User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 167

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    I watched this movie two days ago for the first time and I enjoyed every bit of it. It is crude, it is raunchy and it is what started everything we love about comedies. I must watch!
  2. May 30, 2014
    8
    American Pie is a bag of laughs, it's hilarious, well acted and interesting. It's the story of the typical adolescent teenagers lusting for some sexual experiences.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    Não sou muito fã desses tipos de comédia porém até que chega a ser um filme divertido em certas partes mais não passa disso sendo um besteirol puro e chato.
  4. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    American Pie is one of those movies a bachelor has on his movie shelf, watching occasionally to his pleasure. But, once the missus moves in, that movie is going with the comics, porn, and dirty movies he has.

    Nevertheless, the movie deals with issues concerning teens growing up and finding ways to crave their sexual desires, which we all go through eventually. Also, it is fun and kooky,
    springing up some very awkward scenes. The message: don't watch this movie with your parents! Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    American Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for years to come. It may be crude and uncalled for from beginning to end, but it has delightful characters, a decent plot-line, and a stellar soundtrack. It is far from a cinematic masterpiece, but it is an easy-going watch for anyone that enjoys a good comedy. Collapse
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    The original American Pie is certainly a classic comedy on the must see list, but it's not the best of the seven American Pie inspired films. Personally, I preferred the second one too the first, as everyone was much more relaxed and knew each other, making the movie flow better. Don't get me wrong, this one certainly had it's funny moments, but in my estimation it wasn't as good as the second one. Jason Biggs Alyson Hannigan are hilarious, but for all they bring to the table, bad actors like Eddie Kay Thomas and Chris Klein take away, making the good performances moot. American Pie is a classic teen comedy about sex and it ushered in a new era in comedy that's still relevant today. It has the raunchy, crazy, good looking youth we see in today's comedy, but unfortunately also has some really lame jokes and bad acting, that thankful went out with the nineties. Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    This movie shouldn't be taken just as crude etc.: it mainly shows the teens' silly fun. Many teens are "searching" for sex, and this movie shows it with funny moments and these moments which you call "crude".
  8. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Pie tells the tale of high school seniors searching for sex, love, and acceptance in the world. Yes, the film is raunchy and crude, but it is also hilarious from start to finish, and has a warm spirit and well developed characters.
  9. Apr 13, 2012
    1
    this is a porn not a movie basically every 5 seconds someone is having sex or there are boobs this movie is not funny at all im a teenager and i would never want to be do%&he bags like the people in this movie and not to mention most of the jokes are disgusting because people are like puking everywhere and making people drink horse sperm its horrible but ill give it a 1 for the boobs lol
  10. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    American Pie is no teen movie we haven't seen before, but its strong performances, huge amounts of heart, lovable characters, and plenty of laughs ;American Pie is a solid and memorable comedy. I give this movie 86%.
  11. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    If you hadn't seen this movie yet you should see it right now. Of course im not insisting you guys to watch it if you don't like teen movies but its classic of this kind of comedy.I mean it! This might look little bit stupid because its like a "stupid comedy" Thats how i like to call movies like this.Actually they aren't stupid at all it's very hard to create jokes like this and make a movie like this.But I could hardly recommend this movie if you are looking for different kind of comedy something opposite from teens movie like good rated movie with good well known actor and a good storyline or a family comedy because it would be pretty weird watching movies with your children or with your parent (depends who you are). This movie is way different is about teenagers life, and
    their jokes. I could say this was one of the best of this kind of
    comedy i have ever seen! if someone asks for a comedy about teens first
    movie i say is "American pie". This movie would be best if you're
    looking for something really easy and very hilarious to watch as I
    said already. Thanks for reading
    Expand
  12. Dec 26, 2011
    7
    A god damned classic that every teenage boy is bound to love. Screw the critics when it comes to movies like American Pie, of course older people will **** all over it because they are just mad they aren't young anymore.
  13. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Pure comedy, there is no proper story to follow (only in the sequel), is simply following a story based on the facts of the day to day and laugh with some epic events.
  14. May 11, 2011
    2
    Really america? This is what qualifies as hysterical comedy? An endless stream of sight gags and sex jokes. If you don't want to have to think here is your movie. If you like the same jokes you liked when you were 12 this is your movie. I also recommend you pick up Captain Underpants books, you'll LOVE them! Grow up and get yourself some George Carlin DVD's.
  15. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This is a classic teenage comedy and a personal favourite for me. The cast work together well on a plot with comedy in every scene. Sean William Scott deserves an Oscar.
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    Not funny as American Pie 2 and 3 but the first American Pie tells a introduction. After watching the first American Pie, people will laugh in the American Pie 2 and 3
  17. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    i honestly dont understand this score. i rewatched this a few days ago and was howling of laughter. its definitely one of the funniest movies of my generation, and it inspired many movies with similar humour (example: 40 year old virgin, superbad, etc).
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. The successful bits, along with an amiable cast of losers and their prom-night prey, make American Pie a winner.
  2. Another giggly gross-out comedy for teenagers.
  3. 75
    It is not inspired, but it's cheerful and hard-working and sometimes funny, and--here's the important thing--it's not mean.