Attack the Block

Attack the Block Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Attack the Block is a fast, funny, frightening action adventure movie that pits a teen gang against an invasion of savage alien monsters. It turns a London housing estate into a sci-fi playground. A tower block into a fortress under siege. And teenage street kids into heroes. It’s inner cityAttack the Block is a fast, funny, frightening action adventure movie that pits a teen gang against an invasion of savage alien monsters. It turns a London housing estate into a sci-fi playground. A tower block into a fortress under siege. And teenage street kids into heroes. It’s inner city versus outer space. (Optimum Releasing) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 26, 2011
    100
    Starring a tough-minded band of scrappy teens who actually do some solving, it's the movie "Super 8" wanted to be - or should have been.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Jul 26, 2011
    90
    The smartest, funniest cheap monster-movie import this side of June's "Trollhunter," Attack the Block is a near-perfectly balanced seasonal trifle: Anchored in social realism yet determinedly goofy, it's neither too eager for laughs nor overtly preachy.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 28, 2011
    88
    It's hot, fierce, funny, vicious and ready to bite, baby.
  4. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Jul 24, 2011
    80
    There's a vaguely Spielbergian quality to Cornish's skill at balancing the sense of shared adventure with genuine danger.
  5. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 1, 2011
    75
    The movie is more interested in making viewers consider its disenfranchised protagonists from a fresh perspective. The fact that the film accomplishes this without a trace of gooey sentimentality is a small miracle.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 28, 2011
    75
    The picture's finale isn't as smart as it ought to be. Cornish tries to make a damning social statement, but the only thing you take away from the movie is how cool it is to kick alien ass.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 28, 2011
    0
    Attack the Block is the other alien-invasion movie opening today, the lousy one, the one from Britain. In Britain, it's probably just a regular bad movie, but here - with accents that are barely comprehensible and in-jokes about council flats, not to mention a swerving handheld camera and some of the cheapest effects since "Night of the Lepus" - it's surprising this thing ever got released.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 54
  2. Negative: 5 out of 54
  1. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    I feel like people should ignore most of the slightly-negative reviews this film has garnered. People seem to accept that AtB is a tightlyI feel like people should ignore most of the slightly-negative reviews this film has garnered. People seem to accept that AtB is a tightly made blast of a movie, but get turned away by the characters' petty-criminal beginnings. The film in no way condones what the characters do, and never simply forgets that their actions early on are inexcusable. Where normal heroes would simply start off admirable, and continue that way, AtB gives us people we begin disapproving of, and challenges us to come around over the film's duration, just as it challenges them to acknowledge, understand, and ultimately regret their actions.

    Go see it, it's great fun.
    Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    The best movie of the year and I don't use that term lightly. This film has something for everybody, suspense, humor, scares, excellentThe best movie of the year and I don't use that term lightly. This film has something for everybody, suspense, humor, scares, excellent characters, good writing, genius direction, brilliant actors and a coming of age/redemption story like I've never seen. All cloaked in a badass movie about thugs vs. aliens. I only wish I could have more of these characters (and that the film got the release it deserved). Better than Rise of the Planet of the Apes, better than Transformers (what isn't?), better than Super 8, Captain AMerica, and everything else this year. Think the best parts of "The Warriors" + the best parts of "Battle: Los Angeles" times 10. Watch this film. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of the better movies I have seen recently. Its nice to see a summer movie that doesn't just focus on huge amounts of action andDefinitely one of the better movies I have seen recently. Its nice to see a summer movie that doesn't just focus on huge amounts of action and massive explosions with boring characters and very little character development. It's a mix of action, horror and comedy with an interesting plot and setting, a good script, some great acting. A great directorial debut from Joe Cornish and hope to see more from him and the cast of actors in the future. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    If we have seen one alien invasion movie then we have seen them all right? Wrong. Attack the Block brings a new wave of energy to the sci-fiIf we have seen one alien invasion movie then we have seen them all right? Wrong. Attack the Block brings a new wave of energy to the sci-fi genre. Director/writer Joe Cornish shows his respect for the genre but isnâ Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2015
    7
    Let's start with the good points.The visuals are amazing, the "aliens" are well made,there is some action, the deaths are pretty gory andLet's start with the good points.The visuals are amazing, the "aliens" are well made,there is some action, the deaths are pretty gory and there is Nick Frost.Now the bad points, overall the acting is not really good, the characters are not sympathetic at all and it's pretty though to really get into the movie because of that.The characters are not sympathetic so we don't really care what will happen to them.And that means that the movie is less tense and enjoyable. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2012
    6
    I actually disliked the first 30 minutes of this movie, and nearly turned it off. I'm glad I didn't. It doesn't take itself too seriously, andI actually disliked the first 30 minutes of this movie, and nearly turned it off. I'm glad I didn't. It doesn't take itself too seriously, and certainly doesn't pretend to be something it isn't. It's full of dark humour and a reasonable enough story line to keep you hooked... once you actually get hooked. The kids who play the main characters are a tad over the top, but not so much that they aren't believable. In truth, it's a well acted movie, and the special effects are (mostly) pretty spectacular. It's fun, plain and simple. There are a few holes in the plot that you can shoot some fireworks through, but if you just want to feel guilty about enjoying a movie with some pretty gruesome scenes, this one is worth a peek. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    This movie teases you initially with extraterrestrial comeuppance being visited on thuggish criminals and deftly defies your expectations byThis movie teases you initially with extraterrestrial comeuppance being visited on thuggish criminals and deftly defies your expectations by centring the plot firmly on them and their triumphs. Unfortunately at that point you're left with zero empathy for the protagonists and the film settles into a waiting game whereby time passes while you continuously hope they meet unfortunate ends. The humour present in the film doesn't counterbalance this deep central flaw. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  3. Ranked: Best and Worst Directorial Debuts Since 1990

    Ranked: Best and Worst Directorial Debuts Since 1990 Image
    Published: August 4, 2011
    A pair of new films from first-time directors, "Attack the Block" and "Bellflower," are receiving strong reviews. Where do they rank among the best and worst directorial debuts in recent years? Find out inside.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2011
    Yes, it's true: this week brings the first looks at next year's Batman and Spider-Man films. Plus, watch new trailers and clips from "Drive," "Paranormal Activity 3," "Conan the Barbarian," and "Attack the Block," and learn about Ben Stiller's potential return to directing.