Warner Bros. | Release Date: October 12, 2012
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 927 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
764
Mixed:
95
Negative:
68
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ScraperOct 29, 2012
Why did Affleck play Tony Mendez? Mendez is a shorter, chubbier man of Mexican decent. Luiz Guzman would have been a great pick for the lead. Affleck is just trying to make a name for himself and you can't blame him for trying to do so butWhy did Affleck play Tony Mendez? Mendez is a shorter, chubbier man of Mexican decent. Luiz Guzman would have been a great pick for the lead. Affleck is just trying to make a name for himself and you can't blame him for trying to do so but in the process turned in a very dull performance. The feel of the period was nailed from outfits to mustaches but the acting was hollow. No one stood out. Better left as a documentary of archival footage than a scripted movie. Gaah! Affleck. Expect no change here despite everyone and their mother urging you he's changed his ways. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroFeb 18, 2013
After all the talk, I thought well maybe Ben Affleck did something good after all, but I was sceptical. I was right. This movie is just one big orgy of tough man tough talk, which really gets annoying after 20 minutes or so. There isAfter all the talk, I thought well maybe Ben Affleck did something good after all, but I was sceptical. I was right. This movie is just one big orgy of tough man tough talk, which really gets annoying after 20 minutes or so. There is completely no character development in any of the hostages. I had a hard time not falling asleep. What an incredible bore. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
Patrick94Mar 18, 2014
I don't understand why this has such great reviews. It was a boring as all hell patriotic American BS movie that drags along until the end. Boring story.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
asdasd33aOct 4, 2013
horrible display of american propaganda apart of that stiff very slow moving plot and uninteresting characters. Dont recommend it to anyone.
Dont watch it but looks like no one has anyways judging by the number of rating this picture got.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
cameron326Oct 30, 2012
Entertaining propanda flick. But why the need to constantly churn out these US Propaganda political/war films? And with the US on the cusp of yet another bloody, wasteful war? Enough already!
9 of 33 users found this helpful924
All this user's reviews
3
OrangeknockoutJul 25, 2013
how the critics gave this movie an 8 out of 10 is beyond me! i guess critics are into incredibly bland movies or they must've got paid to give this movie a high score! this movie drags; the dialogue is uninteresting, the pace drags, there ishow the critics gave this movie an 8 out of 10 is beyond me! i guess critics are into incredibly bland movies or they must've got paid to give this movie a high score! this movie drags; the dialogue is uninteresting, the pace drags, there is no suspense or thrills! the only thrill i got was the beginning of the movie and when theyre riding through the crowd of angry israel's! other than that though this movie was bland, dry, and devoid of any suspense or thrills! the only reason why im not giving this turd bomb a 0 out of 10 is because the popcorn they gave me at the theatre was damn good! i got more entertainment hearing the crunch of the popcorn as i chewed it! i got more entertainment out playing with my thumbs!

3 out of 10!

the only postives i can give this movie is the beginning, the bus ride, and the popcorn i had while watching the movie! send this piece of back to the vagabonds of hell from whence it came from!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LeatherwoodJan 3, 2015
The only thing good about Argo is the fact that its based on a true story, but it obviously does not stop the fact that Ben Affleck is a bad actor and that Arabians speaking frantically is extremely annoying. This movie is great if you canThe only thing good about Argo is the fact that its based on a true story, but it obviously does not stop the fact that Ben Affleck is a bad actor and that Arabians speaking frantically is extremely annoying. This movie is great if you can get past Ben Afflecks acting and annoying Arabians acting like imbeciles. To keep it short and sweet like everyone should on this site, if you don't care for the true story don't watch it. If you do watch it, watch it. Then stop watching it and turn on something worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jibbonMar 31, 2013
A very mediocre piece of U.S patriotic drama. That the film took out the Oscar for Best Picture is a sad reflection on the dim witted fervour of The Academy. Despite an honest opening sequence that attempts to give some sketch of theA very mediocre piece of U.S patriotic drama. That the film took out the Oscar for Best Picture is a sad reflection on the dim witted fervour of The Academy. Despite an honest opening sequence that attempts to give some sketch of the destructive involvement of the CIA in Iran, the film plunges straight into an overt juxtaposition of idyllic American civilisation and the barbarism of the middle east that is rife and disturbing. The vilification of the Iranian people and the shallow representation of the context of the tragic circumstances destroys the integrity of the film on all levels.
There are some acute performances in small places, but with Affleck on screen most of the time, everything is rendered pretty flat and monochrome. Shocker.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
HrqaraiFeb 11, 2013
A one-sided self-satisfying nationalist and political propaganda film with no real suspense and substance. With highly-implausible inventions to reality that make it look stupid to the audience with some common sense and minimum levelA one-sided self-satisfying nationalist and political propaganda film with no real suspense and substance. With highly-implausible inventions to reality that make it look stupid to the audience with some common sense and minimum level knowledge of the situation. The silly car chase on the airport runway or the lack of explanation for why the airliner is not turned back to the airport by the control tower, or the American women wandering provocatively (taking photos) among the Muslim Persians with no head-covering (the stupidest thing of all), etc. Expand
20 of 29 users found this helpful209
All this user's reviews
0
daryl2345Feb 26, 2013
"the town" was a million times better than this movie. this is the most overrated underwhelming movie i think i have ever seen. had it been nominated last year for best picture it wouldn't have had a chance. the academy needs to recognize"the town" was a million times better than this movie. this is the most overrated underwhelming movie i think i have ever seen. had it been nominated last year for best picture it wouldn't have had a chance. the academy needs to recognize more genres for best picture. "this is 40" isn't an instant classic, but there's more feeling put into that comedy than this drama. this belonged on lifetime, not on the big screen. i want to tell anyone who voted for this movie "argo f*** yourself." Collapse
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
NeillosMar 17, 2013
This is a boring story. A CIA agent flies a commercial airliner into Tehran, and flies out two days later with six endangered Americans. There is no firefight, no border crossing, not even a romantic subplot. The entire appeal of this movieThis is a boring story. A CIA agent flies a commercial airliner into Tehran, and flies out two days later with six endangered Americans. There is no firefight, no border crossing, not even a romantic subplot. The entire appeal of this movie is that it is historical "based on true events" says the promo but it turns out the movie has little to do with what actually happened in 1980. The CIA played a small part in the rescue, the Canadians did all the work, and most of the scenes are complete bunk. Given the lack of historical content, Ben Affleck could have thrown in a car chase or two, a "traitor within" subplot, or maybe had the 747 pursued by Iranian fighter jets and chased off by a Sopwith camel. Better yet, have the aliens from Argo intervene on behalf of the good guys (assuming that is us). It's all crap history anyway. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
0
JPCaAug 27, 2013
There should be restrictions on the use of the expression "Based on a true story" because in this case, lies far surpass what really happened. This movie represents everything that is shameful about American narcissism. This work has twistedThere should be restrictions on the use of the expression "Based on a true story" because in this case, lies far surpass what really happened. This movie represents everything that is shameful about American narcissism. This work has twisted the facts in favor of the U.S. image without respect for those who risked more than their reputations. I know it is a product of hollywood not considered a documentary, but if the goal is creating a fanciful story, it is better to let history undefiled. Finally, it is surprising that so many have acknowledged the work with so little knowledge (newspapers, academy awards).
Canada, non-revolutionary Iranians, New-Zealand had way more to do with the results than Tony Mendez.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews