Release Date: October 30, 1998
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 537 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
499
Mixed:
23
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Dragonfly44Jul 19, 2017
While I do find that this movie shines a bad light on conservatives and the stereotypical 'racist white man', it is undoubtedly one of the greatest written films of all time. It gives a beautiful message and has a truly amazing performanceWhile I do find that this movie shines a bad light on conservatives and the stereotypical 'racist white man', it is undoubtedly one of the greatest written films of all time. It gives a beautiful message and has a truly amazing performance buy Edward Norton Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EduBJun 10, 2017
American History x of beginning already cemeça with one of the best scenes already seen in black and white (spectacular), for me the whole movie would be like that, it was spectacular in this way, the soundtrack, although not remarkable, doesAmerican History x of beginning already cemeça with one of the best scenes already seen in black and white (spectacular), for me the whole movie would be like that, it was spectacular in this way, the soundtrack, although not remarkable, does an exceptional job, Delivery what is being proposed in the environment, fear and tension are examples; The script is able to deliver a great story, as the name already says: American History, in the simplest form is a film of American society, but in the way that some do not accept diversity, equality. Edward Norton is in one of the best jobs of his career (if not the best); The film at the beginning proposes an idea, but from a certain point it shows that it is there for something else, a beautiful work of a script well written, I have to praise the script and much; What a story, I swear that in the end it surprised me; Because although I already expected that I did not expect it that way, although there are colorful scenes that stand out even in black and white, I have already praised it once and I will continue to praise the way the black and white scenes became sensational, if The whole movie was in this way would only improve this great work that deserves to be recognized. At the end of it all that guy who people did not believe that would change changed and everything because he saw the other side of the coin, saw that all are equal and despite everything some day we can depend on that person we do not like, we hate and among them we One can see the trust and other things that we do not see in those we treat equally just because they are of the same color; American History x is a work of art and undoubtedly one of the best movies I have ever seen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
russiangamerNov 27, 2016
Шедевр! Фильм задевает несколько очень важных тем. Диалоги очень интересно слушать, местами было чуточку затянуто, но наплевать, ведь смотреть на Нортона - это сплошное удовольствие! Прекрасный актёр прекрасно сыграл, браво. Концовка тронула,Шедевр! Фильм задевает несколько очень важных тем. Диалоги очень интересно слушать, местами было чуточку затянуто, но наплевать, ведь смотреть на Нортона - это сплошное удовольствие! Прекрасный актёр прекрасно сыграл, браво. Концовка тронула, слёзки наворачивались, но хорошо, что это не зелёная миля :)
Замечательный шедевр, рекомендую!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JudaManOct 14, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this movie so much that even after years of saying that it is impossible to like a movie more than the shawshank redemption I had to admit that American history x is better, the acting is better, the story is better, the narration is better, and most importantly the ending is better. Also, even though the shawshank redemption has some intense, disturbing, and even gritty scenes American history x beats all of them just with the, "bite the curb," scene. Also, I can guarantee you that if you watch the shawshank redemption and then watch American history x not only will you say American history x is better and not only will you be suggesting it to everyone you know, ( Spoilers ahead) but you will also be crying when Danny Vinyard gets killed in the bathroom at the end of American history x. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bpmike83Jul 19, 2016
11 critics are too soft to give this a good score. This movie is amazing. It's as real as it gets with racial tension. Those of us (the majority) with brains in this country know their head from their ass and right from wrong. Can't stand11 critics are too soft to give this a good score. This movie is amazing. It's as real as it gets with racial tension. Those of us (the majority) with brains in this country know their head from their ass and right from wrong. Can't stand people who use movies, music or games for violence. Anyone with half a brain cell knows right from wrong. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
American History X is just as everyone's been wanting since its release to theaters. Now in its way to home media, it's something unmissable for you and only you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
domnels234Mar 16, 2016
Truly great movie, really does depict racial tensions in america to this day (despite being made in 90s)
Great acting,setting is great and it is also a really entertaining movie. One of the best
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenNov 26, 2015
A well-made film that raises awareness of the harmful nature of hatred and the consequences of racism.

(Note: It's violent, so I would not recommend it to all audiences.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Jul 28, 2015
American History X is so ground breaking and ahead of its time. This film is considered controversial because of its content and its language but I feel that it is one of the most important films ever. Edward Norton may have but his bestAmerican History X is so ground breaking and ahead of its time. This film is considered controversial because of its content and its language but I feel that it is one of the most important films ever. Edward Norton may have but his best performance ever in this film and Edward Furlong manages to shine yet again at such a young age. I love every aspect in which the story is told, which is in a very unorthodox timeline but is very appropriate for the movie and the film splits between colour and black and white. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
REDWOUJan 31, 2015
One of the greatest movies I have seen in a while. Edward Norton played his controversial role so well he could have been arrested for being so racist. The actor who played his brother (John Connor in Terminator 2) was very good as well. TheOne of the greatest movies I have seen in a while. Edward Norton played his controversial role so well he could have been arrested for being so racist. The actor who played his brother (John Connor in Terminator 2) was very good as well. The plot was great -- well everything about it was fantastic really. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SEROJJan 7, 2015
This movie is a must watch! Yes it's tough,rude and brutal at momments (no spoilers), but i can't deny this movie's amazing story and message to all people!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
googolendtimesDec 23, 2014
"American History X" is immensely relevant to modern audiences, perhaps now more than ever. A gritty and provocative drama that puts in graphic terms the dangers of racism and hatred, propelled to greatness by Edward Norton's mesmerising and"American History X" is immensely relevant to modern audiences, perhaps now more than ever. A gritty and provocative drama that puts in graphic terms the dangers of racism and hatred, propelled to greatness by Edward Norton's mesmerising and powerful performance and his interplay with Edward Furlong is one of the most affecting pairings in film. And the ending is shattering no matter how many times it's watched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
American History X is purely brilliant. It dispels and breaks down racism and prejudice without bashing it. Finally, a film that can convey a willingness to open oneself to new ideas, without writing off certain beliefs as taboo or evil. IAmerican History X is purely brilliant. It dispels and breaks down racism and prejudice without bashing it. Finally, a film that can convey a willingness to open oneself to new ideas, without writing off certain beliefs as taboo or evil. I can't say it doesn't take any side, but it certainly doesn't force any side on the viewer, and instead forces us to assert the situation as a whole. It's just an excellently directed and acted film in every way, and I think everyone should get the chance to witness what it has to offer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lloydharrisonNov 19, 2014
American History X is one of the most shocking, brutal, disturbing and evil spirited films I've ever seen. Edward Norton gives an absolute masterclass and the two performances he gives either side of his characters transition are bothAmerican History X is one of the most shocking, brutal, disturbing and evil spirited films I've ever seen. Edward Norton gives an absolute masterclass and the two performances he gives either side of his characters transition are both incredibly captivating. There's no doubting how manipulative and pretentious this film can be. And at times the propaganda can even feel persuasively targeted at the audience. But to the films credit that's what makes it so compelling. And ultimately you cannot believe such evil, destructive & irrational people like this actually exist. Tony Kaye's overall direction is impressive and the black and white sequences in particular look stunning. American History X is certainly a tough film to enjoy but personally I think it's essential viewing and an incredibly bold piece of filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AlbusOct 24, 2014
Just a masterpiece! A new point of view to racism with a worldwide message.Great acting by Norton.Fabulous ending. Really an underrated movie.With a worldwide message.A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleMay 28, 2014
Now this is a great film. Yes, it is dark, violent, and quite disturbing at times, but it is also powerful, moving, and important. Edward Norton is absolutely phenomenal. He takes this deeply troubled character who comes to realize what isNow this is a great film. Yes, it is dark, violent, and quite disturbing at times, but it is also powerful, moving, and important. Edward Norton is absolutely phenomenal. He takes this deeply troubled character who comes to realize what is truly going on his life and he knocks it out of the park. He was terrific and put the film on his shoulders and absolutely killed it. The director, Tony Kaye, while he wishes to distance himself from the final product, he did a great job as well. There was some beautiful imagery here and while it may not be the version he intended as the final cut, his vision absolutely is here and the messages it provokes is still powerful. Really, after watching this film, I felt like I had been hit by a ton of bricks. The entire film is so moving and affecting that it really leaves you in a trance once it ends and the credits start rolling. On top of that, there are many powerful scenes, but none as powerful as the final one. It really leaves you on the brink of tears as you try to deal with what you just watched.

A truly mesmerizing character study with a heart and soul, American History X should absolutely be considered a "must watch" for all.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Viper8787May 24, 2014
A fantastic movie. This movie is tough to get through in the sense that there were many brutal violent or rape scenes that were really disturbing, but they were really well shot. The acting by Norton was phenomenal and the best performance ofA fantastic movie. This movie is tough to get through in the sense that there were many brutal violent or rape scenes that were really disturbing, but they were really well shot. The acting by Norton was phenomenal and the best performance of his career. I didn't think I was going to like this movie as much as I did but it was great. I love the style of the movie on how it was shot with some scenes being black and white and the rest in colour a great job. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AndrouMay 1, 2014
Great movie that brings a lot of reflection over racism and prejudice. Give it a shot, it's totally worth it. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I can't see how it got a overall score under 8.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonApr 22, 2014
White supremacist Derek Vinyard lands himself in prison having savagely murdered a black gang member caught trying to steal his truck. Whilst in prison he has time to reflect on his beliefs and realises that he must change his ways. Upon hisWhite supremacist Derek Vinyard lands himself in prison having savagely murdered a black gang member caught trying to steal his truck. Whilst in prison he has time to reflect on his beliefs and realises that he must change his ways. Upon his release however he finds that his younger brother, Danny, is following a similar path and vows to stop him.

As an audience it can often be difficult to understand why a person may hold racist viewers. Unlike the majority of movies dealing with race however American History X paints a picture of why its characters feel and act the way they do giving it far more relevance to real life as well as making for a far more interesting movie.

Fantastic performances from the cast, particularly Edward Norton in arguably his finest ever performance, also help to maintain the authentic feel of the movie. By the time it reaches its finale it is easy to have become invested in the characters in what is an engrossing look at racial tension within Los Angeles.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FordFanatic19Jan 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this movie. This has to be one of the best films created to date. Edward Norton does an excellent job playing his role as a white supremacist, when placed in prison, learns how all races truly are. It is an eye opening film, that keeps the watcher entertained the whole way through. I enjoyed how it transitioned from color to black and white, to show the difference between past and present. Highly recommended film for anyone. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiOct 23, 2013
I watched this for Edward Norton and he did not disappoint me. The movie alternates between his character's past and the present. He is a haunted man who just wants to be left alone, and to set his family affairs in order. But the movieI watched this for Edward Norton and he did not disappoint me. The movie alternates between his character's past and the present. He is a haunted man who just wants to be left alone, and to set his family affairs in order. But the movie failed to inspire me. Its attempts to evoke feelings of racial equality were mediocre at best. I feel that if they had done away with all pretence and concentrated solely on the transformation of Norton's character, this could have been something special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thorshammer7Sep 26, 2013
I really enjoyed this film. I loved the acting and powerfull message this movie had. I think this movie kinda helped me with some stuff I was going through as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NBAluke579Sep 15, 2013
One of the most powerful films I've ever seen. Extremely dark,disturbing,sad and enlightening. Edward Norton gives one of the most underrated screen performances ever, as he plays a Neo-Nazi who tries to stop his younger brother from headingOne of the most powerful films I've ever seen. Extremely dark,disturbing,sad and enlightening. Edward Norton gives one of the most underrated screen performances ever, as he plays a Neo-Nazi who tries to stop his younger brother from heading down the same awful path he chose. Very visceral movie.Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LaMagiadeVirueAug 16, 2013
Una historia que es difícil de contar, es dura y muy emocional sobre aquella época. Da una enseñanza sobre los nuevos comienzos y de adaptarse a las características del tiempo en que uno vive. Gran actuación y guión.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WymasterAug 16, 2013
One of the greatest movies of all time. This film is able to look true, real-life evil in the face and humanize it. There are people that actually live their lives like the neo-nazis in this film, and American History X absolutely does notOne of the greatest movies of all time. This film is able to look true, real-life evil in the face and humanize it. There are people that actually live their lives like the neo-nazis in this film, and American History X absolutely does not sugarcoat it. It shows the true colors of some of those people in our world, yet it doesn't bash them. It shows their intentions, shows us why they do what they do, and while we don't agree at all with it, we understand. Edward Norton gives the performance of a lifetime in what is a film that everyone should watch before they die. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LegenSAMay 29, 2013
I think that this movie MUST take 10/10, because of it's thoughts about racism and Nazism. The end is curt, but still amazing... If you haven't seen it, you should. It's changed my feelings about Nazism positively and that's wonderful.I think that this movie MUST take 10/10, because of it's thoughts about racism and Nazism. The end is curt, but still amazing... If you haven't seen it, you should. It's changed my feelings about Nazism positively and that's wonderful. Finally don't see it half. You'll dislike it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScarTissue1990Apr 7, 2013
One of the greatest films I've ever seen. Edward Norton is such a fantastic actor and Edward Furlong is such a underrated actor. It's a definite must watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFMar 16, 2013
Edward Norton puts in a career-defining performance as Derek Vinyard, a smart yet troubled individual who is part of the Neo-Nazi movement after tragedy befalls his family.
Told in a non-linear fashion, the story tells of Derek's rise in the
Edward Norton puts in a career-defining performance as Derek Vinyard, a smart yet troubled individual who is part of the Neo-Nazi movement after tragedy befalls his family.
Told in a non-linear fashion, the story tells of Derek's rise in the ranks of the movement, and an eventual vicious crime which leads to him being locked up. he soon sees a different side to his own life and attempts to alter it, one person not on board with his leaf turning is his fellow cult member brother, Daniel (Edward Furlong).
We see the typical everyday lives of the two brothers, who have to deal with a very sick mother and an over-bearing leader in their Neo-Nazi movement, and as the film goes on, we see beautifully rendered black and white flashbacks of Derek in prison, and he doesn't exactly have an easy time of it. He soon strikes up an unlikely friendship with a black inmate (Guy Torry), Derek, initially quite reluctant, starts to come out of his shell a little and begins to re-examine his hatred for different ethnicity.
American History X tells a strikingly painful yet optimistic tale, putting across a message of not to judge a book by its cover, but also to examine said cover in great detail, Norton's character is adorned in hate tattoos yet he is an extremely smart and well-educated individual, and the film also shows the boundaries that are pushed to send a message.
Edward Furlong is worlds away from his heroic turn in Terminator, swapping that for a person we don't quite understand, he clearly has hatred for those outside of his white supremacy, yet we know this is largely due to the influence of his older brother, thus maintaining strong family ties. The heavy race theme of the film will of course spread controversial themes, but its all about looking at the bigger picture, the value of family and the measures of belief.
Norton of course puts in an Oscar worthy performance, and although he didn't win, this was a clear stepping stone to bigger things, Fight Club being one of them.
There is a lot to take in tin this tale of trial and retribution, when a man who seeks revenge decides that this is not perhaps the best way to approach such a delicate matter, but a brother who simply wants the approval of his elder.
Powerful and engrossing, American History X will not be to everyones liking, but it will certainly send a clear and simple message of love and hate combined in a wonderfully crafted piece of cinema.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 14, 2013
This movie is a rough gritty film that deals with modern day Nazi's and how it affects people. It is a very real movie that shows truth and is powerful. It is no the best ever but a very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LeonidasPeplisDec 3, 2012
If I had to describe this movie with a word limit this is what I would say:"A must watch classic".Unexpected turn of events more than once & Edward Norton makes it even better as he shows his true talent from the beginning.Mixed feelings andIf I had to describe this movie with a word limit this is what I would say:"A must watch classic".Unexpected turn of events more than once & Edward Norton makes it even better as he shows his true talent from the beginning.Mixed feelings and a variety of thoughts are brought up by the performances.Definitely 9/10. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
A_NorthernerNov 11, 2012
Why did I watch it?
Recorded this one a while ago while it was on as it's always been one of those films I've wanted to watch, purely based on its controversy, but somehow never got around to.
What's it all about? Norton beefed up for
Why did I watch it?
Recorded this one a while ago while it was on as it's always been one of those films I've wanted to watch, purely based on its controversy, but somehow never got around to.

What's it all about?

Norton beefed up for the role A story of two LA neo-nazi brothers, American History X stars Edward Norton and Edward Furlong as Derek and Danny Vinyard. Angry with perceived injustices against the white population of Venice Beach and the nation as a whole on top of the murder of their father by a black drug dealer, the pair embrace the teachings of a local supremeist. The film alternates between the present day and flashbacks chronicling the relationship of the pair as the older brother, Derek (Norton), gets drawn into trouble with the gang and later tries to prevent his younger brother from making the same mistakes as him.

Should you watch it?
Violent, powerful and controversial, American History X is a hard-hitting drama dealing with a difficult but realistic subject and at times can be hard to watch. Obviously bearing in mind the subject matter, the script is unpleasant at times but the decision to give both characters a high degree of intelligence was a smart one as it at least allows them to put forward their argument in a reasonably articulate manner.
Edward Norton is absolutely excellent as the older brother before and after his run in with the law and totally deserved his Oscar nomination. Furlong also deserves credit for his performance and it's disappointing that he didn't go on to better things from this. The black and white older footage, when Norton is at his angriest, adds to the powerful nature of the film and was a masterstroke. Norton's angry, shaven-headed, white and Nazi-tattoo clad torso in black and white is, from a cinematic perspective, a pretty powerful and controversial image.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Breathtaking.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
cabritaOct 20, 2012
I had very high expectations going into American History X, but I found the whole to be less then the sum of it's parts. The film is full of situations but it never turns into a whole. This is not to say that it's parts are not extremely wellI had very high expectations going into American History X, but I found the whole to be less then the sum of it's parts. The film is full of situations but it never turns into a whole. This is not to say that it's parts are not extremely well made and powerful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sickdrummer1Sep 4, 2012
Amazing movie. Someone please tell me that the critics are playing one big joke on the audience by not universally acclaiming this movie. But then again, who cares what they think, anyone who watched this knows it's a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
axelkochAug 27, 2012
Very rough and intense but fantastically acted and written! Music is also awesome and so is the whole movie. Absolutely great with a tragical story but so is life. A masterpiece!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TTW107Feb 14, 2012
I think one of the most powerful movies i've ever seen. There isn't one dull moment and it draws you in from the first minute. It's insane how buff Edword Norton got for this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Its an amazing film. Solid acting by the cast and Edward Norton is amazing in it. The only downside of the film is that its rather graphic and can be off putting a bit.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JoseRochaPTOct 3, 2011
I was introduced to this film in a philosophy class. Undoubtedly one of the best films I've seen in moral issues. I recommend this movie to anyone who has not already seen, in fact, I recommend this movie to human and personal instruction.I was introduced to this film in a philosophy class. Undoubtedly one of the best films I've seen in moral issues. I recommend this movie to anyone who has not already seen, in fact, I recommend this movie to human and personal instruction. The film is already being shown in schools, which I think is a fantastic instructional level, but even an adult who still have not seen it have something to learn. In my class there were some tough guys, and even after seeing the film they reflected on the evil they had done until that day. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
jc15Oct 3, 2011
62??? really???? This is one of the greatest movies ever made. Edward Norton hit a home run on this film, his acting was amazing. The story was great also. I am still trying to figure out who the heck these 'experts' are.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MustisTheCatAug 22, 2011
A good movie that had been better if not the forced, yet sometimes confusing message. Maybe if I watched it back in 1998 , I would appreciate it more, but its position in any kind of film rankings is misleading. The only thing I couldn`tA good movie that had been better if not the forced, yet sometimes confusing message. Maybe if I watched it back in 1998 , I would appreciate it more, but its position in any kind of film rankings is misleading. The only thing I couldn`t forget was Edward Norton`s exceptional performance, and not only because others played roughly average roles. The story tries hard to establish the characters and the origin of racism but succeeds only in part. The viewer doesn`t get a full explanation, only bits of information that want him to think clearly : this is good, this is bad. We see a bunch of people changing their ways but we do not get the reasoning behind it. The main conclusion is not very clear and doesn`t find a strong material to it in the movie. The result is : you get the message this movie wants you to get, but mostly because it is literally given to you at the very end of it. You do not really understand why this particular message, because the story suggests something different. An excellent idea executed poorly with a bit of a genius play. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Codyk4545Aug 12, 2011
A truly powerful film, with a message that will stay with you long after the screen goes off, American History X is a force to be reckoned with. Edward Norton's performance stands out. It is a very believable and gripping performance. IA truly powerful film, with a message that will stay with you long after the screen goes off, American History X is a force to be reckoned with. Edward Norton's performance stands out. It is a very believable and gripping performance. I love any movie that touches on 'touchy' subjects. In this case, it's racism. The thing with this topics in films is that they are very easy to mess up, or become cliche. Luckily, this movie wonderfully, and shockingly tells the story of a man that escapes the life of a Skinhead, and further tries to prevent his younger brother from falling down the same path. A classic film, and a must-see for any movie-buff. 9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Falcon9gxgcApr 24, 2011
One of the most powerful films anyone should and must watch. Edward Norton excels all boundaries of acting In American History X. For a moment it just feels too real and you forget he's acting. He lands a remarkable, touching, and trueOne of the most powerful films anyone should and must watch. Edward Norton excels all boundaries of acting In American History X. For a moment it just feels too real and you forget he's acting. He lands a remarkable, touching, and true character, struggling to fight for the errors committed in the past. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Schmit93Jan 11, 2011
I've lost track of how many times I've seen this, but it still makes me tear up in the end, Norton really proves himself to be a powerhouse actor, his passion and raw emotion could scare anyone. One of better movies of 98
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
sockemeyeNov 23, 2010
One of the greatest movies I've ever seen, with an amazing, captivating performance by Edward Norton. This film sheds light on issues that many people in society are afraid to discuss or take seriously. A beautifully composed film, a must see.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
CunningLinguistOct 31, 2010
A shocking portrayal of the effects of hate and racism, this film is an absolute must-see. Not only is it a monolith of its genre, the message it conveys should be heard by all. Edward Norton never ceases to amaze when it come to sheer talent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
A film well done. A must seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
adamlMay 30, 2009
Unbelievable film. great acting performance by ed norton and genius directing by tony kaye, although he didn't feel he was able to make it exactly how he wanted it in the final editing. The movie gives a great message, and shows how Unbelievable film. great acting performance by ed norton and genius directing by tony kaye, although he didn't feel he was able to make it exactly how he wanted it in the final editing. The movie gives a great message, and shows how some perfectly valid right wing ideas can go completely misconstrued. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Oct 14, 2008
Some of the best acting I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.K.Jul 10, 2008
One of the greatest movies ever made. Norton's performance was inspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KattyG.May 9, 2008
The most powerful movie I have ever seen. Its truly is a wonderful film. And the outstanding acting by Edward Norton! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TJApr 25, 2008
One of the most brilliant films of a generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Mar 31, 2008
Stunningly moving flim with an immense performance from edward norton, a crushing, moving ending after a movie ridden with thought provoking and captivating story lines and scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshM.Dec 6, 2007
Powerful stuff.....great performance by the lead character. Should have won Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.May 24, 2007
I came in not knowing what to expect, but I left knowing that I just watched one of the best movies ever, bound to be a classic this movie is a MUST SEE, Edward Norton's performance is so strong and believable it's hard to not call I came in not knowing what to expect, but I left knowing that I just watched one of the best movies ever, bound to be a classic this movie is a MUST SEE, Edward Norton's performance is so strong and believable it's hard to not call him one of todays best actors, bottom line, easy 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlakeJ.Mar 11, 2007
The most powerful movie I have ever seen. Bar none. Norton solidifies himself as a movie god.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RodG.Feb 21, 2007
