Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 30, 2014
    80
    Yes, it’s full of droll humor, but it’s also a bittersweet portrait of two people, who, in the process of helping their children choose a college, confront the emptiness of their respective marriages.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Jan 30, 2014
    80
    Sparkling dialogue would count for little without two actors to deliver it expertly. Garcia (who is also one of the producers of the film) is generally cast in more serious roles, but he revealed a gift for comedy in "City Island" a few years ago, and he revisits that terrain rewardingly here. Farmiga is marvelous.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jan 30, 2014
    75
    It's a lovely film that grows along with the characters. At first, it seems like a pleasing but inconsequential comedy. But it deepens as their connection deepens and opens up into a place of poignancy and insight.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 28, 2014
    60
    Farmiga and Garcia have a chemistry that’s unassuming and sneaky, and the pleasure they get from each other’s company ultimately proves infectious.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 30, 2014
    60
    At Middleton is an almost completely inauthentic little romance that is so genuinely pleasant you’ll enjoy it anyway.
  6. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jan 29, 2014
    58
    Unremarkable, though hardly unpleasant, the middlebrow middle-age romance At Middleton often plays like a forgotten trifle from the Golden Age of Hollywood studio filmmaking, distinguished more by its competence and affable performances than by any formal or thematic potency.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Jan 28, 2014
    40
    Farmiga and Garcia give it their all, and their chemistry keeps certain scenes afloat.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    I didn't expect it to be this good. Andy Garcia and Vera Varmiga chemistry is off the chart. They are the soul of the movie. BeautifulI didn't expect it to be this good. Andy Garcia and Vera Varmiga chemistry is off the chart. They are the soul of the movie. Beautiful background is a big plus too and it blends well with the theme of the story. Well-crafted with A-class performance. This movie is simply beautiful. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    George Hartman & Edith Martin are strangers that mildly fight in a parking lot of Middleton University. While both are trying to bond withGeorge Hartman & Edith Martin are strangers that mildly fight in a parking lot of Middleton University. While both are trying to bond with their kids, they are mocking each other, they wind up in agreement at first, then falling in love with each other. "At Middleton" is basically about a man and a woman in love, it is beautifully crafted, sugared and touching. Both Gracia & Farmiga are outstanding, and as for the kids they are noticeable too. I liked how it is a normal Rom-Com which makes it a treasure today. This is not a flawless film, it goes, for me, down the hill near the end, it becomes silly & unbelievable which was a rapid improbable change that I didn't like. As for the ending it is satisfying and heartbreaking. "At Middleton" is something that doesn't happen recently, so I will be glad to say it is marvelous filmmaking with strong performances and relatable characters. Loved it. Collapse
  3. Sep 15, 2014
    7
    I honestly do not know why, but I expected it to be a movie ... not too good ... but I was wrong. Andy Garcia and Vera Farmiga are two goodI honestly do not know why, but I expected it to be a movie ... not too good ... but I was wrong. Andy Garcia and Vera Farmiga are two good actors, very good even. I did not expect to be so nice. Expand

Trailers