Roadside Attractions | Release Date: December 21, 2011
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 55 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
22
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
MattBrady99Nov 26, 2015
Albert Nobbs: "Life without decency is unbearable".

The story is about a woman who struggles to find independence in 19th century Ireland and poses as a man so she can work as a butler at a top hotel. When she meets a painter it gives
Albert Nobbs: "Life without decency is unbearable".

The story is about a woman who struggles to find independence in 19th century Ireland and poses as a man so she can work as a butler at a top hotel. When she meets a painter it gives "Albert" the chance she needs to escape the lie she has been living.

Albert Nobbs has been described as an Oscar bait movie that's only purpose of existing is to win prizes, and while I do agree it is a bit Oscar bait and the movie itself is quite forgettable, but I'll be lying if I say there wasn't anything good in it. Compare this to other Oscar bait movies we've had in the past, this one isn't that bad or pretentious.

Glenn Close was unrecognizable in this movie. I really bought into her playing a man and it's not just by the make-up that sold the effect off, but the tone of her voice, the movement and the overall performance created the effect perfectly. I'm so shocked that Glenn Close has never won an Oscar yet, as she's been non-stop impressing me in every she's done (including this one). Glenn Close was absolutely outstanding in this movie.

The make-up, the costumes and the rest of the cast were all great. Theses not a single bad performance in this movie. The staging and the scenery was spot on.

Sadly I wish the whole movie was great, but keep in mind that I don't think Albert Nobbs is a bad movie but the movie falls into the cliche gender or sexuality problems that every Oscar bait movie dose. Now I have seen many movies that dose focus on the gender and sexuality issues and the movies themselves were great, because those movies never tried the 'Give me awards' kind of movie, they were good movies and I could easily watch them again as a film, but movies like Albert Nobbs are the type of films that I'll only watch once and never again.

Overall Albert Nobbs has fantastic performances from everyone, great make-up and scenery. Unfortunately the film itself isn't what I call "great", just forgettable and it sucks saying that since I know a lot of effort went into this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
A promising story through and through. Albert Nobbs recklessly uses its source material and fails to gain any confidence throughout. Glenn Close is average-at-best in her debut transvestite performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
Let me begin by saying I really enjoyed the film a lot. Glenn Close and Janet McTeer are fantastic as women living double lives as men; I'm very happy that they received Oscar nominations last year because they delivered two of the finestLet me begin by saying I really enjoyed the film a lot. Glenn Close and Janet McTeer are fantastic as women living double lives as men; I'm very happy that they received Oscar nominations last year because they delivered two of the finest performances of 2011. Albert Nobbs does have some major issues however, but it's worth mentioning that it's hard to determine what could have made it better. The biggest problem I had with the film was that it was not as powerful or emotionally resonant as it could/should have been. I also didn't think Mia Wasikowska and Aaron Johnson were that great which surprised me because they're rising stars. Overall though I think Albert Nobbs is worth the watch; the characters are touching and the lead performances are remarkable. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrSep 22, 2012
An otherwise indifferent film is made memorable with yet another career defining performance by Glenn Close. And even though the subject is interesting and the supporting cast also do an excellent job, the film never really becomes truly great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MossyCDLJun 25, 2012
The movie is so quiet and reserved that it almost seems to fade away altogether. The premise of the story was actually quite fascinating, but the fast pacing and short film length detract from the lasting impact of the film. The film reallyThe movie is so quiet and reserved that it almost seems to fade away altogether. The premise of the story was actually quite fascinating, but the fast pacing and short film length detract from the lasting impact of the film. The film really ended before it even began. It could have delved so much deeper into the topic of repression and abuse, which is what I hoped for, but it didn't (which makes that a huge, missed opportunity). That opportunity was replaced by a lingering cruelness that lasted the entire length of the film, which in the end made the film very tragic and heartbreaking. You really root for Albert during the film. You want him to succeed and be happy, but the circumstances he puts himself in makes it almost painful to watch. Oh and on another note, after the film ends, you'll want to strangle that devil-mistress of the hotel until she dies. Janet McTeer did some really wonderful acting, however. Glenn Close is a little bit harder to critique since her character was so unobtrusive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
NJWolfgangMay 25, 2012
Claustraphobic. There is a limited richness to this period piece but the film feels claustraphobic. Silas Marner does drag. The worst performance from Glenn Close. An incredible performance by Janet McTeer. Nearly two hours of boredom.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawMar 30, 2012
A Febiofest screening, it is a quirkily deployed Ireland period homosexuality drama centers on a man-guised woman serves as a waiter in a hotel. (Glenn Close is the one holding the reins, leading star, co-producer, co-writer, co-songwriter,A Febiofest screening, it is a quirkily deployed Ireland period homosexuality drama centers on a man-guised woman serves as a waiter in a hotel. (Glenn Close is the one holding the reins, leading star, co-producer, co-writer, co-songwriter, not to mention she has already won a Tony award for the same role way early in 1982 from its Broadway rendition, director Rodrigo García, also is Closeâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryFeb 6, 2012
The "uncanny valley" is a robotics/animation term that describes the subtle area between looking human and looking creepy. That's where Glenn Close resides in this film. She plays a woman who lives as a man to make a living in 19th centuryThe "uncanny valley" is a robotics/animation term that describes the subtle area between looking human and looking creepy. That's where Glenn Close resides in this film. She plays a woman who lives as a man to make a living in 19th century Ireland, but the peculiar makeup is never convincing. Ironically, Janet McTeeer, who also plays another woman-as-a-man, easily passes. If you look pass this technicality, you'll find a quiet, sad film about a quiet, sad person who's trying to cope with her unusual existence. There's a solid supporting cast and some enjoyable subplots, but the deliberate pacing prevents the film from ever building up much steam. Well-crafted in the "Masterpiece Theatre" style, but insignificant and predictable in the drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CitizenCharlieJan 31, 2012
When men dress up as women in the movies, it is almost always in a comedy or farce; think Some Like It Hot, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, and Tootsie. However, when the situation is reversed and the film concerns women dressing up as men,When men dress up as women in the movies, it is almost always in a comedy or farce; think Some Like It Hot, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, and Tootsie. However, when the situation is reversed and the film concerns women dressing up as men, the movie is habitually a drama bordering on tragedy: Yentl, Boys Donâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wpoe54Jan 28, 2012
Albert Nobbs is the most heartbreaking and touching film I have seen in years. I disagree with much of what some critics are saying - I was never ever bored, found the drama tense and compelling, subtly building a sense of dread about whatAlbert Nobbs is the most heartbreaking and touching film I have seen in years. I disagree with much of what some critics are saying - I was never ever bored, found the drama tense and compelling, subtly building a sense of dread about what might be about to happen. The scene on the beach - Albert's one moment of true freedom, brought tears. Glenn Close is the master of this drama, not Janet McTeer, as some are saying. To me she simply added some comic relief, and was, at most, a cartoon. See it, you will love it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
allmoviesJan 10, 2012
Having for decades disguised herself as a man while working as a butler in a posh 19th-century Dublin hotel, a woman calling herself Albert Nobbs reconsiders her charade when a handsome painter arrives on the scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
luvmuvysJan 5, 2012
very disappointing movie. Story feels incomplete and unfulfilling. Could have explored era issues of cross dressing,gay marriage and second class women with far more depth and interest., Other plot line also shallow.
Glenn Close for oscar
very disappointing movie. Story feels incomplete and unfulfilling. Could have explored era issues of cross dressing,gay marriage and second class women with far more depth and interest., Other plot line also shallow.
Glenn Close for oscar Nomination .Not comparable to Meryl Streep in Iron Lady
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
aozetaJan 3, 2012
The two fascinating things to expect in this movie is the nomination-worthy act of Glenn Close and Janet McTeer, and the Make-up. Otherwise, the story is slightly drugging. You'll keep waiting if Close's character will finally turn into herThe two fascinating things to expect in this movie is the nomination-worthy act of Glenn Close and Janet McTeer, and the Make-up. Otherwise, the story is slightly drugging. You'll keep waiting if Close's character will finally turn into her real gender identity. movienotesbook.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
TakeOneJan 2, 2012
Do not waste your time or money. This sluggish and pointless movie is a waste of all the talents involved. Close gives a very internal and subtle performance, but she just looks odd with the make up and prosthetics
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
lahaineDec 26, 2011
Albert Nobbs feels like a forgotten film, that was dusted off and pulled straight from the 90's (no offense to the 90's). The premise of a woman taking extreme measures to survive in the World is an intriguing one, but the writers, directorAlbert Nobbs feels like a forgotten film, that was dusted off and pulled straight from the 90's (no offense to the 90's). The premise of a woman taking extreme measures to survive in the World is an intriguing one, but the writers, director (and whoever else had creative input) went absolutely no where with it. The love triangle was trite and the film itself was tonally void. The movie starts of well with establishing plot and character, but spirals down to blatant predictability, and something absurdly anti-climatic. Glenn Close seems to be heading for an undeserved Oscar nomination for her stiff performance as Nobbs 'himself', and an even worst nomination for the song she wrote for the film. I must admit McTeer did good work with what she was given, but the movie falls flat. It wasn't necessarily awful, but it was very unimportant, and incredibly ordinary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BeauDec 24, 2011
It is designed to be a Glenn Close vehicle but Janet McTeer emerges as the real star. I wouldn't be surprised if, for this film, she becomes the Oscar winner that she should have been for "Tumbleweeds."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews