Albert Nobbs

Albert Nobbs Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Albert Nobbs is a woman passing as a man in order to work and survive in 19th century Ireland. Some thirty years after donning men's clothing, she finds herself trapped in a prison of her own making. (Roadside Attractions)

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jan 26, 2012
    88
    Most movies about people passing themselves off as the opposite sex can't sustain the illusion, but "Nobbs" does.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 25, 2012
    75
    Close never steps wrong, never breaks reality. My heart went out to Albert Nobbs, the depth of whose fears are unimaginable. But it is Janet McTeer who brings the film such happiness and life as it has, because the tragedy of Albert Nobbs is that there can be no happiness in her life. The conditions she has chosen make it impossible.
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jan 27, 2012
    75
    Like the man himself, Albert Nobbs is a sweet, sad, sensitive little film, a haunting reminder that each of us, on some level, is impersonating someone.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Dec 19, 2011
    63
    Unfortunately, Albert is so good at being unobtrusive, he nearly disappears from his own story, making it hard for us to get invested in it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    Though the movie drips and aches with good intentions, I do wonder how lesbians may feel about seeing lesbianism presented as a mere traumatized distortion of female heterosexuality.
  6. 50
    The performance is extraordinary, literally: Close resembles no man I've ever seen, or woman either. She's the personification of fear - the fear of being seen through, seen for what she is.
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Dec 20, 2011
    25
    Perhaps thrown by the challenge of having to direct women as men and not just as themselves, director Rodrigo Garcia turns in what may be his poorest effort to date, opting for a nearly airless tone, presenting a look that's sadly un-cinematic, and presiding over a collection of performers that seem to be operating on very different planes, and with accents of varying thicknesses.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    Albert Nobbs is the most heartbreaking and touching film I have seen in years. I disagree with much of what some critics are saying - I wasAlbert Nobbs is the most heartbreaking and touching film I have seen in years. I disagree with much of what some critics are saying - I was never ever bored, found the drama tense and compelling, subtly building a sense of dread about what might be about to happen. The scene on the beach - Albert's one moment of true freedom, brought tears. Glenn Close is the master of this drama, not Janet McTeer, as some are saying. To me she simply added some comic relief, and was, at most, a cartoon. See it, you will love it. Collapse
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    7
    Having for decades disguised herself as a man while working as a butler in a posh 19th-century Dublin hotel, a woman calling herself AlbertHaving for decades disguised herself as a man while working as a butler in a posh 19th-century Dublin hotel, a woman calling herself Albert Nobbs reconsiders her charade when a handsome painter arrives on the scene. Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2012
    7
    An otherwise indifferent film is made memorable with yet another career defining performance by Glenn Close. And even though the subject isAn otherwise indifferent film is made memorable with yet another career defining performance by Glenn Close. And even though the subject is interesting and the supporting cast also do an excellent job, the film never really becomes truly great. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2011
    5
    It is designed to be a Glenn Close vehicle but Janet McTeer emerges as the real star. I wouldn't be surprised if, for this film, she becomesIt is designed to be a Glenn Close vehicle but Janet McTeer emerges as the real star. I wouldn't be surprised if, for this film, she becomes the Oscar winner that she should have been for "Tumbleweeds." Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Let me begin by saying I really enjoyed the film a lot. Glenn Close and Janet McTeer are fantastic as women living double lives as men; I'mLet me begin by saying I really enjoyed the film a lot. Glenn Close and Janet McTeer are fantastic as women living double lives as men; I'm very happy that they received Oscar nominations last year because they delivered two of the finest performances of 2011. Albert Nobbs does have some major issues however, but it's worth mentioning that it's hard to determine what could have made it better. The biggest problem I had with the film was that it was not as powerful or emotionally resonant as it could/should have been. I also didn't think Mia Wasikowska and Aaron Johnson were that great which surprised me because they're rising stars. Overall though I think Albert Nobbs is worth the watch; the characters are touching and the lead performances are remarkable. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    Albert Nobbs feels like a forgotten film, that was dusted off and pulled straight from the 90's (no offense to the 90's). The premise of aAlbert Nobbs feels like a forgotten film, that was dusted off and pulled straight from the 90's (no offense to the 90's). The premise of a woman taking extreme measures to survive in the World is an intriguing one, but the writers, director (and whoever else had creative input) went absolutely no where with it. The love triangle was trite and the film itself was tonally void. The movie starts of well with establishing plot and character, but spirals down to blatant predictability, and something absurdly anti-climatic. Glenn Close seems to be heading for an undeserved Oscar nomination for her stiff performance as Nobbs 'himself', and an even worst nomination for the song she wrote for the film. I must admit McTeer did good work with what she was given, but the movie falls flat. It wasn't necessarily awful, but it was very unimportant, and incredibly ordinary. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2012
    1
    very disappointing movie. Story feels incomplete and unfulfilling. Could have explored era issues of cross dressing,gay marriage and secondvery disappointing movie. Story feels incomplete and unfulfilling. Could have explored era issues of cross dressing,gay marriage and second class women with far more depth and interest., Other plot line also shallow.
    Glenn Close for oscar Nomination .Not comparable to Meryl Streep in Iron Lady
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.
  2. Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF

    Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF Image
    Published: September 20, 2011
    With the 2011 installments of the three major fall film festivals now complete, we sample the reaction from professional critics and film bloggers to the movies generating the most buzz at the three festivals, including new works by Alexander Payne, Whit Stillman, Roman Polanski, David Cronenberg, Steve McQueen, and Madonna.