Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: December 3, 2010
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
23
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
MarcDoyleDec 14, 2010
One of the strangest movies I've ever seen, and not in a really good way. By the end, it had me wondering how much of the story was actually "based on a true story" and what the real sources were. The trailer is deceptive as hell. TheOne of the strangest movies I've ever seen, and not in a really good way. By the end, it had me wondering how much of the story was actually "based on a true story" and what the real sources were. The trailer is deceptive as hell. The Gosling character is a true freak, and I'm not sure that I'd ever recommend the experience to anyone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
francescoOct 31, 2011
"All good things" is a brilliant absorbing and ultimately provocative drama thriller with a good direction and amazing performances by the three leading actors.It reminded in a way "Revolutionary Road" because we have the portrait of the"All good things" is a brilliant absorbing and ultimately provocative drama thriller with a good direction and amazing performances by the three leading actors.It reminded in a way "Revolutionary Road" because we have the portrait of the desire of a perfect existence and the subsequent broken dreams of a couple. But in "All good things" not every reasons are explained because the director is telling a real story(the names of the characters in the movie were changed)that is still a mystery and the leading actor of this drama is an enigma. David Marks(Ryan Gosling)son of a powerful real estate man(Frank Langella)tries to establish a perfect and peaceful life with his wife Kathie(Kirsten Dunst)by avoiding his duties in the family business(legal and illegal).But it won't be easy for him to resist at the pressure by his strong father and he will be forced to take part of the ominous projects of his persuasive father.Besides,his increasing psychological problems will destroy his life with his wife.The second part of the movie is a shocking and bizarre look at the last years of the disturbed man and the homicides of his two friends.And the movie becomes a sort of "Psycho". What we see is the results of murder investigations. I liked the mixture of themes such love,corruption,madness,mystery and murder and Andrew Jarecki did very well in showing the growth and reasons of the characters,although David remains an enigma in many of his actions.I really liked the details he offered and I was drawn from the beginning to the end.The movie is predictable in some parts but in the last one is a real unexpected turn.Ryan Gosling was great in playing a troubled man and I was moved by the portrayal of this poor soul that had no chance to live in peace with himself.Also he shows some sinister sign of madness that are really overwhelming. Kirsten Dunst was simply terrific in portraying a victim of the husband and his powerful family but also an ambitious woman who tried to get advantages by the the whole situation in terms of the prospect of a wealthy life.For her amazing acting she should have been nominated for an Oscar.Frank Langella was really good in the role of the cold and manipulative father.The three characters are really complex and not easily categorized."All good things"is probably one of the most appealing and interesting movie of the year.It has real great and original moments and although it doesn't provide an easy solution to the case it is not a distracting thing in my opinion(since it's still an open case). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
TonyDec 11, 2010
A giant mess of a film. Ryan Gosling and (a surprisingly tolerable) Kirsten Dunst do the best they can with a story that can't decide what genre it belongs in. This simply just doesn't work. Andrew Jarecki, whose "Capturing the Friedmans" wasA giant mess of a film. Ryan Gosling and (a surprisingly tolerable) Kirsten Dunst do the best they can with a story that can't decide what genre it belongs in. This simply just doesn't work. Andrew Jarecki, whose "Capturing the Friedmans" was fascinating, can do better than this. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
SausageDec 17, 2010
I went into this movie knowing absolutely nothing about it, which unfortunately hasn't fared me to well in the past, this however was a pleasant if not creepily strange surprise!! Not once while sitting through this did my attention driftI went into this movie knowing absolutely nothing about it, which unfortunately hasn't fared me to well in the past, this however was a pleasant if not creepily strange surprise!! Not once while sitting through this did my attention drift off, I was glued to the tension and incredible atmosphere. Once finished and the creepiness had subsided, the faults with the story began to surface and thats where the problem lies!! The Story is fragmented and skips from decade to decade with no regard for the time between. The story says based on actual events and 'intense' research, but feels speculative and contrived. The acting however is brilliant and the direction, if patchy is slick and attention grabbing. This movie is a bit half and half, but I feel that for a movie with such big faults to hold my attention for so long and honestly make me think, deserves a little more than a pass!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ACE103Dec 19, 2010
This Movie Rocks! Kirsten Dunst is so good.As is Ryan Gosling.They both act good together and do thier parts good. Who cares what it's Metacritic score is that means nothing judge for yorself.I'll give it a 95!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
nutterjrJul 4, 2011
There are notable performances in this film with the most significant being that of Kirsten Dunst, but unfortunately they are not enough to make this mystery murder film a captivating one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jeremypApr 9, 2011
Another attempt to crack the Durst mystery, and with added fictional guesses as to what might have happened. This one is stranger than fiction and the fact that Durst still trots around free with Daddy's millions has to gall all those whoAnother attempt to crack the Durst mystery, and with added fictional guesses as to what might have happened. This one is stranger than fiction and the fact that Durst still trots around free with Daddy's millions has to gall all those who value justice. The story really needs a four part series. We never get to see the detective work done and why Durst walked away from his wife's (presumed) murder. We never see much of the trial for the murder of his lodger and have to wonder if folks in Galveston are rubes. Gosling is good as Durst, who was diagnosed as having Asperger's but seems way more competent than that. Frank Langella gets to do his customary "heavy" role as Durst Sr. In the end it;s such a mish mash of fact and supposition that I was left irritated by the conceit of the Director's presumptions Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TokyochuchuOct 2, 2013
All Good Things is an interesting movie with some structural and pacing issues. The performances are good and the overall tale would beggar belief if it wasn't a true story. Still... Decent but not great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
QRITQDec 24, 2010
From the opening strains of Steely Dan's "Daddy don't live in that New York City no more," I had a bad feeling about "All Good Things."

Released in 1975, the album Katy Lied was Steely Dan's 4th studio album, and it is difficult to
From the opening strains of Steely Dan's "Daddy don't live in that New York City no more," I had a bad feeling about "All Good Things."

Released in 1975, the album Katy Lied was Steely Dan's 4th studio album, and it is difficult to understand how it could have been playing on anyone's radio in 1971, when our movie opens...

A fine cast, and apparently proficient crew managed to create a movie in which no one is like-able, and not one person, let alone the music supervisor, could get it together to have a contemporary song playing in the opening scene.

Missing wife, hapless "disco people" brother, best friends, U.S. Senators; you name them, there's a pretty good reason no to like any of them. We are encouraged to hate the rich, the poor, the powerful and the powerless equally.

Okay, I liked the dog.

As you are probably already aware, the film is a thinly veiled fictionalization of a tabloid story from the 80's, and then 2000's, that follows, through voice-overs, the unfortunate, often tragic (for others) life of a NYC real estate heir.

There's goofy love story stuff, Oedipus-sy angles, requisite disco-era drug use... all perfectly fine components for a good story except - we don't care about one person we meet in the movie.

Kirsten Dunst's portrayal of Katie McCarthy brings us as close as we get to someone we like, but for whatever reason, her inability to remove herself from the circumstances that eventually, (obviously), lead to her disappearance makes it tough to care for even her.

Ryan Gosling is fine as the tortured, hapless son, Frank Langella is as always, a unique presence in a film, and Philip Baker Hall almost wins us over as Malvern - but sadly, we care what happens to absolutely no one in the film-- and face it, if we're not rooting for somebody we're really just rooting that this pondering mess of a film just finally come to a merciful end.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DKayDec 28, 2010
I'll be trite here because the film is well, good. I kept wanting more, and I couldn't help feel like the story, true or not, and its characters were too heavy for the director's hands. Jarecki did "Capturing the Friedmans," which was moreI'll be trite here because the film is well, good. I kept wanting more, and I couldn't help feel like the story, true or not, and its characters were too heavy for the director's hands. Jarecki did "Capturing the Friedmans," which was more than just good, so I was slightly disappointed in some of his decisions. Luckily, Gosling and Dunst do impressive grunt work for him and land up saving the film from a straight-to-video death. Bottom line is "All Good Things" is one of those films that prove great actors need great directors to make great films (look no further than "Blue Valentine"). One without the other and you just get, well...good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MorriBeyApr 26, 2011
The title is a little silly when you find out what it means , and in reality, the movie is a bit silly when you watch it. If it were not for Dunst, the movie would have ended up being a good movie on cable. Dunst is wasted in this movie andThe title is a little silly when you find out what it means , and in reality, the movie is a bit silly when you watch it. If it were not for Dunst, the movie would have ended up being a good movie on cable. Dunst is wasted in this movie and her sole role is to look innocent and is devoid of any character at all. Still, the movie keeps you in suspense ( somewhat ) but is quickly forgotten about afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
NoahCowardJan 30, 2014
This looks like it should be an entertaining movie, but isn't. Strong cast, Ryan Gosling, Kirsten Dunst, Frank Langella, and Philip Baker Hall are all among my favorites. But good actors cannot always overcome a lousy script and that's theThis looks like it should be an entertaining movie, but isn't. Strong cast, Ryan Gosling, Kirsten Dunst, Frank Langella, and Philip Baker Hall are all among my favorites. But good actors cannot always overcome a lousy script and that's the problem here.

There's lots of mood but no real surprises. You can see what's coming a mile away. When it was over I was left thinking, that's it?

Obviously many critics disagree with me. The movie garnered generally positive reviews. I think sometimes critics go easy on certain types of movies that may seem kind of interesting and have a particular style. My problem is that this movie never really delivers on its promise and ultimately is quite disappointing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jgzegerJan 1, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the hands of a different director this might have been a better movie, but in the hands of Andrew Jarecki it doesn't quite make it. Ryan Gosling's deadpan performance was annoying and the film doesn't clearly give a motive for David killing Katie other than he's nuts. There must be something better to watch, folks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
Amidst strong characters and a fascinating premise, All Good Things hits several strong notes. Unfortunately, Kirsten Dunst gives a less than average performance, despite Ryan Gosling's fine performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Cream8nMay 20, 2012
All Good Things offers a recreation of real-life events in addition to providing a bit of dramatic speculation on how things really went down. Director Andrew Jarecki brought in 2003 an Oscar-nominated documentary 'Capturing the Friedmans'All Good Things offers a recreation of real-life events in addition to providing a bit of dramatic speculation on how things really went down. Director Andrew Jarecki brought in 2003 an Oscar-nominated documentary 'Capturing the Friedmans' and now makes the jump from the experience of this documentary to this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
moonman1994Jan 27, 2013
On a level of 1 to **** this is pretty damn ****. Unrealistic, poorly "based on a true story" and seriously Ryan Gosling dressed up as a woman? Yeah that was sooooo convincing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMar 1, 2016
I am surprised to see the negative critical reaction to All Good Things. Incredibly ambiguous (because it has to be), All Good Things is a captivating mystery and crime film that is a really compelling character study, as much as it is aI am surprised to see the negative critical reaction to All Good Things. Incredibly ambiguous (because it has to be), All Good Things is a captivating mystery and crime film that is a really compelling character study, as much as it is a compelling crime tale. Ryan Gosling and Kirsten Dunst are both phenomenal here and Gosling's cold, calculated performance most certainly feeds into the ambiguity of the film as a whole and the film benefits from it. The direction and pacing are solid, but my main drawback here is the flashback storytelling that comes and goes. I think it was an interesting approach, but I am mixed on how effective it truly was. That being said, All Good Things is not a great film, but it is a well made, well acted film that really gets your mind turning trying to figure out what really happened. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Berry-TanFeb 28, 2016
All Good Things isn't a pleasurable film to experience, but it offers an uncanny evocation of a narcissistic sociopath who doesn't come at us with the charm and sophistication that the typical screen bad guy has. The end result is intriguing,All Good Things isn't a pleasurable film to experience, but it offers an uncanny evocation of a narcissistic sociopath who doesn't come at us with the charm and sophistication that the typical screen bad guy has. The end result is intriguing, with a dash of a love story and a twisty. Good, but had an unsatisfying ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxJan 26, 2017
Ryan Gosling est un acteur que j'apprécie, pas un très bon acteur loin de là mais bien dirigé et dans certains rôles sombres ou atypiques, il fait le boulot comme ici dans cette incarnation d'u gars un peu dérangé du ciboulot. Kirsten DunstRyan Gosling est un acteur que j'apprécie, pas un très bon acteur loin de là mais bien dirigé et dans certains rôles sombres ou atypiques, il fait le boulot comme ici dans cette incarnation d'u gars un peu dérangé du ciboulot. Kirsten Dunst par contre est mauvaise en tout, partout et supporte mal le poids des ans, ce qui lui enlève le rare intérêt qu'on aurait pu lui trouver. Son joli minois est marqué par ailleurs par l'abus d'alcool et autres substances psychotropes plus ou moins licites. La voir se traîner comme une limace pendant tout le film est très démoralisant.

Il n'y a pas qu'elle qui fait la limace : le film également, incroyablement mou du genou ne nous arrache que grimaces de mécontentement et soupirs d'ennui. On respire fort et on souffle bruyamment pour s'oxygéner le cerveau gagné par une apathie désagréable. L'excellent Frank Langella qui joue le père intransigeant nous réveille parfois mais trop rarement. Las, nous éteignons le poste de télévision bien avant la fin de ce sous-produit cinématographique.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews