DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: July 9, 2004
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 487 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
384
Mixed:
49
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JanetKAug 14, 2005
This movie should be a cult classic like Rocky Horror! We should be going to see it at midnight showings for 20+years. Shout it from a mountain top!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyT.Jul 12, 2004
Farrell's embrace of the absurd non-sequitor is at it's best here. I was in tears at least twice. This will go down as a classic of its genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LAhaJan 10, 2005
One of the best movies I've seen in a while. Will Farrell is absolutely amazing in a role that he was born to play!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeAug 4, 2005
If you hate this show because it's dumb, pull your head out. News Flash, it's supposed to be. It's not supposed to be a damn artsie film. It made me laugh more than any movie in a long time, so it deserves a 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancoH.Aug 2, 2006
It's Anchorman! It's on Bravo's top 100 funniest movies of all-time! So that must mean something.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlansitoP.Jul 11, 2004
It was a very entertaining and funny movie. kids will love it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillferrelloverAug 6, 2004
AMAZING. The jokes were hilarious i think this movie was as good as pokemon heroes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianO.Apr 12, 2005
The first time I watched Anchorman I would have given it a 6. But the more you talk about it and watch it with your friends, the funnier it becomes! Its definately a quotable movie. If you didnt like it at first, I suggest watching it with a The first time I watched Anchorman I would have given it a 6. But the more you talk about it and watch it with your friends, the funnier it becomes! Its definately a quotable movie. If you didnt like it at first, I suggest watching it with a group of friends because.."Sixty percent of the time, it works EVERY time" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnR.Oct 11, 2006
Will Ferrell is hilarious once again. The man is good. I mean really good. The movie is filled with so many great quotes that no one can help but use in their everyday life. Two thumbs way up for this masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobP.Mar 30, 2006
If i could have given this movie a 11 then i would have in the blink of an eye! First saw the movie over a year ago and me and my mates still laugh and make quotes from it today. Pure genius!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaS.Aug 11, 2006
Really, if you want brilliant, surreal, euphoric comedy you have this movie or "Pootytang" in the last, dunno, ten....twenty years? This movie is so chock full of jokes....jokes jokes jokes....than it feels limitless. I love knowing that the Really, if you want brilliant, surreal, euphoric comedy you have this movie or "Pootytang" in the last, dunno, ten....twenty years? This movie is so chock full of jokes....jokes jokes jokes....than it feels limitless. I love knowing that the film makers loved making the movie and did it with balls confidence but no arrogance. But I love even more knowing those things just by watching the movie. Joy and adventure drips from every scene, every cast member right down to the "Smells like a turd wrapped in burt hair." person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaS.Aug 4, 2006
hilarious...absolutley hystarical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TyJ.Feb 20, 2007
Funniest movie of recent times, and, upon further reflection, we can see a glimmer of what the 70's were like, gender equality struggles, and I think we can all see a bit of ourselves in the sweet, although conceited, Ron Burgundy as Funniest movie of recent times, and, upon further reflection, we can see a glimmer of what the 70's were like, gender equality struggles, and I think we can all see a bit of ourselves in the sweet, although conceited, Ron Burgundy as played by Will Ferrell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aimeeJan 22, 2008
This film is hilarious, will farrel is one funny man, I could watch this film over and over and it would never get old. Two phumbs up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieP.Jul 14, 2004
The first 10 minutes suck. But after that, the movie gets great. Don't see this film if you expect anything more than a poor plot and mediocre acting. It's meant to be a comedy like an SNL skit, and that's exactly what it is. The first 10 minutes suck. But after that, the movie gets great. Don't see this film if you expect anything more than a poor plot and mediocre acting. It's meant to be a comedy like an SNL skit, and that's exactly what it is. Hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Jul 15, 2004
I've never been a fan of any movie that Will Ferrel was the main character in. Oddly enough though I loved Ferrel, just the chemistry wasnt right between his character and the storyline. The first time I loved a movie with him being the I've never been a fan of any movie that Will Ferrel was the main character in. Oddly enough though I loved Ferrel, just the chemistry wasnt right between his character and the storyline. The first time I loved a movie with him being the star was Elf. I was so happy a character just fit him so perfectly. It happened again in this movie. When I looked at Ron Burgundy I didnt see Will Ferrel. I saw Ron Burgundy. I went into this movie with expecations that I would laugh every couple minutes. But for the full 90 I was in tears. Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradAJul 17, 2004
The best comedy I have seen since Dumb and Dumber! Much better than Dodgeball, and by far the best Will Farrell movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BorisG.Jan 21, 2005
Pure genius!! Anchorman incorporates a diverse range of comedic techniques which provides the audience with constant laughter and entertainment. Through incorporating an array of different personalties into the film, it creates a pleasurable Pure genius!! Anchorman incorporates a diverse range of comedic techniques which provides the audience with constant laughter and entertainment. Through incorporating an array of different personalties into the film, it creates a pleasurable and enjoyable atmosphere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJan 25, 2005
How can you not love this movie?! Hysterically funny, GREAT quotes! The next Zoolander.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bmJan 26, 2005
Delightful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurO.Feb 23, 2005
Saw this a long time ago, but I need to say something. This movie is awesome, its too bad that people like ashish and most critics cannot laugh at these great, stupid comedies. That's why brain-dead movies like Million Dollar Baby are Saw this a long time ago, but I need to say something. This movie is awesome, its too bad that people like ashish and most critics cannot laugh at these great, stupid comedies. That's why brain-dead movies like Million Dollar Baby are up for an Oscar. For those of you who like to actually laugh while watching a movie, pick this up if you haven't already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelA.Jul 18, 2005
The best movie... How can you not love it?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodDogAug 29, 2005
The entire cast is hillarious is this fun filled 70's theme movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieD.Oct 3, 2006
One of the best films ever, this truly is Will Farrell at his best....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
booloolooMar 16, 2009
Between my 3 friends at school and me we have seen this 43 times. Brilliance from Adam Mckay.
8 of 9 users found this helpful
10
K.H.Jul 12, 2004
I went in expecting Will Ferrell to make me laugh a few times. I was laughing non-stop throughout the entire movie. It was ridiculous. But I must admit, it was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell is a god among men.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesandtheGiantPeachJul 15, 2004
Ok, so it may be stupid. But you know what? ITS FUNNY! Honestly we need more movies like this one. Movies to brighten up our day. Vince Vaghn was in it and even though I can't really stand him, he was ok in this since I really only had Ok, so it may be stupid. But you know what? ITS FUNNY! Honestly we need more movies like this one. Movies to brighten up our day. Vince Vaghn was in it and even though I can't really stand him, he was ok in this since I really only had to see him a couple of times. Will Ferrell though, he did great. Its like being back in the good old days when he was the star of SNL. I really sugest this movie to anyone who has not seen it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJ.Jul 16, 2004
Will Ferrell is hilarious as Ron Burgundy in this often crude comedy. But the crude humour is the kind which will keep the laughs going. One of the true comedic gems of this year. Don't miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManynyC.Jul 16, 2004
On the beard of Zeus, people, Anchorman is brilliant. Will Ferrell gives his best, most spirited film performance yet as Ron Burgundy the classic chauvinistic man's man. I LOVE this movie, but heed warning many people will not like this On the beard of Zeus, people, Anchorman is brilliant. Will Ferrell gives his best, most spirited film performance yet as Ron Burgundy the classic chauvinistic man's man. I LOVE this movie, but heed warning many people will not like this movie. If you know and love Will Ferrell you will have a blast. If hes too out there for you then there is nothing for you in this film. The characters know they're characters, ok, no seriousness going on here. If you dont much like Ferrell and dont watch SNL then go see Napoleon Dynamite again, and realize that your laughing at crap and missing out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrizztD.Jul 18, 2004
I laughed so hard! I almost threw up! We need more movies with erection scenes! People..bears are noble creatures and a proud race, and without Anchorman, I'd never know that.... Go see this to laugh your ass off!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RitaP.Jan 24, 2006
Gold, absolute gold. If you don't love this film then frankly you have tired of life and should confine yourself to your bed waiting for the inevitable. Otherwise join the rest of us in marvelling at the comedic genius of Will Ferrell and co.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DickO.Jun 23, 2007
To be honest, i cant handle to much dumbass comedy like Adam Sandler as such but this was in a whole different class of dumbass, absolute class.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanM.Sep 17, 2007
The arousal this movie gave me was painful in its intensity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesusC.Jan 18, 2008
Extremely funny. Will Ferrel's best by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
roddersj04May 11, 2011
The funniest film I have ever seen. Period. But my reviews should be longer, so... Will Ferrell excels here as egotistical News Anchor Ron Burgundy, in fact, the entire cast acts above and beyond, excelling as brilliant characters. But theThe funniest film I have ever seen. Period. But my reviews should be longer, so... Will Ferrell excels here as egotistical News Anchor Ron Burgundy, in fact, the entire cast acts above and beyond, excelling as brilliant characters. But the breakout star of the film has to be the mentally challenged Brick Tamland, played by The Office's own Steve Carrell, delivering out a plentitude of hilarious lines ("I ate a big red candle", "Mm, I burnt my tongue", "Where'd you get those clothes, at the toilet store?") One of the most quotable films in movie history. If you picked a random line from this film, you can guarantee it's quotable, from the statistical ("60% of the time, it works every time"), to the insulting ("You're a smelly pirate hooker", "Why don't you go back to your home on whore island"), to the informative ("San Diego, discovered by the Germans in 1904, they named it San Diego, which of course in German means a whale's vagina") to the declarations of love ("I love Lamp") The film is rife with cameos, and not one of them feels out of place or like a cardboard cut-out. Be it Ben Stiller as Arturo Mendez, Spanish Anchor, Jack Black as a motorcyclist who won't draw the line at kicking dogs off bridges, Tim Robbins as an anchor who'll cut off arms and then calmly smoke a pipe or Danny Trejo, a bartender who'll offer sage words of advice (even if it goes unheeded) This film is responsible for one of my favourite ever film moments: The big fight between the news stations, which manages to escelate from an exchange of words, to the characters pulling out weapons (knifes, table legs, hand grenades), then in less than half a minute, there's a man on fire, men on horses, Brick killing a guy with a Trident and Luke Wilson getting an arm cut off. It sounds insane, but its one of those moments which must be seen to understand. If I could only recommend one film where you'd have a fun time laughing your ass off, it's Anchorman. You stay classy, Rotten Tomatoes, and thanks for stopping by Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xGreyWardeNxMay 19, 2011
Adam McKay. Need I say more? This movie is my favorite comedy of all time. I loved every moment of it. Is it inappropriate, and crude humor? YES. Is it one of the most quotable movies of all time? YES. This (imo) is Will Ferrell's best film.Adam McKay. Need I say more? This movie is my favorite comedy of all time. I loved every moment of it. Is it inappropriate, and crude humor? YES. Is it one of the most quotable movies of all time? YES. This (imo) is Will Ferrell's best film. I still watch it religiously. Should you see this movie? YES. But I am not you. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
A fantastic comedy film. It is incredibly funny, and well acted. The writing is brilliant, as is the premise. There are at least 7 moments for which I was laughing uncontrollably. It is easily the best collaboration between McKay and Ferrell,A fantastic comedy film. It is incredibly funny, and well acted. The writing is brilliant, as is the premise. There are at least 7 moments for which I was laughing uncontrollably. It is easily the best collaboration between McKay and Ferrell, and a great movie all around. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
j30Sep 20, 2011
Probably the funniest movie of the decade. Will Ferrell plays his funniest character to date. It just puts a stupid smile on your face. It has that unique quality of repeatably, where you can watch this over and over and not get sick of it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
siknik24Nov 30, 2011
how the hell is this only a 7.1?! This was easily Will Ferells best movie and you people that comment with no sense of humor always screw it up! This movie was great btw. I say 10!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ThePepperMar 31, 2012
Will Farrell is always funny. In this he is hilarious. It is pretty inappropriate. Irections and much more. If you like dogs you will see one fall of a bridge.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
An unending tornado of irresistible hilarity, "Anchorman" represents the finest work Adam McKay and Will Ferrell have to offer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jamison12Jun 30, 2013
I just don't know what to say. The first time I saw this, I didn't laugh. Then I watched it again, and I almost peed myself. This is arguably Ferrell's best film to date, no doubt a cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
reviewmattDec 20, 2013
This movie is hilarious. I can't wait to see no. 2 in movies soon! I think steve did the best acting, but ferrel did do great acting too. WATCH IT RIGHT NOW
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Ron Burgundy is the balls.
Anchorman with its raunchy, over the top characters, and brutally stereotypical screenplay; incredibly succeeds. If you do not laugh at this than you are honestly dark inside.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Longo12Jan 29, 2014
One of the best comedies ever made! Will Ferrell at his very best! This is one of those movies I will never get tired of no matter how many times I watch it
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
GurolgeMar 19, 2014
If you like Will Ferrell's "man child" comedy this is the best there is. During every scene I was laughing and although many events in the scenario were unreal and absurd somehow they were the exaggeration of the relatable. It has a specificIf you like Will Ferrell's "man child" comedy this is the best there is. During every scene I was laughing and although many events in the scenario were unreal and absurd somehow they were the exaggeration of the relatable. It has a specific audience I get it; if you are outside this group you would find this movie boring but in its genre this movie is nothing less than perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
harisongrossJul 15, 2015
One of the more underrated comedy movies of all time, Will Ferrell is at his best in Anchorman. I think he really hit his stride during the years he made this, Old School and Talladega Nights and made the most intelligently stupid comedy theOne of the more underrated comedy movies of all time, Will Ferrell is at his best in Anchorman. I think he really hit his stride during the years he made this, Old School and Talladega Nights and made the most intelligently stupid comedy the World had seen. A lot of people weren't ready but they need to get ready, movies like this and the people that love it are the future of comedy movies. I, for one, am ecstatic, the genre has a fresh, renewed feeling and is so unique. Will Ferrell is a comedy genius and this is one of his masterpieces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BurtonM.Jan 12, 2005
Another comedy masterpiece from will farrel. Hilarious. Especially if you are old enough to remember the 70's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianK.Jul 12, 2004
This movie is easily one of the funniest movies i've seen EVER!!! Will Ferrell is the funniest i've ever seen him!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenZ.Jul 16, 2004
Best comedy of the year, no question. While alot of the jokes are of the "so stupid its funny" calibur, there is alot of genuinly funny material here as well. This film was almost non-stop with its humor which was a wise choice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeH.Jul 10, 2006
