Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Deep into a solo voyage in the Indian Ocean, an unnamed man wakes to find his 39-foot yacht taking on water after a collision with a shipping container left floating on the high seas. With his navigation equipment and radio disabled, the man sails unknowingly into the path of a violent storm. Despite his success in patching the breached hull, his marinerâ Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Oct 17, 2013
    100
    It's a meditation on mortality, with remarkable resemblances to "Gravity," not to mention echoes of "The Old Man and the Sea." It's admirably crafted, with a wealth of detail that illustrates the sailor's resourcefulness.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    The pacing is perfect, and the action, mostly filmed in a studio, is never less than utterly believable. The director’s first feature, “Margin Call,” was full of rapid-fire dialogue, and he shows off considerable range by following it up with this film.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Dec 23, 2013
    100
    A triumph of pure cinema and wonderful visual storytelling from Chandor, who must now be considered the real deal, while Redford is sublime in what could well be the performance of his career.
  4. 90
    In his late seventies, Robert Redford has never held the camera as magnificently as he does in the survival-at-sea thriller All Is Lost.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Oct 18, 2013
    83
    If one buys into the whole grace under pressure thing, All Is Lost – the title is its own spoiler alert – is first-rate.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    May 25, 2013
    80
    A virtually wordless film that speaks with grave eloquence and simplicity about the human condition. Nothing here feels fancy or extraneous, least of all Redford’s superb performance.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 7, 2013
    50
    All is Lost is more fun to think about than it is to actually watch: It’s a testament to a great actor, an experimental piece of cinema and a bit of a bore.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 69
  2. Negative: 24 out of 69
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    This is an extraordinary and riveting film and deserves much more than nominations --and it has had far fewer than it should have --it deserves a win. For the screenplay, for the performance, for the sheer beauty of it. It felt like a book that you cannot put down, that you urgently want to know how it ends, that you don't want to end. I hope this film and Robert Redford's performance in it win at the Spirits. It has such spirit. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    When I saw 'The Company You Keep' I said why would he take risks at this age. He took even riskier job in this movie. I heard that he also lost his hearing during filmmaking for this. Robert Redford, the hardworking man at 77. Don't think he's the only one but Bruce Willis, Stallone and Schwarzenegger doing the same. They are capable but this man put lots of effort to give his best.

    Just a year ago we saw 'Life of Pi' about a young Indian boy who was lost in the great Pacific. This time an old man who lost in the Indian ocean finds hard to survive during his drift on the current of the ocean. Performance was undoubtedly great along with fine direction and good visuals. The movie had only one character so the talkings were insufficient but in a right and convicing way.

    I am not doubting, it was a great movie but the timing was bad. I just enjoyed 'Life of Pi' and 'Gravity' and I still feel it fresh in my mind. So to see a movie like this in a short span I was not much excited. The end was good and did not appeal strongly, but kept simple as that. Many people had displeasure on that portion, that could be a reason to vastly dislike it.

    In a way the movie had its own strength, especially in the story. When you think the container is what's gonna spoil and damage expedition, actually it won't but storm. Like that there are many others makes you think one and takes you into another. One of the good movie from 2013 according to performance sadly he was not nominated for academy awards. It got only one nomination, in the sound editing category. It is a tough competition in that list so it can be anybody's game.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    As quest for survival movies go, this one is made exceptionally well due largely to Robert Redford's great acting. Moments in this movie are extremely tense; don't go if you're looking for relaxation. Of the two movies of this type recently, Gravity and All Is Lost, I prefer this one because it goes for realism rather than Hollywood style. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2014
    6
    A thrilling, edge-of-your-seat ride to the bottom of the ocean pleases with its delicate sparsity. A fresh take on survival, All Is Lost is let down by its glaring lack of realistic emotion and contemplation. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hard to sit through this one--the cinematography was good, scenery even believability--except for his not talking at all--well, barely. No one says he has to carry on a monologue with himself but, come on, I think anyone would be making some noise if they were being tossed about on a boat, literally upside-down at times. That 20 minutes to the first word (after the actual beginning) was just breaking the ice, I thought, but then there was such a dry spell afterward that I almost left; it was actually tedious to sit through. I like and admire Redford both as an actor and a person, but this particular film did nothing for me except make me wonder how much longer it was going to last........ Expand
  6. Lyn
    Feb 15, 2014
    3
    It's interesting to see Robert Redford's workmanlike performance here -- with little action, no dialogue, zero glamour. But his misadventures at sea would have benefited greatly from the presence of a big tiger or Louie Zamperini. OK, not fair to compare this to fiction ("Life of Pi"), but having read Louie's true story in "Unbroken," I felt frustrated that Redford's character was not more resourceful as the mishaps unfolded. At the very beginning, we hear his "message in a bottle" soliloquy that provides little in the way of backstory. What's he "sorry" for? Defying family wishes by taking this trip? Something to do with his kids' mother? Letting someone dye his hair and leave the telltale white sideburns? Not a satisfying film. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All is Lost is in an interestin enough film. Almost no dialogue makes it very unique, and the premice of a lone sailor battling for his life agains the elements promises a bit of a thrill. Unfortuanltely, however, Robert Redford doesn't really seem to be acting at all, and the character he plays appears to be trying to kill himself. He certainly managed to kill the film for me, as he sat in a overturned life raft, his face sunburnt and cracked, with a hat sitting three feet away from him. Anyone who has any knowledge of sailing, the ocean or the world in general will find this a tragic comedy of error after error, with an unresolved ending. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.