Animal House

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    A funny movie this is. The acting is also pretty good, and a lot of the scenes are well directed, including the ones that aren't even funny. Though not as funny as I expected, it is still a good movie.
  2. CharlieS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    This is the funniest movie EVER, period.
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    John Landis and John Belushi at their best! Whenever you see a movie about the fun and glamor of college life, chances are this movie inspired it. This movie pioneered an entire sub-genre of comedy, but nobody has ever done it better. Animal House is one of those movies that's still just as funny today.
  4. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    I saw this when it first came out. FUNNY and now a classic. John Belushi at his very best. The entire cast was funny.
  5. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    this movie is mad fun. it's also very self-aware. it doesn't want to be deep. it's a crazy spectacle and i wouldn't want it any other way.
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    The cafeteria scene is perhaps the funniest sequence to ever be caught on film.
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    Directed by John Landis, "Animal House" was one of the first comedies to break all of the rules of film. Meaning it featured an immoral premise, a heap of foul language, and almost gratuitous nudity. However, "Animal House" was a riot for me and it still maintains the title as one the comedies that defined a decade. John Belushi. . .that is all. Every scene involving John Belushi made meDirected by John Landis, "Animal House" was one of the first comedies to break all of the rules of film. Meaning it featured an immoral premise, a heap of foul language, and almost gratuitous nudity. However, "Animal House" was a riot for me and it still maintains the title as one the comedies that defined a decade. John Belushi. . .that is all. Every scene involving John Belushi made me laugh hysterically, and other actors, including Tim Matheson, Stephen Furst, Tom Hulce, and Bruce McGill made this movie that much more enjoyable. This movie is an endless tornado of chaotic buffoonery - and it's awesome. Expand
  8. chw
    Jun 14, 2015
    8
    Animal House is one of the funniest movies I've seen so far. I would rate the comedy a nine out of ten, but the movie as a whole was more of an eight out of ten, just because the movie wasn't perfect.
  9. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    Toga, toga, toga! One of the funniest, enthusiastically silly movies I've ever seen. Everything from the stupid, yet still likable main characters to the self-consciously juvenile humor, this is the definition of a comedy classic and will have you on the floor laughing almost throughout the movie. In addition, this movie is endlessly quotable. "Was it over when the Germans bombedToga, toga, toga! One of the funniest, enthusiastically silly movies I've ever seen. Everything from the stupid, yet still likable main characters to the self-consciously juvenile humor, this is the definition of a comedy classic and will have you on the floor laughing almost throughout the movie. In addition, this movie is endlessly quotable. "Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor?! Hell no!" And one of my favorites, "Seven years of college down the drain..." Oh, and the ending is particularly hilarious. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 70
    While the low comedy is undeniably effective, the film leaves behind a bad taste of snobbery and petty meanness.
  2. 100
    The movie is vulgar, raunchy, ribald, and occasionally scatological. It is also the funniest comedy since Mel Brooks made "The Producers."
  3. The Globe and Mail (Toronto)
    Reviewed by: Robert Martin
    88
    Animal House is the sort of film you hate yourself for laughing at. It is so gross and tasteless you feel you should be disgusted but it's hard to be offended by something that is so sidesplittingly funny. [05 Aug 1978]