Sony Pictures Home Entertainment | Release Date: September 13, 2000
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 342 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
244
Mixed:
20
Negative:
78
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CollinPJan 15, 2010
Hands down, my favorite film of the 21st Century (so far).
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JobadkinsJul 21, 2012
Pure genious!There is not one flaw in this film and as a movie it is perfect and honestly ahead of it's time.If you have been there done that,then it's pure mind blowing.I'm not over hyping this movie,I'm just speaking the truth.I've seenPure genious!There is not one flaw in this film and as a movie it is perfect and honestly ahead of it's time.If you have been there done that,then it's pure mind blowing.I'm not over hyping this movie,I'm just speaking the truth.I've seen this movie easily 75 + times and every time I watch it,I feel good all over again and that's the mark of a true gem of a movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
boneDec 3, 2010
I love the story, the acting and the music. These elements create a lot of raw emotion. Great blend of comedy and drama. This is a masterpiece that should stand the test of time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
LaGuertaFeb 26, 2013
While it does contain some great moments, there aren't enough to make the three hours this film takes to finish seem less like three hours. Overrated.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MartinM.Apr 21, 2001
Snore... this movie is really overrated. It's always interesting to see all the professional critics jump on the bandwagon & make so much noise about a movie that is at best average. This sort of reminds of the thing they all did with Snore... this movie is really overrated. It's always interesting to see all the professional critics jump on the bandwagon & make so much noise about a movie that is at best average. This sort of reminds of the thing they all did with "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Drag-queen". Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
3
KingI.Sep 14, 2005
I don't care what anyone says about this critics' darling. This movie sucks big time. It's boring, I hate Kate Hudson, every character is either whiny or a wanker, and it just generally irritates me.
1 of 9 users found this helpful
2
ChrisC.Aug 14, 2001
Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Although there were three stellar performances: Frances McDormand, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and Kate Hudson.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
WaldoJ.Dec 8, 2009
One of the most disappointing films I have ever seen in my life. I love movies, I love classic rock, I, like the protagonist, discovered rock at a young age. However, the film is one word: BLAND. And bland is most certainly not a word you One of the most disappointing films I have ever seen in my life. I love movies, I love classic rock, I, like the protagonist, discovered rock at a young age. However, the film is one word: BLAND. And bland is most certainly not a word you would associate with coming of age and the power of rock and roll. It's based on Crowe's own experiences, but it makes you wonder: Did he water it down or was it all really this uneventful? The performances by Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup, and Jason Lee are very solid, while the usually great Frances McDormand was handed an underwritten character. Kate Hudson, meanwhile, plays "band aid" Penny Lane in a lifeless, generic fashion that makes it unlikely anyone would fall for her, and that she would have an interest in anything, let alone rock and roll. The film lopes along and never gains momentum, and leaves you with a flat feeling. If you want the real spirit of rock music, watch A Hard Day's Night, School of Rock, American Graffiti, and Dazed and Confused, and forget Almost Famous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HalfwelshmanOct 16, 2011
Almost famous isn't just another film about music, it could quite easily be considered one of the finest films about music ever made. It has so much to say about the music industry, being in a band, fandom, and the cynicism of journalism.Almost famous isn't just another film about music, it could quite easily be considered one of the finest films about music ever made. It has so much to say about the music industry, being in a band, fandom, and the cynicism of journalism. It's also full of great actors playing characters that you actually care about, that you can truly invest in. As the most entertaining films always manage to do, it finds the perfect balance between comedy and tragedy. It's also got a killer soundtrack and some great 70s period details. It's fun in every sense of the word, and a thoroughly rewarding viewing experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
J-ShapAug 27, 2011
What Almost Famous has on its side is something that is seldom seen in Hollywood pictures. It is sincerity. There is something so endearing about every character and every scene in Almost Famous, and the genuine that Crowe has and gives toWhat Almost Famous has on its side is something that is seldom seen in Hollywood pictures. It is sincerity. There is something so endearing about every character and every scene in Almost Famous, and the genuine that Crowe has and gives to characters reflects onto the audience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticJun 26, 2014
The roots of it, Cameron Crowe's background, helps make this film seem real and oddly enough, human. The acting is terrific, why Kate Hudson ruined her career I will never understand. It's witty, funny, and sad at the same time. My onlyThe roots of it, Cameron Crowe's background, helps make this film seem real and oddly enough, human. The acting is terrific, why Kate Hudson ruined her career I will never understand. It's witty, funny, and sad at the same time. My only reason for it being an eight is the running time. Other than perhaps ten to twenty minutes, I enjoyed this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
fullmetalcriticDec 11, 2014
A movie you should go out of your way to get to watch, not on cable, but the full version. It's simply astonishing and amazing. You feel like you are there with a boy more or less coming of age and learning how hard the real world is. Two thumbs up.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MorganWSep 4, 2009
This movie is my all time favorite movie. I first saw this movie on tv when i was 14 and it changed my whole view on music. I thought pop music was good, haha not anymore!. i wish i was penny lane, kate plays her perfectly; she should of won This movie is my all time favorite movie. I first saw this movie on tv when i was 14 and it changed my whole view on music. I thought pop music was good, haha not anymore!. i wish i was penny lane, kate plays her perfectly; she should of won the oscar.The band was so real. i love every scene, and the music in them is perfect. Crow did an amazing job and I wish i had grown up in this era so i could of excperence it instead of wishing. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanGOct 2, 2005
Very cute, fun, and rewarding movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErickC.Oct 5, 2005
Great movie!! great soundtrack!! a perfect 10 !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KateM.Sep 19, 2005
The music in this film opens up the seventies to those of us who were unfortunate enough to be born a long time after, in a very accessible and muted way. Take the tour bus scene where Russell enters the bus with just a pair of orange/pink The music in this film opens up the seventies to those of us who were unfortunate enough to be born a long time after, in a very accessible and muted way. Take the tour bus scene where Russell enters the bus with just a pair of orange/pink swim shorts on. I'd never heard the song 'Tiny Dancer' before but instantly fell in love with it. You wish you were there to join in. YES we all know it's partly-if not mostly-fiction but it does make you crave just a small part of the fantastic experiance it must have been. Downright inspirational. This is the kind of film that makes you wish you were someone else-if only for one day in time. Tough question is who? For me it would be the critic. To be given the chance to step into their world within having too much irrepairable damage inflicted must have been amazing-if Cameron Crowe really did experiance this, he must regret the passing of time. If this film is a snap shot of the rock and roll period when it was already ending, i can only imagine what it would have been like seeing it at its peak. If you don't love this film, you're missing something! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeJ.Mar 11, 2007
One of the few movies that can satisfy all tastes. All of the supporting actors and actresses make the movie. Frances McDormand's turn as Elaine is a landmark in film as far as "over-bearing" mother roles are concerned. Zooey Deschanel One of the few movies that can satisfy all tastes. All of the supporting actors and actresses make the movie. Frances McDormand's turn as Elaine is a landmark in film as far as "over-bearing" mother roles are concerned. Zooey Deschanel makes for the perfect foil character of the film. Of course, Kate Hudson's turn as "Penny Lane" is an unforgettable performance, and is surely the best of her career. I also thorougly enjoyed Phillip Seymour Hoffman's portrayal of Lester Bangs. This movie is perfect for all audiences. There is something in it for everyone. It is one of those movies that can be watched over and over again. Not to mention the soundtrack will bring anyone who is not already a Led Zeppelin, Elton John, or Joni Mitchell fan to go out and purchase some albums... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
Camerpn Crowe, a marvelous soundtrack and a story set at the nadir of great rock music. What more do you want?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebMar 29, 2010
Pete Travers got it right - I have sold my soul to rock and roll. And I would sell it again for a chance to live one day in the reality of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Anak.Nov 5, 2006
This movie made me want to pick up a guitar, and never let it go. Its a movie that once you watch you never forget. I sat in front of the TV for hours after it ended marveling the eloquence and beauty that it showed. This movie made Tiny This movie made me want to pick up a guitar, and never let it go. Its a movie that once you watch you never forget. I sat in front of the TV for hours after it ended marveling the eloquence and beauty that it showed. This movie made Tiny Dancer my favorite song. It made me wish I was Kate Hudson, and I was a hippie, it made me wish I could live life like her. The soundtrack is amazing, and over a year after I saw it, I still have a guitar in my hand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddSAug 1, 2007
Amazing movie. I love Crudup, his indecision, not really sure where he's going. The stupid drama between the band that was so real. The coming of age for Young William. The passion of the fans and the love of rock and roll. Most Amazing movie. I love Crudup, his indecision, not really sure where he's going. The stupid drama between the band that was so real. The coming of age for Young William. The passion of the fans and the love of rock and roll. Most importantly, the character of Penny Lane is amazing, as well as her relationships with William and Russel. Kate Hudson has never been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MozG.Aug 16, 2007
Kate Hudson is the heart of this movie; Billy Crudup is its soul. Between them they carry this already astonishing piece of cinema-almost-verite into the stratosphere. Fugit is a wonderful debutante, and his honesty completes the godhead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
timSep 24, 2007
Seems like a cheap knockoff of Rodney Bingenheimer's life. That's funny because Mr. Crow used to visit Rodney's club every chance he got. I just saying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CasperL.Apr 20, 2008
I loved this movie. Funny, heartfelt, and great acting. One of my favorites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshGMay 23, 2009
This movie was amazing. I've watched this movie more than any other movie. It really captures the spirit of rock n' roll. Kate Hudson's character was AMAZING. The Tiny Dancer bus scene is obviously one of, if not the best This movie was amazing. I've watched this movie more than any other movie. It really captures the spirit of rock n' roll. Kate Hudson's character was AMAZING. The Tiny Dancer bus scene is obviously one of, if not the best scene in the whole movie as well. Fantastic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonaldS.Jan 26, 2001
I would pay $50 to see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PicoP.Feb 19, 2001
The best film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianaL.Dec 3, 2007
this movie made me think and so many things. Its wierd how can a person or act change your mind. im pretty sure everybody wants to be like peny lane. she so radicall and many ways. this is movie is one favorites. everybody should watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarperJ.Nov 21, 2009
You can't say you dislike rock and roll after this movie, you feel like you were the one on tour with them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
A simple plot, but it gets very attractive inside the context of the rock and roll world, besides the soundtrack that is great, it's a essential movie to anyone fan of good music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews