Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 19, 1993
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 158 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
136
Mixed:
18
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
EpicLadySpongeMay 1, 2016
Despite not having 'Evil Dead' in its title, it's still apart of the Evil Dead franchise, so this should be a great movie to watch, right? Well, sort of.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJan 31, 2013
The thing about the Evil Dead franchise is you either enjoy them or you don't. I found the movie to be entertaining yet flawed. I enjoyed watching it but it could have been better. Solid watch imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Jul 21, 2015
I think Army of Darkness is for fans of Sam Rami or fans of Bruce Campbell. This movie is so ridiculous so it is somewhat of an entertaining watch just because you really can expect anything normal to happen. My favorite film in the Evil DeadI think Army of Darkness is for fans of Sam Rami or fans of Bruce Campbell. This movie is so ridiculous so it is somewhat of an entertaining watch just because you really can expect anything normal to happen. My favorite film in the Evil Dead series is the first film because they begin to get really wacky after that. Bruce Campbell is pretty fun to watch but no other funny or interesting characters are introduced. I respect Sam Rami for taking his series in an other direction but I can't say I'm a big fan of this film but I'm sure that there are plenty of people who can get some enjoyment out of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksDec 8, 2013
The weakest in Sam Raimi's trilogy (he seems to always be over-ambitious in the third instalments of his franchises). The plot is interesting but the cheap effect makes it look more like a medieval-times restaurant rather than a blockbuster picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
horcrux2007Jan 6, 2015
It doesn't live up to the impossibly high standards set by its predecessors. Army of Darkness is a dark fantasy and comedy film, while the first two Evil Dead movies were horror films. It's funny, crazy, and certainly entertaining, but I justIt doesn't live up to the impossibly high standards set by its predecessors. Army of Darkness is a dark fantasy and comedy film, while the first two Evil Dead movies were horror films. It's funny, crazy, and certainly entertaining, but I just wished it had a bit more substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
roddersj04Jan 1, 2011
After The Evil Dead and Evil Dead II: Dead By Dawn, Army Of Darkness should be epic, right? Well, i'm afraid to say that it doesn't live up to the previous two installments. Army Of Darkness begins where Evil Dead 2 left off: Ash has timeAfter The Evil Dead and Evil Dead II: Dead By Dawn, Army Of Darkness should be epic, right? Well, i'm afraid to say that it doesn't live up to the previous two installments. Army Of Darkness begins where Evil Dead 2 left off: Ash has time travelled to the medieval times (this is why it was unoffically called The Medieval Dead, a name I love btw) While Evil Dead was mainly horror, and Evil Dead 2 was a mix of horror and comedy, Army Of Darkness is more comedy based than horror based. The film has been given a bigger budget, as can be seen with the films location moved to Medieval times, the Army Of Darkness and Bad Ash. Speaking of which... I liked Bad Ash, as a proper enemy for Ash rather than his cut off hand or some evil force that throws him like a rag doll. He was quite a good villian. Not too crazy on his love interest though. A bit bleh for me. This film has Ash as more of a jokester hero than the serious role he played in the last two films. He pulls off some quality lines "All right, you primitive screwheads, listen up. This is my BOOMSTICK!" but I prefered him more serious. As for the ending, I liked the bleak ending "I SLEPT FOR TOO LONG" but I prefered him returning to his time, because it felt kick ass. And it ended brilliantly "Hail to the king, Baby" Ultimately, this film was quite enjoyable, but the choice of comedy over horror made it feel like a bit of a dissapointment when compared to the previous two films. It felt like the right ending to the serious, a bats arse killer way to round off the evil dead story, and I think it deserved it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MamaTLFNov 12, 2013
A hilarious movie with funny and silly practical effects, but its a kind a movie you watch when you stumble upon it on TV when you have time to spare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JeremySep 29, 2003
Fun for a while, but seems better suited for a Sci-fi channel TV show than as a feature-length movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful