New Line Cinema | Release Date: June 11, 1999
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 266 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
22
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
drlowdonJun 11, 2017
Having had his plans thwarted by Austin Powers in the original movie Dr Evil travels back in time to 1969 and steals Austins mojo, apparently the source of all his power. With Austin incapacitated he again devises a plot to hold the entireHaving had his plans thwarted by Austin Powers in the original movie Dr Evil travels back in time to 1969 and steals Austins mojo, apparently the source of all his power. With Austin incapacitated he again devises a plot to hold the entire planet to ransom. As a result Austin must also travel back in time to recover his mojo and, alongside hot sidekick Felicity Shagwell, again put a stop to Dr Evils plans.

It is always difficult to make a comedy sequel but, despite obviously now lacking some of the originality, The Spy Who is just as good as the first movie. The star of the show is again Dr Evil who alongside, tiny sidekick Mini-Me provides the majority of the funniest moments, with the appearance on Jerry Springer being a particular highlight. Spoofing all manner of movies as well as providing some clever in jokes The Spy Who is another hilarious ride.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
"Austin Power: The Spy Who Shagged Me" is even more electric than the first film. It's funnier, it's still well-acted, and it's got a pretty solid story to it. All told, "Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me" is still the best film in the"Austin Power: The Spy Who Shagged Me" is even more electric than the first film. It's funnier, it's still well-acted, and it's got a pretty solid story to it. All told, "Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me" is still the best film in the series and it's well worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoOct 25, 2016
The last half hour or so is a bit scattershot, but this sequel still contains enough laughs to recommend. It's true that less sex jokes could be appreciated (and more focus on other James Bond tropes worth making fun of) but Mike Myers' workThe last half hour or so is a bit scattershot, but this sequel still contains enough laughs to recommend. It's true that less sex jokes could be appreciated (and more focus on other James Bond tropes worth making fun of) but Mike Myers' work is so inspired, it's hard to complain (particularly as Dr. Evil). Some of the jokes don't really work, but the ones that do land are often hilarious. If you aren't bothered by occasionally juvenile humour, then I'd recommend checking this one out. Overall, a fun parody with enough laughs to power last its weaker moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
Spoofs, spoofs, and more spoofs. Where did they all come from? Unfortunately, this franchise is getting weaker every time a new installment comes... but this one manages to hold it just for a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jollyjoe1000Jan 10, 2016
this is a perfect sequel. 95% of the movie is really funny. And it is a great follow up, and a improvement.evan though it dose tend to make a lot the original movie useless.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
Enthusiastic as ever; however, I'm still not impressed or convinced by Mike Myers' Austin Powers or his Dr. Evil. More laughs than the first installment, but it's not enough.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
5
FilmVirtueMar 8, 2014
Where in this movie I certainly enjoyed a duet with a psychopath and his evil clone, I believe the second film to be the most dull out of the series. The plot is good, as well as the acting but the story line eventually begins to bore andWhere in this movie I certainly enjoyed a duet with a psychopath and his evil clone, I believe the second film to be the most dull out of the series. The plot is good, as well as the acting but the story line eventually begins to bore and feel repeated as the film progresses. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellDec 15, 2011
This Austin Powers sequel is better than the original because of the new characters Fat Bastard and Mini-me. They make this Austin Powers film feel like a breath of fresh air.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
spadenxDec 12, 2011
It proves how fast you can kill a series when the sequel is nothing compared to the first film. Its pretty trashy if you ask me. The jokes are not that funny, The plot was incredibly stupid, the acting is average at best. Its just one pieceIt proves how fast you can kill a series when the sequel is nothing compared to the first film. Its pretty trashy if you ask me. The jokes are not that funny, The plot was incredibly stupid, the acting is average at best. Its just one piece of trash after another. I was a fan of the first film but my god did this suck. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
I like how Michael Myers happily performs with great enthusiasm, but "Austin Powers: The Spy who Shagged Me" is a over-the-boundaries-of-the-definition-happy movie with too much penis jokes.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
8
CritiqueGirlMar 2, 2011
Very funny and a good movie to watch with friends on a goofy night. It is the type of movie that you can watch and laugh, talk to your friends, get something to eat and not miss a beat because it is pretty much a formula spy movie withVery funny and a good movie to watch with friends on a goofy night. It is the type of movie that you can watch and laugh, talk to your friends, get something to eat and not miss a beat because it is pretty much a formula spy movie with laughs throughout. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 26, 2010
like the first movie, its also hilarious
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
7
ArkonBladeOct 26, 2010
a pretty decent sequel to the first film with some good laughs . i loved the jerry springer opening . but myers seems to be recycling jokes from the first film which i feel is a major no no. try to be abit more original . yet again thougha pretty decent sequel to the first film with some good laughs . i loved the jerry springer opening . but myers seems to be recycling jokes from the first film which i feel is a major no no. try to be abit more original . yet again though myers dr. evil charicter steels the whole movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ClintT.Mar 2, 2008
There are great jokes aplenty in this, I reckon, funniest of the current Austin Powers trilogy (will there be a fourth?). This film falls into my list of Top 5 comedy films- a testament to it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
R.DalviApr 21, 2006
Entertaining and funny but has less laughs than its predecessor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Nov 23, 2005
Like the first, a good laugh, but less satisfying in this installment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful