It captures what I felt at 21 or 22 - a little lost coming out of college, a lot lost on relationships, and trying to have a good time in the midst of all that. It's not out to make you laugh the whole way through, but it is sweet, It captures what I felt at 21 or 22 - a little lost coming out of college, a lot lost on relationships, and trying to have a good time in the midst of all that. It's not out to make you laugh the whole way through, but it is sweet, funny, and true to life. As for the ending, despite being predictable, it suits the tone of the rest of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
clifff.Jan 6, 2010
No laughs until almost the end- when Brennan got his revenge with the punch in the nuts- the rest of it was boringly obvious- the ending so sentimental and predictable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Cotts1988May 19, 2011
Not exactly hilarious, but it does have some funny moments. I would not class this as a comedy personally anyway, despite its comedic overtones. Adventureland is a good film, but not great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
lovemusicJul 4, 2011
i liked this movie. it was okay. jesse eisenberg gives a nerdy impression again but his acting is still good. Ryan Reynolds gives a good performance. and Kristen Stewart will get better in time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SummersausageJan 7, 2013
Eh, it was a cute indie movie that had funny side characters. It was almost about a lot more then teenaged love and then i became soap opera quality toward the end. This is nobody's best movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Oct 7, 2011
To consider this another teen/coming-of-age comedy would be classified as a bullshti statement. A certain, almost unique feel of nostalgia arises once you watch this. The acting - more than credible, brilliant. The writing and directing -To consider this another teen/coming-of-age comedy would be classified as a bullshti statement. A certain, almost unique feel of nostalgia arises once you watch this. The acting - more than credible, brilliant. The writing and directing - more or less familiar. But in the sense and atmosphere where it's beyond accepted. The soundtrack - just great. Not another film in recent history has moved, entertained and created an amiable feeling than Adventureland. **** awesome doesn't begin or even begin to think of it. A close, if not actual masterpiece. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JoshGApr 6, 2009
Brilliant. A genuinely funny and touching movie that makes me believe in love, despite a recent history of heartbreak. Motolla has created a complete world that left me longing for its poignant imperfection long after leaving the theater.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
willowOJul 22, 2009
Don't be thrown off by the title.Adventureland is clearly one of the better films to see in 2009. Motolla did an excellent job of capturing the essence of Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart awkward ,ntense , and self-complicated Don't be thrown off by the title.Adventureland is clearly one of the better films to see in 2009. Motolla did an excellent job of capturing the essence of Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart awkward ,ntense , and self-complicated romance, but what separates this film, is its charm and character. Adventureland prides itself on being and indie film and runs with it.Clearly rough, and not as polished as Hollywood's romantic comedy's. I appreciated the crudeness that makes it so authentic. Composed 80% drama and 20% humor, it never felt heavy .I do proclaim this a "dramedy" for the nostalgic. Casting was in fact nothing short of brilliant with a dead on cast chiming in on moments of innocent and sophomoric humor . While Kennywood and the Iconic 6th street bridges served as Pittsburgh's unmistakable backdrop . Adventureland's great sound scape of the of 80's music allows slick mix tapes and records to provide the extension to connect with the audience with every transition.I haven't been moved by a soundtrack this good since "Rushmore", and I haven't been this connected or excited about a movie. In fact I may watch this one again. I was 7 years old in 1987. I'm 29 now and I "got " this movie. This is One not to be missed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Bullet97Jan 30, 2011
One of the most underrated movies I've ever seen. I absolutely love it. Instead of being another Superbad, it's a funny, well-acted, well written, and well directed coming of age comedy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
Kristen Stewart is a horrible actress. She licks her lips or sticks her tongue out before she delivers almost every line. This movie was also boring as hell. There was nothing likable about this movie or any o characters in this film.Kristen Stewart is a horrible actress. She licks her lips or sticks her tongue out before she delivers almost every line. This movie was also boring as hell. There was nothing likable about this movie or any o characters in this film. Everybody is just a jerk or a waste of space. It makes me sad that Jesse Eisenberg an Ryan Reynolds were in this movie, they can do so much better. Don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
From the Director who brought us Paul and Superbad, comes Adventureland, which unfortunately is just another predictable, run of the mill comedy. Jesse Eisenberg stars as a kid whose forced to get a summer job at a local amusement park with aFrom the Director who brought us Paul and Superbad, comes Adventureland, which unfortunately is just another predictable, run of the mill comedy. Jesse Eisenberg stars as a kid whose forced to get a summer job at a local amusement park with a wacky cast of characters. Of course the only other normal one working there, just happens to be the girl that he falls for. Bill Hader plays the boss and he should be writing and starring in films like this instead of playing secondary characters. Hader is one of the funniest and most underrated comedians in Hollywood and I can honestly say that he is the only reason to watch this movie, because the rest of the cast is just dull and uninspired. Eisenberg gives another flat and emotionless performance, while co-star Kristen Stewart plays along as if she were still one of the undead. I generally like most of the cast and I thought the story was decent, but overall Adventureland is just another predictable lame duck comedy. It will give you a few laughs, but don't expect too much more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JimF.Apr 4, 2009
Given my affection for "Superbad" and the stream of laudatory pre-release notices, "adventureland" has to be considered a disappointment. It's entertaining and always watchable; the actors, particularly Jesse Eisenberg, are appealing;Given my affection for "Superbad" and the stream of laudatory pre-release notices, "adventureland" has to be considered a disappointment. It's entertaining and always watchable; the actors, particularly Jesse Eisenberg, are appealing; and the recreation of mid-80's middle America is convincing, nuanced,and sharply observed. But I didn't find any of these characters interesting or revealing as people, and as a coming-of-age love story, it not only lacks transcendence-it doesn't even seem to believe in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanTimmermannApr 9, 2009
I went to the theatre expecting to see a hilarious yet ultimately forgettable comedy (a la Superbad or, more recently -- and to a slightly lesser degree -- I Love You, Man), and was delighted to have instead experienced oneI went to the theatre expecting to see a hilarious yet ultimately forgettable comedy (a la Superbad or, more recently -- and to a slightly lesser degree -- I Love You, Man), and was delighted to have instead experienced one of the most thoroughly enjoyable and relatable films in years. The plot lives in a territory that is not altogether new (a claim I think few films can make), and the characters are built upon standard coming-of-age archetypes, but the combination of acting (especially by Kristen Stewart and Jesse Eisenberg), writing, and ambiance makes you think and feel for the characters. (Longer, more detailed review here.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonymousAnonymousApr 11, 2009
I went to this movie with a few of my buddies promising them a crude "Judd Apatow" esque movie but we were in for a surprise. The movie in a whole was lighthearted and witty but the acting was monotonous at times. If your are looking for aI went to this movie with a few of my buddies promising them a crude "Judd Apatow" esque movie but we were in for a surprise. The movie in a whole was lighthearted and witty but the acting was monotonous at times. If your are looking for a cute/amusing date movie- got right ahead. But if you want a film with erection jokes- try I love you Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnRApr 3, 2009
An easily watchable movie that represents issues even teens find to hard to deal with. Sex drugs violence and of course innapropriate comedy. its jokes are funny but not ott its characters are clever but not fictitious and its plot is in no An easily watchable movie that represents issues even teens find to hard to deal with. Sex drugs violence and of course innapropriate comedy. its jokes are funny but not ott its characters are clever but not fictitious and its plot is in no way predictable or bland brilliant watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottRApr 3, 2009
Nice perspective. Plot has a more realistic feel than most other movies. Very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DroogApr 6, 2009
I wanted to like this movie, but unfortunately it really sucked. Like many other indie movies, Adventureland thinks it can throw together a bunch of quirky characters in an unusual setting and then just sit back and watch the movie magic I wanted to like this movie, but unfortunately it really sucked. Like many other indie movies, Adventureland thinks it can throw together a bunch of quirky characters in an unusual setting and then just sit back and watch the movie magic happen. Too bad filmmaking doesn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HenryFApr 6, 2009
Very good plot, written very well. Needed better directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSApr 6, 2009
"The wall around the graveyard says that 'Satin lives in hell'/Though they may love the devil, his disciples sure can't spell," sang Chuck Cleaver, frontman for the Cincinnati-based indie rock band The Ass Ponys on a track "The wall around the graveyard says that 'Satin lives in hell'/Though they may love the devil, his disciples sure can't spell," sang Chuck Cleaver, frontman for the Cincinnati-based indie rock band The Ass Ponys on a track called "Shoe Money", back in 1996. The song is referenced in "Adventureland" when James Brennan(Jesse Eisenberg) points out the same spelling mistake left behind by some, presumably metal fans, on a wall. What makes this pro-Satan message Ass Pony-specific is the giant ass pandas that the amusement park patrons can win, theoretically, on a rigged game. It's an anachronism hidden from plain view but made manifest through semiotics, a discipline in English that the comparative literature knows a thing or two about. By aggregating the giant ass pandas and the graffiti, a denotation of synchronicity that encompasses both nostalgia and the immediacy of present time can be shown at work in this Pennsylvania amusement park circa 1987. In effect, "Adventureland" rewrites "Shoe Money" by transforming "graveyard" into a metaphor for the eighties, an era that's been dead for almost twenty years now. Falco has been dead for ten. Unbeknownst to James, the song that grates on him at work, will someday symbolize the loss of his youth, which would put the comparative literature major on the cusp of thirty, when the vehicle Falco was driving collided with a bus in the Dominican Republic circa 1998. "Rock Me Amadeus", despite lacking even a semblance of gravitas, has the same emotional impact as any number of songs that happen to coincide with one's youth. My generation, alas, had Falco and Adam Ant, not the Beatles and the Stones(wait, we had the Stones, too). "...Amadeus, Amadeus," admittedly, is no "...yeah, yeah, yeah," but it's the former sentiment of bacchanalia which will make Leonard yearn for Em(Kristen Stewart) in her prime, regardless if they stayed together or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeorgeHApr 7, 2009
Unbearably horrible movie. It felt like everyone was doing a Michael Cera impersonation leaving the movie lethargic beyond belief. I didn't laugh once and after an hour I had to leave.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JordanTApr 8, 2009
Adventureland is a sweet, funny, nostalgic little movie. It's well acted, perceptive, fun, and witty, Worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Apr 10, 2009
I'm a bit baffled by the people who complain that the movie 'wasn't funny enough' -- I mean, I get that the advertising for the film was all wrong, but didn't it dawn on you at some point that this wasn't going I'm a bit baffled by the people who complain that the movie 'wasn't funny enough' -- I mean, I get that the advertising for the film was all wrong, but didn't it dawn on you at some point that this wasn't going to BE "Superbad" or "Juno", but something entirely different after the first 10 or 15 minutes in? I'm half-tempted to say it's the 'Graduate' of our time ... maybe not because it's as good (only time will tell if it holds up as "classic") but because of it's maturity and themes. I loved how the film teased you with promises of a European sex romp to help the dorky kid lose his virginity, and then WHAM! the kid gets hit the face with his father's demotion ... right as Iran-Contra kicks in. This is heady stuff, right up to the point the kid gets into an accident, essentially because his father is a closet alcoholic. (Yuk yuk yuk ... oh wait, it's not a comedy ... so let's not judge it as one!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RavenWApr 12, 2009
The main problem with this movie is the utter self-absorption of its main character. Jess Eisenberg's character does not realize that the other characters who populate this movie also have serious problems. For example, it is obvious The main problem with this movie is the utter self-absorption of its main character. Jess Eisenberg's character does not realize that the other characters who populate this movie also have serious problems. For example, it is obvious that his dad is dealing with alcoholism. However, James chooses to ignore this and instead gets drunk and crashes the family car, and then has the nerve to complain about having to pay for the damages. Also, it really bothered me how he did not seem to consider the serious emotional issues that Kristen Stewart's character had, instead choosing to focus on how her sleeping with Ryan Reynolds' character effected him-- even though he hooked up with Lisa P! I felt no sympathy whatsoever towards the main character, and just wished that he would grow up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful