Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 19, 1999
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 66 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
62
Mixed:
4
Negative:
0
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
alejandro970Dec 4, 2016
Con el estilo distintivo del director manchego, en un tono intimista, materno y tragicomico, apoyado en un destacado reparto femenino. Atencion con los homenajes a los clasicos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Xan_RyilDec 8, 2015
Many themes are mixed in 'All About My mother' and the best part is that it does not care about them at all. Movie has it's own pace, the goal set in start is lost somewhere to pursue important ones. It also clarifies how does a loss changesMany themes are mixed in 'All About My mother' and the best part is that it does not care about them at all. Movie has it's own pace, the goal set in start is lost somewhere to pursue important ones. It also clarifies how does a loss changes the point of view and feelings for someone. Reshaping one's own life over one's sorrow. Although set in Spain, it have major south american influence on characters and their lifestyle aswell as technical departments. Like most of Pedro Almodovar, woman oriented turns into genderless story of people who are dealing with grief, regret while struggling with life to go on. 'Innocence does know itself' would perfectly describe the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwJan 22, 2014
Last month, I went through the Pedro Almodovar Collection, which has films from Matador in 1986 to Bad Education from 2004. Although all of them were from very good to outstanding, this was one of my favourites, and for good reason, as it isLast month, I went through the Pedro Almodovar Collection, which has films from Matador in 1986 to Bad Education from 2004. Although all of them were from very good to outstanding, this was one of my favourites, and for good reason, as it is obvious that Almodovar was on quite the roll. Not only is he excellent behind the camera and just bursting with creative aplomb, he is a very fine writer, not to mention the best director of women that I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gabrielsuMar 4, 2013
A breathtaking masterpiece. By far it's Almodóvar's best movie to date. The cast it's marvelous, the photography it's genial, the angles of the camera. Very well written and directed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anthonyukApr 21, 2011
Simply outstanding!
Heartfelt with wonderfully interesting characters, if this film doesn't move you then you're not human!
The champion of cinema that celebrates women, Almodovar is an absolute genius!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smijatovJan 28, 2011
Maybe I have had very high expectations of this film, since Almodovar is my favourite director, but I felt somewhat confused. Well, I definitely felt with the characters - the emotion was very real from all the actors, especially Cecilia RothMaybe I have had very high expectations of this film, since Almodovar is my favourite director, but I felt somewhat confused. Well, I definitely felt with the characters - the emotion was very real from all the actors, especially Cecilia Roth and Marisa Paredes. However, the story itself leaves me with so many questions, something that I am used to have answered in Almodovar's films. Or maybe that's a new development, since I have seen all of the films that came after this one, before I have watched All About My Mother.
Either way, it is definitely worth watching and the excellent acting and music (typical of Almodovar's works) make the film something one ought to watch. So yes, a very good film, somewhat confusing and question-provoking, but ultimately good.
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LuisG.Oct 30, 2006
Honest bittersweet portrayal of life
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielleL.Jan 10, 2006
Brilliantly moving
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigB.Aug 4, 2004
Smart dialogue, interesting characters, innovative screenplay...a perfect movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YoonC.Sep 13, 2003
A genuinely warm movie from Almodovar, it has at its center a woman who stands between two vastly different lives; her healthy well-adjusted young son who wants to know more about his family roots and her former husband whose life is an A genuinely warm movie from Almodovar, it has at its center a woman who stands between two vastly different lives; her healthy well-adjusted young son who wants to know more about his family roots and her former husband whose life is an endless series of running away from relationships. This father who turns out to be a transvestite is one of Almodovar's great creations: both ridiculous, even laughable yet in his peculiar, even sublime, way beautiful; someone charming enough to exploit and win the forgiveness of everyone. A warm cozy story wrapped within inspired perversity or vice versa. Not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickJun 7, 2003
I'm moved. almodovar's characters are ALIVE. believe me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GilbertM.Oct 18, 2002
Watch this movie. I promise you, if you're not moved to genuine tears, you must be one of three things: a) a heartless husk of a being, b) mineral or c) dead. Watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DemetriK.Jul 12, 2002
Absolutely exquisite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful