Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 483 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 41
  2. Negative: 20 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 5, 2013
    88
    After Earth is ultimately too thin of a story to support all of its grandiose embellishments, but so what? It's better to try to pack every moment with beauty and feeling than to shrug and smirk. The film takes the characters and their feelings seriously, and lets its actors give strong, simple performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 30, 2013
    58
    The movie takes off from a concept as basic as a videogame, and it sticks to that concept, without surprise.
  3. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    May 30, 2013
    50
    The film progresses to the point where it feels less like father and son, and more like a young boy listening to an inspirational audiobook.
  4. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    May 29, 2013
    40
    The film is repetitive and not as suspenseful at it tries to be. Often gorgeous, sometimes fascinating, it is ultimately unwieldy and unsurprising. It fails as a Smith-family project. Jaden Smith, who was fine in "The Karate Kid," is flat here.
  5. 30
    Were Shyamalan and Smith deliberately invoking the terror — now omnipresent in urban African-American communities — of lethal asthma attacks in children? I’m not sure how I feel about something so real and so wrenching in the context of a Grade D (unfit for human habitation) sci-fi picture like After Earth.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 31, 2013
    25
    The sad truth about After Earth is that not only is it difficult to find things it does well, but there are numerous examples of outright incompetence dotting the landscape.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 29, 2013
    0
    Summer 2013 has its first bomb, and sadly, it’s landed right on Will Smith.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 145
  2. Negative: 78 out of 145
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Watched this film last night expecting to be disappointed. I was out voted by wife and kids(aged 17 13). I wanted to go for Man of steelWatched this film last night expecting to be disappointed. I was out voted by wife and kids(aged 17 13). I wanted to go for Man of steel after reading the reviews on this sight. Thankfully I was in for a I big surprise. What a great film exciting in parts, suspenseful in parts and funny in parts. Well put together great special effects. A great choice for a family trip to the movies. Recommend to all. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Despite my love for Shyamalan movies, I did not expect to like this movie based on the trailers. This movie provided everything a goodDespite my love for Shyamalan movies, I did not expect to like this movie based on the trailers. This movie provided everything a good scifi/action movie should, great special effects, a plausible and exciting plot, a few scary moments and decent (if not great) acting. Jaden Smith is young and his acting is held up by his dad's but I didn't find it took much away from the movie. There won't be any Oscars here but this movie is great summer entertainment. I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    A very straightforward movie but i enjoyed it much compared to oblivion.

    The way it was phrased by Will Smith, "Everything has evolved to
    A very straightforward movie but i enjoyed it much compared to oblivion.

    The way it was phrased by Will Smith, "Everything has evolved to kill human", i was hoping for more in the way of obstacles.

    Definitely a rise for M Night from his previous movie.
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    3
    Two upfront signs this is doomed: 1. Story by Will Smith (so u know it'll be self-indulgent). 2. Directed by M. Night Shyamalan (hasn't had aTwo upfront signs this is doomed: 1. Story by Will Smith (so u know it'll be self-indulgent). 2. Directed by M. Night Shyamalan (hasn't had a hit since "Sixth Sense"). Smith casts himself as the closed-off commander on a space mission with his real-life son (Jaden) as the young soldier who must traverse a hostile planet to save the day (2 casting mistakes). Papa has never been known for his acting skills (he can't) and son's performance comes exclusively from his wrinkled brow. Among the stupid future anomalies: 1. the only weapon is a sword 2. painkillers still make u drowsy. The dialogue is painfully slow and stupid. Even the effects aren't special. A better title might have been "Dumb & Dumber." Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    Although this movie is not offensive in any way; it is simply bad. From the stage decoration to the costumes to the plot and the charactersAlthough this movie is not offensive in any way; it is simply bad. From the stage decoration to the costumes to the plot and the characters there's not a lot to recommend it. I know folks are trying to be gentle on Will Smith and his young son they seem like nice people. However, the son was not ready to hold this movie. He is really pretty terrible in this. I wish him all the luck in future endeavors. Do not waste your money or time. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2015
    1
    This movie might have like 2 good moments but ended up with nothing but a complete bore. The script was bland with dialogue that makes yourThis movie might have like 2 good moments but ended up with nothing but a complete bore. The script was bland with dialogue that makes your ears bleed. This film was slow, like the sixth sense. But in the sixth sense is interesting and intriguing. This was slow and boring. I will not blame this on Jaden or Will Smith. It was Shyamalan's awful directing that was putting me to sleep this movie. I don't know how Shyamalan fails movies this badly with great actors. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    This is the worst big budget movie, I have ever seen! There is nothing good about this movie! The acting is awful, there is no story, theThis is the worst big budget movie, I have ever seen! There is nothing good about this movie! The acting is awful, there is no story, the effects are even bad! Collapse

See all 145 User Reviews

Trailers