User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KSAR.
    Sep 2, 2001
    10
    As realistic as filmatically possible!! Sunita param and rizwan were the coolest. Good going!
  2. [Anonymous]
    May 23, 2001
    10
    Sweet movie!!!
  3. S.Z.
    May 26, 2001
    9
    It was a good movie, but it was corny in some parts; oh and Ajay (Kal Penn) was the best and funniest:)!!
  4. Kyle
    May 4, 2001
    10
    Love it.
  5. JavedS.
    May 9, 2001
    10
    One of the best movies i've ever seen!! Ajay was the best! Go and see this movie.
  6. PhilipA.
    Jun 22, 2001
    10
    Funniest movie in the world!!
  7. SmitaR.
    Jul 13, 2001
    10
    I love u Kal Pen and all the rest of desis in the movie. Rizwan you are fantastic also. THE movie is great, finally they produce a good indian film which is realistic and just great!! Bring out more movies like this people!! Love and peace from Guyana.
  8. DarlingAngel
    Sep 18, 2002
    10
    This is the coolest movie in the whole wide world i was laughing so hard kris is hotttttttttt i luv u kris email me plzzzzzz luv only urs darling angel.
  9. JayM.
    Jul 31, 2006
    7
    Worth a watch definitely / as someone said its a comedy its meant to be funny (in bits)...some of it tongue in cheek someone it firmly tongue in bottom... leaving unfamiliar taste in ones mouth. Its part of a tradition which is still finding its feet in est cross over to west movies. Good attempt.
  10. MohsinA.
    Oct 22, 2001
    10
    A movie worth watching!! It is quite evident that the movie took a lot of hard work and time. This movie is not like a typical Indian movie but reflects the feelings and thoughts of South Asian people living in USA and abroad. It has all the elements a good movie is supposed to have: Romanticism, Comedy and Drama. The actors did an excellent job with Deep Katadre topping the list. A movie worth watching!! It is quite evident that the movie took a lot of hard work and time. This movie is not like a typical Indian movie but reflects the feelings and thoughts of South Asian people living in USA and abroad. It has all the elements a good movie is supposed to have: Romanticism, Comedy and Drama. The actors did an excellent job with Deep Katadre topping the list. Excellent Job, Guys! Expand
  11. ShahanaQ.
    Jun 16, 2001
    10
    If i could i would give this movie an 11. Honestly, i loved the subject, the characters touched my heart, especially Deep, and the comedy was hilarious...overall it was a great, unforgettable movie...maybe that's why i watched it 5 times to all of you who cannot appreciate a good movie!!! I love you DEEP!!!
  12. R.K.
    Jan 11, 2002
    8
    Makes fun watching & time worth spent. Dont take it all too seriously though as it is a comedy film made in hollywood.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. With a few exceptions, the Indian characters are two-dimensional buffoons whose traditions are presented as silly quirks meant for cheap laughs.
  2. The subject is likable and the story has possibilities, but why does every single performance sink into a self-indulgent mess of hammy overacting?
  3. Most of it has to do with the ways younger Indian-Americans keep their culture alive in the United States and the ways they don't.