Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 13, 2013
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1241 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
924
Mixed:
189
Negative:
128
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LorcxDec 13, 2013
David O. Russel proves once again how good of a director he is. The acting is also hugely strong, most notably from Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale. This is a sure bet for the Oscar race and as a whole its just a fantastic film,David O. Russel proves once again how good of a director he is. The acting is also hugely strong, most notably from Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale. This is a sure bet for the Oscar race and as a whole its just a fantastic film, beautifully acted, vibrantly filmed and if you're a fan of Silver Linings Playbook or other O. Russel pics you'll love this film. Expand
35 of 44 users found this helpful359
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondDec 4, 2013
If you're a lover the Silver Linings Playbook cast, they're pretty much all back in this film. I'd heard a ton about the ABSCAM scandal through out my youth, so I'm happy that Russell decided to bring the story to life in such a hilariousIf you're a lover the Silver Linings Playbook cast, they're pretty much all back in this film. I'd heard a ton about the ABSCAM scandal through out my youth, so I'm happy that Russell decided to bring the story to life in such a hilarious fasion. Cooper isn't as amazing as you'd like him to be here (he needed to tone down the mania just a bit), but Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, and, especially, Amy Adams carry the weight of this film. And yes, lest I forget, Renner is brilliant. I'd also like to specifically call out the music as dead-on perfect. The film feels a touch long, but you really can't go wrong with this movie. Expand
18 of 24 users found this helpful186
All this user's reviews
2
subseqDec 21, 2013
You are kidding me. This movie is one of the best? Odds-on favorite for best picture? Who are these professional reviewers? Ahh, yes, they are of that postmodernist breed who like nonsense disguised as cinematic art. Sorry, but this was aYou are kidding me. This movie is one of the best? Odds-on favorite for best picture? Who are these professional reviewers? Ahh, yes, they are of that postmodernist breed who like nonsense disguised as cinematic art. Sorry, but this was a mess. To start you had three character narration tracks, Irving, Richie, and Sydney all had their turns--a director's shot at cutting-edge experimentation that was just stupid. Then there was the uneven smattering of Pulp Fiction-like time exploitation which just made it disjointed. The main blight was this now typical fixation with showcasing people doing stunningly insipid things then forcing us to gaze at others trying to cope in wildly emotional ways. This drives me crazy. The attempt at some penetrating authenticity with mere random and painfully distended melodrama was so contrived I just want to puke at the screen. You saw the same thing with Silver Linings Playbook and I hated that movie for the same reason. Yet I keep reading how David O. Russell is so wonderful, so I thought I'd give him another chance and see if this would be different. It wasn't. It gets a "2" rating because it did get tepidly interesting with the mob involvement there for a bit, as well as some of the con artist twists. Other than that, boorishly silly to the hilt Expand
22 of 41 users found this helpful2219
All this user's reviews
0
sodlidDec 26, 2013
The critics that ruined my Christmas. It would have been hard to live up the all the reviews, but this movie was boring. It's not a 1, but certainly not a 10. There was no buzz leaving the theaters, and the discussion in the car was howThe critics that ruined my Christmas. It would have been hard to live up the all the reviews, but this movie was boring. It's not a 1, but certainly not a 10. There was no buzz leaving the theaters, and the discussion in the car was how silly the plot was. The characters would have been better served in a Saturday Night Live skit. They were all kind of over the top and silly. Expand
16 of 45 users found this helpful1629
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
Another incredible ensemble from David O. Russell. He's once again taken a dark theme and somehow made it comedic. I applaud David O. Russell and his wonderful cast of bandits. Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence once again prove their worthiness.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EdorkJul 13, 2014
I'm just scratching my head looking at these comments complaining how silly and over the top everything was.
Um, you people are aware this is a comedy, right? In the words of the Joker: "Why so serious?"
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
patrosiJan 22, 2014
What makes this movie unique is the concentration on the characters which reveals to us their complexity by providing general but deep qualities on each character that allows us to go deeper and conclude more characteristics on theseWhat makes this movie unique is the concentration on the characters which reveals to us their complexity by providing general but deep qualities on each character that allows us to go deeper and conclude more characteristics on these tremendous characters which makes them even more real. Everyone stuck in his own bubble which is holding him/her from moving on and enjoying life. Both main characters in search for something that will help them get over they're problems which is love. One enjoying what he does, meeting another who's running away from his past and saving her life only to get into more trouble. Throughout this movie, various stories are taking place at once, with various characters who are dying to make a change in their life. American Hustle is mainly about the characters (and that's why the four actors are nominated for the Oscars) also showing us various layers of that society at that time...One of the best movies this year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
FabbioDornellasJan 22, 2014
This film got nothing new for the ones who commonly watch movies at all. Big Hollywood cliché. Slow-motion desnecessarily, characters with no sympathy and not "deep" enough, script with no originality... The only thing I can say is positiveThis film got nothing new for the ones who commonly watch movies at all. Big Hollywood cliché. Slow-motion desnecessarily, characters with no sympathy and not "deep" enough, script with no originality... The only thing I can say is positive about this is the envolvement with the main (Bale, Amy Adams, Cooper and J. Lawrence characters) just it. And probably this piece of s**t will win some Academy Award. Shameful... Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
victorhjklJan 16, 2014
I'm a big fan of Silver Linings Playbook, and I wanted to watch this movie when I knew that the same director, David O. Russel, directed this one, the movie is really amazing, the cast it's incredible, mainly for Jennifer Lawrence, I reallyI'm a big fan of Silver Linings Playbook, and I wanted to watch this movie when I knew that the same director, David O. Russel, directed this one, the movie is really amazing, the cast it's incredible, mainly for Jennifer Lawrence, I really expect that the win the Oscar again... American Hustle it's one of 2013 best movies. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
JunghovaDec 30, 2013
Great cast. Great acting. Good story. The only knock I have is the movie is a bit slow and methodical in its pace. Not very often the entire ensemble cast of one movie could be nominated for an Oscar since all the performances were strongGreat cast. Great acting. Good story. The only knock I have is the movie is a bit slow and methodical in its pace. Not very often the entire ensemble cast of one movie could be nominated for an Oscar since all the performances were strong across the board. Good movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingApr 29, 2014
American Hustle is energetic, funny and perfectly cast. It features smart twists & turns from a very smart script and is directed stylishly by David O. Russell.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
xcalumFeb 23, 2014
One of the worst films I've seen in theaters. The characters were completely unlikeable, I wasn't sure if I should root for the cop or the crooks, the story was boring and I didn't see a point to Louie CK and Jennifer Lawrence even beingOne of the worst films I've seen in theaters. The characters were completely unlikeable, I wasn't sure if I should root for the cop or the crooks, the story was boring and I didn't see a point to Louie CK and Jennifer Lawrence even being there. It seemed like they were there just because they were big names and not because they fit the role.

If it wasn't for Bale and Amy Adams the movie would have been a complete wash. I almost left the theater twice during the movie and I only stayed to find out how it ended for Bale and Adams.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
sparrow173Apr 19, 2014
Trying to rip off Karen from Goodfellas.....badly! I can't for the life of me understand how this film got such good reviews. Bad. Just BAD.

The plot of this film started as one thing and ended in another but tried to make out a kind of
Trying to rip off Karen from Goodfellas.....badly! I can't for the life of me understand how this film got such good reviews. Bad. Just BAD.

The plot of this film started as one thing and ended in another but tried to make out a kind of Usual Suspects twist at the end. Rubbish pure rubbish.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
EvilMonologueDec 26, 2013
I thought that the acting in the movie was great, and there were a lot of great parts to it, but overall I feel like the movie doesn't come together completely. The ending, for me at least, left me asking "so what?". I just felt a lack ofI thought that the acting in the movie was great, and there were a lot of great parts to it, but overall I feel like the movie doesn't come together completely. The ending, for me at least, left me asking "so what?". I just felt a lack of satisfaction coming out of the theater, and while it delivers in most regards, it failed to capture me and win me over. Expand
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
9
BHBarryDec 15, 2013
“American Hustle” stars Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Amy Adams and Christian Bale in this 2 hour film directed by David O. Russel who co-wrote it with Eric Singer. This is a fast moving and intelligently writtten story of con men (and“American Hustle” stars Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Amy Adams and Christian Bale in this 2 hour film directed by David O. Russel who co-wrote it with Eric Singer. This is a fast moving and intelligently writtten story of con men (and women) seeking to outsmart each other. This film is a viewer’s delight as we watch the intricacies of the plot unfold. Although Mr. Cooper, Ms. Adams and Ms. Lawrence give stellar performances, the kudos really must go to Mr. Bale who plays his part with credibility and passion. Acknowledgments must also got to Director Russell who, despite the obvious length of the film keeps it well paced and easy to watch. I give the film a 9 rating with more of the film sure to be talked about at Oscar time in February 2014 Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonDec 13, 2013
“American Hustle” may have an awkward start, especially as it takes a moment to get used to Russell’s style and tone, but once “Hustle” finds its footing it really takes off and is one of the most intelligent and enjoyable films of the year.“American Hustle” may have an awkward start, especially as it takes a moment to get used to Russell’s style and tone, but once “Hustle” finds its footing it really takes off and is one of the most intelligent and enjoyable films of the year.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
cmancheno97Dec 14, 2013
You will love this film. David O. Russell is one of our greatest directors and he did it once again. An amazing cast with an amazing screenplay; you wont be disappointed.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryDec 21, 2013
It's the late 70s: every man in this movie has ridiculous hair, while the women are glamorous and hot. A con man (Christian Bale) teams with his soul mate (Amy Adams) and they end up forced into a scam with a hothead FBI agent (BradleyIt's the late 70s: every man in this movie has ridiculous hair, while the women are glamorous and hot. A con man (Christian Bale) teams with his soul mate (Amy Adams) and they end up forced into a scam with a hothead FBI agent (Bradley Cooper). The transactions are complicated by a mouthy wife (Jennifer Lawrence) and an earnest politician (Jeremy Renner). Despite how complicated it sounds, this film is really about the characters and the brilliant actors who made the bold choices. Every actor has created memorable, enjoyable individuals and their performances are potent (Lawrence is once again a revelation). Co-writer/director David O. Russell has crafted a richly observed, compellingly complex and sometimes funny vehicle for them to hustle. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Meremom14Dec 23, 2013
Fantastic cast, especially Christian Bale and Amy Adams. David O. Russell is one of the best filmmakers working today. Jennifer Lawrence gives a very memorable supporting performance that deserves every bit of praise she's received.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
Movie1997Dec 20, 2013
There are so many funny movies this year that are getting so much praise this award season, and "American Hustle" is one of them. It's a fun, funny and entertaining good time. It's filled with crap loads of great performances (which you comeThere are so many funny movies this year that are getting so much praise this award season, and "American Hustle" is one of them. It's a fun, funny and entertaining good time. It's filled with crap loads of great performances (which you come to expect from a David O. Russell film), an interesting enough story and great humor. While at times it may feel like its way more ridiculous than it already feels, it's still a great time and one that shouldn't be missed. I give it an A-! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
dierregiFeb 16, 2014
The very messy plot should be about a convoluted scam played by a couple of swindlers, “forced” to work for the FBI. The swindlers happen to be Irving (Bale) and Sydney (Adams), also involved in a torrid extramarital affair. Irving isThe very messy plot should be about a convoluted scam played by a couple of swindlers, “forced” to work for the FBI. The swindlers happen to be Irving (Bale) and Sydney (Adams), also involved in a torrid extramarital affair. Irving is married to Rosalyn (Lawrence) a single mum, whose son he adopted. Like most married men, he stalling divorce because the “child would suffer”.

Irving and Sydney get busted by Richie (Cooper) an ambitious FBI agent who forces them to get bigger fish into the agency net. Or, at least this should be the plot, because it gets derailed in all directions, none of which even remotely interesting.

It feels like the whole movie is a scam played on the audience, starting with Lawrence. I understand that she is the present ”Hollywood-IT-hot” girl, but her part is bloated out of proportion, when her character was at best a marginal one.

She is constantly on screen, shouting all her lines and going on endlessly about her relationship with Irving. Who cares? I wanted to see a movie about a hustle, not a dysfunctional couple in action, especially when their dysfunctions are not the core of the plot. We also get plenty of the Sydney-Richie relationship (and again, who cares?)

Everybody is exceedingly verbose, and situations that would require at most 30 seconds of screen time drag on for several minutes. Even considered as a “character study”, the movie still does not work.

Besides, the “moral” of the story is a murky one and an additional joke played on the audience: whoever makes more money (regardless of their methods) is smarter than anybody holding an honest job.
Corrupted politicians are portrayed as minor offenders, dealing dirty deeds for the good of the community. Richie is played as a fool, while mediocre Irving and Sydney are glorified as first-class tricksters. Even dumb and insufferable Rosalyn gets a happy ending of her own

The best thing about American Hustle is the 70’s atmosphere, with some amazingly tacky clothes and a good soundtrack, but it is definitely not enough to save the movie. Unbelievable to think this mess got 10 Oscars nominations….
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
GraceRDec 17, 2013
Overall, a fun film, but it's really all about the outrageous performances! The music and costumes are great, and completely sell the time period. Adams and Lawrence are spicy, Bale is incredible, but Coopers performance is overrated and feltOverall, a fun film, but it's really all about the outrageous performances! The music and costumes are great, and completely sell the time period. Adams and Lawrence are spicy, Bale is incredible, but Coopers performance is overrated and felt very improvised. Renner is the secret MVP, and plays the best against type. I would see it again on DVD. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
tsfilmwatchDec 21, 2013
Ahhhh… Time spent on character development? Sweet! A plot that never stops engaging the viewer to feel as if they too are in on this thrilling and con? THANK YOU! Christian and Jennifer's characters are written to jump off the page…. andAhhhh… Time spent on character development? Sweet! A plot that never stops engaging the viewer to feel as if they too are in on this thrilling and con? THANK YOU! Christian and Jennifer's characters are written to jump off the page…. and they do -from page to screen and right into your heart.. You love them, are shocked by them. have compassion for their pathetic attempts at feeling loved and rooting for everyone as loyalties switch--or do they? Ms. Adams is outshone by the writing of the other's characters yet she still manages to keep your eyes fixated on her as she delivers an enormous need for approval. Those necklines helped enormously! Was fashion in the 70's have such revealing clothing? YES! They did! Poor Bradley Cooper. He really has a lukewarm talent at best. He has technique but no depth, no inner life, no layers to feed his performance. Russell wisely uses that lack of depth to service the character's influence on the story line just as he did in "Playbook". Whenever Cooper's on screen the film loses it's pathos but Adams, Lawrence and Bale have such an intense incandescent light, nothing survives but the memory of their brilliance. Lucky for Cooper. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
ColinReisDec 25, 2013
As a big David O. Russel fan, I had high expectations, particularly after seeing some of the film reviews for 'American Hustle'. I was highly disappointed with the film. Although it was very well acted, with an authentically 70's set, thereAs a big David O. Russel fan, I had high expectations, particularly after seeing some of the film reviews for 'American Hustle'. I was highly disappointed with the film. Although it was very well acted, with an authentically 70's set, there was nothing particularly captivating about the storyline. The movie never drew me into the film as Russel has in previous past 2 efforts. It had a couple of funny moments in it, but overall I wouldn't describe it as a comedy. If you want to see a decent movie, it's worthwhile, but don't expect another 'The Fighter' and certainly not 'Silver Linings Playbook'. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
VivienlawJan 5, 2014
Thought this film was utter rubbish, yes acting was good but with little plot to go with. Took ages to get going and sadly never did. If this wins any awards I am at a loss as to what people find entertaining
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
jackophantJan 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A movie perhaps for the bored cinefiles of the world, American Hustle is a convoluted mess with little direction and so much plot that it makes your head spin. It is different, in that David O'Russell way that might have worked for Silver Linings Playbook but fails when it aims for too much. It has some great actors, who give it their all but that doesn't really matter when the audience has no idea of what they're doing or why they're doing it. To give you an idea of what this movie is, I'll say the best part is when Robert De Niro briefly shows up for three minutes and reminds us all of how great Goodfellas and Casino were. For the rest of the movie I sat asking myself a few questions like: What is going on? Shouldn't this be considered entrapment? Man, Amy Adams nipples have been dangerously close to a wardrobe malfunction for like two hours, why does she only wear that one type of v-neck? Seriously, did they just glue her clothes to her nips or something? When will it ever end?'
The only redeeming factor to this movie is that it's not the typical, it goes its own way and does its own thing and I'll give it props for that. I just don't think American Hustle is an enjoyable movie.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
JookyDFWDec 24, 2013
Based on the trailers I saw I was expecting a 70's version of Oceans 11. What I got was a slow paced film with enough dialog and close-ups for three films. I spent the whole film waiting for something interesting to happen and it never reallyBased on the trailers I saw I was expecting a 70's version of Oceans 11. What I got was a slow paced film with enough dialog and close-ups for three films. I spent the whole film waiting for something interesting to happen and it never really did. The acting is all good but the story just wasn't that interesting. Also, you'd think that with a 2 hour plus film there would be time to get deeper into the characters but instead the time was used on over extended dialogs that were left in for the academy to get a good look at how awesome the cast is. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
michaeltranDec 17, 2013
One of the best films of the year. It's very funny, sexy. The cast is amazing. Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy renner and Jennifer Lawrence are all great and stunning. They give us a very interesting change. Their hair andOne of the best films of the year. It's very funny, sexy. The cast is amazing. Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy renner and Jennifer Lawrence are all great and stunning. They give us a very interesting change. Their hair and their costumes in film are beautiful, sexy and very fashionable. Expand
11 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
9
dave89791Dec 13, 2013
Favorite fun movie of the year amazing direction, acting, writing

Christian Bale was especially impressive though the rest of the actors were excellent as well
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
7
ragekoiDec 21, 2013
American Hustle is a film that is extremely over-hyped. Every big-name review site has given this film incredibly generous scores. I saw this and was a tad disappointed, because I didn't feel it lived up to it's hype. However, I enjoyed theAmerican Hustle is a film that is extremely over-hyped. Every big-name review site has given this film incredibly generous scores. I saw this and was a tad disappointed, because I didn't feel it lived up to it's hype. However, I enjoyed the film nonetheless. American Hustle centers around two con artists named Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams). During their long run of scamming people and stealing their money, they are eventually caught by FBI agent Richie DiMaso (Bradley Cooper). Instead of arresting them, Richie devises a plan to use the con artists to bust corrupt politicians. In order to do so, they need to become allies with the mafia, the universally loved mayor of New Jersey (Jeremy Renner), and a man of false importance entitled "The Sheik". Along with this, there is a huge subplot involving love among the characters. Sydney fakes love with Richie in order to get closer to him and make him trust her, and Irving cannot decide who to ultimately be with; his crazy and gossipy wife Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence) or Sydney. He has a hard time leaving his wife because he loves his stepson Danny. This here lies the first problem with this film. At times there were so many sexually charged scenes I couldn't remember if I was watching a crime drama or a porno. Along with the over-abundance of provocative moments, each character is interesting, there is too much going on in order to become invested in these people. In terms of acting, I had an issue with the actors dropping accents they had. Christian Bale was pretty consistent, but Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence dropped their accent frequently. Amy Adams' character also has a fake identity as a British woman with bank connections, however her accent isn't convincing in the slightest and it's hard to see how she conned so many people with such a soft and easily fake accent. Other than accent issues, each actor was very good. Even though the actors were really good, the cast list enhanced the hype factor a lot more, thus bringing the movie down for me more. When I saw Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, and Louis CK (Who had one of my favorite characters) on the cast list, I got really pumped. But that just hurt more when the movie didn't meet my expectations. The movie's writing was enjoyable, however the banter felt very forced, along with trying to replicate what "The Big Lebowski" did with explicit banter. Some consider this film a comedy, but it wasn't a laugh-fest the whole way through. Regardless, the moments that were funny hit their mark very well. The soundtrack and cinematography were both stellar, aside from occasionally annoying close ups. Even though I don't believe this film lives up to it's hype or properly utilizes it's two hour run time, American Hustle is a movie with the occasional funny moment, some great use of music, and plot twists up the wazoo that will probably entertain any fan of the crime drama genre. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews