Almost Famous

Almost Famous Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 360 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: In the 1970's, a high school boy (Fugit) is given an opportunity to follow and write a story about the hot new rock band Stillwater (with lead guitarist Crudup) as they tour the USA.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    100
    I loved this movie madly, and so will many of you.
  2. It's not only the most gentle and effortlessly funny movie so far this year, it's a film with a style and sensibility that wonderfully harkens back to Hollywood's golden age of sophisticated comedy, and in particular to the masterpieces of Crowe's filmmaking idol, Billy Wilder.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Keogh
    100
    A wondrous honesty.
  4. 90
    Crowe has made a hugely entertaining, nearly pitch-perfect film about rock & roll.
  5. Mr. Showbiz
    Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    88
    Crowe's script is a thing of wonder, and he again proves himself to be an outstanding director of actors.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    88
    A movie that is easily likable.
  7. A sweet but curiously unfulfilling story.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 87
  2. Negative: 8 out of 87
  1. CollinP
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Hands down, my favorite film of the 21st Century (so far).
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    What Almost Famous has on its side is something that is seldom seen in Hollywood pictures. It is sincerity. There is something so endearingWhat Almost Famous has on its side is something that is seldom seen in Hollywood pictures. It is sincerity. There is something so endearing about every character and every scene in Almost Famous, and the genuine that Crowe has and gives to characters reflects onto the audience. Expand
  3. PicoP.
    Feb 19, 2001
    10
    The best film of the year.
  4. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    A movie you should go out of your way to get to watch, not on cable, but the full version. It's simply astonishing and amazing. You feel likeA movie you should go out of your way to get to watch, not on cable, but the full version. It's simply astonishing and amazing. You feel like you are there with a boy more or less coming of age and learning how hard the real world is. Two thumbs up. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    Almost famous isn't just another film about music, it could quite easily be considered one of the finest films about music ever made. It hasAlmost famous isn't just another film about music, it could quite easily be considered one of the finest films about music ever made. It has so much to say about the music industry, being in a band, fandom, and the cynicism of journalism. It's also full of great actors playing characters that you actually care about, that you can truly invest in. As the most entertaining films always manage to do, it finds the perfect balance between comedy and tragedy. It's also got a killer soundtrack and some great 70s period details. It's fun in every sense of the word, and a thoroughly rewarding viewing experience. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    The roots of it, Cameron Crowe's background, helps make this film seem real and oddly enough, human. The acting is terrific, why Kate HudsonThe roots of it, Cameron Crowe's background, helps make this film seem real and oddly enough, human. The acting is terrific, why Kate Hudson ruined her career I will never understand. It's witty, funny, and sad at the same time. My only reason for it being an eight is the running time. Other than perhaps ten to twenty minutes, I enjoyed this film. Expand
  7. ChrisC.
    Aug 14, 2001
    2
    Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Although there were three stellar performances: Frances McDormand, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and Kate Hudson. Collapse

See all 87 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: November 3, 2010
    Friday's new comedy "Due Date" is only the latest example of one of Hollywood's favorite genres. Join us as we journey through three decades of road movies, from "Vacation" to "Sideways."
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  7. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.