I thought Anchorman was great, and the movie is incessantly replayable. Typical comedy cliches are turned inside out and made original and the casting is inspired. There seem to be a fair few negative reviews, I guess the irony of the entire I thought Anchorman was great, and the movie is incessantly replayable. Typical comedy cliches are turned inside out and made original and the casting is inspired. There seem to be a fair few negative reviews, I guess the irony of the entire film was lost on some. To each to his own i suppose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattFDec 29, 2004
My rating for this movie is very simple. If you like Will Ferrel, you will love this movie. If you don't, then I would avoid it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CameronS.Jul 10, 2004
HILARIOUS MOVIE! Great acting by all the cast, Very stupid but hilarious movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulA.Jul 10, 2004
Since I have two advanced degrees I think I am qualified to make the following assessment: people who took the time to criticize this movie for being dumb are highly insecure, dumb, or both. Though not exactly brimming with Oscar Wilde Since I have two advanced degrees I think I am qualified to make the following assessment: people who took the time to criticize this movie for being dumb are highly insecure, dumb, or both. Though not exactly brimming with Oscar Wilde repartee, Will Ferrell does have this habit of skewering the braggadocious-- something that our self-centered culture could use in regular doses. And if that's not redeeming value enough for you, you undoubtedly didn't stick around after the credits for the sing-along which explicitly spells out all the life lessons the principal characters learned. I hear all the comedies have them these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobG.Jul 14, 2004
A comedy that doesn't forget it's a comedy. Too many SNL alums make movies that 'go Sandler' as my friends and I say; that is, they go soft and sentimental and there's no jokes in the last half hour. This one A comedy that doesn't forget it's a comedy. Too many SNL alums make movies that 'go Sandler' as my friends and I say; that is, they go soft and sentimental and there's no jokes in the last half hour. This one doesn't let off for a second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BRJul 18, 2004
Intentionally cheesy & funny as hell. Ferrell had me in tears. The cameos were a nice touch too. Stay for the out-takes as well!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinP.Dec 5, 2007
One of my all time favourite comedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SophieJul 31, 2007
Fantastic comedy.. just turn your brain off and enjoy the ride. Some of the lines are priceless and instant classics. I can watch this movie again and again and not get bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelM.Jul 12, 2004
Really funny... but the movie is what it i...a light comedy not a work of art. Very amusing ferrel is hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TjEJan 21, 2009
A very funny movie. I don't think anyone who appreciates comedy can watch this without laughing once. Be warned however, Anchorman isn't for everybody. People who don't like random jokes or watch movies only for plot will not A very funny movie. I don't think anyone who appreciates comedy can watch this without laughing once. Be warned however, Anchorman isn't for everybody. People who don't like random jokes or watch movies only for plot will not enjoy Anchorman. Everyone else will fall in love with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
zaziumaJul 31, 2015
This s a great movie, so many funny moments, so many little jokes that aren't specifically stated and you actually have to pay attention to get, something a lot of comedies just throw at you can go "hey hey, notice this joke", but this movieThis s a great movie, so many funny moments, so many little jokes that aren't specifically stated and you actually have to pay attention to get, something a lot of comedies just throw at you can go "hey hey, notice this joke", but this movie knows when to be subtle and when to be big and crazy. The moment with the biker absolutely killed me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BadsniperJul 27, 2011
This movie is a perfect-to-watch-with-friends comedy. So perfect in fact, there wasn't a time where I wasn't at least smiling. It's humor is somewhat dated and slightly stupid, but it's actors carry it so well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuAug 18, 2012
For me, Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy is pretty much the funniest film of all time. It's an eternal classic that never gets old and has the type of quotes that stay with you for life and enter your daily vernacular. Get your friendsFor me, Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy is pretty much the funniest film of all time. It's an eternal classic that never gets old and has the type of quotes that stay with you for life and enter your daily vernacular. Get your friends round, watch this movie as a group... comedy heaven! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Cotts1988Apr 28, 2011
A truly hilarious movie from start to finish. I must have seen this film at least 10 times and never have I found it boring. This is largely because Anchorman contains some classic quotes and great performances, with a large number ofA truly hilarious movie from start to finish. I must have seen this film at least 10 times and never have I found it boring. This is largely because Anchorman contains some classic quotes and great performances, with a large number of enjoyable cameos. The film never degenerates into a period where the laughs dry up, unlike many other Will Ferrell movies, and is a masterpiece of comedy. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellMay 31, 2012
Its much funnier than Talladega Nights and theres a better cast here. Will Ferrell has rarely been better and the story, while sloppy in its construction, is very memorable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Apr 2, 2012
Anchorman is an extrememely funny film with great acting by everyone. Through incorporating an array of different personalties into the film, it creates a pleasurable and enjoyable atmosphere. One of the best comedies in years.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Kevbo85Aug 16, 2013
You get it, or you don't, or you do and just don't relate anyway. Whatever the case may be, this sort of random, senseless comedy is a subgenre of comedic films that is just as often praised as it is ridiculed.

I find myself praising it
You get it, or you don't, or you do and just don't relate anyway. Whatever the case may be, this sort of random, senseless comedy is a subgenre of comedic films that is just as often praised as it is ridiculed.

I find myself praising it more often than not, and particularly so when Will Ferrell is involved. The man is, quite simply, as adept at this style of comedy as anyone ever has been, and his strong and silly performance, alongside a terrific supporting cast, have made Anchorman a classic in my mind. It has provided me and my friends more quotable lines and good times than any other Ferrell flick, and we typically enjoy them all. The upcoming sequel seems to me, at least, to be Ferrell's way of doing justice to what he believes to be his finest film.

Just as important to making the film work is the rest of the Channel 5 News Team. Brick, Champ and Brian are pivotal in playing off of each other, taking advantage of somewhat predictable quirks and eccentricities with skill. Paul Rudd quickly became a comedy/dramatic comedy staple at the box office, and his work here, alongside Steve Carrell's slow-but-sweet portrayal of weatherman Brick Tamlan and the underrated Champ Kind (played by the also underrated David Koechner) round out the film, give it an identity with memorable characters and classic scenes.

The rest of the cast is stand-up as well, including Alicia Silverstone, who holds up strong as Ferrell's counterpart and vying anchorwoman Veronica Corningstone. It all comes together quite nicely cast-wise, and the writing..well, the writing is the best you're going to find in a quote/unquote "silly" comedy, where the story is just a foundation for the ridiculousness to flow off of.

Honestly, I can understand the strong disagreement when I say so, but in my mind, Anchorman is without a doubt one of the finest comedic films ever created. It is, much like Mr. Burgundy himself, the balls.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscMar 7, 2014
will ferrell is a good funny , cool dude . i love anchorman it is funny as **** . it will knock your shoes off . i got to go anchorman 2 as the better film then this one
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MattJul 10, 2004
I laughed almost continuously throughout this movie, and was still laughing afterwards. A few dull moments and unfunny jokes, but the hits, imo, heavily outweighed the misses. If you keep in mind the sheer idiocy of the thing, I think I laughed almost continuously throughout this movie, and was still laughing afterwards. A few dull moments and unfunny jokes, but the hits, imo, heavily outweighed the misses. If you keep in mind the sheer idiocy of the thing, I think you'll have an ok time . . . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DannyM.Jul 8, 2004
Will Ferrell has done it again and is great in this movie. His bizarre over the edge comedy that we all know and love is in every turn of this movie. Steven Carell and David Koechner are awsome as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TeddyGJan 6, 2005
Underrated Ferrel vehicle significantly funnier than "Elf" or "Dodgeball," I think it has a few moments better than "Old School," despite its occasional descent into not-funny stupid. (i.e. the fight scene)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcusMFeb 7, 2005
A halarious movie packed with witty lines and cool characters. The cameos are great too! Hands down, Will Farrell is one of the funniest men alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CalamariJ.Jan 7, 2005
A really funny movie with many cool cameos. Christina Applegate is spot on with her acting. Ferell and her have a great chemistry which makes this movie so damn funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerN.Jan 9, 2005
Suprisingly funny. Anchorman may have some slow and unnecessary sequences but other than that it is pretty much Will Farrell material. Not only is it funny, but it also one of the few movies I enjoy seeing more than once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Mr.BJul 9, 2005
As far as comedy goes, this is pretty funny. Not the best, but worth adding to you dvd collection. If you put too much thought into it, its not going to be a perfect movie, but who really cares, it succeeds in entertaining and making you As far as comedy goes, this is pretty funny. Not the best, but worth adding to you dvd collection. If you put too much thought into it, its not going to be a perfect movie, but who really cares, it succeeds in entertaining and making you laugh. Anyone who gives this a 1 should get a life and lighten up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertJul 11, 2004
I was laughing so hard I cried through much of this movie. I agree that there are a few less funny scenes, that this movie certainly isn't for those looking to see something serious, and that some scenes were a bit over the top (battle I was laughing so hard I cried through much of this movie. I agree that there are a few less funny scenes, that this movie certainly isn't for those looking to see something serious, and that some scenes were a bit over the top (battle of the new teams?) The vast majority of the movie was hilarious, however, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who doesn't dislike slapstick too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveFAug 9, 2005
Hilarious movie. This is SNL skit-cinema at its (almost) best, with far more laughs than groans. The surprise a capella "Afternoon Delight" was surprisingly well-done, too. It works because it's inversely ironic--a piece of real class Hilarious movie. This is SNL skit-cinema at its (almost) best, with far more laughs than groans. The surprise a capella "Afternoon Delight" was surprisingly well-done, too. It works because it's inversely ironic--a piece of real class set against a ridiculously silly and crude movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillieG.May 23, 2006
this film had plenty of laughs - ferrell, vaughn, carell...they're all a trip - I usually don't like films that are THIS stupid, but they hit the sweet spot with the ridiculous skits (like the news team brawl) - applegate was the this film had plenty of laughs - ferrell, vaughn, carell...they're all a trip - I usually don't like films that are THIS stupid, but they hit the sweet spot with the ridiculous skits (like the news team brawl) - applegate was the only miscast and totally non-funny member of the cast, they should have gotten the brunette from scary movie - if you can't find several things to crack a smile or laugh at in this film, you just might be a 'smelly pirate hooker'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaxsterOct 18, 2010
Quotable and superb comedy. I'm not the biggest fan of Will Ferrel but this is one of the few movies where he pulls it out of the bag for me. 'Gonna find my baby,gonna hold her tight, gonna get some afternoon delight'.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerJan 20, 2013
This is a very funny movie, one of Will Ferrell's best. It also has tons of other hollywood funny men as either main characters or a hilarious cameo. There's really not much else to say, as you can see by the score it's a great comedy andThis is a very funny movie, one of Will Ferrell's best. It also has tons of other hollywood funny men as either main characters or a hilarious cameo. There's really not much else to say, as you can see by the score it's a great comedy and one that I recommend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonAug 12, 2013
In Anchorman first time director Adam McKay really makes the most of the fantastic talent at his disposal that includes the likes of Steve Carell, Paul Rudd and of course Will Ferrell as Ron Burgundy in what must surely still be his mostIn Anchorman first time director Adam McKay really makes the most of the fantastic talent at his disposal that includes the likes of Steve Carell, Paul Rudd and of course Will Ferrell as Ron Burgundy in what must surely still be his most memorable role to date. Never taking itself too seriously this is a movie that celebrates being ridiculously over the top yet always maintains a pinpoint sense of comic timing to keep the laughs coming.

A must see for fans of films like Austin Powers and The Hangover.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
dryyoshi7Jun 5, 2012
Such a great film. I had no idea that San Diego was discovered by Germans.....Will ferrel stars as a Anchorman for Channel 4 news, he has a happy life living with his dog Baxter. Until a new woman journalist comes in. This film was funny,Such a great film. I had no idea that San Diego was discovered by Germans.....Will ferrel stars as a Anchorman for Channel 4 news, he has a happy life living with his dog Baxter. Until a new woman journalist comes in. This film was funny, smart and well though through. Steve carrel was especially good in this film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Dec 26, 2011
Quite possibly the most quotable movie of all time. "They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time, it works every time." You don't have a sense of humor if you don't laugh in this.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobMay 18, 2016
Anchorman is arguably the best film that Will Ferrell has done. It's hilariously funny from start to finish and features so many classic moments. I haven't seen it in years and I can still recall so many jokes. It's truly a must watch comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aznassassinNov 2, 2013
Officially cemented itself on my Favourite Comedies of All Time list. Ferrell is at his comedic best and the ensemble cast including a few uncredited cameos just bring it up even higher. Some lame jokes in one or two places that felt a littleOfficially cemented itself on my Favourite Comedies of All Time list. Ferrell is at his comedic best and the ensemble cast including a few uncredited cameos just bring it up even higher. Some lame jokes in one or two places that felt a little forced but ultimately, its a comedic excellence. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Apr 26, 2014
Anchorman is funny as hell, and it one of the more memorable straight up comedies. With great one liners and an actual story that isn't repulsive or ridiculously cliché it is hard not to enjoy.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineAug 29, 2013
One of the best comedies I've ever seen and probably the best with Will Ferrell. A lot of really funny jokes and perfect cast including some guest appearances by Jack Black, Ben Stiller and even Danny Trejo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Is there even an ounce of sense to it? No, none. But its downright hilarious and has a language of its own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
I appreciate sophisticated humor as much as the next guy. I do think that such humor is often the best. But that doesn't mean that I don't love the s**t out of some silly nonsense every now and again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shpreaJun 28, 2013
There's no denying how funny this movie is. Just about every line is quotable due to how funny they are. In fact, there's a kid in my neighborhood who has, in fact, memorized just about every line in this movie. Every time he quotesThere's no denying how funny this movie is. Just about every line is quotable due to how funny they are. In fact, there's a kid in my neighborhood who has, in fact, memorized just about every line in this movie. Every time he quotes Anchorman, I still laugh. I'm super pumped for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Apr 6, 2013
Will Ferrell and director Adam McKay teaming up was truly a brilliant. This movie really boosted Will Ferrell's career as a comedic actor. Not only that, but out of all his movies, this one is his biggest and most known role of his career.Will Ferrell and director Adam McKay teaming up was truly a brilliant. This movie really boosted Will Ferrell's career as a comedic actor. Not only that, but out of all his movies, this one is his biggest and most known role of his career. Anchorman was a hilarious slap-stick comedy. I do admit, it has stupid moments, but how can you resist the hilarious charm this movie has to offer. It also features an ensemble of funny actors like Paul Rudd, Steve Carell, David Koechner and Fred Wilard. But out of those actors, Steve Carell steals a bit of the show with his stupid charm. Overall, it's a hilarious screwball comedy done surprisingly right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DuckNationJun 19, 2014
"60% of the time, it works every time."

Ah yes Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy i remember it took me a few years after the movie had been released to finally get around to watching it mainly because my friends had recommended it to
"60% of the time, it works every time."

Ah yes Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy i remember it took me a few years after the movie had been released to finally get around to watching it mainly because my friends had recommended it to me. Needless to say i freaking laughed so much at this movie with so many quotable lines and a amazing set of great comedy actors there was no doubt this movie was on the track to be a cult classic. It seems Adam McKay and Will Ferrell do every movie together as all five of McKay's movies have had Will Ferrell in them. This is easily Mckay's best movie but that's no shock because he hit magic with this movie as it really set off his career.

The movie follows Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) The famous lead anchorman for the highest-rated news station in San Diego. After the top bosses want more diversity in the workplace Ron's boss Ed Harken (Fred Willard) informs him and his team, field reporter Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd), Weather man Brick Tamland (Steve Carell), and sports reporter Champ Kind (David Koechner) that he has hired a new reporter Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) which turns out to be the same woman Ron tired to hit on the night before at a party. After a couple of tries Ron finally gets Veronica to basically go on a date with him where she ends up falling for him and they soon start to date. After Ron is unable to deliver the news Veronica steps in and nails it which in turns leads to her becoming co-anchor.

Ron and the group hate this as it turns all the other employees against them and even to be made fun of by other news stations. After Veronica goes too far she gets Ron fired causing his life to become a mess but when duty calls Ron must redeem himself to retake his thrown as the best anchorman in San Diego. The movie has so many hilarious moments my two favorite being the major battle between all the news station, this is when we see a lot of cameos none funnier than Ben Stiller another great moment is the Jack Black part i lost it at those two parts the most and started to cry back when i had first seen it. Even though its lost some of its luster of the past years Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy still to this day stands as one of the best comedy movies of the 2000's also one of the most quotable movies off all time.

Overall i give it a 8.0 I would say the movie has a story but it really doesn't which honestly is amazing that a movie with literally no story can still be so great its because of that all star cast but also because of all the people who made cameos, Vince Vaughn, Tim Robbins, Ben Stiller, Jack Black, Luke Wilson, Seth Rogen, Chris Parnell, Fred Armisen, Danny Trejo, Paul F. Tompkins all were excellent.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysNov 10, 2013
Anchorman is definitely a funny movie: the jokes are there. Many quotes are memorable, and Steve Carrell is an improv genius. The middle does get a little slow and melodramatic, but the movie redeems itself in the end scenes that makes for aAnchorman is definitely a funny movie: the jokes are there. Many quotes are memorable, and Steve Carrell is an improv genius. The middle does get a little slow and melodramatic, but the movie redeems itself in the end scenes that makes for a concise, raunchy comedy about working in the news. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mrjoneseznDec 20, 2013
Gets better with every viewing one of the most quotable movies of all time. Will Ferrell is at his best, making you root for a character we really have no business rooting for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrMovieBuffSep 4, 2016
'Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy' is a hilarious, sometimes strangely structured and bizarre comedy from director Adam Mckay and star Will Ferrell, who plays the title character, Ron Burgundy.

The story focuses on a Channel 4 News
'Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy' is a hilarious, sometimes strangely structured and bizarre comedy from director Adam Mckay and star Will Ferrell, who plays the title character, Ron Burgundy.

The story focuses on a Channel 4 News Team during the 1970s which includes Ron, along with his best friends and fellow anchormen, Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd), Champ Kind (David Koechner) and Brick Tamland (Steve Carell). After they hit a ratings high and breaking records, the news team celebrate and Ron bumps into a woman named Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) who he becomes infatuated with, despite giving the wrong impressions. It also turns out that she is interested in becoming an anchorwoman for the Channel 4 Team, becoming the world's first female anchor, ever.

This beings a lot of dismay among Ron's friends as they believe that making this kind of progress is a bad name for the Channel 4 News Team, especially in front of their rivals, the Anchorman Wes Mantooth (Vince Vaughn), whose News network has been plummeting in the ratings.

"Anchorman" is very funny at parts, there are some scenes however, that will seem a little jarring to some as some of the jokes don't land on their feet so to say. But Will Ferrell and his co-stars do some amazing work to keep the movie alive, thanks to their wacky chemistry and obnoxious and perfectly timed humor.

"Anchorman" is funnier than you'd think it is.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyDec 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anchorman is one of the funniest films I've seen. Will Ferrel, Paul Rudd and Steve Carrel are excellent, and the jokes are hilarious.

It has innuendos, physical comedy and straight our random comedy, including the scene where Ron plays jazz flute and the scene where all the anchors have an all out war.

Utter brilliance. Stay classy Will Ferrel, and thanks for stopping by!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoDec 26, 2015
A hysterical, witty satire on sexism in the 1970's. Truly a great showcase for Will Ferrell's comedic talent. Nobody could have played Ron Burgundy better than him. The supporting cast were also brilliant. I was in stitches all the wayA hysterical, witty satire on sexism in the 1970's. Truly a great showcase for Will Ferrell's comedic talent. Nobody could have played Ron Burgundy better than him. The supporting cast were also brilliant. I was in stitches all the way through! Who knew a comedy about a self-obsessed anchorman could be so funny? It might be a bit absurd and random for some people but those who enjoy Ferrell's work are in for a real treat! Overall, a hugely enjoyable comedy with a lot of laughs. Stay classy Will Ferrell! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FrankO.Jan 25, 2006
Very funny movie but what should you expect with Will Ferrell in it; plotline and characters got a little old after awhile..interesting concept and a retro look at television news.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickM.Jul 10, 2004
At its best, this film is one of the funniest movies in a long time. The guys from the Daily Show are great. Don't even need to mention Ferrell, who is almost funny standing in one place doing nothing. Unfortunately, at it's worst, At its best, this film is one of the funniest movies in a long time. The guys from the Daily Show are great. Don't even need to mention Ferrell, who is almost funny standing in one place doing nothing. Unfortunately, at it's worst, it's not very awe-inspiring, especially the ending which seemed like a huge force. And please tell me why Chris Parnell has work. He has to be the worst SNL guy. He's so unfunny and lame. Don't get me wrong, though. It's very funny from beginning to before end. KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LebnY.Jul 31, 2004
This movie had funny moments, but it lacked humor in some parts. Will Ferrell is funny, but he could have been hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful