User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 332 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 332
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DorenF.
    Oct 4, 2001
    10
    Absolutely brilliant moviemaking. The people who aren't GETTING IT are most often the EXPLOSIONS/SPECIAL EFFECTS crowd. A.I. requires not only an intellect, but emotional intelligence as well. Let me save you some time- if you liked ARMAGEDDON, don't see A.I.
  2. DenisB.
    Nov 30, 2002
    9
    A hauntingly beautiful & reverential modern depiction of Pinnochio. Life is precious.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Brilliant movie. Kubrick's mind was a special place. And to have Speilberg finish his last project after death, is the combination of two of the most gifted visionaries in cinema. A futuristic tale of a robot boy programmed to love, seeks love and the "blue fairy," that will make him a real live boy.
  4. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best films I have ever seen. They could have cut the end back but what fantastic acting and thoughtful plots... I can't understand why someone
  5. TM
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite films, i just don't get why the critics have a problem with it. Yes it has flaws but that has to be expected as it was made by two different people. It has a great uneasy feel about it that makes it original. I didn't see it expecting a fluffy happy ending and that is not what i got(thank kubrick). A great film.
  6. AdrianneD.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Challenging, harrowing, brilliantly imagined. the fusion of kubrick and spielberg is often messy but the friction is what generates the interest and depth. kubric chose spielberg to direct it for all the right reasons - in a story that explores the ideas of what constitute love, longing, fear and humanity and their implications, spielberg's emotion gives depth to kubrick's intellect.
  7. SteveF.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    A Brilliant masterpiece! The Citizen Kane of science fiction.
  8. jonnyq
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    What appears to be a good movie, turns out to be disappointing and the production values of Senior Speilbergo cannot hide that. As Sean P said it is "is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent" - and it is not an awful watch but not worth paying to see. It is strange because it is not a cult film (like Donnie Darko) but it is not woefully bad. It is very self indulgent What appears to be a good movie, turns out to be disappointing and the production values of Senior Speilbergo cannot hide that. As Sean P said it is "is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent" - and it is not an awful watch but not worth paying to see. It is strange because it is not a cult film (like Donnie Darko) but it is not woefully bad. It is very self indulgent and plain weird. You won't find it difficult to understand and it raises some good points about AI but this is like a pretentious version of Pinnochio. I put the score of 10 so you would read this review - I don't know how to score this film - I may as well rate it as 'lemon pie'. Expand
  9. JoshV
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    This movie is amazing and flawless the people who gave this a bad review are shallow and have no back up for their reasons, this is the most underrated movie of this decade.
  10. JoshR.
    May 1, 2009
    10
    An underrated masterpiece from one of the greatest directors of our time.
  11. KolomanR.
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    Who knew sentimentality could be lifted to such artistic heights? Kubrick was spot on in his choice of director. This film is an unqualified masterpiece.
  12. JimT
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    The film gets this rating simply because it tackles a subject much deeper than 98% of the dreck in theatres now. The fact that it is flawed, probably because it was conceived and executed by two genius filmmakers, only creates a tension that adds to the rating. Utterly fascinating.
  13. G.M.D.K.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    A.I. manges to do something that movies now adays dont: It absorbs us into a world of sheer fantasy,mixed with realistic human emotions. Even for the robotic kid.
  14. CharlieW.
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    An incredible compilation of sadness, fantasy, and downright creepiness. Has some pretty funny moments. The only thing that someone may find wrong with this movie is its incredible length. Note to Lisa H., I'm only thirteen and I understood it just fine. Also, I don't feel the need to say "2" instead of "to" or use "gd" in place of "good."
  15. MikeG.
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    I was blown away by the way this movie was conceived and realized. The best movies about the future are really movies that look at the present and where we're heading, and this movie did that with aplomb, as it never stopped questioning the relationships between robots and humanity, and the "rights" of the AI. Meanwhile, within all this, was a very touching and exciting movie. I I was blown away by the way this movie was conceived and realized. The best movies about the future are really movies that look at the present and where we're heading, and this movie did that with aplomb, as it never stopped questioning the relationships between robots and humanity, and the "rights" of the AI. Meanwhile, within all this, was a very touching and exciting movie. I still give Speilberg more credit for this movie than Kubrick, and think that Speilberg kept in a superb mix of dark and light, making this movie as captivating as it was. Expand
  16. ShaneS.
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    I'm a bit surprised, actually, by all the negative ratings this film has gotten. I disagree, though, because this film is great with three things. [***SPOILERS***] It pushes the imagination in a very uncomfortable way. That is, it actually distorts the modern happy ending and hands it an undertone of depressing creepiness, and it does it for a good reason. It speaks volumes of I'm a bit surprised, actually, by all the negative ratings this film has gotten. I disagree, though, because this film is great with three things. [***SPOILERS***] It pushes the imagination in a very uncomfortable way. That is, it actually distorts the modern happy ending and hands it an undertone of depressing creepiness, and it does it for a good reason. It speaks volumes of whether or not love is an exclusively human thing. And lastly, it's a subtle examination of modern evolutionary theory, expecting in its efforts to say "humans' time will eventually end on this planet." The ending scene is necessary for that reason, and without it the film would not really have a point. With these long endings, though, where the first fade-out tricks you into believing it actually ends at a certain point, people get a little angry and flabberghasted that they didn't get to leave the theatres that much earlier. Collapse
  17. SeanP.
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    This film is one of my largest personal enigmas. I usually, almost always, find myself agreeing with the critics, and consequently, I use this site constantly and love it to death. But, there are 4 films that have gotten mixed metacritic scores which I totally cannot be without: Fight Club, Requiem for a Dream, The New World, and this one. And it's very weird indeed. I recognize that This film is one of my largest personal enigmas. I usually, almost always, find myself agreeing with the critics, and consequently, I use this site constantly and love it to death. But, there are 4 films that have gotten mixed metacritic scores which I totally cannot be without: Fight Club, Requiem for a Dream, The New World, and this one. And it's very weird indeed. I recognize that this movie is very far from perfect, is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent, and yet while I am actually watching it, my eyes can't leave the freaking screen. It's just one of those very imperfect but very vivid and addicting pieces of art. Much of this film, especially the ending, feels much like a dream, maybe because dreams are also meandering and hazy and incoherent, but dreaming is still essential and likable. Much like this. Expand
  18. GustavoH.R.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Wonderful. A perfect match: Kubrick's bitterness with Spielberg's heart. This masterpiece was misunderstood, but again, it's too odd and dark for general audiences. Brilliant.
  19. LisaH.
    Sep 3, 2004
    10
    Very gd film - im only 14 n i understood it fine. I found it a very sad film, but enjoyable 2 watch. suggect you see it if you havent already.
  20. DanW
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    [***PLOT REVELATIONS***] A perfect example of a minority film that is obviously directed at people who can both sympathise and understand at the same time. The performances, especially from Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law, are magnificent to behold The last 30 minutes are sublime genius the likes of which only Spielburg could create (and I cannot believe some people still won't accept [***PLOT REVELATIONS***] A perfect example of a minority film that is obviously directed at people who can both sympathise and understand at the same time. The performances, especially from Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law, are magnificent to behold The last 30 minutes are sublime genius the likes of which only Spielburg could create (and I cannot believe some people still won't accept that the robots at the end were NOT aliens.)People who are likely to not enjoy this film include (but are not limited to): those without even mediocre intelligence and those who watch Big Brother. Expand
  21. EricS.
    Aug 10, 2002
    10
    A highly provocative, constantly watchable, emotionally compelling, and finely crafted film. Better than it's companion piece "Minority Report." Jude Law gives the best supporting performance by an actor of the year. Dare I say it--it's one of the best films Spielberg has ever made. Worth it's weight in gold for sure.
  22. DamienS.
    Jul 10, 2002
    10
    YOU IDIOTS! the "aliens" at the end of the movie were highly advanced mechas, if you actually paid attention to the movie. Ok, now that I got that off my back, this movie was a beautiful and moving cinematic experience. The photography was amazing, the acting was superb, and the effects topped any of the films that were against it in 2001. Kudos to Spielberg, it's trendy not to like YOU IDIOTS! the "aliens" at the end of the movie were highly advanced mechas, if you actually paid attention to the movie. Ok, now that I got that off my back, this movie was a beautiful and moving cinematic experience. The photography was amazing, the acting was superb, and the effects topped any of the films that were against it in 2001. Kudos to Spielberg, it's trendy not to like his movies now anyway. And "BLAH" to all you cynical and nihilistic people that prefer style over substance. Expand
  23. RobertT.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    This movie was brilliant. I wish stanley could have been alive to add more input to it , but i think steven did it justice and the acting was superb. the dvd is filled with tons of lush extras for those thirsty for more. the movie itself is a truly touching story and is definently one to own. though you probably wont see yourself watching it everyday but one to own and watch from time toThis movie was brilliant. I wish stanley could have been alive to add more input to it , but i think steven did it justice and the acting was superb. the dvd is filled with tons of lush extras for those thirsty for more. the movie itself is a truly touching story and is definently one to own. though you probably wont see yourself watching it everyday but one to own and watch from time to time for sure. its great artistically, musically, and the story is great . Expand
  24. FrankR.
    Apr 19, 2003
    9
    Excellent film. As far as Sci-Fi films go, this one has that same aura that 2001 has. Its slow paced and full of beautiful visuals. It is simplistically sentimental in that Spielberg kind of way but paradoxically is what makes the film beautiful.
  25. FrankV.
    Aug 30, 2001
    10
    Brilliant movie with a lot of unexpected surprises!
  26. MichaelS.
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    Spielberg is one of the best movie makers ever! He just reviewed our opinion after some 'blown up' movies (Jurrasic Park etc.) But this time he just give us a dark peep into the future. His dreams and believings are so beautiful. Only after 2 hours it's to much. That's the only thing. But I think Spielberg is realising he has to bring more quality and yes, he's Spielberg is one of the best movie makers ever! He just reviewed our opinion after some 'blown up' movies (Jurrasic Park etc.) But this time he just give us a dark peep into the future. His dreams and believings are so beautiful. Only after 2 hours it's to much. That's the only thing. But I think Spielberg is realising he has to bring more quality and yes, he's done it with this masterpiece! Expand
  27. EliA.
    Apr 9, 2002
    9
    This is the kind of movie that is so different, so unhollywood if you guys will, that sets it apart from the others by a mile away. It didn't surprise me to know that it shocked some people. It not only made me feel and rationalize like if I was in that kid's shoes, but also feel pain. GOOD MOVIE.
  28. RyanM.
    Oct 18, 2001
    9
    Great, brilliant, influental film of visul magic and performances from the heavens.
  29. JordyN.
    Apr 19, 2002
    10
    The best film I've ever seen.
  30. J.ManuelO.
    Oct 6, 2001
    10
    The very best picture since "Dancer in the Dark." I think in the future, A.I. will be a classic movie, like Kubrick's "2001". The story, the direction, the photography, the music and the interpretation of all actors and actress are excellent.
  31. IrvinC.
    Feb 18, 2002
    10
    This is Spielberg's misunderstood masterpiece. An instant, underrated classic of epic proportions. Haley Joel Osment deserves an Oscar.
  32. DavidA.
    Mar 17, 2002
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Of course Spielberg did not address every big issue involved in 2.5 hours, who could? The people who are attacking this film are shallow and expected another cute ET featuring loveable, throwaway robots.
  33. MichaelH.
    Jul 18, 2002
    10
    One of Spielberg's finest movies. Deeply moving, made with love and compassion, and certainly one that will grow to the stature it deserves. A true masterpiece.
  34. Richard
    Jul 15, 2002
    10
    The deepest and most daring film Spielberg's done.
  35. YoonCho
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    A surprisingly rich harmonization of Kubrick's intellectuaity and Kubrick's emotional rapture, AI transcends its themes(staples of sci-fi)and becomes a profoundly moving rumination on the meaning of memory and time, of love as a lonely island, and the spiritual core of humanity that is both the source of our greatest virtues and achievements as well as the reason why we often A surprisingly rich harmonization of Kubrick's intellectuaity and Kubrick's emotional rapture, AI transcends its themes(staples of sci-fi)and becomes a profoundly moving rumination on the meaning of memory and time, of love as a lonely island, and the spiritual core of humanity that is both the source of our greatest virtues and achievements as well as the reason why we often favor delusion over truth. Here Spielberg doesn't simply manipulate our emotions but examines the very means and methods of such calculations; remarkably, the film becomes all the more powerful as the audience, like the AI child, will likely realize that we often must believe in, indeed rely on, the beautiful lie than on the naked truth for spiritual peace. AI makes us feel helpless--both as observers and victims--in relation to all the suffering and pain in the world, and demonstrates the therapeutic(and deceptive)uses of art and imagination,not to mention technology to alleviate this aspect of human condition. The central character of the AI representing both everlasting innocence and perversion of technology and intellectualism is one of the memorable in sci-fi genre. Expand
  36. MartinE.
    Nov 20, 2001
    10
    Multidimensional beautiful-strange movie - just speaks with a language not everyone can understand.
  37. ChrisM.
    Jan 3, 2002
    10
    Extraordinary. One of the best science fiction films ever made. Full of haunting images, from the "flesh fair" and "Rouge City" to "Manhattan" and beyond. Check back in about ten years, when the majority of film "scholars" will be hailing this masterpiece as the classic it already is.
  38. ChrisR.
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    Misunderstood classic which will stand the test of time, like 2001 and Blade Runner before it.
  39. Michele
    Jan 14, 2004
    9
    Wow. The idiocy of some these people never ceases to astound me. The movie was merely about feeling sorry for robots? Honestly, how stupid can a person be. Anyone with any sort of intelligence can easily see there is far more to the movie than than, unless you sleep through all but two minutes of it. A.I. may very well hold its own in our future. I mean, this movie makes a person ask him Wow. The idiocy of some these people never ceases to astound me. The movie was merely about feeling sorry for robots? Honestly, how stupid can a person be. Anyone with any sort of intelligence can easily see there is far more to the movie than than, unless you sleep through all but two minutes of it. A.I. may very well hold its own in our future. I mean, this movie makes a person ask him or herself what humanity really is. I guess you have to appreciate thought in order to enjoy such movies. Expand
  40. Tom
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    BTW The film was NOT created by Spielberg. It was conceived and written by Stanley Kubrick before he died...Spielberg merely took it up.
  41. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    Splendid,Brilliant never thought how great Steven Spielberg can become! A movie beyond time , a master of putting imagination into reality.

    A 2001 Film seriously ? Just in the year 2012 Quantic Dream released a AI engine video based on this concept.Android named Kara (played by Valorie Curry) who presents a dilemma to her operator after discovering the ability to think. AI is not
    Splendid,Brilliant never thought how great Steven Spielberg can become! A movie beyond time , a master of putting imagination into reality.

    A 2001 Film seriously ?

    Just in the year 2012 Quantic Dream released a AI engine video based on this concept.Android named Kara (played by Valorie Curry) who presents a dilemma to her operator after discovering the ability to think.

    AI is not far behind now. A reality ?

    *Speilberg should have directed INTERSTELLAR*
    Expand
  42. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    A.I. is just as philosophical as 2001 and just as poignant as E.T. David's quest to become a real boy is the most fascinating exploration of the human condition I've ever seen. Through the course of the film, he's governed by irrational love, blind faith, self-delusion and eventual death. The primary question of the Pinocchio fable has always been “What does it mean to be human?” A.I.A.I. is just as philosophical as 2001 and just as poignant as E.T. David's quest to become a real boy is the most fascinating exploration of the human condition I've ever seen. Through the course of the film, he's governed by irrational love, blind faith, self-delusion and eventual death. The primary question of the Pinocchio fable has always been “What does it mean to be human?” A.I. finds dark and sobering answers. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. 40
    What we're left with -- Kubrick or no -- is a muddled, messy disaster of a film, something that seems more like a drastically edited miniseries, cut down to incomprehensible levels with whole sections missing.
  2. Pure magic, a three-act movie fantasy that transports us -- as the best films do -- to a world of its own, a place of ambiguous joy and delirious terror.
  3. Audiences may find that the deliberate, Kubrickesque pacing -- without his intellectual rigor -- causes them to tune out.