Adventureland

Adventureland Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: It's the summer of 1987, and James Brennan , an uptight recent college grad, can't wait to embark on his dream tour of Europe. But when his parents announce they can no longer subsidize his trip, James has little choice but to take a lowly job at a local amusement park. Forget about GermanIt's the summer of 1987, and James Brennan , an uptight recent college grad, can't wait to embark on his dream tour of Europe. But when his parents announce they can no longer subsidize his trip, James has little choice but to take a lowly job at a local amusement park. Forget about German beer, world-famous museums and cute French girls -- James' summer will now be populated by belligerent dads, stuffed pandas, and screaming kids high on cotton candy. Lucky for James, what should have been his worst summer ever turns into quite an adventure as he discovers love in the most unlikely place with his captivating co-worker Em, and learns to loosen up. (Miramax Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. A sweet, sharp coming-of-age romance, Adventureland is a little warmer, a little funnier and a lot more truthful than the last 20 or 30 of its ilk. Especially its Hollywood ilk.
  2. 90
    I've seen Mottola's movie twice, and both times, it has inspired feelings of joy, sadness, and a profound yearning for the unrecoverable past.
  3. 88
    The result is a sharp, insightful, charming motion picture.
  4. Yes, the delight of this movie lies in these devilish details, and it's clear that writer-director Greg Mottola knows them well.
  5. 75
    What surprised me was how much I admired Kristen Stewart, who in "Twilight," was playing below her grade level. Here is an actress ready to do important things. Together, and with the others, they make Adventureland more real and more touching than it may sound.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    A rather ordinary account of youthful summer misadventures that goes down easily thanks to a sparky cast, more than 40 pop tunes that anchor the action in the late '80s and characters who get high both on and off their jobs at a tacky amusement park.
  7. 50
    Harmless enough, but "indie comedy" sounds like something better seen at Urban Outfitters than at a movie theater.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 87
  2. Negative: 14 out of 87
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    To consider this another teen/coming-of-age comedy would be classified as a bullshti statement. A certain, almost unique feel of nostalgiaTo consider this another teen/coming-of-age comedy would be classified as a bullshti statement. A certain, almost unique feel of nostalgia arises once you watch this. The acting - more than credible, brilliant. The writing and directing - more or less familiar. But in the sense and atmosphere where it's beyond accepted. The soundtrack - just great. Not another film in recent history has moved, entertained and created an amiable feeling than Adventureland. **** awesome doesn't begin or even begin to think of it. A close, if not actual masterpiece. Expand
  2. JoshG
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. A genuinely funny and touching movie that makes me believe in love, despite a recent history of heartbreak. Motolla has created a Brilliant. A genuinely funny and touching movie that makes me believe in love, despite a recent history of heartbreak. Motolla has created a complete world that left me longing for its poignant imperfection long after leaving the theater. Expand
  3. willowO
    Jul 22, 2009
    9
    Don't be thrown off by the title.Adventureland is clearly one of the better films to see in 2009. Motolla did an excellent job of Don't be thrown off by the title.Adventureland is clearly one of the better films to see in 2009. Motolla did an excellent job of capturing the essence of Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart awkward ,ntense , and self-complicated romance, but what separates this film, is its charm and character. Adventureland prides itself on being and indie film and runs with it.Clearly rough, and not as polished as Hollywood's romantic comedy's. I appreciated the crudeness that makes it so authentic. Composed 80% drama and 20% humor, it never felt heavy .I do proclaim this a "dramedy" for the nostalgic. Casting was in fact nothing short of brilliant with a dead on cast chiming in on moments of innocent and sophomoric humor . While Kennywood and the Iconic 6th street bridges served as Pittsburgh's unmistakable backdrop . Adventureland's great sound scape of the of 80's music allows slick mix tapes and records to provide the extension to connect with the audience with every transition.I haven't been moved by a soundtrack this good since "Rushmore", and I haven't been this connected or excited about a movie. In fact I may watch this one again. I was 7 years old in 1987. I'm 29 now and I "got " this movie. This is One not to be missed. Expand
  4. vances
    Apr 17, 2009
    8
    I can't believe I've yet to see a comparison to Dazed and Confused! Ryan Reynolds character is clearly the same kind of guy Matthew I can't believe I've yet to see a comparison to Dazed and Confused! Ryan Reynolds character is clearly the same kind of guy Matthew McConaghey's character; I'm now waiting for the equivalent movie set in late 90's now that we've seen the teen grad downer comedy based in 1976 and the colllege grad downer comedy based in 1987. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Me seems a film having simplicity humor, romance teenager and some reality than were those years 80. She looked mean "silent" to the movie, but still worth looking at. Very good to see an afternoon. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    5
    Eh, it was a cute indie movie that had funny side characters. It was almost about a lot more then teenaged love and then i became soap operaEh, it was a cute indie movie that had funny side characters. It was almost about a lot more then teenaged love and then i became soap opera quality toward the end. This is nobody's best movie. Expand
  7. TomB
    Sep 8, 2009
    0
    Predictability torches you like a thousand suns spewed forth from the drippy face of some stuttering douche bag.

See all 87 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.