Alone in the Dark

Alone in the Dark Image
Metascore
9

Overwhelming dislike - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.5

Overwhelming dislike- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the best-selling Atari videogame series, this film features Edward Carnby (Slater), a private investigator specializing in unexplainable supernatural phenomena. (Lions Gate Films)

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 25
  2. Negative: 24 out of 25
  1. Since the film is based on the Atari video game of the same name, it also has much to appeal to headbangers: fast pace, lots of gadgets, monsters, explosive special effects, plenty of inscrutable plot twists and turns.
  2. 30
    Too lazy to play your own d--- video game? Lucky for you there's horror director-for-hire Uwe Boll, who's making a career out of adapting successful Atari and Sega games into tedious popcorn fare that's the ultimate in cinematic passivity.
  3. That this bit of pustulence is based on a video game of the same name is no surprise. It explains the thin plot, characters and abundant gunplay.
  4. Alone in the Dark will be the worst movie of 2005. The idea that anything could be worse is the only genuine scare the movie has to offer.
  5. 10
    Tedious, derivative exercise, stolen from a dozen or so horror/action films.
  6. 0
    It's just the most inept filmmaking you can catch in theatres right now, or probably all year long.
  7. 0
    Brain-dead adaptation of a popular video game.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 113
  1. PaulA>
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    A very nice mix of action, adventure and horror. A good sequel to the 4th game. Very good performance by Christian Slater.
  2. CameronS.
    Oct 20, 2005
    4
    Wasnt a scary movie, story line was stupid, and the characters were inept.
  3. FordN.
    Jan 20, 2008
    2
    People sometimes talk about Boll's film as "so bad it's good", but actually they're not that good. I've seen two of his People sometimes talk about Boll's film as "so bad it's good", but actually they're not that good. I've seen two of his films - Alone in the Dark, and one starring that guy who was in Starship Troopers - and I have to conclude that Boll has no sense of empathy, no understanding of human relationships, and a childish sense of drama. His movies look like they were made by someone with the mentality of a sociopathic teenage boy - your typical internet troll, in fact! Funny how the trolls hate him... Jealousy? Expand
  4. YuriC.
    Sep 16, 2005
    1
    Absolute crap, one of the worst movies ever released, ever. Special effects, story (story, where?), acting... Everything stinks. Somebody Absolute crap, one of the worst movies ever released, ever. Special effects, story (story, where?), acting... Everything stinks. Somebody stop Uwe Boll! Expand
  5. GilbertMulroneycakesversusCthulu
    Dec 13, 2005
    0
    Please God make Uwe Boll stop. He's trying to buy the rights to Half-Life now. This may well predicate the biblical Apocalypse. Weep for Please God make Uwe Boll stop. He's trying to buy the rights to Half-Life now. This may well predicate the biblical Apocalypse. Weep for the future, Carnby. Weep for us all. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    0
    First off, this movie is based off Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare (2001, Infogames) NOT Alone in the Dark (2008, Atari), however, theFirst off, this movie is based off Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare (2001, Infogames) NOT Alone in the Dark (2008, Atari), however, the fact that it bares the title "Alone in the Dark" should be enough to make any fan of the series to abandon everything. The movie doesn't even try to use the source material, instead going for something that shouldn't even exist. I mean, they went as far as to have a dead person get up again, and even animating bullets missing people WHO SAID BULLET JUST KILLED. What really takes the cake is the non existing storyline, pre-into to acting actors, and a gods awe-full music score. In fact, I'm sure the only reason that Uwe Boll made this movie, was so that he could exploit a loop hole and use it as a tax write off, so that he gets paid a lot of money in compensation. And this isn't the first time he's done this to a video game. Seriously, avoid at all costs, even if those costs are vital organs, loved ones, or having to be wide awake for a root canal, in a truck, in a high speed chase being preformed by Orin Scrivello. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    0
    I think I could make a better movie with a 240p camera. Terrible in every way. I would never make anyone watch thisI think I could make a better movie with a 240p camera. Terrible in every way. I would never make anyone watch this movie............................... Expand

See all 113 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Worst Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Worst Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 26, 2010
    The only thing scarier than a good horror film? An abysmal horror film. We reveal the ten worst-reviewed horror movies released over the past decade.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames Image
    Published: September 8, 2010
    This week's "Resident Evil: Afterlife" is yet another film adaptation of a popular videogame. Everything you've heard about the genre is true: there are a lot of terrible movies, and a lot of Uwe Boll movies. (And those categories are definitely not mutually exclusive.) We look at the "best" and worst examples of games-turned-movies.