Antiviral

Antiviral Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Apr 25, 2013
    75
    There's a certain bravery in Brandon's full embrace of the themes of Cronenberg père, who may be returning the favor with his next film, the Hollywood satire "Maps to the Stars."
  2. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Apr 10, 2013
    75
    For all its preoccupation with disease, Antiviral isn’t especially visceral. The movie can be repulsive at times, but Cronenberg is more interested in ideas than in blood and guts.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 11, 2013
    70
    Brandon Cronenberg clearly understands that he has to deal with the legacy of his last name, and Antiviral feels to me like a perverse act of exorcism, half tribute and half cleansing ritual.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 11, 2013
    65
    With his debut picture, Antiviral, Brandon Cronenberg, son of David, has made a movie that's decidedly, resolutely unjunky — and more's the pity. This is a sleek, willfully elegant exercise, high on style even if it's conspicuously low on ideas.
  5. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    The debut film of Brandon Cronenberg deals out shivers and flinches in little hypodermic jabs.
  6. 50
    For his feature film debut, Brandon Cronenberg has taken the decidedly uneasy route in more ways than one. First of all, Antiviral is a virtual panoply of high wooziness, replete with sweating, shakes, vomiting, rot-infected food and more needles piercing skin than rush hour at a free flu clinic.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 5, 2013
    40
    Brandon Cronenberg's movie is made with some technical skill and focus, but it is agonisingly self-regarding and tiresome.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    8
    Antiviral is an interesting film. It stays far away from mainstream tradition of horror and instead goes for the kind of body horror that wasAntiviral is an interesting film. It stays far away from mainstream tradition of horror and instead goes for the kind of body horror that was obviously inspired by Brandon Cronenberg's father, David Cronenberg. The film gets a bit dull in the middle, but I was never actually bored. I should also note a very strong performance by Caleb Landry Jones. Collapse
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    7
    Antiviral is an impressive debut by son of David Chronenberg, Brandon Chronenberg that features an intelligent and satirical plot that is bothAntiviral is an impressive debut by son of David Chronenberg, Brandon Chronenberg that features an intelligent and satirical plot that is both original and creative and is filmed beautifully with visually striking use of lighting and setting and the acting seems to be fine, Malcolm McDowell being the best actor in the film of course. My major problem with the film is that it is a chore to watch; it is very slow and quite boring at times and is even a little dull. Antiviral is definitely a good film, I can't doubt it, and I probably would recommend it to people, but it is not for everyone and I definitely cannot see myself watching it again out of pleasure. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2015
    6
    Antiviral is not easy to characterize or rate. After the first half hour, I thought I would be rating it up. It begins more sci-fi than horrorAntiviral is not easy to characterize or rate. After the first half hour, I thought I would be rating it up. It begins more sci-fi than horror with look into a concept world (a kind of dystopia that people living in consider normal). From there it becomes less about the ideas and more a typical corporate thriller. The plot falls off and does not hold attention. Still, it is an interesting film that can be recommended to both fans of sci-fi and art house, though be warned that it has a fair amount of non-violent / psychological horror. Expand
  4. May 30, 2013
    2
    This could have been "fleshed out" into a reasonably entertaining Sci-Fi horror tale in the hands of someone who has developed the skill setThis could have been "fleshed out" into a reasonably entertaining Sci-Fi horror tale in the hands of someone who has developed the skill set to produce a coherent, suspenseful, and understandable storyline. Instead, this disjointed, painfully slow, essentially one character diatribe is presented in its place. and passed off as something deep and profound. Honestly, I've seen movies made by High School students that were better than this. It's mind boggling to imagine all the time and money wasted on this effort. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2016
    1
    Viruses that cannot reproduce aren't viruses at all... They are used to actually immunize people to the disease without any chance of a realViruses that cannot reproduce aren't viruses at all... They are used to actually immunize people to the disease without any chance of a real infection. At this story the "science" behind this SciFi doesn't make sense. The celebrity cult with cannibalism doesn't make much sense. And besides this we see a pretty mediocre story... Expand

See all 6 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.