Sony Pictures Home Entertainment | Release Date: September 13, 2000
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 366 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
261
Mixed:
21
Negative:
84
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
LaGuertaFeb 26, 2013
While it does contain some great moments, there aren't enough to make the three hours this film takes to finish seem less like three hours. Overrated.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MaryZ.Feb 9, 2001
I grew up in the 70's--this flick was ho-hum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarijaNov 9, 2004
I didn't sew anything that much brilliant in this film to recived great score they has, and still trying to figure out how movie they was moved from theater in my city after two days get this high on list. The story line and caracters I didn't sew anything that much brilliant in this film to recived great score they has, and still trying to figure out how movie they was moved from theater in my city after two days get this high on list. The story line and caracters are very plain, there wasn't any spectacular moment to remember forever and talk about it over and over (that is must for good film). Films like this one pushed out to audience think "that's right thing" evryday push down some grates moves worth pf attention they will never get. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MihaG.Sep 12, 2004
Overrated. No energy in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
timSep 24, 2007
Seems like a cheap knockoff of Rodney Bingenheimer's life. That's funny because Mr. Crow used to visit Rodney's club every chance he got. I just saying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MartinM.Apr 21, 2001
Snore... this movie is really overrated. It's always interesting to see all the professional critics jump on the bandwagon & make so much noise about a movie that is at best average. This sort of reminds of the thing they all did with Snore... this movie is really overrated. It's always interesting to see all the professional critics jump on the bandwagon & make so much noise about a movie that is at best average. This sort of reminds of the thing they all did with "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Drag-queen". Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
5
WaldoJ.Dec 8, 2009
One of the most disappointing films I have ever seen in my life. I love movies, I love classic rock, I, like the protagonist, discovered rock at a young age. However, the film is one word: BLAND. And bland is most certainly not a word you One of the most disappointing films I have ever seen in my life. I love movies, I love classic rock, I, like the protagonist, discovered rock at a young age. However, the film is one word: BLAND. And bland is most certainly not a word you would associate with coming of age and the power of rock and roll. It's based on Crowe's own experiences, but it makes you wonder: Did he water it down or was it all really this uneventful? The performances by Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup, and Jason Lee are very solid, while the usually great Frances McDormand was handed an underwritten character. Kate Hudson, meanwhile, plays "band aid" Penny Lane in a lifeless, generic fashion that makes it unlikely anyone would fall for her, and that she would have an interest in anything, let alone rock and roll. The film lopes along and never gains momentum, and leaves you with a flat feeling. If you want the real spirit of rock music, watch A Hard Day's Night, School of Rock, American Graffiti, and Dazed and Confused, and forget Almost Famous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful