Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 17 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Oct 17, 2012
    50
    Perry must have felt it was high time for him to try his hand at playing a darker role. But starring in this badly directed, suspense-free film with its unintentionally laughable dialogue does Perry no favors.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Oct 17, 2012
    12
    Expositional and often self-serious to the point of genuine awkwardness, the dialogue is never as haltingly unconvincing as when it's attempting to give some approximation of Alex Cross's essential looseness and good humor.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Oct 16, 2012
    40
    You almost feel sorry for Tyler Perry, stepping out of his own universe for the first time to try to expand his range and finding himself in something as thoroughly dismal as Alex Cross.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Oct 15, 2012
    20
    The cross-dressing "Madea" star seems out of his depth playing the hard-boiled detective made famous by Morgan Freeman in "Along Came a Spider" and "Kiss the Girls." Even action helmer Rob Cohen ("The Fast and the Furious," "XXX") seems to be off his game here.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 8 out of 26
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    I do not know what those people are talking about or what movie they had watched, but Alex Cross was not the worst movie of this year. YouI do not know what those people are talking about or what movie they had watched, but Alex Cross was not the worst movie of this year. You didn't like the movie Alex Cross which was a really good thrill ride, but you like the movie that's my boy, oh how mind boggling. Argo didn't seem all that good, besides it was on the news 30 years ago. All you have to do is read a 30 year old newspaper about the story, hello!Those people do not know a really good movie if it fall right out of their ass wholes. This movie was very exciting and very thrilling. It is most certainly different from watching the same damn movie over and over. They make the same movie over and over and many people get sick and tire of seeing it. Paranormal activity is about the same as those other scary movies. About a hunted house and spooky ghost and scary monsters and people being hacked up to death and blood and body parts falling off. Alex Cross was a very thrill ride and very exciting movie. I think it was very exciting just like the book series. I really don't know what those people are talking about, because they weren't watching the same movie as I. I am so confused? Full Review »
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    This one is bad. Don't think it has the class of the Morgan Freeman movies. Don't watch it. I rented it on Amazon and it was one of a handfulThis one is bad. Don't think it has the class of the Morgan Freeman movies. Don't watch it. I rented it on Amazon and it was one of a handful of films that made me regret renting it within 5 minutes. It is shallow, cliche, pretentious. I had never seen Tyler Perry before and based on the trailers was willing to give this a chance. I regret that choice. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Poorly acted, lazily written, and not really directed at all, Alex Cross is the most clichéd action movie of the year.