Way too good of a movie for the critics to come up with a 62 rating. Well acted. I think it gave a realistic insight to why some people believe what they believe. I don't think anybody would argue that racism is ugly and terrible. I Way too good of a movie for the critics to come up with a 62 rating. Well acted. I think it gave a realistic insight to why some people believe what they believe. I don't think anybody would argue that racism is ugly and terrible. I compare this movie to "Crash" as far as attempting to show small unseen factors that effect people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottMOct 12, 2006
Single greatest movie of all time, in my eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zkAug 31, 2006
Superb film, very thought-provoking, Norton should have won an oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
I could say a lot more about this movei than I'm going to, simply because my fingers are all typed out;) I'm shocked at the low rating this film got- It's one of my favorites. Norton is a master, and Furlong just clinches it I could say a lot more about this movei than I'm going to, simply because my fingers are all typed out;) I'm shocked at the low rating this film got- It's one of my favorites. Norton is a master, and Furlong just clinches it for me. Well written, well acted and well directed- this one speaks to all my longings as an avid movie-buff and cinema freak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JMay 15, 2006
i thought this movie was very good,then ending of the movie had my heart racing it's an amazing movie with a good message and this movie just shows what happens to people all around the world every day that this stuff is really real and i thought this movie was very good,then ending of the movie had my heart racing it's an amazing movie with a good message and this movie just shows what happens to people all around the world every day that this stuff is really real and we should try to do more to become a better society and world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NunoC.May 14, 2006
Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
reecer.Apr 28, 2006
Great movie mate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaylaL.Apr 26, 2006
This is one of the best movies around. It actually shows the real relationship between different races; it shows not only that white people are racist but other races are too. This movie is very informational, and expresses a good, true moral!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Mr.HankeyApr 23, 2006
I enjoyed American History X because it dealt with racism well, maybe not as well as To Kill A Mockingbird but it does a fine job anyways. I saw American History X after watching many classics the previous week before. It stood out to me for I enjoyed American History X because it dealt with racism well, maybe not as well as To Kill A Mockingbird but it does a fine job anyways. I saw American History X after watching many classics the previous week before. It stood out to me for some reason I feel that it was misunderstood by some critics. It is an underrated film. But as I watched it for the first time I realized that this film was a monument in movies. [***SPOILERS***] As the final seen rolled and you see Edward Norton crying over Edward Furlong, I thought it was the best movie I had ever seen. But as I moved on in the history of movies my knowledge grew and I realized that this film was superb but good never be the best film I have ever seen because i was young and had no knowledge of Kurosawa yet. As I watched it for the second time I felt it was old and not as gripping as the first time around. So was a great film? Yes, But is it a movie that should be considered the best ever? I do not think so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisH.Jan 15, 2006
one of the best movies ever. has great storytelling, and a powerful ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KerrieC.Jan 10, 2006
This movie shows everyhitng that people need to know about skinheads...Sttuff you think is not out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
matta.Oct 20, 2005
Movie was great but the tragec ending took away alittle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaT.Oct 3, 2005
This movie pisses you off, makes you cry, and think about "What you have done to make your life better."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Sep 17, 2005
Superb directing and acting. Tony Kaye takes us on a dramatic journey that leaves us on the edge of our seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheGilbertMulroneycakesShowWithTonyRandallOct 25, 2003
It's almost brilliant. Almost. Certainly it's a stunning evocationcondemnation of this right-wing everyone-hating mindset. And the acting is superb: Ed Norton, Stacy Keach, John Connor, Avery Brooks and so on are all incredibly It's almost brilliant. Almost. Certainly it's a stunning evocationcondemnation of this right-wing everyone-hating mindset. And the acting is superb: Ed Norton, Stacy Keach, John Connor, Avery Brooks and so on are all incredibly impressive. Oh, and the direction is pretty damn good, as you would sort-of expect from Kaye having seen his previous work - any British people who've seen any of advert-nostalgia programmes: the chap who did the Intercity "Relax" adverts in '89, and the Dunlop S&M "Tested For The Unexpected" one in '95, the bald-headed tit with about ten billion facial piercings: that was Tony Kaye, that was. So why is it only "almost" brilliant? Well, it doesn't quite hold up as a piece of drama is the thing. A few too many convieniences. The plot is second to the social commentary, but it could have gone hand in hand. Still, though, if it's not brilliant, it is at least pretty damn great. Can't say fairer than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful