Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The Director's Cut of Milos Forman's Oscar-winning 1984 film about the rivalry between composers Mozart (Hulce) and Salieri (Abraham).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. It still soars, but now it seems richer, more expansive. Amadeus reminds us that movies can be lyrical as well as vulgar, ambitious as well as playful, brilliant as well as down and dirty -- just like Amadeus himself.
  2. "Amadeus is about as close to perfection as movies get," I wrote in 1984. Now, it's 20 minutes closer.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    90
    Loaded with pleasures, the greatest of which derive from the on location filming in Prague, the most 18th century of all European cities.
  4. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    90
    The superbly edited original version of Amadeus used overlapping sound cues for a lively flow between scenes, and the new version breaks up some of that flow with lengthy, talky interludes. Still, Ondrícek's breathtaking images and Forman's essential craft are best appreciated on the big screen, and another theatrical run for Amadeus is a welcome gift, no matter how much this edition unnecessarily gilds what's already a near-perfect lily
  5. 88
    Except for the Mozart music and Tharp movements around the edges, Amadeus plays like a monument to mediocrity. The movie belongs to Salieri.
  6. Reviewed by: Dave Kehr
    60
    It binds up introductory lessons in music appreciation, Freudian psychology, and fanciful history with a pulp thriller plot.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    One word: Brilliant! It is in my top 10...do I need to say more? You have to watch it, that is the only way you can make up your mind! ForgetOne word: Brilliant! It is in my top 10...do I need to say more? You have to watch it, that is the only way you can make up your mind! Forget about the reviews, go and experience this movie yourself! My son watched it for the first time when he was 10 ( 4 years ago) and guess what he did after we watched it together? He went to internet to learn more about Mozart and his biography. He fell in love with Amadeus! Milos Forman inspired him! I think that tells you a lot about the value of this film. In Amadeus, the cinematography, scenography, costumes, plot, etc, are perfect! I couldn't recommend it more! Expand
  2. JMH
    May 7, 2012
    10
    How better to tell a story of mediocrity, the average human condition, than by telling a story of a genius through the eyes of a mediocrity?How better to tell a story of mediocrity, the average human condition, than by telling a story of a genius through the eyes of a mediocrity? Amadeus is not a film about Mozart, played flamboyantly by Tom Hulce; it's a film about his contemporary Antonio Salieri, played by F. Murray Abraham as a sort of composer-everyman. The film's plot is largely fictional, with its earliest source in Alexandr Pushkin's 1830 Mozart and Salieri. Salieri blames God for meting out the greatest gift He could offer a composer, genius, with cruel unfairness. Salieri feels he's a devoted servant of God, via his music. But comes Mozart, in Salieri's eyes a pagan who nonetheless creates, sans effort, music Salieri knows to be genius -- this "idle loafer" (per Pushkin) has been granted God's gift. Salieri can't accept this injustice, and he plots Mozart's death, all the while hearing the voice of God in Mozart's art. Herein, Amadeus tackles two eternal themes in man's relationship with genius. The seeming arbitrariness of genius -- placed in select hands -- belittles ordinary men. Yet the product of genius raises ordinary men beyond the brutalities of worldly existence. Most of us are mediocrities mocked and enlightened by some form of genius we don't fully comprehend. Accordingly, Salieri's mission takes on ironic motive: "I speak for all mediocrities in the world. I am their champion. I am their patron saint." Taking a step back, should genius be stamped out because it's inegalitarian by nature, or relished because it enlightens the vulgar masses of which we're a part? Director Milos Forman allows both possibilities to play out brilliantly. And from Forman there are deeper questions, as the Czechoslovakian-born director lost his parents in the Holocaust and emigrated to the U.S. when the Soviets invaded his homeland. Most specifically, does genius have the potential to save men from themselves and their worst collective impulses? At its heart, Amadeus asserts, emphatically, that it does. Expand
  3. JennyG.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    this has always been and will forever be my favorite movie of all time. i have honestly seen this movie at least 30 or 40 times; about half this has always been and will forever be my favorite movie of all time. i have honestly seen this movie at least 30 or 40 times; about half of those viewings was when i was a child, not able to even follow the story line completely. i suppose most of what kept me coming back for more was mozart's brilliant compositions, which all have a certain sweetness to them that no other composer has ever been able to duplicate. as i got older and was able to understand everything that was going on in the story, i fell even deeper in love with this film. it was just about six months ago that i bought the director's cut - the deleted scenes (although strange to see after having seen the original dozens and dozens of times) shed a whole new light on the movie that i have basically memorized line for line. truly brilliant. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    A near perfect fim that is just magical and marvelous. With its sensational acting and wonderfully interesting story it amounts to one of theA near perfect fim that is just magical and marvelous. With its sensational acting and wonderfully interesting story it amounts to one of the finest movie achievements. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Massive in terms of scale, talent, and allure, "Amadeus" remains an epic in every sense of the word.
  6. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    7
    Amadeus was alright, although it was three hours. The first hour and a half was good, but the next hour was really boring, and the last halfAmadeus was alright, although it was three hours. The first hour and a half was good, but the next hour was really boring, and the last half hour was alright, so that's why I rated it a 7. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2012
    0
    I was quite keen to watch this film but the over top and ridiculous American accent of Tom Hulce detracted from what could have otherwise beenI was quite keen to watch this film but the over top and ridiculous American accent of Tom Hulce detracted from what could have otherwise been an enjoyable historical drama. Does it not matter what country the movie is set it? I'm sick of hearing **** American regardless of the setting. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Trailers